DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sewing (DE 3537306) in view of Spiro (US 10,524,433).
Regarding claim 1, Sewing discloses a modular enclosure (garden house) comprising: a hexagonally shaped base 6 (Fig 1-3); a set of pillars 1 attached to the hexagonally shaped base and to a hexagonally shaped roof 8 (Fig 1), wherein the set of pillars 1 support the roof 8 (Fig 1). Sewing discloses the modular enclosure could serve as a garden house, but does not disclose the modular enclosure is a hydroponic enclosure comprising a growth subsystem comprising a tower having a top and a bottom, further wherein: the tower comprises a plurality of pods, and each of the plurality of pods holds a plant. However, Spiro discloses a hydroponic cultivation system 200 including a growth subsystem comprising a tower having a top and a bottom, further wherein: the tower comprises a plurality of pods 4, and each of the plurality of pods holds a plant (Fig 1A, 5B). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Sewing to include a growth subsystem as taught by Spiro, in order to provide a hydroponic enclosure. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Sewing further teaches the base 6 comprises a hexagonally shaped lower floor support shell 3, 4 (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Sewing further teaches the lower floor support shell 3 comprises one or more lower floor support shell members (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Sewing further teaches the base comprises a hexagonally shaped floor 6a, 6b (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches a water distribution subsystem further comprising: an upper water return distribution subsystem 9, 13 to feed water to the top of the tower, and a lower water return distribution subsystem 39 coupled to the bottom of the tower (Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches the growth subsystem comprises a nutrient delivery system (Col. 6, Lines 22-34).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches a communications subsystem; and one or more subsystems other than the growth subsystem comprising one or more sensors and the communications subsystem, further wherein: the communications subsystem is communicatively coupled to a user device via a network, the other one or more subsystems and the growth subsystem are communicatively coupled to the communications subsystem, and the other one or more subsystems and the growth subsystem are monitored and operated by an enclosure monitoring application running on the user device (Fig 1A), (Col 6, Lines 38-67, Col 7, Lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches a processing and control subsystem is communicatively coupled to the network; and the processing and control subsystem: collects data from the one or more sensors; and processes the collected data (Abstract, Col 7, Lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 11, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches the processing and control subsystem comprises a hydroponic processing subsystem (Abstract, Col 7, Lines 12-19), but does not specifically disclose the hydroponic processing subsystem processes the collected data using one of: a machine learning algorithm, an artificial intelligence algorithm, and a deep learning algorithm. However, it would have been an obvious engineering design to desired algorithm according to the required system to control the growing environment that would optimize the growth of the hydroponic plants.
Regarding claim 14, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches the lower water return distribution subsystem comprises a return water pipe 39; the return water pipe is coupled to the bottom of the tower (Fig 1A), but does not disclose the return water pipe comprises segments coupled to each other to form a hexagon shape. However, it would have been an obvious engineering design choice to have the return water pipe comprising segments coupled to each other to form a hexagon shape according to the desired amount of growth subsystems connected to each other and their position within the enclosure.
Regarding claim 15, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches the lower water return distribution subsystem comprises a water tank 7; the water tank is coupled to the upper water distribution subsystem via a pipe 13; and the water tank comprises a sump pump 6 to distribute water to the upper water distribution subsystem via the pipe (Fig 1A).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sewing (DE 3537306) in view of Spiro (US 10,524,433) and further in view of Porter (US 4,275,534). Sewing discloses the roof 8, but does not disclose the roof comprising a hexagonally shaped lower roof support shell. However, Porter discloses a roof having a hexagonally shaped lower roof support shell 14. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roof of Sewing to include lower roof support shell members as taught by Porter, in order to provide a stronger support for the roof. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 12, 13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sewing (DE 35373067) in view of Spiro (US 10,524,433) and further in view of Sahu (US 10,631,469).
Regarding claim 12, Sewing as modified by Spiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose the enclosure monitoring application allows a user associated with the user device to perform one of buying, selling or trading produce harvested from the enclosure via a digital marketplace. However, Sahu discloses a plant growing system including a user application program on a computer or mobile device that enables a user to buy seeds (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure monitoring application of Sewing and Spiro to include a user application program as taught by Sahu, in order to allow a user to buy produce via a digital market. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, Sewing as modified by Spiro and Sahu teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches the processing and control subsystem receives commands from the enclosure monitoring application; and in response to the received commands, the processing and control subsystem supplies the collected data (Abstract, Col 7, Lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 16, Sewing as modified by Spiro and Sahu teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches the modular enclosure comprises a communications subsystem communicatively coupled to a user device via a network; an application runs on the user device (Col 6, Lines 38-67, Col 7, Lines 1-3); but fails to teach the application allows a user associated with the user device to perform at least one of buying, selling or trading produce harvested from the enclosure. However, Sahu discloses a plant growing system including a user application program on a computer or mobile device that enables a user to buy seeds (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure monitoring application of Sewing and Spiro to include a user application program as taught by Sahu, in order to allow a user to buy produce via a digital market. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, Sewing as modified by Spiro and Sahu teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches wherein: the communications subsystem is communicatively coupled to the growth subsystem; and the application enables the user to monitor and operate the growth subsystem (Fig 1A), (Col 6, Lines 38-67, Col 7, Lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, Sewing as modified by Spiro and Sahu teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches wherein: the modular enclosure comprises one or more subsystems other than the growth subsystem and the communications subsystem; and the application enables the user to monitor and operate at least one of the other one or more subsystems (Fig 1A), (Col 6, Lines 38-67, Col 7, Lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, see claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 20, Sewing as modified by Spiro and Sahu teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Spiro further teaches wherein the other one or more subsystems comprise at least one of: one or more sensors, a heating, ventilation and air conditioning subsystem, a water distribution subsystem, a lighting subsystem, a security subsystem, a lighting subsystem, and a power supply (Fig 1A), (Col 6, Lines 38-67, Col 7, Lines 1-3).
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647