DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9, 12, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 12-13, of copending Application No. 18/987,476 (‘476). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1 and 12 of ‘476 teach all the limitations of Claims 1 and 12 the present application along with additional language regarding automatically modifying the current configuration of the electronic gaming machine. Further, Claims 2 and 13 of ‘476 teach the limitations of Claims 9 and 20 respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 2-6 and 13-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/987,476 (‘476) in view of Nelson et al., US 2007/0032288. Nelson et al. teaches the missing limitations of Claims 2-6 and 13-17 as described below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of ‘476 to include mandatory and optional settings for gaming machines in the gaming establishment as well as manual settings adjustments as taught by Nelson et al. in order to configured the gaming machines according to required elements such as jurisdictional settings required by law, and optional settings unique to particular games or gaming terminals without needing to send every configuration setting to every terminal. And further to allow the administrator to tweak machine settings manually if additional customization or a later small change is desired.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 7-8, 10 and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/987,476 (‘476) in view of Rao D.S. et al., US 9,094,299. Rao D.S. et al., teaches the missing limitations of Claims 7-8, 10, and 18-19 directed towards layered configuration scripts and one configuration script per layer as described below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of ‘476 to include layered configuration scripts as taught by Rao D.S. et al. for similar reasons as described below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 of copending Application No. 18/987,476 (‘476) in view of Rao D.S. et al., US 9,094,299, and Nelson et al., US 2007/0032288. Nelson et al., teaches the missing limitations of Claim 11 as described below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of ‘476 and Rao D.S. et al. to include mandatory and optional settings for gaming machines in the gaming establishment as well as manual settings adjustments as taught by Nelson et al. in order to configured the gaming machines according to required elements such as jurisdictional settings required by law, and optional settings unique to particular games or gaming terminals without needing to send every configuration setting to every terminal.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 9, 12, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 12 and 16, of copending Application No. 18/987,439(‘439). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1 and 12 of ‘439 teach all the limitations of Claims 1 and 12 the present application along with additional language regarding receiving data associated with a request of a new software package to be installed on an electronic gaming machine. Further, Claims 5 and 16 of ‘439 teach the limitations of Claims 9 and 20 respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 2-6 and 13-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/987,439(‘439) in view of Nelson et al., US 2007/0032288. Nelson et al. teaches the missing limitations of Claims 2-6 and 13-17 as described below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of ‘439 to include mandatory and optional settings for gaming machines in the gaming establishment as well as manual settings adjustments as taught by Nelson et al. in order to configured the gaming machines according to required elements such as jurisdictional settings required by law, and optional settings unique to particular games or gaming terminals without needing to send every configuration setting to every terminal. And further to allow the administrator to tweak machine settings manually if additional customization or a later small change is desired.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 7-8, 10 and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/987,439(‘439) in view of Rao D.S. et al., US 9,094,299. Rao D.S. et al., teaches the missing limitations of Claims 7-8, 10, and 18-19 directed towards layered configuration scripts and one configuration script per layer as described below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of ‘439 to include layered configuration scripts as taught by Rao D.S. et al. for similar reasons as described below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 of copending Application No. 18/987,439(‘439) in view of Rao D.S. et al., US 9,094,299, and Nelson et al., US 2007/0032288. Nelson et al., teaches the missing limitations of Claim 11 as described below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of ‘439 and Rao D.S. et al. to include mandatory and optional settings for gaming machines in the gaming establishment as well as manual settings adjustments as taught by Nelson et al. in order to configured the gaming machines according to required elements such as jurisdictional settings required by law, and optional settings unique to particular games or gaming terminals without needing to send every configuration setting to every terminal.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 7, 9, 10, 12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Specifically the claims are directed to the abstract idea of a mental process. Claims 1 and 12 recite “determine a current configuration of an electronic gaming machine, generate, at least partially based on the current configuration of the electronic gaming machine, a plurality of configuration scripts associated with a plurality of automatic configurations of the electronic gaming machine” and Claim 12 recites “receive first data associated with a current configuration of software packages of an electronic gaming machine, receive second data associated with at least one of a first operational parameter associated with an electronic gaming machine supplier, and a second operational parameter associated with an electronic gaming machine operator, generate, at least partially based on the received first data and the received second data, a plurality of layered configuration scripts that are each associated with different automatic modification of at least one of the software packages of the electronic gaming machine”. These limitations describe an abstract mental process where a technician could observe the current setting or configuration of a gaming machine and hand write a via code a configuration script in order to reconfigure the game machine. Even highly complex configuration scripts could be written by a skilled human coder with the assistance of a writing medium like pen and paper.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements of a processor and memory are generic high level recitation of computer components which are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, whereas recitation of “cause a delivery of the generated plurality of layered configuration scripts” is claimed so generically at such a high level that it encompasses generic input to a computer such as via a keyboard and likewise is considered merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). As such these element fail to integrate the abstract idea into practical application.
