DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119 and/or 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2025 and 03/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final Office Action.
Claim 16 is amended. Claims 1-19 are considered in this Office Action. Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite “after activating the fist timer, using the first timer to determine whether the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived”, the claims limitation should read after activating the first timer, using the first timer to determine whether the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12 and 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite “The call center system of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises...” The examiner notes the claims are drafted as a system claim, but they then recite method steps introduced by the phrase “wherein the method further comprises.” The examiner advises to amend the claims and replace “wherein the method further comprises,” with system-configuration language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The eligibility analysis in support of these findings is provided below, in accordance with the “Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance”.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the method (claims 1-9), the non-transitory computer readable storage medium (claim 10), and system (claims 11-19), are directed to an eligible category of subject matter (i.e., process, machine, and article of manufacture). Thus, Step 1 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2, and in particular Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea of managing and scheduling customer-contact handling tasks by detecting event, starting a timer, and executing an action when a time condition is met by reciting concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), which falls into “mental processes”. The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. The claims further fall into “certain method of organizing human activities”, because it is directed to managing customer service interaction in a contact center context (a commercial/interaction-management workflow). (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The limitations reciting the abstract idea are highlighted in italics and the limitation directed to additional elements highlighted in bold, as set forth in exemplary claim 1, are: A method in a call center system comprising: obtaining a script comprising a plurality of instructions for execution before a contact seeking to communicate with an agent of a contact center is paired to an agent of the contact center, wherein the plurality of instructions comprises a first instruction, and the first instruction has a time for execution, where the time for execution of the first instruction is a point in time relative to the occurrence of a first event; determining whether, for a first contact, the first event has occurred; as a result of determining that the first event for the first contact has occurred, activating a first timer associated with the first contact; after activating the fist timer, using the first timer to determine whether the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived; and as a result of determining that the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived, executing the first instruction. Claims 10 and 11 recite substantially the same limitation as claim 1 and therefore subject to the same rationale.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements are directed to a call center system and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions. However, these elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Furthermore, these elements have been fully considered, however they are directed to the use of generic computing elements (Applicant’s Specification paragraph [0072] describes high level general purpose computer) to perform the abstract idea, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application and is tantamount to simply saying “apply it” using a general purpose computer, which merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (computer based operating environment) by using the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, which is not sufficient to amount to particular application.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitations are directed to: a call center system and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions. These elements have been considered, but merely serve to tie the invention to a particular operating environment (i.e., computer-based implementation), though at a very high level of generality and without imposing meaningful limitation on the scope of the claim. In addition, Applicant’s Specification (paragraph [0072]) describes generic off-the-shelf computer-based elements for implementing the claimed invention, and which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, which is not enough to transform an abstract idea into eligible subject matter. Such generic, high-level, and nominal involvement of a computer or computer-based elements for carrying out the invention merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent-eligible, as noted at pg. 74624 of Federal Register/Vol. 79, No. 241, citing Alice, which in turn cites Mayo.
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that the ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
The dependent claims have been fully considered as well (i.e., the dependent claims 6 and 16 recite storing in a memory a data structure). However, these elements have been fully considered, however they are directed to the use of generic computing elements (Applicant’s Specification paragraph [0075] describes high level general purpose computer) to perform the abstract idea, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application and is tantamount to simply saying “apply it” using a general purpose computer, which merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (computer based operating environment) by using the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, which is not sufficient to amount to particular application. These elements have been considered, but merely serve to tie the invention to a particular operating environment (i.e., computer-based implementation), though at a very high level of generality and without imposing meaningful limitation on the scope of the claim. In addition, Applicant’s Specification (paragraph [0075]) describes generic off-the-shelf computer-based elements for implementing the claimed invention, and which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, which is not enough to transform an abstract idea into eligible subject matter. Such generic, high-level, and nominal involvement of a computer or computer-based elements for carrying out the invention merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent-eligible, as noted at pg. 74624 of Federal Register/Vol. 79, No. 241, citing Alice, which in turn cites Mayo), however, similar to the finding for claims above, these claims are similarly directed to the abstract idea of concepts of mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity, without integrating it into a practical application and with, at most, a general purpose computer that serves to tie the idea to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claims. The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benjamin Knott (US 2012/0269339 A1, hereinafter “Knott”) in view of Konstantin Kishinsky (US 2006/0221941 A1, hereinafter “Kishinsky”) in view of Valentine C. Matula (US 2022/0270020 A1, hereinafter “Matula”).
