CTNF 18/987,608 CTNF 97083 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed March 6, 2025 and April 9, 2025 is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being unpatentable by Simonsen (US2011/0230823) . Regarding claim 1 , Simonsen discloses valve assembly for a medical device, comprising: a valve body having an internal valve well (valve mechanism 1 comprises tubular housing 3, 4 [0011]); a valve cap positioned within the internal valve well and configured to slide vertically within the internal valve well between an upper and a lower position (valve may be in an upper position such as shown by first piston 15 or a lower position such as shown by second piston 16, also called the loaded and unloaded position [0048]); a spring member positioned between the valve cap and the valve body such that, when the valve cap is pushed downward relative to the valve body, the spring member applies upward force against the valve cap (compression springs 17 and 18 comprise an upward force against the pressure faces 19 and 20 when the pressure faces are pressed down [0048]); and a valve shaft connected to the valve cap and configured to move with the valve cap between an upper and a lower position (Fig. 3: pistons 15 and 16 are connected to the pressure faces 19 and 20, respectively, and move the cap between a loaded and unloaded position [0048]); wherein the valve cap comprises a top flange having a width greater than a width of the internal valve well (Fig. 3: pressure faces 19 and 20 appears to comprise a flange that has a width that is greater than the tubular housing 3, 4). Regarding claim 2 , Simonsen discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, further disclosing wherein the width of the top flange is more than 20% greater than the width of the internal valve well (Fig. 3: pressure faces 19 and 20 appears to comprise a flange that has a width that is greater than the tubular housing 3, 4; width of the top flange, in total diameter, appears to be about 50% greater than the width of the interior of the tubular housing 3, 4). Regarding claim 3 , Simonsen discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, further disclosing wherein the width of the top flange is greater than the width of the valve body (Fig. 3: pressure faces 19 and 20 appears to comprise a flange that has a width that is greater than the tubular housing 3, 4). Regarding claim 4 , Simonsen discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, further disclosing wherein the valve cap has an air escape hole (Fig. 3: pressure faces 19 and 20 comprise air escape holes, appearing to be openings). Regarding claim 5, Simonsen discloses the valve assembly of claim 4, further disclosing wherein the valve shaft has an air channel in fluid communication with the air escape hole (Fig. 3: pistons 15 and 16 comprise air channels that connect to the air escape hole on the pressure faces 19 and 20). Regarding claim 6, Simonsen discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, further disclosing wherein the valve assembly is an air/water supply valve (for suction or irrigation [0044]). Regarding claim 7, Simonsen discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, further disclosing wherein the valve assembly is a suction valve (for suction or irrigation [0044]) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being unpatentable by Afzal et al. (WO2016185208) Regarding claim 8, Afzal discloses a valve assembly for a medical device, comprising: a valve body having an internal valve well (valve body 12 resides in a valve well in the control body 22 [page 3, lines 4-6] ); a valve cap positioned within the internal valve well and configured to slide vertically within the internal valve well between an upper and a lower position (cap 16 is configured to slide vertically between an upper, proximal position, and a lower, distal position [page 3, lines 17-21]); a spring member positioned between the valve cap and the valve body such that (Fig. 1 & 2: spring 20), when the valve cap is pushed downward relative to the valve body, the spring member applies upward force against the valve cap (spring 20 biases the shaft 14 in the proximal, upward direction [page 3, line 16-17]); a valve shaft connected to the valve cap and configured to move with the valve cap between an upper and a lower position (cap 16 and shaft 14 move downwardly (distally) and upwardly (proximally) into the control body 22 [page 3, lines 17-21]); and a removable valve cap extension attached to the valve cap, the removable valve cap extension having a protrusion extending past an edge of a top surface of the valve cap (valves 30 may be fitted with common mounting 38 which comprises attachment means 40 removably attaching the device 28 to the endoscope control body [page 4, lines -5-8]; Fig. 5: mounting 38 may extend over the proximal ends of valves 30 [page 5, lines 5-6]). Regarding claim 9, Afzal discloses the valve assembly of claim 8, further disclosing wherein the removable valve cap extension comprises a surface portion configured to attach to the top surface of the valve cap (mounting 38 extends over the proximal ends of valves 30 and has actuation areas 48 contacting or connected to the valve shafts 34 [page 5, lines 5-7]). Regarding claim 10, Afzal discloses the valve assembly of claim 9, further disclosing wherein the surface portion rotationally symmetrical such that the protrusion can be positioned to extend from the top surface of valve cap at different angles (mounting 38 may be rotated 180 degrees and positioned in the opposite direction, where the actuation areas 48 may be curved on the opposite side to accommodate the fit of the user’s finger with the other hand; further mounting 38 in Fig. 6-15 appears that it would be rotationally symmetrical). Regarding claim 11, Afzal discloses the valve assembly of claim 8, further disclosing wherein the protrusion of the removable cap extension extends parallel to the top surface of the valve cap ( Fig. 5: mounting 38 may extend over the proximal ends of valves 30 [page 5, lines 5-6], actuation areas 48 extends in a direction that is parallel to the top surface of the cap 16 ). Regarding claim 12, Afzal discloses the valve assembly of claim 8, further disclosing wherein the protrusion of the removable cap extension extends at a downward angle from the surface of the valve cap (Fig. 5: actuation areas 48 appears to extend downwardly as the actuation areas 48 extend out of the figure; actuation areas 48 may be substantially curved on one side in order to accommodate the first joint of a user’s finger [page 5, lines 12-13]). Regarding