This document is responsive to applicant’s claims filed 12/19/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hisayoshi (JP2019023020).
Regarding claim 1, Hisayoshi discloses:
A landing facility, comprising: a first area for landing a flight vehicle (see fig 2, ref 16 and fig 5, ref 22); a windbreak part arranged to surround at least a portion of a perimeter of the first area and having a predetermined height (see figs 1 and 2); and a second area located apart from the windbreak part and allowing the flight vehicle to descend in a vertical direction to a predetermined flight altitude (area outside and away from the building as shown in fig 2), wherein the flight altitude is lower than the predetermined height of the windbreak part (the altitude of the uav in figs 2 and 5 is lower than the building).
Regarding claim 3, Hisayoshi discloses:
The landing facility according to claim 1, wherein the windbreak part comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a panel, a net, a fence, an air curtain, a green curtain, and a water curtain (a wall of the building is considered a panel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayoshi (JP2019023020) in view of Obviousness.
Regarding claim 2, Hisayoshi discloses the landing facility of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second area is an area selected from a plurality of permitted areas where vertical descent is permitted. Since descent is possible by a drone anywhere other than in restricted airspace, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to allow the drone to descend anywhere near the opening for the purpose of arriving at the opening from wherever the drone is coming from and descending and arriving utilizing the most efficient route possible.
Claims 4 - 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayoshi (JP2019023020) in view of Villiers (US PG Pub 2022/0019243).
Regarding claim 4, Hisayoshi discloses the facility of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second area includes a descent instruction unit that instructs the flight vehicle to descend to the predetermined flight altitude.
Villiers teaches a landing facility wherein the second area includes a descent instruction unit that instructs the flight vehicle to descend to the predetermined flight altitude (see at least paragraphs 0029 and 0057-0060 – the drone enters space E and receives instructions to descend and maneuver toward the docking station). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the system of Hisayoshi with the guidance of Villiers yielding the predictable result of providing a system to accurately maneuver, land, and dock a drone.
Regarding claim 5, see the rejection of claim 4. The landing phase is the final phase of the implementation of Villiers when the drone is aligned over the docking station.
Regarding claim 6, see the rejection of claims 1, 4, and 5.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,208,920. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims cover substantially the same limitations of the parent patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644