Claim 1/10/11
Knott teaches:
A method in a call center system ([0012] a method and system providing customer activities while in queue. [0044] computer-usable media encoding logic such as computer instructions for performing the operations of the invention) comprising: obtaining a script comprising a plurality of instructions for execution before a contact seeking to communicate with an agent of a contact center is paired to an agent of the contact center (Knott teaches in [0016]-[0017] a script when a customer (a contact seeking) seeks to communicate with an agent prior to matching the customer with an agent. “The method begins at step 60 and at step 62 receiving device 42 through I/O ports 26 receives one or more inbound inquiries from one or more customers” and “If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent”),
wherein the plurality of instructions comprises a first instruction([0018]“If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent”), and the first instruction has a time for execution, where the time for execution of the first instruction is a point in time relative to the occurrence of a first event([0018] “When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70”);
determining whether, for a first contact, the first event has occurred (fig. 3A step 34 presents a condition trigger whether an agent is available if not, a first event occurs by queuing the caller).
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Knott does not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference in the field of contact/call center management, Kishinsky teaches:
as a result of determining that the first event for the first contact has occurred, activating a first timer associated with the first contact (Kishinsky, [0337] CCA calls this method right after interaction is placed in the queue. [0338] Start periodic timer to play reminder m_objAppCtx.StartTimer("TimerReminder", m_nTimeout, true)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott with Kishinsky to include activating a first timer associated with the first contact as a result of determining that the first event for the first contact has occurred to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls by providing timing action while a contact waits for an agent([0841]).
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Kishinksy teaches starting periodic timer to play reminder associated with an interaction. Knott and Kishinksy do not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference in the field of contact/call center management, Matula teaches:
after activating the first timer, using the first timer to determine whether the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived ([0020] a threshold may be singular (e.g., a target or a trigger), where when the threshold is met or exceeded, then an action related to a channel change occurs (e.g., a channel change is managed). there may be any combination of thresholds used, such as one action for a hold time of a first amount, and a different action for a hold time of a second amount. Examiner Notes: the timer amount trigger action of first instruction);
and as a result of determining that the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived, executing the first instruction ([0020] a threshold may be singular (e.g., a target or a trigger), where when the threshold is met or exceeded, then an action related to a channel change occurs (e.g., a channel change is managed). There may be any combination of thresholds used, such as one action for a hold time of a first amount, and a different action for a hold time of a second amount. Examiner Notes: the timer amount trigger action of first instruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott and Kishinsky with Matula to include using the first timer to determine whether the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived after activating the first timer and as a result of determining that the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived, executing the first instruction to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls by improving the management of channel changes. ([0015]).
Claim 2/12
Knott teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining whether, for a second contact, the first event has occurred([0016] The method begins at step 60 and at step 62 receiving device 42 through I/O ports 26 receives one or more inbound inquires from one or more customer. [0016]-[0017] a script when a customer (a contact seeking) seeks to communicate with an agent prior to matching the customer with an agent. “The method begins at step 60 and at step 62 receiving device 42 through I/O ports 26 receives one or more inbound inquiries from one or more customers” and “If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent”).
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Knott does not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference Kishinsky teaches:
as a result of determining that the first event for the second contact has occurred, activating a second timer associated with the second contact ([0842] Statistics Manager uses the outbound connectivity part to receive events from the message bus, timers to set up and receive timer events, and the inbound connectivity part to deliver metric values to the monitoring applications. [0337] CCA calls this method right after interaction is placed in the queue. [0338] Start periodic timer to play reminder m_objAppCtx.StartTimer("TimerReminder", m_nTimeout, true));
after activating the second timer, using the second timer to determine whether a time for execution of the first instruction has arrived ([0841] Schedule timer fires schedule timer events according to a set of schedules, defined in the configuration);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott with Kishinsky to include as a result of determining that the first event for the second contact has occurred, activating a second timer associated with the second contact and after activating the second timer, using the second timer to determine whether a time for execution of the first instruction has arrived to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls by providing timing action while a contact waits for an agent([0841]).
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Kishinksy teaches starting periodic timer to play reminder associated with an interaction. Knott and Kishinksy do not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference Matula teaches:
and as a result of determining that the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived using the second timer, executing the first instruction with respect to the second contact ([0020] a threshold may be singular (e.g., a target or a trigger), where when the threshold is met or exceeded, then an action related to a channel change occurs (e.g., a channel change is managed). There may be any combination of thresholds used, such as one action for a hold time of a first amount, and a different action for a hold time of a second amount. Examiner Notes: the timer amount trigger action of first instruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott and Kishinsky with Matula to include as a result of determining that the time for execution of the first instruction has arrived using the second timer, executing the first instruction with respect to the second contact to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls by improving the management of channel changes. ([0015]).
Claim 3/13
Knott teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein a single process thread performs all of the recited steps(figures 3A and 3B illustrate a single process thread performs all of the recited steps).
