Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12204375 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patently distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader version of the patented claims and all proposed claims are obvious and included in the patented claims, and any infringement over the patents would also infringe over the instant claims.
The table below demonstrates claims 1-20 from the instant application and claims 1-20 from the US Patent No. 12204375 B2. The limitations recited in the US Patent that correspond to the limitations recited in the instant application have been bold for Application’s convenience.
Claim limitation of the instant Application
Claim limitation of the Patent No. US 12204375 B2
1. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body.
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame, and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame while remaining parallel to either the first body or the second body, wherein the sliding frame of each of the plurality of sliding units is positioned parallel to and slides along either the first body or the second body, and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
1. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being
coupled to either of the first body or the second body,
wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame, and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame while remaining parallel to either the first body or the second body.
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sliding frame of each of the plurality of sliding units is positioned parallel to and slides along either the first body or the second body, and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
3. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first body includes a first support plate to which the first portion is coupled and a first housing to which the first support plate is coupled, and the second body includes a second support plate to which the second portion is coupled and a second housing to which the second support plate is coupled.
3. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first body includes a first support plate to which the first portion is coupled and a first housing to which the first support plate is coupled, and the second body includes a second support plate to which the second portion is coupled and a second housing to which the second support plate is coupled.
4. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sliding units includes a first sliding unit and a second sliding unit, wherein the first sliding unit includes a first sliding plate that is coupled to the hinge unit, and a first sliding frame that is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body, and wherein the second sliding unit includes a second sliding plate that is coupled to the hinge unit, and a second sliding frame that is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body.
4. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sliding units includes a first sliding unit and a second sliding unit, wherein the sliding plate of the first sliding unit is coupled to the hinge unit, and the sliding frame of the first sliding unit is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body, and wherein the sliding plate of the second sliding unit is coupled to the hinge unit, and the sliding frame of the second sliding unit is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body.
5. The electronic device of claim 4, further comprising: an unfolding angle adjustment unit configured to stop the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate at a first position that corresponds to a state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded, and at least one second position between the state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded and a state where the first body and the second body are completely folded.
5. The electronic device of claim 4, further comprising: an unfolding angle adjustment unit configured to stop the sliding plate of the sliding unit and the sliding plate of the second sliding unit at a first position that corresponds to a state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded, and at least one second position between the state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded and a state where the first body and the second body are completely folded.
6. The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the unfolding angle adjustment unit includes: an angle adjustment post that is provided on each of the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate, and an angle adjustment slot that is provided in each of the first sliding frame and the second sliding frame so that the angle adjustment post is inserted into the angle adjustment slot to be slid.
6. The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the unfolding angle adjustment unit includes: an angle adjustment post that is provided on each of the first-sliding plate of the sliding unit and the sliding plate of the second sliding unit, and an angle adjustment slot that is provided in each of the sliding frame of the first sliding unit and the sliding frame of the second sliding unit so that the angle adjustment post is inserted into the angle adjustment slot to be slid.
7. The electronic device of claim 1, when the flexible display is in an unfolded state from a folded state, the sliding plate slides in a direction away from the hinge unit.
7. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein when the flexible display moves from an unfolded state from a folded state, the sliding plate slides in a direction away from the hinge unit.
8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sliding frame includes a guide groove for guiding the sliding plate, and wherein the sliding plate includes a guide rail inserted into the guide groove.
8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding unit, wherein the sliding frame of the sliding unit includes a first guide groove and a second groove which extend in parallel in a direction perpendicular to the first axis and guide the sliding plate of the sliding unit, and wherein the sliding plate of the sliding unit includes a guide rail inserted into the first guide groove.
9. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: restriction unit configured to restrict a sliding distance of the sliding plate.
9. The electronic device of claim 8, further comprising a restriction unit configured to restrict a sliding distance of the sliding plate.
10. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body.
10. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame, and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame while remaining parallel to either the first body or the second body.
11. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the hinge unit further comprising: a plurality of slit members configured to support the third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, wherein the plurality of slit members are arranged along the first axis, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame, and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
11. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the hinge unit further comprising: a plurality of slit members configured to support the third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, wherein the plurality of slit members are arranged along the first axis, and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
12. The electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: a plurality of gap-widening prevention members connecting free ends of adjacent slit members among the plurality of slit members, and preventing a distance between the free ends of the adjacent slit members from being greater than a predetermined distance, wherein each of the plurality of gap-widening prevention members comprises a pair of wing portions and a connector which connects the pair of wing portions, and wherein the adjacent slit members are movably disposed between the pair of wing portions.
