DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 and 06/13/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kitahata et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9944278; hereinafter Kitahata).
Regarding claim 1, Kitahata teaches a vehicle comprising: an internal combustion engine and an electric motor as traveling driving sources; a driving wheel; a transmission including an input shaft to which power from the internal combustion engine and the electric motor is input and an output shaft that outputs the power to the driving wheel (Kitahata: Col. 4, lines 3-6; i.e., a vehicle 10 includes an engine 12, a transmission unit 15, a differential gear device 42, and drive wheels 44; Col. 6, line 27; i.e., Each of the motor generators MG1, MG2 is an AC motor; Col. 7; lines 53-56; i.e., the differential unit 20 and the transmission 30 are coupled by the transmission member 26. An output shaft 36 coupled to the carrier CA2 of the planetary gear 34 is coupled to the differential gear device);
a transmission state detector that detects state information related to a state of the transmission (Kitahata: Col. 9, lines 46-48; i.e., the N range determination unit 100 determines whether or not the shift range is the N range based on the signal from the shift range sensor);
a rotation information detector that is included separately from the transmission state detector and detects rotation information related to relative rotation between the input shaft and the output shaft (Kitahata: Col. 10, lines 25-29; i.e., The rotation speed difference determination unit 108 determines whether or not the magnitude (absolute value) of the rotation speed difference between the input shaft rotation speed of the transmission 30 and the output shaft rotation speed No of the transmission 30 is greater than a threshold);
and a controller including processing circuitry, wherein: the processing circuitry determines whether or not the state information received from the transmission state detector is neutral information indicating that the transmission is in a neutral state where power transmission between the input shaft and the output shaft is cut (Kitahata: Col. 5, lines 1-6; i.e., The electronic control unit 60 includes an engine electronic control unit (ECU) 62 … and executes predetermined control; Col. 11, lines 35-36; i.e., In S100 (Step is referred to as S), the control device 60 determines whether or not the shift range is the N range);
after the processing circuitry determines that the state information is the neutral information, the processing circuitry controls the electric motor such that the electric motor generates predetermined determination torque (Kitahata: Col. 11, lines 56-57; i.e., In S108, the control device 60 controls the motor generator MG2 such that prescribed torque is generated);
the processing circuitry determines based on the rotation information received from the rotation information detector whether or not there is an error in the neutral information (Kitahata: Col. 11, lines 58-61; i.e., the control device 60 determines whether or not the magnitude of the rotation speed difference between the input shaft rotation speed of the transmission 30 and the output shaft rotation speed of the transmission 30 is greater than the threshold α);
when the processing circuitry determines that there is no error in the neutral information, the processing circuitry permits engine start control of transmitting the power from the electric motor to the internal combustion engine to start the internal combustion engine (Kitahata: Col. 12, lines 54-59; i.e., if it is determined that the magnitude of the rotation speed difference between the input shaft rotation speed and the output shaft rotation speed of the transmission 30 is greater than the threshold α (in S110, YES), since the power transmission shut-off state is established in the transmission 30, the start control of the engine 12 is executed (S112));
and when the processing circuitry determines that there is the error in the neutral information, the processing circuitry restricts the engine start control (Kitahata: Col. 13, lines 62-66; i.e., if it is determined that the magnitude of the rotation speed difference between the input shaft rotation speed and the output shaft rotation speed of the transmission 30 is equal to or less than the threshold α (in S110, NO), the start of the engine 12 is inhibited (S114)).
Regarding claim 2, Kitahata teaches the vehicle according to claim 1. Kitahata further teaches wherein: the engine start control includes controlling the electric motor such that the electric motor generates predetermined start torque (Kitahata: Col. 10, line 66 – Col. 11, line 3; i.e., the engine start control unit 110 generates torque in the positive rotation direction in the motor generator MG1 and generates torque in the positive rotation direction in the motor generator MG2 (to supply the reaction force); as displayed in Figure 8, at T(4) the start control is executed in which the motor generates a start torque);
and the determination torque is set to a value smaller than the start torque (Kitahata: Col. 10, lines 10-11; i.e., the prescribed torque may be at least an amount of torque such that the movement of the vehicle 10 is suppressed; as displayed in Figure 8, at T(4) the start control is executed in which the motor generates a start torque which is larger than the prescribed torque executed at T(3)).
Regarding claim 3, Kitahata teaches the vehicle according to claim 1. Kitahata further teaches wherein in a state where power transmission from the electric motor to the internal combustion engine is cut, the processing circuitry controls the electric motor such that the electric motor generates the determination torque (Kitahata: Col. 9, lines 17-21; i.e., The state where the neutral state is established refers to a state where the clutch C1 is in the disengagement state, and thus, power transmission between the input shaft (the transmission member 26) and the output shaft 36 of the transmission 30 is shut off; Col. 11, lines 56-57; i.e., in S108, the control device 60 controls the motor generator MG2 such that prescribed torque is generated).
