Detailed Action
Drawings Objection
1. The drawings are objected to because:
(1) In Fig.7, reference numerals “104” (blade retainer) and “202” (cutting edge) are used to designate the same element.
(2) In Fig.7, reference numeral “110” should read --108-- (e.g., a first side or a front side of the razor cartridge assembly 100 having the preparation strip 114, see Fig.6).
(3) In Fig.10, reference numeral “202” does not designate a cutting edge. The cutting edge should be facing the first side 108 rather than facing the back side 110.
(4) In Fig.12, “14” should read --16-- (see Figs.2 and 14).
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a contact surface (cited in claims 8 and 19), and a first plane defined by the contact surface (cited in claims 8 and 19) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objection
Claims 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) In claim 15, line 1, after “in”, --and from-- should be added.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejection - 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
2. Claims 1-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
(1) In claim 1, line 4, “the biased arms” has no clear antecedent basis. It is suggested “at least one biased arm”, at lines 2-3 of the claim, be changed to --biased arms--.
(2) In claim 1, lines 7-8, “the at least one blade retainer comprising a blade handling surface having a first side portion that defines a plane” does not agree with Figs.10-11 and paragraph [0054] of the specification. As shown in the figures, the retainer 104 (see Fig.10) does NOT have a first side portion 108 that defines a first plane 250 (see Fig.11). Note it is the cartridge 100 that has a first side portion 108 that defines a first plane 25 (see paragraph [0054], lines 8-9). Further, the retainer 104 (see Fig.10) does NOT have a second side portion 110. It is the cartridge 100 that has a second side portion 110 (see paragraph [0054], lines 8-9).
(3) In claim 1, lines 10-11, “the cartridge is configured to expose a cutting edge of the at least one shaving razor blade past the first side portion” does not agree with Fig. 10. As shown in the figure, the cutting edge (not numbered) does not past the first side portion 108. Line
(4) In claim 6, lines 1-2, “a distal end” and “a proximal end” are vague. Are they in addition to the ones cited at line 2 of claim 1?
(5) In claim 6, line 2, “two biased arms” is vague. Is it in addition to “at least one biased arm” and “the biased arms” of claim 1?
(6) In claim 8, lines 6-8, “the blade retainer comprising a blade handling surface and a contact surface that defines a first plane, wherein a first side portion of the cartridge along the first plane is configured to expose a cutting edge of the at least one shaving razor blade past the first plane” does not agree with paragraph [0054], lines 8-9. As disclosed, it is the cartridge 100 that has a first side portion 108 (see Fig.10) defining a first plane 250 (see Fig.11). Further, as shown in Fig.11, a cutting edge of the razor blade (not numbered) is NOT past the first plane 250. Lines 5-9 of claim 19 have the same issue and should be amended accordingly.
(7) In claim 8, lines 8-9, “a second side portion” is unclear. Is it a second side portion of the contact surface or of the cartridge? As disclosed in paragraph [0054], lines 8-9, it is the cartridge 100 that has a second side portion 110 (see Fig.10) which defines a second plane 400 (see Fig.11).
(8) In claim 8, line 2, “cutting surface” is vague and not defined.
(9) In claims 9 and 11, it is not clear how the blade handling surface 106 is configured to “bend” the razor blade 200 upon installation. From Figs.10-11, it does not appear the blade is bent, and there is no description of how the blade handling surface is “configured to bend” the razor blade upon installation.
(10) In claim 10, line 2, “multiple razor blades” is vague. Is it in addition to “at least one shaving razor blade” cited at line 5 of claim 10? It is suggested the main body of claim 10 be changed to read --wherein the at least one shaving razor blade comprises multiple razor blades, and the blade retainer is configured to removably couple the multiple razor blades--.
(11) In claim 15, lines 5-6 do not agree with Figs.10-11. The blade shown in the figures is not bent.
(12) In claim 19, lines 2-3, “further comprising inserting the razor blade into the receiving end of the shaving razor cartridge” does not further limit the method step because this inserting step has already been cited at line 3 of claim 15.