12. The electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: a plurality of slit members configured to support the third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display; a plurality of gap-widening prevention members connecting free ends of adjacent slit members among the plurality of slit members, and preventing a distance between the free ends of the adjacent slit members from being greater than a predetermined distance, wherein each of the plurality of gap-widening prevention members comprises a pair of wing portions and a connector which connects the pair of wing portions, and wherein the adjacent slit members are movably disposed between the pair of wing portions.
13. The electronic device of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of gap-widening prevention members comprises a wire that connects the adjacent slit members.
13. The electronic device of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of gap-widening prevention members comprises a wire that connects the adjacent slit members.
14. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display to at least one of the first body and the second body.
14. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in a longitudinal direction of the flexible display to at least one of the first body and the second body.
15. The electronic device of claim 11, wherein free ends of the plurality of slit members support the flexible display.
15. The electronic device of claim 11, wherein free ends of the plurality of slit members support the flexible display.
16. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the flexible display is bent to correspond to a shape of the free ends of the plurality of slit members.
16. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the flexible display is bent to correspond to a shape of the free ends of the plurality of slit members.
17. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the first body comprises a first support plate and a first housing coupled to the first support plate, and wherein the second body comprises a second support plate and a second housing coupled to the second support plate.
17. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the first body comprises a first support plate and a first housing coupled to the first support plate, and wherein the second body comprises a second support plate and a second housing coupled to the second support plate.
18. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display to the first body and the second body.
18. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display to the first body and the second body.
19. The electronic device as claimed in claim 18, wherein the first body and the second body each include a sliding groove into which both end portions of the hinge unit are slidably inserted.
19. The electronic device as claimed in claim 18, wherein the first body and the second body each include a sliding groove into which both end portions of the hinge unit are slidably inserted.
20. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body.
20. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body, wherein a sliding unit of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame, and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame while remaining parallel to the first body.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-16 of U.S. Patent No.11048302 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown below. The limitations recited in the US Patent that correspond to the limitations recited in the instant application have been bold for Application’s convenience.
Claim limitations of the instant Application
Claim of US Patent 11048302 B2
An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body.
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame, and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame while remaining parallel to either the first body or the second body, wherein the sliding frame of each of the plurality of sliding units is positioned parallel to and slides along either the first body or the second body, and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
7. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame, and a sliding plate which slides along the sliding frame, and wherein when the flexible display moves from an unfolded state from a folded state, the sliding plate slides in a direction away from the hinge unit.
14. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in a longitudinal direction of the flexible display to at least one of the first body and the second body.
An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display,
the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of slit members configured to support the third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display; and a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body; and wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame coupled to the first body and the second body, and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame; and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
6. The electronic device of claim 1, when the flexible display is in an unfolded state from a folded state, the sliding plate slides in a direction away from the hinge unit.
3. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first body includes a first support plate to which the first portion is coupled and a first housing to which the first support plate is coupled, and the second body includes a second support plate to which the second portion is coupled and a second housing to which the second support plate is coupled
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first body includes a first support plate to which the first portion is coupled and a first housing to which the first support plate is coupled, and the second body includes a second support plate to which the second portion is coupled and a second housing to which the second support plate is coupled.
4. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sliding units includes a first sliding unit and a second sliding unit, wherein the first sliding unit includes a first sliding plate that is coupled to the hinge unit, and a first sliding frame that is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body, and wherein the second sliding unit includes a second sliding plate that is coupled to the hinge unit, and a second sliding frame that is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body.
3. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sliding units includes a first sliding unit and a second sliding unit, wherein the first sliding unit includes a first sliding plate that is coupled to the hinge unit and a first sliding frame that is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body, and wherein the second sliding unit includes a second sliding plate that is coupled to the hinge unit and a second sliding frame that is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body.
5. The electronic device of claim 4, further comprising: an unfolding angle adjustment unit configured to stop the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate at a first position that corresponds to a state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded, and at least one second position between the state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded and a state where the first body and the second body are completely folded.
4. The electronic device of claim 3, further comprising: an unfolding angle adjustment unit configured to stop the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate at a first position that corresponds to a state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded, and at least one second position between the state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded and a state where the first body and the second body are completely folded
6. The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the unfolding angle adjustment unit includes: an angle adjustment post that is provided on each of the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate, and an angle adjustment slot that is provided in each of the first sliding frame and the second sliding frame so that the angle adjustment post is inserted into the angle adjustment slot to be slid.