Regarding claim 4, Kitahata teaches the vehicle according to claim 1. Kitahata further teaches wherein: in a state where the vehicle is in a stop state, the processing circuitry controls the electric motor such the electric motor generates the determination torque (Kitahata: Col. 12, lines 37-38; i.e., At the time T(1), the output shaft rotation speed No of the transmission 30 becomes zero, and the vehicle 10 is stopped; Col. 12, lines 46-48; i.e., At the time T(3) … the motor generator MG2 is rotated with the prescribed torque);
the rotation information includes input rotation information related to rotation of the input shaft and output rotation information related to rotation of the output shaft (Kitahata: Col. 10, lines 34-39; i.e., the rotation speed difference determination unit 108 calculates the difference between the rotation speed Nm2 of the motor generator MG2 detected by the MG2 rotation speed sensor 28 and the output shaft rotation speed No detected by the output shaft rotation speed sensor 37 as the rotation speed difference);
when the processing circuitry determines based on the output rotation information that the output shaft has started rotating, the processing circuitry determines that there is the error in the neutral information (Kitahata: Col. 13, lines 62-66; i.e., if it is determined that the magnitude of the rotation speed difference … is equal to or less than the threshold α (in S110, NO), the start of the engine 12 is inhibited; if the output shaft starts rotating at the same speed as the input shaft rotation speed, then the difference would be less than the threshold, indicating an error);
and when the processing circuitry determines based on the output rotation information that the output shaft has not started rotating, and also determines based on the input rotation information that the input shaft has started rotating, the processing circuitry determines that there is no error in the neutral information (Kitahata: Col. 12, lines 53-58; i.e., if it is determined that the magnitude of the rotation speed difference … is greater than the threshold α … the start control of the engine 12 is executed; if the output shaft speed remains zero while the input shaft rotation speed starts rotating with the prescribed torque, then the difference would be greater than the threshold, indicating that there is no error).
Regarding claim 5, Kitahata teaches the vehicle according to claim 1. Kitahata further teaches wherein: the rotation information includes input rotation information related to rotation of the input shaft (Kitahata: Col. 5, lines 61-63; i.e., a signal from an MG2 rotation speed sensor 28 (see FIG. 3) which detects a rotation speed Nm2 of a motor generator MG2);
the processing circuitry counts an elapsed time since the start of the control of making the electric motor generate the determination torque (Kitahata: Col. 13, lines 38-41; i.e., at the time T(13) when the standby time Δt elapsed after the C1 hydraulic pressure command is output (in S106, YES), the prescribed torque is generated in the rotating shaft of the motor generator MG2 (S108));
the processing circuitry determines based on the input rotation information whether or not the input shaft has started rotating (Kitahata: Col. 13, lines 57-61; i.e., even if the torque of the motor generator MG2 is transmitted to the output shaft of the transmission 30, both of the output shaft rotation speed No of the transmission 30 and the rotation speed Nm2 of the motor generator MG2 become zero);
and when the elapsed time has reached a predetermined period of time in a state where the processing circuitry does not determine that the input shaft has started rotating, the processing circuitry determines that there is the error in the neutral information (Kitahata: Col. 13, lines 62-66; i.e., if it is determined that the magnitude of the rotation speed difference between the input shaft rotation speed and the output shaft rotation speed of the transmission 30 is equal to or less than the threshold α (in S110, NO), the start of the engine 12 is inhibited (S114); as displayed in Figure 9, after the elapsed time is reached, both the input shaft and output shafts have not started rotating and the rotation speed difference is less than the threshold, indicating an error).
Regarding claim 6, Kitahata teaches the vehicle according to claim 1. Kitahata further teaches wherein when the processing circuitry determines that there is the error, the processing circuitry stops the generation of the determination torque by the electric motor to restrict the engine start control (Kitahata: Col. 13, line 62 – Col. 14, line 1; i.e., if it is determined that the magnitude of the rotation speed difference … is equal to or less than the threshold α (in S110, NO), the start of the engine 12 is inhibited (S114). For this reason, the torque output of the motor generator MG2 is stopped).