Dependent Claims 7, 9, 18 and 20 recite additional abstract features of the mental process, e.g. features of the created code, which fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the elements of a processor, memory, and inputting the configuration scripts represent well-known, routine and conventional computer activity well-known in the art. Further the courts have held that “receiving or transmitting data over a network” (See buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc.) and “electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document” (See Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank) represent routine and conventional computer activity well-known in the art. As such these limitations, even when considered with the claims as a whole fail to add significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent Claims 7, 9, 18 and 20 recite additional abstract features of the mental process, e.g. features of the created code, which fail to add significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 12-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson et al., US 2007/0032288.
In Reference to Claims 1 and 12
Nelson et al. teaches a method and a system comprising:
a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions (Par. 19, 23, 31-32) that, when executed by the processor responsive to an occurrence of a configuration event, cause the processor to determine a current configuration of an electronic gaming machine (Fig. 8 and Par. 109, Fig. 11 and Par. 138), generate, at least partially based on the current configuration of the electronic gaming machine, a plurality of configuration scripts associated with a plurality of automatic configurations of the electronic gaming machine (Fig. 8 and 11, Par. 26 “generating instructions for configuring the game software components and sending the instructions with the game software components” and Par. 111 “In addition, instructions describing the configuration of each game software component may be determined and included in the bundling process because each game software component may have a number of configuration options. The game software components may include but are not limited to game system components, game paytables, game bonusing, game progressives, game graphics, game sounds, game jurisdiction information and game networking components.” As well as Par. 110 where teaches the remote server determines the game components to send based on the current game terminal configuration. See also Par. 117 which teaches “providing a database containing a library of dozens or hundreds of "macro" based preset gaming machine configurations” and Abstract “where each such preset configuration includes specific settings for each of a plurality of gaming terminal setting categories” and Par. 124 and 129. Examiner considers the configuration “instructions” and “macros” of “settings” chosen to be bundled by the server to constitute generating a plurality of configuration scripts. As described above the particular game components and thus associated instructions or settings macro that are bundled are based on the current gaming machine configuration), cause a delivery of the generated plurality of configuration scripts (Fig. 8 and 11 and Par. 111 “In 835, the bundled game software components may be sent to one or more gaming terminals.” And Par. 139 “At step 1296, an instruction is sent from the remote configuration device to the gaming terminal of interest, with such an instruction being to configure or reconfigure the gaming terminal according to the needed or desired configuration. Finally, at step 1297, the gaming terminal of interest is configured or reconfigured according to the particular configuration of interest.”)
In Reference to Claims 2 and 13
Nelson et al. teaches where at least one of the plurality of configuration scripts
is mandatorily applied to automatically configure a first setting of the electronic gaming machine (Par. 129 which teaches “extra” or “optional” settings categories. Which means that certain settings to be configured are not optional. See for example Par. 126 which teaches a minimal set of settings and Par. 74 which teaches jurisdictional settings “Thus, when the gaming terminal is installed in Nevada, a Nevada configuration is used.”).