8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sliding frame includes a guide groove for guiding the sliding plate, and wherein the sliding plate includes a guide rail inserted into the guide groove.
5. The electronic device of claim 4, wherein the unfolding angle adjustment unit includes: an angle adjustment post that is provided on each of the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate, and an angle adjustment slot that is provided in each of the first sliding frame and the second sliding frame so that the angle adjustment post is inserted into the angle adjustment slot to be slid.
7. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sliding frame includes a guide groove for guiding the sliding plate, and wherein the sliding plate includes a guide rail inserted into the guide groove.
9. The electronic device of claim 8, further comprising a restriction unit configured to restrict a sliding distance of the sliding plate.
8. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: restriction unit configured to restrict a sliding distance of the sliding plate
10. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body.
11. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the hinge unit further comprising: a plurality of slit members configured to support the third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, wherein the plurality of slit members are arranged along the first axis, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame, and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
1. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of slit members configured to support the third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display; and a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body; and wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame coupled to the first body and the second body, and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame; and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
12. The electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: a plurality of gap-widening prevention members connecting free ends of adjacent slit members among the plurality of slit members, and preventing a distance between the free ends of the adjacent slit members from being greater than a predetermined distance, wherein each of the plurality of gap-widening prevention members comprises a pair of wing portions and a connector which connects the pair of wing portions, and wherein the adjacent slit members are movably disposed between the pair of wing portions.
13. The electronic device of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of gap- widening prevention members comprises a wire that connects the adjacent slit members.
15. The electronic device of claim 11, wherein free ends of the plurality of slit members support the flexible display.
16. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the flexible display is bent to correspond to a shape of the free ends of the plurality of slit members.
17. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the first body comprises a first support plate and a first housing coupled to the first support plate, and wherein the second body comprises a second support plate and a second housing coupled to the second support plate.
18. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display to the first body and the second body.
19. The electronic device as claimed in claim 18, wherein the first body and the second body each include a sliding groove into which both end portions of the hinge unit are slidably inserted.
9. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of gap-widening prevention members connecting free ends of adjacent slit members among the plurality of slit members, and preventing a distance between the free ends of the adjacent slit members from being greater than a predetermined distance, wherein each of the plurality of gap-widening prevention members comprises a pair of wing portions and a connector which connects the pair of wing portions, and wherein the adjacent slit members are movably disposed between the pair of wing portions.
10. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of gap-widening prevention members comprises a wire that connects the adjacent slit members.
12. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein free ends of the plurality of slit members support the flexible display.
13. The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the flexible display is bent to correspond to a shape of the free ends of the plurality of slit members.
14. The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the first body comprises a first support plate and a first housing coupled to the first support plate, and wherein the second body comprises a second support plate and a second housing coupled to the second support plate.
15. The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display to the first body and the second body.
16. The electronic device as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first body and the second body each include a sliding groove into which both end portions of the hinge unit are slidably inserted.
20. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body.
1. An electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body; a flexible display comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of slit members configured to support the third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display; and a plurality of sliding units configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body; and wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame coupled to the first body and the second body, and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame; and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by SONG et al. (US Pub No. 2012/0044620 A1 and SONG hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, SONG discloses (figs. 1-13B) an electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body (100 and 200); a flexible display (300) comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit (400) for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units (423 and 413) configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis (intersecting axis), each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 2, SONG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame (120), and a sliding plate (422) which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame while remaining parallel to either the first body or the second body, wherein the sliding frame of each of the plurality of sliding units is positioned parallel to and slides along either the first body or the second body (fig.8), and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.
Regarding Claim 3, SONG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first body includes a first support plate (plate of 100) to which the first portion is coupled and a first housing to which the first support plate is coupled, and the second body includes a second support plate (plate of 200) to which the second portion is coupled and a second housing to which the second support plate is coupled.
Regarding Claim 4, SONG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sliding units includes a first sliding unit (423) and a second sliding unit (413), wherein the first sliding unit includes a first sliding plate (422) that is coupled to the hinge unit, and a first sliding frame (120) that is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body, and wherein the second sliding unit includes a second sliding plate (412) that is coupled to the hinge unit, and a second sliding frame (220) that is coupled to at least one of the first body and the second body.
Regarding Claim 7, SONG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, when the flexible display is in an unfolded state from a folded state, the sliding plate slides in a direction away from the hinge unit (shows in figs. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 8, SONG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sliding frame includes a guide groove (groove inside 120) for guiding the sliding plate, and wherein the sliding plate includes a guide rail (423) inserted into the guide groove.