Regarding claim 7, Kitahata teaches the vehicle according to claim 1. Kitahata further teaches wherein: when the processing circuitry acquires a start request of the internal combustion engine, the processing circuitry determines whether or not the state information is the neutral information (Kitahata: Col. 11, lines 18-21; i.e., the engine start control unit 110 sets a start inhibition flag in an on state to prevent the start of the engine 12 to a subsequent start request of the engine 12; Col. 11, lines 35-36; i.e., In S100 (Step is referred to as S), the control device 60 determines whether or not the shift range is the N range);
and when the processing circuitry determines that there is no error, the processing circuitry starts the engine start control and controls the electric motor such that the generated torque of the electric motor is increased from the determination torque to predetermined start torque (Kitahata: Col. 12, lines 53-63; i.e., At the time T(4), if it is determined that the magnitude of the rotation speed difference … is greater than the threshold α (in S110, YES), … the start control of the engine 12 is executed (S112). That is, torque is made to act on the sun gear S0 using the motor generator MG1 while increasing the torque of both of the motor generators MG1, MG2 and generating reaction torque in the ring gear R0 using the motor generator MG2; as displayed in Figure 8, the MG2 torque is increased from the determination torque to the start torque at T(4)).
Regarding claim 8, Kitahata teaches the vehicle according to claim 1. Kitahata further teaches a main clutch that is switchable between an engaged state and a disengaged state, the engaged state being a state where a power transmitting path between the internal combustion engine and the input shaft is established, the disengaged state being a state where the power transmitting path is cut (Kitahata: Col. 7, lines 37-38; i.e., the clutch C1 and the brake B2 are brought into the engagement state; Col. 7, lines 45-47; i.e., the clutch C1 is brought into the disengagement state, whereby the neutral state (power transmission shut-off state) is formed),
wherein: the processing circuitry determines whether the main clutch is in the engaged state or the disengaged state (Kitahata: Col. 11, lines 35-36; i.e., In S100 (Step is referred to as S), the control device 60 determines whether or not the shift range is the N range; Col. 9, lines 17-19; i.e., the state where the neutral state is established refers to a state where the clutch C1 is in the disengagement state);
and when the processing circuitry determines that the main clutch is in the disengaged state, and also determines that the state information is the neutral information, the processing circuitry controls the electric motor such that the electric motor generates the determination torque (Kitahata: Col. 11, lines 35-36; i.e., In S100 (Step is referred to as S), the control device 60 determines whether or not the shift range is the N range; Col. 11, lines 46-48; i.e., in S104, the control device 60 outputs the C1 hydraulic pressure command … such that the clutch C1 is in the disengagement state; Col. 11, lines 56-57; i.e., in S108, the control device 60 controls the motor generator MG2 such that prescribed torque is generated).
Regarding claim 9, Kitahata teaches a method of determining an error for a transmission including an input shaft to which power is input from a driving source and an output shaft that outputs the power to a driving wheel (Kitahata: Col. 4, lines 3-6; i.e., a vehicle 10 includes an engine 12, a transmission unit 15, a differential gear device 42, and drive wheels 44; Col. 6, line 27; i.e., Each of the motor generators MG1, MG2 is an AC motor; Col. 7; lines 53-56; i.e., the differential unit 20 and the transmission 30 are coupled by the transmission member 26. An output shaft 36 coupled to the carrier CA2 of the planetary gear 34 is coupled to the differential gear device),
the method comprising: by processing circuitry, acquiring state information indicating a state of the transmission (Kitahata: Col. 9, lines 46-48; i.e., the N range determination unit 100 determines whether or not the shift range is the N range based on the signal from the shift range sensor);
determining whether or not the state information is neutral information indicating that the transmission is in a neutral state where power transmission between the input shaft and the driving wheel is cut (Kitahata: Col. 5, lines 1-6; i.e., The electronic control unit 60 includes an engine electronic control unit (ECU) 62 … and executes predetermined control; Col. 11, lines 35-36; i.e., In S100 (Step is referred to as S), the control device 60 determines whether or not the shift range is the N range);
when the processing circuitry determines that the state information is the neutral information, acquiring rotation information related to relative rotation between the input shaft and the output shaft by torque applied to the input shaft or the output shaft; and determining based on the rotation information whether or not there is an error in any one of the state information and the rotation information (Kitahata: Col. 11, lines 56-57; i.e., In S108, the control device 60 controls the motor generator MG2 such that prescribed torque is generated; Col. 11, lines 58-61; i.e., the control device 60 determines whether or not the magnitude of the rotation speed difference between the input shaft rotation speed of the transmission 30 and the output shaft rotation speed of the transmission 30 is greater than the threshold α).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional prior art deemed pertinent in the art of determining errors of neutral transmission states includes Morimoto et al. (U.S. Publication No. 6345216), Nakano et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0271602), Yuasa (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0010685), and Nedorezov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0023646).
/BRANDON Z WILLIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3665