DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in various claims.
Disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0381605) and/or in view of Abe et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0361614).
Chou teaches golf club head (100) with a hollow therein (113) comprising: a head main body (102) including a face/strike face portion (145), a crown portion (119) and a sole portion (177); and a rearward sole structure including cantilevered portion (161). Chou also teaches a sole having toe and hell portions ad a rear/central sole structure extending downwardly from the body. In particular, cantilevered portion (161) forms part of sole portion (117) and defines an outwardly facing sole surface (see Figures 6-8 and 11). Chou teaches receptacle/recess (157) provided in the rearward sole/cantilevered structure and a mass element/weight (159) positioned at the rear of the head, below the crown and above the lowermost surface of the sole. Chou also teaches that mass element/weight (159) may be removably or permanently attached to cantilevered portion (161) and that receptacle/recess (157) receives mass element/weight (159). Chou does not expressly designate the rearward sole/cantilevered structure as the claimed “bulge portion” having the precise claimed division between its bottom surface and upwardly extending rear end surface. However, the reference teaches that cantilevered portion (161) forms part of sole portion (117) and extends downwardly and rearwardly, with receptacle (157) and mass element (159) disposed therein. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the disclosed rearward/downward sole structure so that its lower portion forms a downward-facing bottom surface and its rearward potion forms an upward extending rear surface containing receptacle/recess (157), because such configuration represents a predictable shaping of Chou’s disclosed rearward sole structure while retaining Chou’s expressly taught rearward mass placement. Chou teaches that its rearward inertial-generating/mass structure increases inertial and lowers the center of gravity of the club head.
AND/OR
To the extent that Chou does not expressly disclose the claimed center-region bulge portion having a downward facing bottom surface and upwardly extending rear end surface containing the recess, Abe teaches a golf club head sole configures iteh a recessed/weight supporting structure (30 and 31) for positioning a weight at the lower portion of the club head. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure Chou’s rearward/downward sole structure using the recessed sole-weight configuration taught by Abe, thereby providing a defined lower/bottom portion and rearward weight-supporting portion for receiving Chou’s mass member, because both references use localized sole/rear weighting to control the mass properties of a golf club head. Such use constitutes application of a known golf head weighting technique to a similar golf head for the predictable result of positioning discretionary mass low and rearward while maintaining secure attachment of the weight.
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest positioning the center of gravity of the weight member within the specifically claimed plus or minus 15 degree region defined by first and second virtual straight lines extending rearwardly from the face center relative to a normal line to the face, as required by claim 2. The art further fails to teach or suggest positioning the weight member center of gravity on said normal line, as required by claim 3. Accordingly, claims 2-17 are considered allowable for at least these reasons.
Conclusion
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711