DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 December 2024 by the applicant has been considered and is included in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "280" and "290" have both been used to designate ‘the second detector’. “290” is used in the specification, as well as in Figures 5 and 12, however what appears to be the second detector in Fig. 6 is labeled with “280”.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 3 references “a second object facing a first object…” however a first object was already introduced in the line prior. A suggested amendment is for this to read “a second object facing the first object…”.
Claim 16, line 3 references “a reference light and a measuring light…” which have been incident on the polarizer introduced in this limitation. However, both a reference light and a measuring light which would be incident on this polarizer were already introduced in claim 11 which claim 16 is dependent on. A suggested amendment is for this to read “the reference light and the measuring light…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatomo et al. (hereinafter Nagatomo, JP 2023087200 A) alone.
Regarding claim 1, Nagatomo teaches an optical measuring device comprising:
a first optical system configured to measure a first alignment mark of a first object using a first illumination light, and to measure a second alignment mark of a second object facing the first object using a second illumination light ([0056]; Fig. 2 where backlight and/or illumination light from a light source (not shown) are used to determine alignment marks (MA, Mb) on two objects using light directed at each);
and a second optical system configured to measure a parallelism of the first object and the second object ([0014], [0020], [0062], where system also uses laser autocollimators as tilt sensors (60a, 60b)) using a reference light and a measuring light,
wherein the first optical system comprises:
a first dichroic mirror positioned in a first light path of the first illumination light (Fig. 2, first dichroic mirror (61a) in path to alignment marker Ma);
a second dichroic mirror positioned in a second light path of the second illumination light (Fig. 2, second dichroic mirror (61b) in path to alignment marker Mb);
and at least one (modified) folding mirror positioned in the first light path and in the second light path (Fig. 2, mirrors (38a,b) and (39a,b) act to deflect light from (36) to two optical paths towards the respective dichroic mirrors (61a,b)),
and wherein the second optical system comprises the first dichroic mirror, the second dichroic mirror, and the at least one (modified) folding mirror positioned in a third light path of the measuring light ([0018], [0072]; Fig. 2, where the optical pathway of the tilt sensors (60a,b) also includes dichroic mirrors (61a,b)).
In reference to the modification above, Nagatomo does not explicitly teach that it is a single, shared folded mirror between the first light path, the second light path, and the third light path. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Nagatomo to incorporate a rearrangement of wherein instead of two folding mirrors, a single folding mirror would be utilized with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would be obvious to reorder the orientation of components to also include mirrors (39a,b) for use of the mirrors as switches or light redirection towards markers (Ma, Mb). Additionally, Nagatomo mentions that the mirrors (38a, b) may act as a switch for differing optical paths between the first and second markers, which would indicate it can be a single mirror co-located between the first and second optical paths without affecting the operation of the system to the point of being inoperable (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) for supporting rationale under Reversal, Duplication, or Rearrangement of Parts).
Regarding claim 2, Nagatomo as modified above teaches the optical measuring device of claim 1, wherein
the first illumination light and the second illumination light have a first wavelength, and the reference light and the measuring light have a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength ([0021] - [0022], [0064]; where the wavelength of light used in the first system (illumination light) differs from the wavelength of the detection light used in the second, tilt sensor system).
Regarding claim 3, Nagatomo as modified above teaches the optical measuring device of claim 2, wherein
the first dichroic mirror and the second dichroic mirror are configured to transmit light of the first wavelength and reflect light of the second wavelength ([0032]; Fig. 2, where dichroic mirrors (61a,b) reflects light from tilt sensors (60a,b) and transmits light from backlit marker (36) of the dual FOV system (30)).
Regarding claim 4, Nagatomo as modified above teaches the optical measuring device of claim 1, wherein
the first optical system is configured to measure the first alignment mark and the second alignment mark based on the parallelism measured by the second optical system (Fig. 8, where step S15 determines parallelism which is then used in a later step to detect misalignment of marks in step (S17)).
Regarding claim 5, Nagatomo as modified above teaches the optical measuring device of claim 1, wherein
the first optical system and the second optical system are configured to measure the parallelism, the first alignment mark, and the second alignment mark simultaneously ([0084], where the misalignment may in turn be calculated by information from both acquired images of the system and the tilt sensor at the same time).