Claim 4/14
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Kishinksy teaches starting periodic timer to play reminder associated with an interaction. Knott and Kishinksy do not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference Matula teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions further comprises a second instruction, and the second instruction has a time for execution, where the time for execution of the second instruction is a point in time relative to an execution time of the first instruction(Matula teaches [0020] a threshold may be singular (e.g., a target or a trigger), where when the threshold is met or exceeded, then an action related to a channel change occurs (e.g., a channel change is managed). There may be any combination of thresholds used, such as one action for a hold time of a first amount, and a different action for a hold time of a second amount. Examiner Notes: the second timer amount trigger action of second instruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott and Kishinsky with Matula to include the plurality of instructions further comprises a second instruction, and the second instruction has a time for execution, where the time for execution of the second instruction is a point in time relative to an execution time of the first instruction to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls by improving the management of channel changes. ([0015]).
Claim 5/15
Knott teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of instructions further comprises a third instruction, and the script indicates that the third instruction should be executed immediately after detecting the occurrence of a particular event([0033] As the customer continues to interact with the selected customer activity at step 96, the customer maintains his place in the queue moving up a position in the queue each time a customer ahead of him in the queue is connected to one of the agents until the customer is at the top of the queue and is therefore in position to be connected to the next available agent. [0034] When an agent is available at step 94, at step 98 connection engine 40 notifies the customer that an agent is available to interact with the customer. Connection engine 40 may notify the customer of the agent availability by a prompt such as, "An agent is ready to assist you now. Would you like to speak with the agent if you wish, when you are finished speaking with the agent." Therefore, at step 100, the customer has the option of immediately connecting with the agent or continuing to interact with the selected customer activity).
Claims 6-9 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knott in view of Kishinsky in view of Matula, as applied in claims 1 and 11, and further in view of Carl Schoeneberger(US 2004/0141508 A1, hereinafter “Schoeneberger”).
Claim 6/16
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Kishinksy teaches starting periodic timer to play reminder associated with an interaction. Matula teaches [0020] There may be any combination of thresholds used, such as one action for a hold time of a first amount, and a different action for a hold time of a second amount. Knott, Kishinksy, and Matula do not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference in the field of contact/call center management, Schoeneberger teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises storing in a memory a data structure comprising a set of records comprising a first record, and the first record contains an identifier assigned to the first contact and state information indicating a state associated with the first contact ([0075] memory [0169] a data structure 2800 for CDR is illustrated in FIG. 10. The contact represented by the CDR 2800 identified through ID field 2801. Assuming the contact has been classified, the classification for the contact is stored in a contact class ID field 2805. If the iCC is implemented in conjunction with a standard customer relationship management system, the CRM case identifiers is store in a case ID field 2807 to allow tracking of the contact. One or more fields 2811 collectively record the history of the contact as it is processed in the iCC. Each field 2811 contains a contact state 2813 and a timestamp 2815. Thus, the change in state of the contact can be tracked chronologically for the life of the contact. Exemplary contact states used by the iCC are shown in Table 1 below and it will be appreciated that more or fewer states may be used. Table 1 illustrates state information associated with first contact such as initially created, escalated, being addressed, on hold, queue, etc...).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott, Kishinsky, and Matula with Schoeneberger to include storing in a memory a data structure comprising a set of records comprising a first record, and the first record contains an identifier assigned to the first contact and state information indicating a state associated with the first contact to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls and insure that all up do date customer information is replicated in every location in the contact center. ([0075]).
Claim 7/17
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Kishinksy teaches starting periodic timer to play reminder associated with an interaction. Matula teaches [0020] There may be any combination of thresholds used, such as one action for a hold time of a first amount, and a different action for a hold time of a second amount. Knott, Kishinksy, and Matula do not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference Schoeneberger teaches:
The method of claim 6, wherein the state information indicates a time at which the first instruction was executed with respect to the first contact(([0169] a data structure 2800 for CDR is illustrated in FIG. 10. The contact represented by the CDR 2800 identified through ID field 2801. Assuming the contact has been classified, the classification for the contact is stored in a contact class ID field 2805. If the iCC is implemented in conjunction with a standard customer relationship management system, the CRM case identifiers is store in a case ID field 2807 to allow tracking of the contact. One or more fields 2811 collectively record the history of the contact as it is processed in the iCC. Each field 2811 contains a contact state 2813 and a timestamp 2815).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott, Kishinsky, and Matula with Schoeneberger to include the state information indicates a time at which the first instruction was executed with respect to the first contact to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls and insure that all up do date customer information is replicated in every location in the contact center. ([0075]).