claim 13, Afzal discloses the valve assembly of claim 8, further disclosing wherein the valve cap comprises an air escape hole, and wherein the removable cap extension comprises an air passage in fluid communication with the air escape hole (Fig. 2: valve and valve cap 16 appears to comprise an air escape hole; Fig. 4: actuation area 48 also appears to comprise an air passage that would be in fluid communication with the air escape hole). Regarding claim 14, Afzal discloses the valve assembly of claim 13, further disclosing wherein the air passage of the removable cap extension runs at an angle from a bottom of the surface portion towards a top of the protrusion (Fig. 5: although the angle of the air passage in actuation area 48 is not explicitly shown, it appears to run parallel to the shaft 14, which would be an angle of 180 degrees). Regarding claim 15, Afzal discloses an endoscopic surgical device, comprising: an operating handle having first and second valve locations (Fig. 3 & 4: valve 30 and 30’); a source of suction in fluid communication with the first valve location (suction valve 30; suction source provided at proximal end of endoscope [page 1, lines 9-11]); a first valve assembly installed in the first valve location (Fig. 3 & 4: valve 30 and 30’ appear to be at separate locations); a gas supply in fluid communication with the second valve location; a water supply in fluid communication with the second valve location (fluid supply valve 30’; fluid supply sources such as water and gases such as air are connected to endoscopes to provide fluid to the distal tip of the endoscope [page 1, lines 9-11]); and a second valve assembly installed in the second valve location (Fig. 3 & 4: valve 30 and 30’ appear to be at separate locations); wherein the first valve assembly and the second valve assembly each comprises: a valve body having an internal valve well valve body 12 resides in a valve well in the control body 22 [page 3, lines 4-6] ), a valve cap positioned within the internal valve well and configured to slide vertically within the internal valve well between an upper and a lower position (cap 16 is configured to slide vertically between an upper, proximal position, and a lower, distal position [page 3, lines 17-21]) , a spring member positioned between the valve cap and the valve body (Fig. 1 & 2: spring 20) such that, when the valve cap is pushed downward relative to the valve body, the spring member applies upward force against the valve cap (spring 20 biases the shaft 14 in the proximal, upward direction [page 3, line 16-17]) , a valve shaft connected to the valve cap and configured to move with the valve cap between an upper and a lower position ( cap 16 and shaft 14 move downwardly (distally) and upwardly (proximally) into the control body 22 [page 3, lines 17-21]) , and an upper surface at the top of the valve assembly having a width significantly greater than a width of the internal valve well (Fig. 2: valve cap 16 comprises a width that is larger than the width of the width of the valve well at its most distal point; further, valves 30 may be fitted with common mounting 38 which comprises attachment means 40 removably attaching the device 28 to the endoscope control body [page 4, lines -5-8]; Fig. 5: mounting 38 may extend over the proximal ends of valves 30 [page 5, lines 5-6], appear larger than the width of the valve well ). Regarding claim 16, Afzal discloses the endoscopic surgical device of claim 15, further disclosing wherein the upper surface at the top of the valve assembly is an upper surface of a top flange of the valve cap (Fig. 2: cap 16 comprises a flange that extends outwardly so that the cap 16 is a larger width or diameter than the valve well). Regarding claim 17, Afzal discloses the endoscopic surgical device of claim 16, further disclosing wherein the valve cap of the valve assembly has an air escape hole; and wherein the valve shaft of the valve assembly has an air channel in fluid communication with the air escape hole (Fig. 2: cap 16 appears to comprise an air escape hole, which is fluidly connected to an air channel in the valve shaft 14). Regarding claim 18 , Afzal discloses the endoscopic surgical device of claim 15, further disclosing the valve shaft further comprising a removable valve cap extension having a protrusion extending past an edge of a top surface of the valve cap; wherein the upper surface at the top of the valve assembly is the upper surface of the removable valve cap extension including the upper surface of the protrusion (valves 30 may be fitted with common mounting 38 which comprises attachment means 40 removably attaching the device 28 to the endoscope control body [page 4, lines -5-8]; Fig. 5: mounting 38 may extend over the proximal ends of valves 30 [page 5, lines 5-6]). Regarding claim 19, Afzal discloses the endoscopic surgical device of claim 18, further disclosing wherein the valve cap of the valve assembly comprises an air escape hole, and wherein the removable cap extension of the valve assembly comprises an air passage in fluid communication with the air escape hole (Fig. 2: valve and valve cap 16 appears to comprise an air escape hole; Fig. 4: actuation area 48 also appears to comprise an air passage that would be in fluid communication with the air escape hole). Regarding claim 20, Afzal discloses the endoscopic surgical device of claim 19, further disclosing wherein the air passage of the removable cap extension runs at an angle from a bottom of the surface portion towards a top of the protrusion (Fig. 5: although the angle of the air passage in actuation area 48 is not explicitly shown, it appears to run parallel to the shaft 14, which would be an angle of 180 degrees). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LI-TING SONG whose telephone number is (571)272-5771. The examiner can normally be reached 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anhtuan Nguyen can be reached at 571-272-4963. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795 /ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 05/06/26 Application/Control Number: 18/987,608 Page 2 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/987,608 Page 3 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/987,608 Page 4 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/987,608 Page 5 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/987,608 Page 6 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/987,608 Page 7 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/987,608 Page 8 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/987,608 Page 9 Art Unit: 3795