CTNF 18/987,621 CTNF 95784 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, B, and C in the reply filed on 16 March 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s argument regarding the restriction between Species A, B, and C on Pages 7-9 has been considered and is persuasive. The species restriction between Species A, B, and C has been withdrawn in view of the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 7-9, 11-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamano et al. (US 20060058649) in view of Ku (US 20170176581) . Regarding Claim 1 , Tamano teaches a method for supplying power to generate pushing pulses in elasticity mode imaging by an ultrasound scanner, (Claim 13 “A method for measuring an elasticity of a biological tissue, comprising the steps of: generating an ultrasonic transmission signal and transmitting it to an ultrasonic probe” and [0018] “The ultrasonic probe 1 transmits/receives an ultrasonic wave to/from a measurement target part of the patient 20. In other words, the ultrasonic probe 1 has multiple transducers, which are aligned one-dimensionally or two-dimensionally, and has functions of transmitting an ultrasonic wave to the inside of the patient 20 and receiving an ultrasonic reflection echo wave from the inside of the patient 20.”), the method comprising: a) switching on a supply to an output of a power supply and an input of a transmitter during the elasticity mode imaging ([0019] “In the transmission circuit system 2, an optimum transmission focus processing for each of them according to a form image or an elasticity image can be switched in accordance with timing defined by the measurement control section 9,” [0024] “the measurement control section 9 switches between the elasticity image measurement and the form image measurement based on start and end commands for the elasticity diagnosis mode, which are input from the switch 8 associated with the ultrasonic probe 1. The switching is performed by controlling operations of the transmission circuit system 2,” and [0025] “When an operator presses and turns on the switch 8 associated with the ultrasonic probe 1 in order to start an elasticity diagnosis, this is input to the measurement control section 9 as an elasticity diagnosis mode start command. When the switch 8 is released and turned off, this is input to the measurement control section 9 as an elasticity diagnosis mode end command.”); and b) switching off the supply to the output and the input during another mode of imaging ([0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again.”). However, Tamano does not explicitly teach a supply from a capacitor. In an analogous ultrasonic image field of endeavor, Ku teaches a method for supplying power to generate pushing pulses in elasticity mode imaging by an ultrasound scanner, ([0002] “The present disclosure relates to an ultrasonic image apparatus and a control method thereof” and [0094] “elastic mode image”), the method comprising a supply from a capacitor ([0089] “The rectifier/smoother may include a smoothing capacitor for smoothing DC voltage output as the current output from the power receiver is rectified.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Tamano with the capacitor of Ku because the modification improves the power factor of the power provided to the power supply to carry out the method. Regarding Claim 7 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Tamano teaches wherein switching on in the elasticity mode imaging comprises switching on for at least part of the elasticity mode, and wherein switching off in the other mode of imaging comprises switching off for at least part of the other mode of imaging ([0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again” and Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 8 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Tamano teaches wherein switching on in the elasticity mode imaging comprises switching on for pushing pulses for the elasticity mode imaging, and wherein switching off comprises switching off for B-mode imaging as the other mode of imaging ([0021] “a form image such as a B-mode image” and [0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again”). Regarding Claim 9 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Tamano teaches wherein switching on in the elasticity mode imaging comprises maintaining a switch open during B-mode imaging and closing the switch during the elasticity mode imaging ([0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again”). Regarding Claim 11 , Tamano teaches a method for supplying power to generate pushing pulses in elasticity mode imaging by an ultrasound scanner, (Claim 13 “A method for measuring an elasticity of a biological tissue, comprising the steps of: generating an ultrasonic transmission signal and transmitting it to an ultrasonic probe” and [0018] “The ultrasonic probe 1 transmits/receives an ultrasonic wave to/from a measurement target part of the patient 20. In other words, the ultrasonic probe 1 has multiple transducers, which are aligned one-dimensionally or two-dimensionally, and has functions of transmitting an ultrasonic wave to the inside of the patient 20 and receiving an ultrasonic reflection echo wave from the inside of the patient 20.”), the method comprising: a) switching on a power supply from a capacitor to a node electrically connecting an output of a power supply and an input of a transmitter, the switching on of the power supply occurring during generation of a pushing pulse in the elasticity mode imaging ([0019] “In the transmission circuit system 2, an optimum transmission focus processing for each of them according to a form image or an elasticity image can be switched in accordance with timing defined by the measurement control section 9,” [0024] “the measurement control section 9 switches between the elasticity image measurement and the form image measurement