DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/418,106, filed on 24 June 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over North (US 2009/0233796) in view of de Ruiter et al. (Pestic. Sci., 1993, Vol. 38, 145-154).
Claim 1 is drawn to an herbicidal composition, comprising: ethyl [3-[2-chloro-4-fluoro-5-(1-methyl-6-trifluoromethyl-2,4-dioxo-1,2,3,4-tetrahydropyrimidin-3-yl)phenoxy-2-pyridyloxyl]acetate (hereinafter “the compound of the present invention”) and 2,4-D-trolamine, wherein the weight ratio of the compound of the present invention to 2,4-D-trolamine is from 1:10 to 1:100.
North teaches synergistic herbicidal compositions (Abstract) comprising the herbicide of Formula II (Par. [0009]), i.e., the compound of the present invention:
PNG
image1.png
100
100
image1.png
Greyscale
North further teaches compositions of the compound of the present invention and an additional herbicide having a ratio of 1:84 or 1:42 (Pars. [0060] and [0066]) and applying the compound of the present invention in an amount of 1-100 g/ha (Par. [0048]).
North does not teach 2,4-D-trolamine. However, North teaches synergistic herbicidal compositions comprising the compound of the present invention and salts of 2,4-D (Par. [0028]).
de Ruiter et al. teach herbicidal compositions comprising 2,4-D salts including 2,4-D-trolamine (Title, Abstract). de Ruiter et al. further teach application of 2,4-D-trolamine in the amount of 1000 g/ha (Pg. 146 left column last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of North to include 2,4-D-trolamine. It would have been obvious to substitute 2,4-D-trolamine in the place of 2,4-D to obtain the predictable result of a synergistic herbicidal composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Substitution of 2,4-D-trolamine as taught by de Ruiter et al. in the composition of North would result in a composition having a ratio of the compound of the present invention to 2,4-D-trolamine between 1:100 and 1:10, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
Based on all of the foregoing, claim 1 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,701,936 in view of de Ruiter et al.
Claim 1 of Patent No. ‘936 recites a herbicidal composition comprising the compound of the present invention and 2,4-D choline salt, wherein the weight ratio of the compound of the present invention to 2,4-D choline is 1:5 to 1:100. Patent No. ‘936 does not teach 2,4-D-trolamine. However, de Ruiter et al. teach 2,4-D-trolamine as a suitable salt of 2,4-D for herbicidal use (Title, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Patent No. ‘936 by substituting 2,4-D-trolamine in the place of 2,4-D choline. It would have been obvious to substitute one 2,4-D salt suitable for use as an herbicide for another to obtain the predictable result of an herbicidal composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claim 1 of Patent No. ‘936 in view of de Ruiter et al. renders instant claim 1 obvious.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,624,346 in view of Sprague (“Herbicide Classification” cited on Applicant’s IDS filed 19 December 2024) and de Ruiter et al.
Claim 1 of Patent No. ‘346 recites a herbicidal composition comprising the compound of the present invention and one or more dicamba salts, wherein the weight ratio of the compound of the present invention to the dicamba salt is 1:5 to 1:100. Patent No. ‘346 does not teach 2,4-D-trolamine. However, Sprague teaches both dicamba and 2,4-D as TIR1 auxin receptors (Group 4) and de Ruiter et al. teach 2,4-D-trolamine as a suitable salt of 2,4-D for herbicidal use (Title, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Patent No. ‘346 by substituting 2,4-D-trolamine in the place of the dicamba salt. It would have been obvious to substitute one TIR1 auxin receptor herbicide for another to obtain the predictable result of an herbicidal composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claim 1 of Patent No. ‘346 in view of Sprague and de Ruiter et al. renders instant claim 1 obvious.
Conclusion
/PAUL HOERNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611