Regarding claim 7, Nagatomo as modified above teaches the optical measuring device of claim 1, wherein
the first object comprises a semiconductor wafer ([0043]), and the second object comprises a semiconductor die ([0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Nagatomo teaches an optical measuring device comprising:
a first optical system configured to measure a first alignment mark of a first object using a first illumination light, and to measure a second alignment mark of a second object facing the first object using a second illumination light ([0056]; Fig. 2 where backlight and/or illumination light from a light source (not shown) are used to determine alignment marks (MA, Mb) on two objects using light directed at each);
and a second optical system configured to measure a parallelism of the first object and the second object ([0014], [0020], [0062], where system also uses laser autocollimators as tilt sensors (60a, 60b)) using a reference light and a measuring light,
wherein the first optical system and the second optical system comprise:
a first dichroic mirror configured to transmit the first illumination light and reflect the measuring light;
a second dichroic mirror configured to transmit the second illumination light and reflect the measuring light ([0021] - [0022], [0032], [0064]; where the wavelength of light used in the first system (illumination light) differs from the wavelength of the detection light used in the second, tilt sensor system and two dichroic mirrors are used to transmit one light and reflect the other);
and at least one (modified) folding mirror between the first dichroic mirror and the second dichroic mirror, wherein the folding mirror is configured to reflect the first illumination light transmitted through the first dichroic mirror toward the first alignment mark, to reflect the second illumination light transmitted through the second dichroic mirror toward the second alignment mark (Fig. 2, mirrors (38a,b) and (39a,b) act to deflect light from (36) to two optical paths towards the respective dichroic mirrors (61a,b) towards respective markers (Ma, Mb)), to reflect the measuring light reflected from the first dichroic mirror toward the first object, and to reflect the measuring light reflected from the second dichroic mirror toward the second object ([0018], [0072]; Fig. 2, where the optical pathway of the tilt sensors (60a,b) also includes dichroic mirrors (61a,b)).
In reference to the modification above, Nagatomo does not explicitly teach that it is a single, shared folded mirror intended to redirect different light beams towards the first alignment mark, the second alignment mark and the measuring lights separately to the objects. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Nagatomo to incorporate a rearrangement of wherein instead of two folding mirrors, a single folding mirror with appropriate wavelength-based reflection/transmission would be utilized with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would be obvious to reorder the orientation of components to also include mirrors (39a,b) for use of the mirrors as switches or light redirection towards markers (Ma, Mb). Additionally, Nagatomo mentions that the mirrors (38a, b) may act as a switch for differing optical paths between the first and second markers, which would indicate it can be a single mirror co-located between the first and second optical paths without affecting the operation of the system to the point of being inoperable (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) for supporting rationale under Reversal, Duplication, or Rearrangement of Parts).
Regarding claim 9, Nagatomo as modified above teaches the optical measuring device of claim 8, wherein
the folding mirror is a 45° mirror, and the folding mirror is configured to convert an optical axis of the first illumination light, an optical axis of the second illumination light, and an optical axis of the measuring light by 90° (Fig. 2, mirrors 38a, 38b, 39a, 39b shift light from a horizontal to a vertical direction or vice versa).
Regarding claim 10, Nagatomo as modified above teaches the optical measuring device of claim 8, wherein the first and second optical systems are configured such that:
between the first dichroic mirror and the folding mirror, an optical axis of the first illumination light and an optical axis of the measuring light are on a same axis;
and between the second dichroic mirror and the folding mirror, an optical axis of the second illumination light and the optical axis of the measuring light are on a same axis (wherein in areas of mirrors (39a,b) which sit between folding mirrors (38a,b) and dichroic mirrors (61a,b), the optical axes of illumination light from the first system and measuring light of the second system are along a same axis).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatomo et al. (hereinafter Nagatomo, JP 2023087200 A) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Goorden et al.(hereinafter Goorden, US 20250053106 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Nagatomo as modified above teaches the optical measuring device of claim 1, but does not explicitly mention that a system which measures parallelism or alignment may be used to measure deformation of at least one of the objects.
Goorden teaches an apparatus for and method of using local alignment position deviation parameters for alignment marks on a semiconductor wafer, wherein an optical system such as the second optical system is configured to measure a deformation of the second object with respect to the first object ([0032], [0097], where a system may use alignment signals to determine deformation of a semiconductor wafer within an alignment optical system).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Nagatomo to incorporate the teachings of Goorden to also determine a deformation of an object, such as a semiconductor wafer, with a reasonable expectation of success. As Goorden notes, determining alignment and deformation of objects like semiconducting wafers prior to combination are imperative for successful adherence in order to avoid impairing electrical contact and performance ([0003] – [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 11 is allowable. Claim 11 incorporates limitations which are not explicitly taught by the applicable prior art of record or prior art found during appropriate searches. The closest applicable art of record (Nagatomo et al., hereinafter Nagatomo, JP 2023087200 A, in view of Goorden et al., hereinafter Goorden, US 20250053106 A1 and further in view of the Prior Art Cited in the conclusion) does not explicitly teach or render obvious a combination of the limitations of claim 11.