based on start and end commands for the elasticity diagnosis mode, which are input from the switch 8 associated with the ultrasonic probe 1. The switching is performed by controlling operations of the transmission circuit system 2,” and [0025] “When an operator presses and turns on the switch 8 associated with the ultrasonic probe 1 in order to start an elasticity diagnosis, this is input to the measurement control section 9 as an elasticity diagnosis mode start command. When the switch 8 is released and turned off, this is input to the measurement control section 9 as an elasticity diagnosis mode end command.”); and b) switching off the supply to the output and the input during another mode of imaging ([0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again.”). However, Tamano does not explicitly teach a supply from a capacitor. In an analogous ultrasonic image field of endeavor, Ku teaches a method for supplying power to generate pushing pulses in elasticity mode imaging by an ultrasound scanner, ([0002] “The present disclosure relates to an ultrasonic image apparatus and a control method thereof” and [0094] “elastic mode image”), the method comprising a supply from a capacitor ([0089] “The rectifier/smoother may include a smoothing capacitor for smoothing DC voltage output as the current output from the power receiver is rectified.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Tamano with the capacitor of Ku because the modification improves the power factor of the power provided to the power supply to carry out the method. Regarding Claim 12 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Tamano teaches wherein switching off comprises switching off B-mode imaging as the other mode of imaging ([0021] “a form image such as a B-mode image” and [0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again”). Regarding Claim 17 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Tamano teaches wherein switching on in the elasticity mode imaging comprises switching on for at least part of the elasticity mode, and wherein switching off in the other mode of imaging comprises switching off for at least part of the other mode of imaging ([0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again” and Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 18 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Tamano teaches wherein switching on in the elasticity mode imaging comprises maintaining a switch open during B-mode imaging and closing the switch during the elasticity mode imaging ([0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamano et al. (US 20060058649) in view of Ku (US 20170176581), as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, further in view of Ledoux et al. (US 20180289361) . Regarding Claim 3 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. However, the modified method of Tamano does not explicitly teach wherein switching on comprises switching on after establishing a substantially zero voltage across the capacitor and limiting current from the power supply to charge the capacitor prior to transmission of a pushing pulse. In an analogous active distribution of high-voltage power for ultrasound transducers field of endeavor, Ledoux teaches a method for supplying power to generate pushing pulses in elasticity mode imaging by an ultrasound scanner, ([0001] “This invention relates to medical diagnostic ultrasonic imaging and, in particular, to powering ultrasonic transducer probes.”), wherein switching on comprises switching on after establishing a substantially zero voltage across the capacitor and limiting current from the power supply to charge the capacitor prior to transmission of a pushing pulse ([0022] “the negative voltage on the capacitor CI will rise towards 0V during the load (transmit) interval.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the capacitor of Ledoux because the modification prevents a decline in the high voltage required for the probe, thereby maintaining the desired power level, as taught by Ledoux in [0002] and [0018]. Regarding Claim 14 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. However, the modified method of Tamano does not explicitly teach wherein switching on comprises switching on after establishing a substantially zero voltage across the capacitor and limiting current from the power supply to charge the capacitor prior to transmission of the pushing pulse. In an analogous active distribution of high-voltage power for ultrasound transducers field of endeavor, Ledoux teaches a method for supplying power to generate pushing pulses in elasticity mode imaging by an ultrasound scanner, ([0001] “This invention relates to medical diagnostic ultrasonic imaging and, in particular, to powering ultrasonic transducer probes.”), wherein switching on comprises switching on after establishing a substantially zero voltage across the capacitor and limiting current from the power supply to charge the capacitor prior to transmission of the pushing pulse ([0022] “the negative voltage on the capacitor CI will rise towards 0V during the load (transmit) interval.