Regarding Claim 9, SONG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: restriction unit (groove in 120) configured to restrict a sliding distance of the sliding plate.
Regarding Claim 10, SONG discloses (figs. 1-13B) an electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body (100 and 200); a flexible display (300) comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit (400) for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units (423 and 413) configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 14, SONG discloses (figs. 1-13B) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display to at least one of the first body and the second body (figs. 11A-11B).
Regarding Claim 18, SONG discloses (figs. 1-13B) the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the hinge unit is slidably connected in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display to the first body and the second body.
Regarding Claim 19, SONG discloses (figs. 1-13B) the electronic device as claimed in claim 18, wherein the first body and the second body each include a sliding groove (groove in 120) into which both end portions of the hinge unit are slidably inserted.
Regarding Claim 20, SONG discloses (figs. 1-13B) an electronic device comprising: a first body and a second body(100 and 200); a flexible display (300) comprising a first portion of the flexible display supported by the first body and a second portion of the flexible display supported by the second body; and a hinge unit (400) for connecting the first body and the second body, and supporting a third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, the hinge unit comprising: a plurality of sliding units (423 and 413) configured to enable at least one of the first body and the second body to move in a direction perpendicular to a first axis, each of the plurality of sliding units being coupled to either of the first body or the second body (fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG et al in view of Bohn et al (US Patent No. 8804324 B2 and Bohn hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 15, SONG discloses the electronic device of claim 11, but fails to disclose free ends of the plurality of slit members support the flexible display. However,
Bohn teaches (figs. 1-2) free ends of the plurality of slit members support the flexible display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine free ends of the plurality of slit members support of Bohn to device of Song in order to allow for the sections of the flexible display that are integrated into the first and second housing parts to maintain the same relative position in the open and closed positions of the foldable electronic device (Bohn and Col 3, lines 50-55)
Regarding Claim 16, SONG/Bohn discloses the electronic device of claim 15. Bohn teaches (figs. 1-2) wherein the flexible display is bent to correspond to a shape of the free ends of the plurality of slit members (fig.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine shape of free ends of the plurality of slit members support of Bohn to device of Song in order to allow for the sections of the flexible display that are integrated into the first and second housing parts to maintain the same relative position in the open and closed positions of the foldable electronic device (Bohn and Col 3, lines 50-55)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG et al in view of Bohn et al and further in view of Griffin et al (US Pub No. 2014/0126133 A1 and Griffin hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 17, SONG/Bohn discloses the electronic device of claim 15, but fails to disclose wherein the first body comprises a first support plate and a first housing coupled to the first support plate, and wherein the second body comprises a second support plate and a second housing coupled to the second support plate. However, Griffin teaches (fig.29) wherein the first body comprises a first support plate (118) and a first housing (138) coupled to the first support plate, and wherein the second body comprises a second support plate (120) and a second housing coupled to the second support plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine support plates attached to housing of Griffin to device of Song/Bohn in order to additional mechanical supports to the flexible displays (Griffin and [0105])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection and then rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose, “an unfolding angle adjustment unit configured to stop the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate at a first position that corresponds to a state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded, and at least one second position between the state where the first body and the second body are completely unfolded and a state where the first body and the second body are completely folded.”
Claim 6 is objected being depend on claim 5.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to disclose, “wherein the hinge unit further comprising: a plurality of slit members configured to support the third portion of the flexible display between the first portion of the flexible display and the second portion of the flexible display, wherein the plurality of slit members are arranged along the first axis, wherein each of the plurality of sliding units includes a sliding frame and a sliding plate which slides in a direction perpendicular to the first axis along the sliding frame, and wherein the first axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the flexible display.”
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to disclose, “a plurality of gap-widening prevention members connecting free ends of adjacent slit members among the plurality of slit members, and preventing a distance between the free ends of the adjacent slit members from being greater than a predetermined distance, wherein each of the plurality of gap-widening prevention members comprises a pair of wing portions and a connector which connects the pair of wing portions, and wherein the adjacent slit members are movably disposed between the pair of wing portions.”
Claim 13 is objected being depend on claim 12.
Some of the close prior arts of record are Russell-Clarke et al (US-20130216740-A1), KO et al (US-20140226275-A1), Musick et al (US-9102476-B2), Van et al (US-20130021762-A1), and Jager et al (US-7762391-B2).
The mentioned pertinent prior art (include in PTO 892), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant. Specifically the limitation highlighted above and the specific arrangement of each structure.
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841