DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim amendments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6,7,9,10,12,13, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKUMURA et al (US 2015/0041302) in view of CHUNG et al (US 2015/0138138).
Regarding claim 1, OKUMURA discloses a sensor (abstract) comprising: a base material 1 (Figure 1-5); a first electroconductive part 10 provided on a first face side of the base material (Figure 1, 2); and a second electroconductive part 20 provided on the first face side of the base material, and disposed apart from the first electroconductive part (Figure 1, 2); wherein the first electroconductive part has a plurality of first electrode portions 12 disposed in a first direction, and a wiring portion 11 electrically connecting the first electrode portions adjacent to each other (Figure 1-4); wherein the second electroconductive part has a plurality of second electrode portions 22 disposed in a second direction intersecting with the first direction, and a bridge wiring portion 21 straddling the wiring portion and electrically connecting the second electrode portions adjacent to each other (Figure 1-4); and wherein the bridge wiring portion contains a resin portion and an electroconductive fiber disposed in the resin portion (paragraph 76; As the material forming the X electrode films 10 and the Y electrode films 20, a composite material in which ultrafine conductive carbon fibers such as carbon nanotubes, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanowires, carbon nanofibers, or graphite fibrils or ultrafine conductive fibers made of a silver material are dispersed in a polymer material that serves as a binder). However, OKUMURA does not expressly disclose wherein the electroconductive fibers in the bridge wiring portion are arranged along a certain direction. In a similar field of endeavor, CHUNG discloses wherein the electroconductive fibers in the bridge wiring portion are arranged along a certain direction (abstract; paragraph 32, 46; current may be provided on the substrate 10 in the reference direction so that the nanowires 30 may be aligned in the direction corresponding to the reference direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify OKUMURA to include the teachings of CHUNG, since CHUNG states that such a modification would improve visibility of a touch display. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional dispersion of fibers based on techniques disclosed in CHUNG.
Regarding claim 2, OKUMURA discloses a sensor (abstract) comprising: a base material 1 (Figure 1-5); a first electroconductive part 10 provided on a first face side of the base material (Figure 1, 2); and a second electroconductive part 20 provided on the first face side of the base material, and disposed apart from the first electroconductive part (Figure 1, 2); wherein the first electroconductive part has a plurality of first electrode portions 12 disposed in a first direction, and a wiring portion 11 electrically connecting the first electrode portions adjacent to each other (Figure 1-4); wherein the second electroconductive part has a plurality of second electrode portions 22 disposed in a second direction intersecting with the first direction, and a bridge wiring portion 21 straddling the wiring portion and electrically connecting the second electrode portions adjacent to each other (Figure 1-4); wherein the second electrode portion contains an electroconductive material (paragraph 76); and wherein the bridge wiring portion contains a resin portion and an electroconductive material that is disposed in the resin portion, and is the same kind of electroconductive material contained in the second electrode portion (paragraph 76); wherein the elctroconductive material of the second electrode portion and the electroconductive material of the bridge wiring portions are electoconductive fibers (paragraph 76; As the material forming the X electrode films 10 and the Y electrode films 20, a composite material in which ultrafine conductive carbon fibers). However, OKUMURA does not expressly disclose wherein the electroconductive fibers in the bridge wiring portion are arranged along a certain direction. In a similar field of endeavor, CHUNG discloses wherein the electroconductive material of the second electrode portions and the electroconductive material of the bridge wiring portion are electroconductive fibers (Figure 3; paragraph 24-26); wherein the electroconductive fibers in the bridge wiring portion are arranged along a certain direction (abstract; paragraph 32, 46; current may be provided on the substrate 10 in the reference direction so that the nanowires 30 may be aligned in the direction corresponding to the reference direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify OKUMURA to include the teachings of CHUNG, since CHUNG states that such a modification would improve visibility of a touch display. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional dispersion of fibers based on techniques disclosed in CHUNG.
Regarding claim 6, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. OKUMURA further discloses wherein the first electrode portions and the wiring portion of the first electroconductive part each contain an electroconductive fiber (paragraph 76).
Regarding claim 7, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. OKUMURA further discloses further comprising an electrically-insulating layer provided between the wiring portion and the bridge wiring portion (paragraph 6, 20-23).