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the capacitor of Ledoux because the modification prevents a decline in the high voltage required for the probe, thereby maintaining the desired power level, as taught by Ledoux in [0002] and [0018] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamano et al. (US 20060058649) in view of Ku (US 20170176581), as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, further in view of Nishigaki et al. (US 20070160540) . Regarding Claim 5 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. However, the modified method of Tamano does not explicitly teach wherein the capacitor and a switch form a switchable path to ground from a connection of the output of the power supply to the input of the transmitter so that switching on comprises operating the switchable path on power provided as the input to the transmitter, the switch and the capacitor not being in series with the transmitter and the power supply such that the switch does not switch the power supply from the transmitter. In an analogous ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus field of endeavor, Nishigaki teaches wherein the capacitor, ([0050] “output side capacitor 7”), and a switch form a switchable path to ground from a connection of the output of the power supply to the input of the transmitter, (Fig. 1A), so that switching on comprises operating the switchable path on power provided as the input to the transmitter, ([0053] “During the B-mode scanning (before Time t1), the mode changeover switch 6 is connected to a terminal a,” [0055] “When the voltage VB of the output side capacitor 7 decreases to the voltage VB2 (Time t2), the mode changeover switch 6 is shifted to a terminal b,” and [0059] “As the mode changeover switch 6, a photo MOS relay or a relay using MEMS (Micro Electro Mechanical Systems) may be used to perform high-speed switching with a low internal resistance.”), the switch and the capacitor not being in series with the transmitter and the power supply such that the switch does not switch the power supply from the transmitter (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the capacitor of Nishigaki because the modification ensures efficient control over the transmission of power when switching between modes while carrying out the procedure, providing safety to both the patient and the circuitry within the device. Regarding Claim 15 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. However, the modified method of Tamano does not explicitly teach wherein the capacitor and a switch form a switchable path to ground from a connection of the output of the power supply to the input of the transmitter so that switching on comprises operating the switchable path on power provided as the input to the transmitter, the switch and the capacitor not being in series with the transmitter and the power supply such that the switch does not switch the power supply from the transmitter. In an analogous ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus field of endeavor, Nishigaki teaches wherein the capacitor, ([0050] “output side capacitor 7”), and a switch form a switchable path to ground from a connection of the output of the power supply to the input of the transmitter, (Fig. 1A), so that switching on comprises operating the switchable path on power provided as the input to the transmitter, ([0053] “During the B-mode scanning (before Time t1), the mode changeover switch 6 is connected to a terminal a,” [0055] “When the voltage VB of the output side capacitor 7 decreases to the voltage VB2 (Time t2), the mode changeover switch 6 is shifted to a terminal b,” and [0059] “As the mode changeover switch 6, a photo MOS relay or a relay using MEMS (Micro Electro Mechanical Systems) may be used to perform high-speed switching with a low internal resistance.”), the switch and the capacitor not being in series with the transmitter and the power supply such that the switch does not switch the power supply from the transmitter (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the capacitor of Nishigaki because the modification ensures efficient control over the transmission of power when switching between modes while carrying out the procedure, providing safety to both the patient and the circuitry within the device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamano et al. (US 20060058649) in view of Ku (US 20170176581), as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, further in view of Chen et al. (US 20170163276) . Regarding Claim 6 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. However, the modified method of Tamano does not explicitly teach switching off comprises closing a switch after establishing a voltage across the capacitor. In an analogous asynchronous successive approximation analog to digital converter field of endeavor, Chen teaches switching off comprises closing a switch after establishing a voltage across the capacitor ([0034] “sample-and-hold 210 may hold the captured voltage to a constant value. In some embodiments, sample-and-hold 210 may comprise a switch and a capacitor (not shown). During the sample phase, the switch may be in a “closed” state thus connecting the input voltage to the capacitor. In this phase, the input voltage may charge or discharge the capacitor for as long as the switch stays “closed”.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the switch of Chen because the modification allows the capacitor to charge with an input voltage during a specified period of time, as taught by Chen in [0034]. Regarding Claim 16 , the modified method of Tamano teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. However, the modified method of Tamano does not explicitly teach switching off comprises closing a switch after establishing a voltage across the capacitor. In an analogous asynchronous successive approximation analog to digital converter field of endeavor, Chen teaches switching on comprises closing a switch after establishing a voltage across the capacitor ([0034] “sample-and-hold 210 may hold the captured voltage to a constant value. In some embodiments, sample-and-hold 210 may comprise a switch and a capacitor (not shown). During the sample phase, the switch may be in a “closed” state thus connecting the input voltage to the capacitor. In this phase, the input voltage may charge or discharge the capacitor for as long as the switch stays “closed”.