The amended claims filed 12/1/25 are acknowledged; claims 2-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20140327443) in view of Anton et al. (US 20190271419).
CLAIM 2: Liu discloses a method of detecting an object within a tubing bore of a well system. The method comprises generating an electromagnetic field (via component 39, see paragraph 0017) that extends at least partially into the tubing bore of the well system (see Fig. 2) using at least one electrical coil (“electromagnetic coil” paragraph 0017), the at least one electrical coil disposed within a pressure cavity of the well system (Fig. 2). Detecting at least one change in the electromagnetic field associated with the object passing through the electromagnetic field (via sensor 38). Identifying a position of the object within the tubing bore based on the at least one change in the electromagnetic field (see paragraph 0013 discussing using sensors to locate object).
Liu fails to teach a seal pocket detection assembly.
Anton discloses a conduit connection with a sensor.
Anton teaches placing a sensor (120b) in a seal pocket (64) to create a seal pocket detection assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of the coil and sensor of Liu into a seal pocket as disclosed by Anton with a reasonable expectation of success as Anton teaches that the placement there allow for no interference within the bore (see paragraph 0045).
CLAIM 3: The seal pocket detection assembly is disposed at a tubing joint of the well system (see Anton, Fig. 1).
CLAIM 4: Anton teaches maintaining a pressure at the tubing joint of the well system using at least one pressure seal of the seal pocket detection assembly (see paragraphs 0039, 0053, 0055, 0064).
CLAIM 5: Liu teaches transmitting at least one signal including information indicative of the position of the object (via communication lines 46; see paragraph 0033).
CLAIM 6: Liu teaches adjusting at least one operation of the well system based on identification of the object within the tubing bore (see paragraph 0021).
CLAIM 7: Liu discloses the seal pocket detection assembly further includes a removable insert body and the at least one electrical coil is disposed on an outer surface of the removable insert body (see Figs. 1, 2). Anton teaches removing the seal pocket detection assembly from the well system (see paragraph 0064 discussing removing and replacing sensors).
CLAIM 8: Anton teaches after removing the seal pocket detection assembly, replacing at least a portion of the seal pocket detection assembly (see paragraph 0064).
CLAIM 9: Liu teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store computer- executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor perform a method of operation a well system (processor 54).
The method steps are discussed above.
CLAIM 10: Liu teaches wirelessly transmitting at least one signal including information indicative of the position of the object using a wireless communication connection of the seal pocket detection assembly (line 46 may be wireless communication; paragraph 0018).
CLAIM 11: The at least one signal includes an operator notification notifying an operator of the well system of the object (see Liu, paragraph 0034).
CLAIM 12: The at least one signal includes a control notification notifying a control system of the well system of the position of the object (see paragraph 0034).
CLAIM 13: Adjusting the at least one operation includes opening one or more valves of the well system (Liu, paragraph 0014 discussing downhole valves).
CLAIM 14: Adjusting the at least one operation includes closing one or more valves of the well system (Liu, paragraph 0014 discussing downhole valves).
CLAIM 15: Liu teaches monitoring the electromagnetic field over time using at least one sensor of the detection portion (Liu, paragraph 0034).
CLAIM 16: The steps of this method are discussed above and can be used to sense one or more object within a tubing bore of a well system, as shown in Liu.
CLAIM 17: Liu teaches adjusting at least one operation of the well system based on the position of the one or more objects within the tubing bore (paragraph 0021).
CLAIM 18: Anton teaches electrically coupling one or more cables to the at least one coil through an opening in a cable routing portion of the seal pocket detection assembly (see paragraph 0093 discussing power options for seal pocket assembly including external power).
CLAIM 19: Liu teaches responsive to detecting the at least one change in the electromagnetic field, transmitting a signal indicative of the position of the one or more objects through the one or more cables (cable 46).
CLAIM 20: Liu-Anton fails to disclose measuring one or more internal parameters of tubing sections of the well system using at least one testing cable disposed through a testing port routed around the seal pocket detection assembly.
Examiner takes official notice that testing systems as described are well known in the art as means of preparing the work space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to include testing system with a reasonable expectation of success as testing the work space to know the pre-existing conditions allow for proper use of the operations.
CLAIM 21: Anton teaches applying an electrical power from a power source to the at least one coil to actively energize the at least one coil (see paragraph 0093).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art fails to disclose the claimed insert body and electrical coil on an outer surface of the insert body and sealing element on inner surface of the insert body. Liu discloses the insert and coil are part of the sensor system 36. As shown in Figs. 1 and 2, the system is inserted into the wellbore. The figures further show coil on the outside (Fig. 1). Thus, the limitations are disclosed.
Applicant further discloses the cited art does not disclose the coil disposed within a pressure cavity of the well system. As shown in Fig. 2, the coil is placed in the wellbore extending down into the underground void. The wellbore would thus be part of the pressure cavity. Therefore, the claimed limitation is disclosed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676