(13) In claim 19, lines 3-9, there is no method step claimed that further limits the method for installing and removing shaving razor blades of claim 15. The specifically claimed structure for a blade retainer of the cartridge does not have any patentably import on the method of installing removing shaving razor blades. It has been held that to be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structure limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure. Ex parte Pfeiffer, 1962 C.D. 408 (1962).
Claim Rejection - 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
2. Claims 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danielsson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0116203, hereinafter “Danielsson”).
Regarding claim 8, Danielsson discloses a shaving razor (1) comprising:
a handle (5);
a cartridge (10) coupled to the handle (5), the cartridge (10) comprising blade corner guards (G, see Fig.2A as annotated below), a first cartridge arm (A1), and a second cartridge arm (A2) separated by a blade retainer (40A-40C) configured to releasably fix at least one shaving razor blade (30A-30C) thereto;
the blade retainer (40A-40C) comprising a blade handling surface (45A-45C) and a contact surface (e.g., an upper surface thereof) that defines a first plane (e.g., a plane parallel to the axis “C” as seen in Fig.3A), wherein a first side portion (e.g., an upper side) of the cartridge (10) along the first plane is configured to expose a cutting edge (32A-32C) of the at least one shaving razor blade (30A-30C) past the first plane, a second side portion (e.g., a lower surface) defining a second plane (e.g., a plane parallel to the axis “C” as seen in Fig.3A) configured to receive the at least one shaving razor blade (30A-30c); and wherein the blade handling surface (45a-45c) contacts the at least one shaving razor blade (30a-30c) upon installation and at least one blade corner guard (G) configured to prevent contact with respective corners of the cutting edge of the shaving razor blade (30A-30C) and cutting surface during use.
Regarding claim 10, Danielsson’s blade retainer (40A-40C) is configured to removably couple multiple razor blades (30A-30C). Note the blade retainer (40a-40C) enable removably coupling the razor blades (30A-30C, see paragraph [0019], lines 1-8)
Regarding claim 12, Danielsson’s blade handling surface (45A-45C, see Fig.4A) is configured to expose a non-cutting surface (e.g., the end surface opposite the tip of the cutting edge 32A-32C, see Fig.3A) extending through the second plane (e.g., the plane parallel to the axis “C” as seen in Fig.3A).
Claim Rejection - 35 U.S.C. 103
2. Claims 1-7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danielsson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0116203, hereinafter “Danielsson”) in view of Hahn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0144519, hereinafter “Hahn”).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 7, Danielsson discloses a shaving razor (1) comprising:
a handle (5) comprising a proximal end (P, see Fig.1C as annotated below) and a distal end (D) configured to couple to a cartridge (10);
the cartridge (10) comprising a first cartridge arm (A1, see the annotated Fig.2A) and a second cartridge arm (A2) separated by at least one blade retainer (40A-40C, see Fig.6A) configured to releasably fix at least one shaving razor blade (30A-30C) thereto;
the at least one blade retainer (40A-40C) comprising a blade handling surface (45A-45C) having a first side portion (e.g. an upper side thereof) that defines a plane (e.g., a plane parallel to the axis “C” as seen in Fig.3A) and a second side portion (e.g., a lower side thereof) configured to receive the at least one shaving razor blade (30A-30C); and
wherein the cartridge (10) is configured to expose a cutting edge (32A-32C) of the at least one shaving razor blade (30A-30C) past the first side portion (e.g. the upper side of the blade handling surface 45A-45C) substantially as claimed except Danielsson’s handle (5) is not of the claimed type.