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the switch of Chen because the modification allows the capacitor to charge with an input voltage during a specified period of time, as taught by Chen in [0034] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamano et al. (US 20060058649) in view of Ku (US 20170176581) and Nishigaki et al. (US 20070160540) . Regarding Claim 20 , Tamano teaches a method for supplying power to generate pushing pulses in elasticity mode imaging by an ultrasound scanner, the method comprising: a) switching on a supply to an input of a transmitter, the switching on occurring for the elasticity mode imaging, ([0019] “In the transmission circuit system 2, an optimum transmission focus processing for each of them according to a form image or an elasticity image can be switched in accordance with timing defined by the measurement control section 9,” [0024] “the measurement control section 9 switches between the elasticity image measurement and the form image measurement based on start and end commands for the elasticity diagnosis mode, which are input from the switch 8 associated with the ultrasonic probe 1. The switching is performed by controlling operations of the transmission circuit system 2,” and [0025] “When an operator presses and turns on the switch 8 associated with the ultrasonic probe 1 in order to start an elasticity diagnosis, this is input to the measurement control section 9 as an elasticity diagnosis mode start command. When the switch 8 is released and turned off, this is input to the measurement control section 9 as an elasticity diagnosis mode end command.”) and b) switching off the supply from the capacitor to the output during another mode of imaging ([0033] “When an operator releases (switches off) the switch 8, the processing is shifted to a processing operation in an independent measurement mode for acquiring a form image until the switch 8 is pressed again.”). However, Tamano does not explicitly teach a supply from a capacitor, wherein the capacitor and a switch form a switchable path to ground from a connection of an output of a power supply to the input of the transmitter so that switching on comprises operating the switchable path on power provided as the input to the transmitter, the switch and the capacitor not being in series with the transmitter and the power supply such that the switch does not switch the power supply from the transmitter. In an analogous ultrasonic image field of endeavor, Ku teaches a method for supplying power to generate pushing pulses in elasticity mode imaging by an ultrasound scanner, ([0002] “The present disclosure relates to an ultrasonic image apparatus and a control method thereof” and [0094] “elastic mode image”), the method comprising a supply from a capacitor ([0089] “The rectifier/smoother may include a smoothing capacitor for smoothing DC voltage output as the current output from the power receiver is rectified.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Tamano with the capacitor of Ku because the modification improves the power factor of the power provided to the power supply to carry out the method. However, Tamano modified by Ku does not explicitly teach wherein the capacitor and a switch form a switchable path to ground from a connection of an output of a power supply to the input of the transmitter so that switching on comprises operating the switchable path on power provided as the input to the transmitter, the switch and the capacitor not being in series with the transmitter and the power supply such that the switch does not switch the power supply from the transmitter. In an analogous ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus field of endeavor, Nishigaki teaches wherein the capacitor, ([0050] “output side capacitor 7”), and a switch form a switchable path to ground from a connection of the output of the power supply to the input of the transmitter, (Fig. 1A), so that switching on comprises operating the switchable path on power provided as the input to the transmitter, ([0053] “During the B-mode scanning (before Time t1), the mode changeover switch 6 is connected to a terminal a,” [0055] “When the voltage VB of the output side capacitor 7 decreases to the voltage VB2 (Time t2), the mode changeover switch 6 is shifted to a terminal b,” and [0059] “As the mode changeover switch 6, a photo MOS relay or a relay using MEMS (Micro Electro Mechanical Systems) may be used to perform high-speed switching with a low internal resistance.”), the switch and the capacitor not being in series with the transmitter and the power supply such that the switch does not switch the power supply from the transmitter (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the capacitor of Nishigaki because the modification ensures efficient control over the transmission of power when switching between modes while carrying out the procedure, providing safety to both the patient and the circuitry within the device . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2, 4, 10, 13, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARIA CHRISTINA TALTY whose telephone number is (571)272-8022. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 8:30-5:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mike Carey can be reached at (571) 270-7235. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARIA CHRISTINA TALTY/Examiner, Art Unit 3797 /MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 2 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 3 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 4 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 5 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 6 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 7 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 8 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 9 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 10 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 11 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 12 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 13 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 14 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 18/987,621 Page 15 Art Unit: 3797