Nagatomo teaches or renders obvious an optical measuring device comprising:
a first optical system configured to measure a first alignment mark of a first object using a first illumination light, and to measure a second alignment mark of a second object facing the first object using a second illumination light ([0056]; Fig. 2 where backlight and/or illumination light from a light source (not shown) are used to determine alignment marks (MA, Mb) on two objects using light directed at each);
and a second optical system configured to measure a parallelism of the first object and the second object ([0014], [0020], [0062], where system also uses laser autocollimators as tilt sensors (60a, 60b)) using a reference light and a measuring light,
wherein the first optical system comprises:
an illumination element configured to emit illumination light having a first wavelength; a first reflection unit, a first lens, and a first dichroic mirror positioned in a first light path of the first illumination light ([0056]; Fig. 2 where backlight and/or illumination light from a light source (not shown) are used to determine alignment marks (MA, Mb) on two objects using light directed at each, and a first path includes mirror (39a), lens (34a) and dichroic mirror (61a));
a second reflection unit, a second lens, and a second dichroic mirror positioned in a second light path of the second illumination light ([0056]; Fig. 2 where backlight and/or illumination light from a light source (not shown) are used to determine alignment marks (MA, Mb) on two objects using light directed at each, and a second path includes mirror (39b), lens (34b) and dichroic mirror (61b)); and a folding mirror positioned in the first light path of the first illumination light and in the second light path of the second illumination light, and positioned between the first dichroic mirror and the second dichroic mirror (Fig. 2, mirror 38(a,b)),
wherein the second optical system comprises:
a light source configured to emit light having a second wavelength ([0014], [0020], [0062], where system also uses laser autocollimators as tilt sensors (60a, 60b));
the folding mirror positioned in the third light path, wherein the folding mirror is shared with the first optical system;
wherein the second dichroic mirror is shared with the first optical system and wherein the first dichroic mirror is shared with the first optical system (Fig. 2, where dichroic mirrors (61a,b) are shared between systems and folding mirror, as described in rejection of claim 8, is obvious to share between optical pathways of the two system).
Components such as wave/wavelength plates, polarization beam splitters and an emitter which emits polarized light are well known in optical systems where alignment, distance, pose or other physical attributes of objects are of interest and especially in systems where light is split by polarization component. However, even in view of systems such as taught by Goorden and the relevant but not cited art below which teach the use of these components for similar purposes, it is not obvious to modify Nagatomo to create a system with the specific incorporation of optical components, relative locations and shared optical pathways as described in the remaining limitations, such as:
wherein the first optical system comprises: a first polarization beam splitter configured to split the illumination light into a first illumination light incident on the first object and a second illumination light incident on the second object, and configured to direct the first illumination light reflected from the first object and the second illumination light reflected from the second object into a common light path;
wherein the second optical system comprises: a second polarization beam splitter configured to split the polarized light into a reference light and a measuring light, and positioned in a third light path of the measuring light; a first reflection mirror positioned in the third light path, and on a first surface of the second polarization beam splitter; a third wavelength plate positioned in the third light path, and between the first surface of the second polarization beam splitter and the first reflection mirror; the first dichroic mirror positioned in the third light path and on a second surface opposite to the first surface of the second polarization beam splitter;
a fourth wavelength plate positioned in the third light path, and between the second surface of the second polarization beam splitter and the first dichroic mirror;
a third polarization beam splitter positioned in the third light path, and on a third surface adjacent to the first surface of the second polarization beam splitter;
a second reflection mirror positioned in the third light path, and on a first surface of the third polarization beam splitter;
a fifth wavelength plate positioned in the third light path, and between the first surface of the third polarization beam splitter and the second reflection mirror;
the second dichroic mirror positioned in the third light path and on a second surface opposite to the first surface of the third polarization beam splitter;
and a sixth wavelength plate positioned in the third light path and between the second surface of the third polarization beam splitter and the second dichroic mirror.
Claims 12-20, which are dependent upon allowable claim 11, are similarly allowable.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fujita et al. (US 20250140736 A1) teaches a positioning apparatus for use in combining two components, where an alignment of the two components (such as a semiconductor wafer and die) is determined via an optical system with components such as light emitter(s), mirrors, beam splitters, lenses, and waveplates.
Matsumoto et al. (US 5682239 A) teaches an apparatus for detecting positional deviation of diffraction gratings on a substrate such as a semiconductor wafer based on optical heterodyne interference and through use of an optical system which employs polarized light, beam splitters and wave plates.
Maeda et al. (US 5774222 A) teaches a pattern detection method and apparatus for inspecting objects during a semiconductor substrate/wafer manufacturing process, where an optical system determines defects within the surfaces by looking at diffraction patterns and where embodiments employ polarized light, polarization beam splitters and wavelength plates.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645