DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The MPEP states in part that (a) Papers that are to become a part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application, or a reexamination or supplemental examination proceeding.
(1) All papers, other than drawings, that are submitted on paper or by facsimile transmission, and are to become a part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application or reexamination or supplemental examination proceeding, must be on sheets of paper that are the same size, not permanently bound together, and:
(i) Flexible, strong, smooth, non-shiny, durable, and white;
(ii) Either 21.0 cm by 29.7 cm (DIN size A4) or 21.6 cm by 27.9 cm (8 1/2 by 11 inches), with each sheet including a top margin of at least 2.0 cm (3/4 inch), a left side margin of at least 2.5 cm (1 inch), a right-side margin of at least 2.0 cm (3/4 inch), and a bottom margin of at least 2.0 cm (3/4 inch). MPEP 608.01
The application papers are objected to because the claims and specifications has line numbers in the left margin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2014/0208657) in view of Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a refrigerator [fig 1] comprising:
a cabinet having a storage space [4; 0054]; and
a door [10] configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space [0057], wherein the door comprises:
an outer plate [at least the assembly of frame 20, upper cap decorative portion 40, lower cap decorative portion 42] that is made of metal and has a first opening least the opening between the plates [0076-0079], an upper cap decoration [40] coupled to an upper portion of the outer plate, a lower cap decoration [42] coupled to a lower portion of the outer plate [,0076-0079; fig 3];
a door liner [50] having a second opening [0079], a panel assembly [60] that covers the first opening and the second opening [0082], and an insulator provided in an insulation space that is defined by the outer plate, the upper cap decoration, the lower cap decoration, the door liner, and the panel assembly [0079-0084; fig 3].
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the panel assembly comprises: a front panel that defines a front surface of the door and covers the first opening, a rear panel that defines a rear surface of the door and covers the second opening, a spacer that is disposed between the front panel and the rear panel and defines a sealed space between the front panel and the rear panel, and a sealant that is disposed between the front panel and the rear panel and covers the spacer, and wherein the outer plate comprises: a side part that defines a side surface of the door, a front part that extends from the side part, and a mounting part that is disposed at the front part and comprises (i) a first portion facing a side surface of the front panel and (ii) a second portion facing a rear surface of the front panel.
However, Lanzl teaches a freezer door assembly [0001] having a front panel that defines a front surface of the door and covers the first opening [Drawing I], a rear panel that defines a rear surface of the door and covers the second opening [Drawing I], a spacer [6] that is disposed between the front panel and the rear panel and defines a sealed space between the front panel and the rear panel [Drawing I], and a sealant [15] that is disposed between the front panel and the rear panel and covers the spacer [Drawing I], and wherein the outer plate comprises: a side part that defines a side surface of the door, a front part that extends from the side part, and a mounting part that is disposed at the front part and comprises (i) a first portion facing a side surface of the front panel and (ii) a second portion facing a rear surface of the front panel [Drawing I; 0026-0036; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a door component that is more energy efficient [0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have wherein the panel assembly comprises: a front panel that defines a front surface of the door and covers the first opening, a rear panel that defines a rear surface of the door and covers the second opening, a spacer that is disposed between the front panel and the rear panel and defines a sealed space between the front panel and the rear panel, and a sealant that is disposed between the front panel and the rear panel and covers the spacer, and wherein the outer plate comprises: a side part that defines a side surface of the door, a front part that extends from the side part, and a mounting part that is disposed at the front part and comprises (i) a first portion facing a side surface of the front panel and (ii) a second portion facing a rear surface of the front panel in view of the teachings of Lanzl where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a door component that is more energy efficient.
Drawing I
Regarding Claim 2, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Lanzl teaches a blocking part disposed between the mounting part and the door liner and configured to block the insulator from permeating along a peripheral surface of the panel assembly [Drawing I; 0026-0036; fig 1].
Regarding Claim 3, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 above and Lanzl teaches wherein the blocking part [Drawing I] extends rearward from the second portion of the mounting part and is disposed between the insulator [Drawing I] and the sealant [15; Drawing I; 0026-0036; fig 1].
Regarding Claim 4, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Lanzl teaches a shielding member [at least 16] disposed between the mounting part and the door liner and configured to block the insulator from permeating along a peripheral surface of the panel assembly [0029; fig 1].
Regarding Claim 5, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 above and Lanzl teaches wherein the shielding member comprises a tape configured to block the insulator from permeating along the peripheral surface of the panel assembly [0029; fig 1; Drawing I].
