DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the application regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear due to the lack of antecedent basis for “an MDM token” in line 2, as to whether this MDM token is the same MDM token recited in dependent claim 4. The claim is therefore rendered indefinite.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning (U.S. PGPub. 2014/0173705), in view of Wen (U.S. PGPub. 2014/0372544).
Regarding claim 1, Manning teaches A system, comprising:
one or more processors configured to (Manning, Paragraph [0081], see “…the computing environment 800 includes at least one central processing unit 810…”):
determine whether a persistent token is cached locally on a client (Manning, FIG. 1, see “122”, which depicts a PERSISTENT CREDENTIAL STORAGE (locally) on a client) (Manning, Paragraph [0036], see “…the current credential can be checked to determine if it is older than the authentication refresh delay…If the current credential is not older than the authentication refresh delay…then a new credential will not be generated…If a new credential is not generated, then the client device will retain the current credential that is currently persisted at the client device and can use the current credential upon subsequent communication with the server environment”);
in response to determining that the cached persistent token is not cached locally on the client, send from the client a request for the persistent token to a token resource, and obtain a new persistent token (Manning, Paragraph [0034], see “At 250, application processing is performed…application processing can comprise responding to an application services request from the user…”, where “request from the user” is being read as sending from a client a request for a persistent token to properly perform the application processing) (Manning, Paragraph [0035], see “Once the application processing has been performed at 250, a new credential is generated and provided to the client device for persistence at the client device…”) (Manning, Paragraph [0036], see “In some implementations, a new credential is only generated if the current credential is older than an authentication refresh delay…, where “current credential is older than an authentication refresh delay” is being read as the cached persistent token not being cached locally on the client due to it being expired); and
authenticate the client with a portal based at least in part on the persistent token (Manning, Paragraph [0026], see “…any of the computing devices (e.g., nodes, application servers, etc.) of the server environment 110 that participate in the distributed authentication can service requests from the client device by receiving and authenticating the credential provided by the client device”);
wherein:
a cached persistent token is used for authentication in response to a determination that the cached persistent token is cached locally on the client (Manning, Paragraph [0036], see “…the current credential can be checked to determine if it is older than the authentication refresh delay…If the current credential is not older than the authentication refresh delay…then a new credential will not be generated…If a new credential is not generated, then the client device will retain the current credential that is currently persisted at the client device and can use the current credential upon subsequent communication with the server environment”); and
the new persistent token is used for authentication in response to a determination that the persistent token is not cached locally on the client (Manning, Paragraph [0035], see “Once the application processing has been performed at 250, a new credential is generated and provided to the client device for persistence at the client device…”) (Manning, Paragraph [0036], see “In some implementations, a new credential is only generated if the current credential is older than an authentication refresh delay…, where the new persistent token is used for authentication in response to determining that the persistent token is not cached locally on the client (i.e., expired)); and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to provide the one or more processors with instructions (Manning, Figure 8) (Manning, Paragraph [0081], see “…The memory 820 stores software…”).
However, assuming arguendo that Manning does not adequately teach determining that the cached persistent token is not cached locally on the client, the Examiner introduces Wen which more specifically teaches the above limitation, see Wen, Paragraph [0059], see “Usually the session token is kept “alive” in the browser as long as the user is logged on to the Web server. In some cases the session token may be deleted when the user logs-out from the Web Server…” and Paragraph [0072], see “…the cookie with token was not found in the browser of the device that User1 is using, then the server generates a temporary session token and pushes it to User1’s browser…”, which is analogous to generating a new token after determining that the token is not cached locally on the client browser).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Manning, by implementing techniques of determining that the cached token is not cached locally on the client, disclosed of Wen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for authentication using persistent tokens and MDM certificates, comprising of determining that the cached token is not cached locally on the client. This allows for better security management, as well as preventing silent failures, ultimately ensuring interrupted access due to expired or inexistant tokens while maintaining security protocols. Wen is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of determining that the cached token is not cached locally on the client (Wen, Paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Manning as modified by Wen teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the persistent token is valid for a predefined period of time (Manning, Paragraph [0036], see “…the current credential can be checked to determine if it is older than the authentication refresh delay (e.g., using the expiration time of the current credential)…”, which is being read as the persistent token (e.g., current credential) being valid for a predefined period of time).
Regarding claim 15, Manning as modified by Wen teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the client stores an indication of the persistent token used in connection with a particular authentication of the client (Manning, Paragraph [0025], see “…the credentials can be stored by the client device 120 in persistent credential storage 122 (e.g., in a file, database, browser cookie, etc.)…the credentials are stored only at the client device 120, and not at the server environment 110…”, which is being read as the client storing an indication of the persistent token (e.g., credentials) used in connection with a particular authentication of the client, due to the credential being used in connection with a particular authentication of the client).
Regarding claim 17, Manning as modified by Wen teaches The system of claim 1, wherein in response to a determination that authentication of the client fails for a reason other than the persistent token, the client maintains the persistent token for future authentication attempts (Manning, Paragraph [0019], see “…a client device using such a persistent stateless credential can authenticate in a secure manner to any of a number of servers of a server environment to access computing resources provided by the server environment…if a particular server of the server environment fails, then an already authenticated client can still use a different server without having to go through another logon procedure (e.g., if the user’s credential has not yet expired)”, which is being read as in response to a determination that authentication of the client fails for a reason other than the persistent token (e.g., server failure), the client maintains the persistent token for future authentication attempts (e.g., as long as it’s not expired)).
Regarding claims 19-20, the claims are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning, in view of Wen, in further view of Gizis et al. (U.S. PGPub. 2023/0171683), hereinafter Gizis.