Claim 8/18
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Kishinksy teaches starting periodic timer to play reminder associated with an interaction. Matula teaches [0020] There may be any combination of thresholds used, such as one action for a hold time of a first amount, and a different action for a hold time of a second amount. Knott, Kishinksy, and Matula do not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference Schoeneberger teaches:
The method of claim 7, wherein the set of records further comprises a second record, and the second record contains an identifier assigned to a second contact and state information indicating a state associated with the second contact([0169] a data structure 2800 for CDR is illustrated in FIG. 10. The contact represented by the CDR 2800 identified through ID field 2801. Assuming the contact has been classified, the classification for the contact is stored in a contact class ID field 2805. If the iCC is implemented in conjunction with a standard customer relationship management system, the CRM case identifiers is store in a case ID field 2807 to allow tracking of the contact. One or more fields 2811 collectively record the history of the contact as it is processed in the iCC. Each field 2811 contains a contact state 2813 and a timestamp 2815. Thus, the change in state of the contact can be tracked chronologically for the life of the contact. Exemplary contact states used by the iCC are shown in Table 1 below and it will be appreciated that more or fewer states may be used. Table 1 illustrates state information associated with first contact such as initially created, escalated, being addressed, on hold, queue, etc... Fig. 10 illustrates n numbers of record wherein each record is attached to different contact/customer identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott, Kishinsky, and Matula with Schoeneberger to include the set of records further comprises a second record, and the second record contains an identifier assigned to a second contact and state information indicating a state associated with the second contact to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls and insure that all up do date customer information is replicated in every location in the contact center. ([0075]).
Claim 9/19
While Knott describes in [0012] a system for providing customer activities while in queue. [0017] If no agents are available at step 64, then at step 66 receiving device 42 places the customer in a queue in order to hold for the next available agent. The queue the customer is placed in is typically a first in, first out queue where the customers are ordered by the time their calls were received by receiving device 42. [0018] When receiving device 42 places the customer in the queue, receiving device 42 also calculates an estimated hold time in the queue for the customer at step 68 and provides the estimated hold time to the customer at step 70. [0021] Examples of customer activities include voice portals, self-service applications, listening to music, and any other appropriate type of customer entertainment for holding customers. Voice portals, for instance, utilize speech recognition technology to allow the customers to browse information over the telephone such as news, weather, horoscopes, sports scores, and movie reviews and times using simple voice commands. Kishinksy teaches starting periodic timer to play reminder associated with an interaction. Matula teaches [0020] There may be any combination of thresholds used, such as one action for a hold time of a first amount, and a different action for a hold time of a second amount. Knott, Kishinksy, and Matula do not explicitly teach the following limitation; however, analogues reference Schoeneberger teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the state information indicating the state associated with the second contact indicates a time at which the first instruction was executed with respect to the second contact([0169] a data structure 2800 for CDR is illustrated in FIG. 10. The contact represented by the CDR 2800 identified through ID field 2801. Assuming the contact has been classified, the classification for the contact is stored in a contact class ID field 2805. If the iCC is implemented in conjunction with a standard customer relationship management system, the CRM case identifiers is store in a case ID field 2807 to allow tracking of the contact. One or more fields 2811 collectively record the history of the contact as it is processed in the iCC. Each field 2811 contains a contact state 2813 and a timestamp 2815. Thus, the change in state of the contact can be tracked chronologically for the life of the contact (i.e., the state information indicating the state associated with the second contact indicates a time at which the first instruction was executed with respect to the second contact as illustrated at figure 10). Exemplary contact states used by the iCC are shown in Table 1 below and it will be appreciated that more or fewer states may be used. Table 1 illustrates state information associated with first contact such as initially created, escalated, being addressed, on hold, queue, etc....).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Knott, Kishinsky, and Matula with Schoeneberger to include wherein the state information indicating the state associated with the second contact indicates a time at which the first instruction was executed with respect to the second contact to Knott’s queue-time customer activity system, because in doing so it will help manage and handle a large amounts of incoming and/or outgoing telephone calls and insure that all up do date customer information is replicated in every location in the contact center. ([0075]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20090190745 A1
POOLING CALLERS FOR A CALL CENTER ROUTING SYSTEM
Xie; Qiaobing et al.
US 20150381674 A1
System and Method for Efficient Port and Bandwidth Utilization in Setting up Communication Sessions
Klemm; Reinhard et al.
US 9247062 B2
System and method for queuing a communication session
Fahlgren; Christer et al.
US 9961205 B1
Mobility bonding network
Chavez; David et al.
US 11503153 B1
Method and apparatus for determining an on-hold queue position of a call
Hansen; Gregory David et al.
/REHAM K ABOUZAHRA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3625
/BRIAN M EPSTEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3625