Regarding Claim 9, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Lanzl teaches wherein the door further comprises an insulation panel [9] disposed between the front panel and the rear panel, and wherein the spacer [6] is one of a plurality of spacers comprising: a first spacer that supports the insulation panel and the front panel, and a second spacer that supports the insulation panel and the rear panel [0028; Drawing I; fig. 1].
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2014/0208657) and Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Twohy (US2016/0166085).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach a heater disposed at the front panel, wherein the front panel comprises a bezel that is disposed along a periphery of the front panel and covers the heater.
However, Twohy teaches a merchandiser [fig 1] having a heater [88] disposed at a front panel [72], wherein the front panel comprises a bezel [at least an exterior edge] that is disposed along a periphery of the front surface and covers the heater [88; fig. 6] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a door component that prevents condensation [0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have a heater disposed at the front panel, wherein the front panel comprises a bezel that is disposed along a periphery of the front panel and covers the heater in view of the teachings of Twohy where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a door component that prevents condensation.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 6 above and Twohy teaches wherein the bezel has an opaque color, is printed on the front panel, and covers the spacer [0032; fig 6; where the edge of the front panel covers the heart; also, the color and printed material is not germane to patentability of an apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2014/0208657) and Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587) as applied to claim 1above, and further in view of Nakada et al. (JPH0436577A).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the spacer comprises a moisture absorbent.
However, Nakada teaches a refrigerator door having transparent plates [1; 0002] teach a spacer [3] between plates 1 comprises a moisture absorbent [0003] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a door component having improved insulation performance [0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have wherein the spacer comprises a moisture absorbent in view of the teachings of Nakada where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a door component having improved insulation performance.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2014/0208657) and Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Artwohl et al. (US2014/0144083).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the panel assembly further comprises: a display disposed between the front panel and the rear panel; a light guide plate disposed between the display and the rear panel; and a display light provided at a side of the light guide plate and configured to emit light to the light guide plate.
However, Artwohl teaches a display case door [0002] having wherein the panel assembly further comprises: a display [22] disposed between the front panel [18] and the rear panel [20; 0072-0075]; a light guide plate [66] disposed between the display and the rear panel [0075]; and a display light [64] provided at a side of the light guide plate and configured to emit light to the light guide plate [0072-0075; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a door component that provides illumination and improves the presentation of items within a space [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have wherein the panel assembly further comprises: a display disposed between the front panel and the rear panel; a light guide plate disposed between the display and the rear panel; and a display light provided at a side of the light guide plate and configured to emit light to the light guide plate in view of the teachings of Artwohl where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a door component that provides illumination and improves the presentation of items within a space.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2014/0208657), Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587) and Artwohl et al. (US2014/0144083) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (CN205332646U).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 10 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the panel assembly further comprises a cable connected to the display and arranged along a periphery of the spacer, the cable passing through the sealant.
However, Zhou teaches a refrigerator and door [0003] having wherein a panel assembly [10, 40] further comprises a cable [80] connected to a display [see 0021] and arranged along a periphery of a spacer, the cable passing through a sealant [0012-0014; 0021; fig 4; Drawing II] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a door component that improves the assembly reliability of the control device i.e. display [0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have wherein the panel assembly further comprises a cable connected to the display and arranged along a periphery of the spacer, the cable passing through the sealant in view of the teachings of Zhou where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a door component that improves the assembly reliability of the control device i.e. display.
Drawing II
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kim et al. (US2014/0208657) and Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US2017/0010040, hereinafter Kim 040”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the front part of the outer plate defines at least a portion of the front surface of the door.
However, Kim 040 teaches a refrigerator [0003] having wherein a front part of the outer plate [400] defines at least a portion of the front surface of the door [0068; by inspection at fig 6] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a structure that achieves the functionality of a door.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have wherein the front part of the outer plate defines at least a portion of the front surface of the door in view of the teachings of Kim 040 where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a structure that achieves the functionality of a door.
Regarding Claim 13, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the outer plate further comprises a rear part that extends from the side part, and wherein a door liner is coupled to the rear part of the outer plate.
However, Kim 040 teaches a refrigerator [0003] having wherein an outer plate [400] further comprises a rear part that extends from the side part, and wherein a door liner [920] is coupled to the rear part of the outer plate [0068; by inspection at fig 6] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a structure that achieves the functionality of a door.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have wherein the outer plate further comprises a rear part that extends from the side part, and wherein a door liner is coupled to the rear part of the outer plate in view of the teachings of Kim 040 where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a structure that achieves the functionality of a door.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2014/0208657) and Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshida et al. (JP2013119966A).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach an adhesive member that is disposed at the front part of the outer plate and is attached to the outer plate.