Regarding claim 2, Manning as modified by Wen do not teach the following limitation(s) as taught by Gizis: The system of claim 1, wherein the client comprises a network security client running on a managed device (Gizis, Paragraph [0003], see “…the network being used for data services may be monitored and managed by the VPN to ensure the client device is using the network(s) designated by the VPN…”, which is analogous to the client comprising a network security client (e.g., VPN client) running on a managed device (e.g., VPN server)) (Gizis, Paragraph [0025], see “…a transport connection is a connection between the VPN client and the VPN server…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Manning, and techniques disclosed of Wen, by implementing techniques of the client comprising a VPN client running on a managed device, disclosed of Gizis.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for authentication using persistent tokens and MDM certificates, comprising of the client comprising a VPN client running on a managed device. This allows for better security management, privacy protection and data encryption by creating a secure tunnel between the client and Internet. Gizis is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of the client comprising a VPN client running on a managed device (Gizis, Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Manning as modified by Wen do not teach the following limitation(s) as taught by Gizis: The system of claim 2, wherein the network security client is a VPN client (Gizis, Paragraph [0003], see “…the network being used for data services may be monitored and managed by the VPN to ensure the client device is using the network(s) designated by the VPN…”, which is analogous to the client comprising a network security client (e.g., VPN client)) (Gizis, Paragraph [0025], see “…a transport connection is a connection between the VPN client and the VPN server…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Manning, and techniques disclosed of Wen, by implementing techniques of the client comprising a VPN client, disclosed of Gizis.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for authentication using persistent tokens and MDM certificates, comprising of the client comprising a VPN client. This allows for better security management, privacy protection and data encryption by creating a secure tunnel between the client and Internet. Gizis is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of the client comprising a VPN client (Gizis, Paragraph [0003]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning, in view of Wen, in further view of Kubovcik et al. (U.S. Patent 12,166,872), hereinafter Kubo.
Regarding claim 12, Manning as modified by Wen do not teach the following limitation(s) as taught by Kubo: The system of claim 1, wherein authenticating the client with the portal based at least in part on the persistent token comprises:
prompting a user to select whether to a use a cached persistent token certificate or a mobile device management (MDM) token certificate (Kubo, Claim 1, see “…receive from the HSM through the secure link a list of certificates stored in the HSM, receive from the user a selected certificate from the list of certificates…”, which is analogous to prompting a user to select whether to use a cached token certificate or a mobile device token certificate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Manning, and techniques disclosed of Wen, by implementing techniques of prompting a user to select whether to use a cached certificate or a mobile certificate, disclosed of Kubo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for authentication using persistent tokens and MDM certificates, comprising of prompting a user to select whether to use a cached certificate or a mobile certificate. This allows for a more user-friendly environment, whilst optimizing authentication through balancing security, convenience and flexibility. Kubo is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of prompting a user to select whether to use a cached certificate or a mobile certificate (Kubo, Claim 1).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning, in view of Wen, in further view of Herzog et al. (U.S. PGPub. 2012/0090017), hereinafter Herzog.
Regarding claim 16, Manning as modified by Wen do not teach the following limitation(s) as taught by Herzog: The system of claim 1, wherein the client uses different persistent tokens and corresponding certificates for authentication with different gateways (Herzog, Paragraph [0047], see “…the server name is validated through a certificate by any trusted root…”) (Herzog, Paragraph [0076], see “…Since the token is originally generated by the client and is dedicated to a specific gateway and server, the client can always contact the gateway and revoke the token…”, which is analogous to the client using different tokens and corresponding certificates for authentication with different gateways, due to the client having to generate a specific token dedicated to a respective gateway and each respective gateway having a corresponding certificate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Manning, and techniques disclosed of Wen, by implementing techniques of the client using different tokens and corresponding certificates for authentication with different gateways, disclosed of Herzog.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for authentication using persistent tokens and MDM certificates, comprising of the client using different tokens and corresponding certificates for authentication with different gateways. This allows for better security management by ensuring that a compromised token only impacts a single, isolated gateway rather than the entire infrastructure. Herzog is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of the client using different tokens and corresponding certificates for authentication with different gateways (Herzog, Paragraph [0076]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning, in view of Wen, in further view of Tomar (U.S. PGPub. 2024/0297790).
Regarding claim 18, Manning as modified by Wen do not teach the following limitation(s) as taught by Tomar: The system of claim 1, wherein obtain the new persistent token comprises receiving the new persistent token from a provisioning gateway (Tomar, Paragraph [0154], see “…generating, by a service provider application of the user device, a provision new token inquiry message…determining, by the service provider application on the user device, to whether or not to submit a request to the network processing computer to provision the new token…”, where “service provider application” and/or “network processing computer” are analogous to a provisioning gateway structured to generate and forward a new token to the client device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Manning, and techniques disclosed of Wen, by implementing techniques of receiving the new token from a provisioning gateway, disclosed of Tomar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for authentication using persistent tokens and MDM certificates, comprising of receiving the new token from a provisioning gateway. This allows for better security management and operational efficiency for a centralized integrated system that automates the creation and modification of tokens across an entire infrastructure. Tomar is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of receiving the new token from a provisioning gateway (Tomar, Paragraph [0154]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Additional Art Considered
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicants’ disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicants’ invention with respect to authentication using persistent tokens and MDM certificates.
a. Bisbee et al. (U.S. PGPub. 2004/0093493) discloses techniques for transmission, storage and retrieval of authenticated documents. Bisbee further discloses searching the issuing CA cache for the latest certificate data elements and retrieves a status of the certificate data elements.
Conclusion
/RODMAN ALEXANDER MAHMOUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2499