In Reference to Claims 3 and 14
Nelson et al. teaches wherein the first setting of the electronic gaming machine
is associated with each electronic gaming machine of a gaming establishment (Fig. 10, Par. 111 and 119. See for example “game jurisdictional information”).
In Reference to Claims 4 and 15
Nelson et al. teaches where at least one of the plurality of configuration scripts
is optionally applied to automatically configure a second setting of the electronic gaming machine (Par. 129 “optional setting categories”).
In Reference to Claims 5 and 16
Nelson et al. teaches where a second setting of the electronic gaming machine is manually applied (Par. 127 “As noted above, such commands, instructions and/or configurations may come from server 1200 (e.g., GDTR 200) either automatically or as part of a manual process involving input from a user of the server.”).
In Reference to Claims 6 and 17
Nelson et al. teaches where at least one of the plurality of configuration scripts
is optionally applied to automatically configure a second setting of the electronic gaming machine (Par. 129 “optional setting categories.” Further see Fig. 8 and 11 and Par. 109-111, and 117 which teach bundling configuration instructions and settings macros for the desired configuration on the particular gaming terminal based on its current “game software component information”).
In Reference to Claim 9 and 20
Nelson et al. teaches where at least one of the plurality of configuration scripts is at least partially based on at least one of an operational parameter associated with an electronic gaming machine supplier, an operational parameter associated with an electronic gaming machine operator, and an operational parameter associated with an electronic gaming machine regulator (Par. 110 “game software component version information.” See also Par. 74 and 111 “game jurisdiction information”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-8, 10-11, and 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al., US 2007/0032288, in view of Rao D.S. et al., US 9,094,299.
In Reference to Claims 7 and 18
Nelson et al. teaches a system and method as described above in reference to Claim 1 and 12. However et al. does not teach where the plurality of configuration scripts are arranged as a plurality of layers.
Rao D.S. et al. teaches a system for generating device configuration scripts where the plurality of configuration scripts are arranged as a plurality of layers (Fig. 4-5, Col. 10 lines 35-55, Col. 19 lines 5-50, Col. 21 Line 32- Col. 22 line 10 which teaches where configuration options that are parsed to generate the configuration script for the device are organized hierarchically in a plurality of layers).
It would be desirable to modify the system and method of Nelson et al. to include a configuration script generator with configuration options organized in hierarchical layers as taught by Rao D.S. et al. in order to assist an administrator in quickly and conveniently generating new gaming machine configurations when desired. This way the administrator can avoid the need to set “child” configuration settings that are not used in a particular gaming machine configuration and does not need to anticipate and pre-generate all possible gaming machine configurations ahead of time granting extra configuration flexibility without needing full manual configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of Nelson et al. to include a configuration script generator with configuration options organized in hierarchical layers as taught by Rao D.S. et al.
In Reference to Claims 8 and 19
Nelson et al. as modified by Rao D.S. et al. teaches wherein one configuration script per layer is applicable to automatically configure the electronic gaming machine (Nelson et al. which teaches instructions and macros to configure a gaming machine and Rao D.S. et al. Col. 22 lines 4-10 “Each leaf node in configuration data 80 includes a data element that represents a configurable attribute of router 16. For each selected configuration parameter, script builder module 70 generates scripting language, that when executed by scripting engine module 72, receives a parameterized value associated with the data element at the respective leaf node.”).
