Double Patenting
Claims 56-75 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,583,327. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and granted patent disclose a tissue distraction device. The device comprises a first elongated member and a second elongated member, an augmenting elongated member configured to cooperatively interact with the first elongated member and the second elongated member to increase a dimensional aspect of the tissue distraction device, wherein the first elongated member and the second elongated member comprises an inner member and an outer member at least partially surrounding the inner member, wherein the inner member and the outer member comprise different materials, wherein the inner member comprises a polymer material, and the outer member comprises a metallic material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 56-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2014/0277481 to Lee et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2008/0234687 to Schaller et al.
As to Claim 56, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device (10, Fig. 1) comprising a first elongated member (12, Figs. 1, 4, 11, [0061]) and a second elongated member (14, Figs. 1, 4, 11, [0061]), an augmenting elongated member (16, Figs. 1, 11, [0061, 0064]) configured to be at least partially inserted between the first elongated member and the second elongated member to increase a dimensional aspect of at least a portion of the tissue distraction device [0061, 0064]. The first elongated member (12) and the second elongated member (14) comprise a layered structure comprising an inner layer and an outer layer (molding of second material over a first material described in [0062]), wherein the inner layer and the outer layer comprise different materials (metals and polymers described in [0061]), (metals and polymers described in [0061]).
As to Claim 57, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the polymer comprises polyetheretherketone (PEEK materials described in [0061]).
As to Claim 58, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the metal comprises titanium (biocompatible metal materials described in [0061]).
As to Claim 60, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the outer layer comprises a plurality of sections spaced along the length of the inner layer (e.g. sections 38, [0074]).
As to Claim 61, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the first elongated member (12) and the second elongated member (14) are configured to be inserted in a generally linear configuration [0063].
As to Claim 62, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the first elongated member and the second elongated member are configured to change to a less linear configuration (described in [0065]).
As to Claim 63, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the outer layer comprises a porous surface (materials having porous surfaces described in [0061]).
As to Claim 64, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device (10, Fig. 1) comprising a first elongated member (12, Figs. 1, 4, 11, [0061]) and a second elongated member (14, Figs. 1, 4, 11, [0061]), an augmenting elongated member (16, Figs. 1, 11, [0061, 0064]) configured to be at least partially inserted between the first elongated member and the second elongated member to increase a dimensional aspect of at least a portion of the tissue distraction device [0061, 0064]. The first elongated member (12) and the second elongated member (14) comprise a composite structure (e.g. PEEK with carbon fibers described in [0061]) comprising an inner layer and an outer layer (molding of second material over a first material described in [0062]), wherein the inner layer and the outer layer comprise different materials (metals and polymers described in [0061]).
As to Claim 65, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the polymer comprises polyetheretherketone (PEEK materials described in [0061]).
As to Claim 66, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the metal comprises titanium (biocompatible metal materials described in [0061]).
As to Claim 67, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the first elongated member and the second elongated member are configured to change from a generally linear configuration [0063] to a less linear configuration (described in [0065]).
As to Claim 69, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the second layer comprises a porous surface (materials having porous surfaces described in [0061]).
As to Claim 70, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device (10, Fig. 1) comprising a first elongated member (12, Figs. 1, 4, 11, [0061]) and a second elongated member (14, Figs. 1, 4, 11, [0061]), an augmenting elongated member (16, Figs. 1, 11, [0061, 0064]) configured to be at least partially inserted between the first elongated member and the second elongated member to increase a dimensional aspect of at least a portion of the tissue distraction device [0061, 0064]. The first elongated member (12) and the second elongated member (14) comprise a first material and a tissue-contacting layer comprising a second material, wherein the first material and the second material comprise different materials (metals and polymers described in [0061]), wherein the core comprises a polymer (PEEK materials described in [0061]), and wherein the tissue-contacting layer comprises a metal (biocompatible metal materials described in [0061]).
As to Claim 71, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the polymer comprises polyetheretherketone (PEEK materials described in [0061]).
As to Claim 72, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the metal comprises titanium (biocompatible metal materials described in [0061]).
As to Claim 74, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the first elongated member and the second elongated member are configured to change from a generally linear configuration [0063] to a less linear configuration (described in [0065]).
As to Claim 75, Lee discloses a tissue distraction device wherein the second layer comprises a porous surface (materials having porous surfaces described in [0061]).
As to Claims 56-75, Lee discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the inner layer comprises a polymer, wherein the outer layer comprises a metal, wherein the outer layer at least partially surrounds the inner layer, wherein the first and second elongated members comprise a composite structure that combines a first layer comprising a first material and a second layer comprising a second material, and wherein the first and second elongated members comprise a core comprising a first material and a tissue-contacting layer comprising a second material, wherein the tissue-contacting layer at least partially surrounds the core.
Schaller discloses a tissue distraction device (239, Fig. 22, [0138]) wherein the inner layer comprises a polymer, and wherein the outer layer comprises a metal (combinations of material, different materials on opposing sides described in [0144]). The outer layer at least partially surrounds the inner layer (at interface of materials described in [0144]). The first and second elongated members comprise a composite structure that combines a first layer comprising a first material and a second layer comprising a second material (distinct materials described in [0144], composite materials described in [0139]). The first and second elongated members comprise a core comprising a first material and a tissue-contacting layer comprising a second material (combinations of material, different materials on opposing sides described in [0144]). The tissue-contacting layer at least partially surrounds the core (at interface of materials described in [0144]) in order to allow for varying degrees of flexibility of the members [0144].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the tissue distraction device of Lee with the layer material modification of Schaller in order to allow for varying degrees of flexibility of the members.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775