However, Yoshida teaches a thermal insulation box [0003] having an adhesive member that is disposed at the front part of an outer plate [33] and is attached to the outer plate [0045-0046; 0049; 0050; 0024; where a hot melt process serves as the adhesive] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a structure that facilitates the installation of a reinforcing member to the outer plate [0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have an adhesive member that is disposed at the front part of the outer plate and is attached to the outer plate in view of the teachings of Yoshida where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a structure that facilitates the installation of a reinforcing member to the outer plate.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 14 above and Yoshida teaches wherein the door further comprises a support frame [51] that is disposed at a periphery of the first opening of the outer plate [33] and is disposed at the rear surface of the front panel, and wherein the support frame is adhered to the rear surface of the outer plate by the adhesive member [0045-0046; 0049; 0050; 0024; where a hot melt process serves as the adhesive].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2014/0208657) and Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN203083260U).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach a door light disposed at the second opening of the door liner, wherein the door liner comprises a liner protrusion that is disposed rearward relative to the rear panel and defines a space accommodating the door light.
However, Yoshida teaches a thermal insulation box [0003] having a door light [400] disposed at the second opening of the door liner [not shown], wherein the door liner comprises a liner protrusion that is disposed rearward relative to the rear panel and defines a space accommodating the door light [0036-0037; fig 1; where the door has a protrusion in the “B” direction relative to panel 200] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a structure that facilitates illumination [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have a door light disposed at the second opening of the door liner, wherein the door liner comprises a liner protrusion that is disposed rearward relative to the rear panel and defines a space accommodating the door light in view of the teachings of Chen where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a structure that facilitates illumination.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2014/0208657) and Lanzl et al. (US2009/0007587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seo et al. (US2016/0061514).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the door comprises: a main door that is coupled to the cabinet and defines an additional storage space; and a sub-door coupled to the main door, and wherein the panel assembly is provided at the sub-door.
However, Seo teaches a refrigerator having a door [0001] having a main door [40] that is coupled to the cabinet [10] and defines an additional storage space [0036; 0058]; and a sub-door [30] coupled to the main door, and wherein a panel assembly [100] is provided at the sub-door [0058; 0059; fig 3] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a structure that facilitates a door which is partially and selectively transparent to allow a user to see a storage chamber [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have a main door that is coupled to the cabinet and defines an additional storage space; and a sub-door coupled to the main door, and wherein the panel assembly is provided at the sub-door in view of the teachings of Seo where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a structure that facilitates a door which is partially and selectively transparent to allow a user to see a storage chamber.
Regarding Claim 18, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 17 above and Seo teaches wherein the sub-door comprises an opening device comprising: a handle groove [32] defined at a lower part of the lower cap decoration [0143]; and a manipulation member [at least the portion of handle groove 32] that is exposed below the lower cap decoration and configured to be operated by a user [0143].
Regarding Claim 19, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 17 above and Seo teaches a locking member [36] that protrudes from a rear surface of the door liner and is configured to couple to the main door [0139].
Regarding Claim 20, Kim, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the storage space comprises (i) a refrigerating space defined at an upper portion of the cabinet and (ii) a freezing space defined at a lower portion of the cabinet, wherein the door is one of a plurality of doors comprising (i) a first door configured to open and close a first portion of the refrigerating space and (ii) a second door configured to open and close a second portion of the refrigerating space, and wherein the panel assembly is provided at one of the first door or the second door.
However, Seo teaches a refrigerator having a door [0001] having teach wherein the storage space comprises (i) a refrigerating space defined at an upper portion of the cabinet and (ii) a freezing space defined at a lower portion of the cabinet [0004], wherein the door is one of a plurality of doors comprising (i) a first door configured to open and close a first portion of the refrigerating space and (ii) a second door configured to open and close a second portion of the refrigerating space [at least doors 20, 30, 40, 50; 0036; 0037], and wherein the panel assembly is provided at one of the first door or the second door [0044; 0045; fig 3] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a structure that facilitates a door which is partially and selectively transparent to allow a user to see a storage chamber [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim to have a main door that is coupled to the cabinet and defines an additional storage space; and a sub-door coupled to the main door, and wherein the panel assembly is provided at the sub-door in view of the teachings of Seo where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a structure that facilitates a door which is partially and selectively transparent to allow a user to see a storage chamber.
Conclusion
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763