In Reference to Claim 10
Nelson et al. teaches a configuration script generator comprising: a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor (Par. 19, 23, 31-32), cause the processor to: receive first data associated with a current configuration of software packages of an electronic gaming machine (Fig. 8 and Par. 109, Fig. 11 and Par. 138, See also Par. 110 “game software component version information”), receive second data associated with at least one of a first operational parameter associated with an electronic gaming machine supplier, and a second operational parameter associated with an electronic gaming machine operator (Par. 74 and 111 “game jurisdiction information”), generate, at least partially based on the received first data and the received second data, a plurality configuration scripts that are associated with automatic configurations of at least one of the software packages of the electronic gaming machine (Fig. 8 and 11, Par. 26 “generating instructions for configuring the game software components and sending the instructions with the game software components” and Par. 111 “In addition, instructions describing the configuration of each game software component may be determined and included in the bundling process because each game software component may have a number of configuration options. The game software components may include but are not limited to game system components, game paytables, game bonusing, game progressives, game graphics, game sounds, game jurisdiction information and game networking components.” As well as Par. 110 where teaches the remote server determines the game components to send based on the current game terminal configuration. See also Par. 117 which teaches “providing a database containing a library of dozens or hundreds of "macro" based preset gaming machine configurations” and Abstract “where each such preset configuration includes specific settings for each of a plurality of gaming terminal setting categories” and Par. 124 and 129. Examiner considers the configuration “instructions” and “macros” of “settings” chosen to be bundled by the server to constitute generating a plurality of configuration scripts. As described above the particular game components and thus associated instructions or settings macro that are bundled are based on the current gaming machine configuration), and cause a delivery of the generated configuration scripts (Fig. 8 and 11 and Par. 111 “In 835, the bundled game software components may be sent to one or more gaming terminals.” And Par. 139 “At step 1296, an instruction is sent from the remote configuration device to the gaming terminal of interest, with such an instruction being to configure or reconfigure the gaming terminal according to the needed or desired configuration. Finally, at step 1297, the gaming terminal of interest is configured or reconfigured according to the particular configuration of interest.”)
However, Nelson et al. does not teach that the generated configuration scripts for the device are a plurality of layered configuration scripts that are each associated with different automatic modification of at least one of the software packages of the electronic device.
Rao D.S. et al. teaches a system for generating device configuration scripts for a device where the scripts are a plurality of layered configuration scripts that are each associated with different automatic modification of at least one of the software packages of the electronic device (Fig. 4-5, Col. 10 lines 35-55, Col. 19 lines 5-50, and Col. 21 Line 32- Col. 22 line 10 which teaches where configuration options that are parsed to generate the configuration script for the device are organized hierarchically in a plurality of layers. See also Col. 22 lines 4-10 “Each leaf node in configuration data 80 includes a data element that represents a configurable attribute of router 16. For each selected configuration parameter, script builder module 70 generates scripting language, that when executed by scripting engine module 72, receives a parameterized value associated with the data element at the respective leaf node.”).
It would be desirable to modify the system and method of Nelson et al. to include a configuration script generator with configuration options organized in hierarchical layers as taught by Rao D.S. et al. in order to assist an administrator in quickly and conveniently generating new gaming machine configurations when desired. This way the administrator can avoid the need to set “child” configuration settings that are not used in a particular gaming machine configuration and does not need to anticipate and pre-generate all possible gaming machine configurations ahead of time granting extra configuration flexibility without needing full manual configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of Nelson et al. to include a configuration script generator with configuration options organized in hierarchical layers as taught by Rao D.S. et al.
In Reference to Claim 11
Nelson et al. and Rao D.S. et al. teach wherein at least one of the plurality of layered configuration scripts is mandatorily applied to automatically configure at least one of the software packages of the electronic gaming machine and at least one of the plurality of layered configuration scripts is optionally applied to automatically configure at least another one of the software packages of the electronic gaming machine (Nelson et al. Par. 129 which teaches “extra” or “optional” settings categories. Which means that certain settings to be configured are not optional. See for example Par. 126 which teaches a “minimal” set of settings and Par. 74 which teaches jurisdictional settings “Thus, when the gaming terminal is installed in Nevada, a Nevada configuration is used.” See also Rao D.S. et al. Fig. 4-5 and Col. 19 lines 5-50 which teaches the configuration script builder include a hierarchical tree of configuration settings including both “root” objects and “child” objects and “leaf” nodes and the administrator using the script builder can select which parameters to include).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CARL V LARSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715