Hahn discloses a shaving razor (2) comprising a cartridge (6), and a handle (4) having a distal end (D, see Fig.1 as annotated below) and a proximal end (P), and the distal end (D) having two biasing arms (8a,8b, as required by claim 6) for coupling the handle (4) to the cartridge (6) so that the cartridge (6) is rotatably coupled to the biased arms (8a,8b, see paragraph [0040], lines 1-4, as required by claim 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Danielsson by providing the shaving razor (11) with a handle of a type, such as that disclosed in Hahn, for allowing rotational movement of the cartridge (10) relative to the handle in response to the contour of a surface to be shaved for a more dynamic shaving as taught by Hahn.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Danielsson’s blade handling surface (45A-45C) is configured to bias the razor blade(s) (30A-30C) upon installation (see paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Danielsson’s blade retainer (40A-40C) is configured to removably couple multiple razor blades (30A-30C). Note the blade retainer (40a-40C) enable removably coupling the razor blades (30A-30C, see paragraph [0019], lines 1-8)
Regarding claim 5, Danielsson’s blade handling surface (45A-45C, see Fig.4A) is configured to expose a non-cutting surface (e.g., the end surface opposite the tip of the cutting edge 32A-32C, see Fig.3A) of the razor blade (30A-30C).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Danielsson’s shaving razor (1) as set forth shows all the claimed limitations except the handle (5) is not of the claimed type.
Hahn discloses a shaving razor (2) comprising a cartridge (6), and a handle (4) having a distal end (D, see the annotated Fig.1) and a proximal end (P), and the distal end (D) having two biasing arms (8a,8b, as required by claim 13)configured to couple to the cartridge (6) so that the cartridge (6) is rotatably coupled to the biased arms (8a,8b, see paragraph [0040], lines 1-4, as required by claim 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Danielsson by providing the shaving razor (11) with a handle of a type, such as that disclosed in Hahn, for allowing rotational movement of the cartridge (10) relative to the handle in response to a contour of a surface to be shaved for a more dynamic shaving as taught by Hahn.
3. Claims 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawrence (U.S. Patent No. 2,195,674) in view of Danielsson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0116293, hereinafter “Danielsson”).
Regarding claim 15, Lawrence discloses a method for installing a shaving razor blade (14) in a shaving razor comprising:
inserting a razor blade (14) into a receiving end (e.g., a left end as seen in Fig.3) of a shaving razor head (7);
exposing a cutting edge (20) of the razor blade (14) through the shaving razor head (7);
bending the razor blade (14, note the blade is “resilient”, see right column, line 11) against a blade handling surface (18) of the shaving razor head (7) to couple the razor blade (14) to the blade handling surface (18, by bending a lug 17 of a back member 9 of the shaving razor head 7 over the top of the blade 14 to hold the blade 14 under tension, see right column, lines 8-13) substantially as claimed.
Danielsson teaches it is desirable to have a blade or blades (30A-30C) of a shaving razor that is/are removable to allow for refurbishing the blade or blades (30A-30C) as desired (see paragraph [0019], lines 1-8).
In view of Danielsson’s teaching, one skilled in the art who wishes to remove Lawrence’s blade (14) would have known to perform a reverse step by simply unbending the lug (17) of the back member (9) and removing/pulling out the razor blade (14) through the receiving end of the shaving razor head (7).
Regarding claim 16, Lawrence’s razor blade (14) snaps against the blade handling surface (18).
Regarding claim 17, in the modified Lawrence, the removal of the razor blade (14) involves gripping a non-cutting edge (e.g., the edge opposite the cutting edge 20) when removing.
Regarding claim 18, Lawrence’s razor blade (14) is used until a cutting edge (20) is no longer usable before removing.
Regarding claim 20, Danielsson teaches providing the shaving razor with more than one razor blade (30A-30C) for a close shave. To further modify Lawrence by inserting an additional blade to achieve the predictable result of a close shave as taught by Danielsson would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
Prior Art Citations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Nos. 2,886,888 and 2,911,712 each shows a method of installing and removing a razor blade in and from a razor comprising inserting a razor blade into a receiving end of the razor and removing the blade by pulling out the blade through the receiving end.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0139103 shows a shaving razor having a replacement blade assembly.
EP 4 385 686 shows a method (see claim 12) of replacing one or more used razor blades of a razor cartridge (60).
Remarks
It is to be noted that claims 9, 11 and 19 have not been rejected over prior art. It may or may not be readable over the prior art but allowability cannot be determined tat this time in view of the issues under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Point of Contact
/HWEI-SIU C PAYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724