DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 31, it appears the last ‘a’ should be ‘the’, as the target object is previously set forth.
In claim 1, line 32, it appears ‘the’ should be ‘a’.
In claim 7, line 31, it appears the last ‘a’ should be ‘the’, as the target object is previously set forth.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Apostolakis et al (US Pub 2023/0228873 -cited by applicant).
Re claim 1: Apostolakis discloses an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising:
a transmission unit that transmits ultrasound pulses N times through an ultrasound probe, where N is an integer of 2 or more [0032, 0038, fig 2; see the transmit control 220 where the probe transmits an ensemble of ultrasound pulses which includes a plurality of pulses];
a reception unit that receives reflected waves generated N times in a measurement target object through the ultrasound probe [0038, fig 2; see beamformer 222 where the probe receives ultrasound signals responsive to the transmitted ensemble]; and
an information processing unit that generates N reception Doppler signals from N reception pulse signals output from the reception unit in response to the reflected waves generated N times in the measurement target object and that executes processing on each of the reception Doppler signals [0033, 0034, 0037, fig 2; Doppler signal path 262 and the Doppler image data], wherein the information processing unit includes
a filter that performs high-pass filter processing on the N reception Doppler signals [0037; see that processor 260 filters out unwanted signals and see the high pass wall filter],
a Doppler measurement section that generates first Doppler measurement information of the measurement target object based on the N reception Doppler signals that have been subjected to the high-pass filter processing [0037, fig 2; the Doppler processor 260 estimates Doppler shift and generates Doppler image data], and
a machine learning model that is constructed based on training data, under a condition that J and K are integers of 2 or more, with J being greater than K, the training data includes training information that is at least one of reception characteristic information, which is derived from each of the reception Doppler signals in a case in which N is set to K, or the Doppler measurement information, which is generated by the Doppler measurement section in a case in which N is set to K, and target information that is at least one of the reception characteristic information, which is derived from each of the reception Doppler signals in a case in which N is set to J, or the Doppler measurement information, which is generated by the Doppler measurement section in a case in which N is set to J, for the same measurement target object as that in a case in which N is set to K [0028, 0053, 0056, fig 4; see the artificial intelligence that includes neural networks with short/decimated ensembles as inputs and long/high PRF ensemble images as output; see the linking of short/undersampled ensembles to CD images generated using longer ensembles or ensembles with higher PRF; once trained, the deep learning framework provides CD images from short ensembles that are higher quality], and
the machine learning model generates second Doppler measurement information based on input information that is at least one of the reception characteristic information, which is derived from each of the reception Doppler signals in a case in which N is set to K, or the first Doppler measurement information, which is generated by the Doppler measurement section in a case in which N is set to K, for a measurement target object in a subject [0027, 0057; the CD images from the deep learning are closer in quality to CD images generated from long/high PRF ensembles; the signals may or may not be wall filtered].
Furthermore, the transmission unit transmits an ultrasound wave for B-mode image generation through the ultrasound probe, the reception unit receives a reflected wave for B-mode image generation generated in the measurement target object through the ultrasound probe, the information processing unit further includes a B-mode image generation section that generates B-mode image data based on a B-mode image reception signal output from the reception unit in response to the reflected wave for B-mode image generation, and the B-mode image reception signal output from the reception unit is utilized as any of the N reception pulse signals output from the reception unit in response to the reflected wave for B-mode image generation [0025, 0033, 0035; see that both Doppler and B-mode frames are acquired; see the B-mode signal path 258 which couples the signals from the processor to a B-mode processor 228 for producing B-mode image data].
Re claim 2: The reception characteristic information includes at least one of: the N reception Doppler signals before the high-pass filter processing [0057]; or the N reception Doppler signals after the high-pass filter processing [0057; the neural network receives previously unseen portions of signals from short ensembles as inputs].
Re claim 3: The first Doppler measurement information includes at least one of: autocorrelation values of the N reception Doppler signals after the high-pass filter processing; a velocity of the measurement target object obtained from the N reception Doppler signals after the high-pass filter processing; a Doppler frequency variation degree for the N reception Doppler signals after the high-pass filter processing; or a value indicating a magnitude of the N reception Doppler signals after the high-pass filter processing [0037, 0056; the outputs 506 include components of CD images such as the phase of the autocorrelation; the processor filters out unwanted signals and receives velocity estimates using an auto-correlator].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolakis, as applied to claim 1, in view of Matsumoto (US Pub 2022/0110609).
Re claim 4: Apostolakis discloses all features except that the transmission unit transmits two pulses in a phase inversion B-mode as an ultrasound wave for a B-mode image through the probe with a phase difference of 180 degrees between the two pulses. However, Matsumoto teaches of an ultrasound apparatus that transmits two pulses in a phase inversion as an ultrasound wave through the probe with a phase difference of 180 degrees between the two pulses [0101; see the pulse inversion method in which a first pulse and second pulse with phases inverted are transmitted into the subject]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Apostolakis, to use the pulse inversion method as taught by Matsumoto, as such is well known imaging method that would achieve predictable results for harmonic imaging.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7 and 8 (which include the same limitations as allowable claims 5 and 6) are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has incorporated features from claim 4 into claim 1 and argues that Apostolakis does not disclose that the B-mode reception signal is used to generate the B-mode image data and to generate the Doppler measurement information. Respectfully, the Examiner disagrees and finds maintains that Apostolakis discloses that data is received at signal processor 226 from beamformer 222. This data contains the B-mode reception signal data and is then further processed and by B-mode processor 228 and Doppler processor 260 through 258 and 262, respectively. Therefore, the limitation is met.
The claim objection is withdrawn except in regard to claim1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797