Regarding claim 9, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. OKUMURA further discloses an article comprising the sensor according to claim 1 (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. OKUMURA further discloses an article comprising the sensor according to claim 2 (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, OKUMURA discloses a method of producing a sensor (abstract), comprising the steps of: disposing, on a first face side of a base material, a first electroconductive fiber in each of a region in which a first electroconductive part is to be formed and a region in which a plurality of second electrode portions are to be formed, wherein the first electroconductive part has a plurality of first electrode portions disposed in a first direction, and has a wiring portion electrically connecting the first electrode portions adjacent to each other, and wherein the plurality of second electrode portions are disposed apart from the first electroconductive part, and disposed in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (Figure 1, 2; paragraph 88-91, 95, 99, 104); forming an electrically-insulating layer to cover the first electroconductive fiber disposed in the region in which the wiring portion is to be formed (paragraph 81-83); disposing, on the electrically-insulating layer, a second electroconductive fiber in a region in which a bridge wiring portion straddling the wiring portion and electrically connecting the second electrode portions adjacent to each other is to be formed (paragraph 81-83); and forming a resin layer to cover the first electroconductive fiber and the second electroconductive fiber (paragraph 94-95, 108). However, OKUMURA does not expressly disclose wherein the electroconductive fibers in the bridge wiring portion are arranged along a certain direction. In a similar field of endeavor, CHUNG discloses wherein the electroconductive fibers in the bridge wiring portion are arranged along a certain direction (abstract; paragraph 32, 46; current may be provided on the substrate 10 in the reference direction so that the nanowires 30 may be aligned in the direction corresponding to the reference direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify OKUMURA to include the teachings of CHUNG, since CHUNG states that such a modification would improve visibility of a touch display. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional dispersion of fibers based on techniques disclosed in CHUNG.
Regarding claim 13, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. OKUMURA further discloses wherein the step of disposing the first electroconductive fiber comprises the steps of: forming, on the first face side of the base material, an electroconductive layer containing a resin portion and the first electroconductive fiber (paragraph 94-95, 108); and removing, from the electroconductive layer, at least the first electroconductive fiber present in a region other than the region in which the first electroconductive part is to be formed and the region in which the second electrode portions are to be formed (Figure 10, 11, 18, 19; paragraph 90, 91, 97, 101).
Regarding claim 16, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. The combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG further discloses wherein the electroconductive fibers of the bridge wiring extend along the second direction (Figure 3; paragraph 32, 46; reference direction corresponding to first or second direction).
Regarding claim 17, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. The combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG further discloses wherein the electroconductive fibers of the bridge wiring extend along the second direction (Figure 3; paragraph 32, 46; reference direction corresponding to first or second direction).
Regarding claim 18, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. The combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG further discloses wherein the second electroconductive fibers of the bridge wiring extend along the second direction (Figure 3; paragraph 32, 46; reference direction corresponding to first or second direction).
Claim(s) 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKUMURA et al (US 2015/0041302) in view of CHUNG et al (US 2015/0138138) and further in view of YANG et al (US 2014/0174902).
Regarding claim 4, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG does not expressly disclose wherein the second electrode portions have a width of 10 mm or less. In a similar field of endeavor, YANG discloses wherein the second electrode portions have a width of 10 mm or less (paragraph 29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG to include the teachings of YANG, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, a change in size in electrodes and wiring would be an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art based on available space within a etched circuit.
Regarding claim 14, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG does not expressly disclose wherein the second electrode portions have a width of 10 mm or less. In a similar field of endeavor, YANG discloses wherein the second electrode portions have a width of 10 mm or less (paragraph 29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG to include the teachings of YANG, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, a change in size in electrodes and wiring would be an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art based on available space within a etched circuit.
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKUMURA et al (US 2015/0041302) in view of CHUNG et al (US 2015/0138138) and further in view of JUNG et al (US 2011/0134055).
Regarding claim 5, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG does not expressly disclose wherein the bridge wiring portion has a width of 0.35 mm or more. In a similar field of endeavor, JUNG discloses wherein the bridge wiring portion has a width of 0.35 mm or more (paragraph 59). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG to include the teachings of JUNG, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, a change in size in electrodes and wiring would be an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art based on available space within a etched circuit.
Regarding claim 15, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG does not expressly disclose wherein the bridge wiring portion has a width of 0.35 mm or more. In a similar field of endeavor, JUNG discloses wherein the bridge wiring portion has a width of 0.35 mm or more (paragraph 59). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG to include the teachings of JUNG, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, a change in size in electrodes and wiring would be an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art based on available space within a etched circuit.
Claim(s) 8,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKUMURA et al (US 2015/0041302) in view of CHUNG et al (US 2015/0138138) and further in view of HWANG et al (US 2012/0234663).
Regarding claim 8, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG does not expressly disclose wherein the absolute value of a difference in the refractive index between the bridge wiring portion and the electrically-insulating layer is 0.08 or less. In a similar field of endeavor, HWANG discloses wherein the absolute value of a difference in the refractive index between the bridge wiring portion and the electrically-insulating layer is 0.08 or less (paragraph 180). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG to include the teachings of HWANG, since HWANG states that such a modification would improve uniform light transmittance.
Regarding claim 11, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG does not expressly disclose wherein the article is an image display device. In a similar field of endeavor, HWANG discloses wherein the article is an image display device (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of OKUMURA and CHUNG to include the teachings of HWANG, since the use of touch sensors within a display device are well known and conventional in the art and allows a user to interact with displayed objects.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL A BALAOING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624