Acknowledgement
It is acknowledged that this application is a CON of SN 16/156,560 10/10/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 6 and 16 recite,
“generating, by the executing wallet application and using the time stamp, a cryptogram and Europay, Mastercard, and Visa (EMV) data; and
generating, by the wallet application, a 1-D barcode using the cryptogram and the transaction amount and a 2-D barcode using the cryptogram, the EMV data, and the transaction amount.”
According to the specification, “[0060] Dynamic magstripe data (DMSD) and EMV data may be generated simultaneously by the e-wallet application. DMSD, which in turn comprises a cryptogram calculated based on a time stamp, is provided in the 1-D barcode, whereas both DMSD and EMV data are provided in the 2-D barcode”.
The steps and/or procedure taken to perform the function (i.e., algorithm which the cryptogram is calculated from based upon the time stamp as well as steps for generating 1D and 2D barcode using the cryptogram) is not described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. See MPEP 2161.01 I
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaddam et al (US 2016/0042263) in view of Scott (US 2017/0017958).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 20, Gaddam discloses a computer-implemented method, computing device at a user device [¶0005] comprising:
a main operating environment [¶0019], [¶0046] and
a protected operating environment [¶0019- a mobile device includes a secure element], the main operating environment comprising a processor [¶0005], [¶0022] and memories [¶0006], the method comprising:
executing, by the protected operating environment of the user device, a wallet application (Fig. 2)(Item# 102B-1)[¶0046];
authenticating, by the protected operating environment of the user device, a user of the user device [¶0052], [¶0057];
receiving, by the executing wallet application and from the user, transaction details of a transaction comprising at least a transaction amount (item# 220)[¶0060];
generating, by the processor in the main operating environment, a time stamp of when the transaction details are received; (102B-4)[¶0048]
based on the authenticating of the user and the selection of the payment card, generating, by the executing wallet application, an optical code comprising the transaction amount and the time stamp;[¶0048]
displaying, by the executing wallet application at the user device, the optical code on the display;[¶0002-QR codes may be displayed on user’s phone],[¶0005],[¶0018],[¶0033],[¶0041],[¶0060]
receiving, by the processor in the main operating environment, a transaction delivery notification from a service provider computer; [¶0091-step 10- the wallet server computer 104 sends a transaction completion message to the mobile wallet application 102B-2 ]and
displaying, by the processor in the main operating environment, the notification on the display.[¶0091- notification message is sent on the mobile device]
Gaddam fails to disclose, receiving, by the executing wallet application and from the user, a selection of a payment card for the transaction. This is disclosed by Scott. (see Fig. 14E)(item# 1407)(item# 1486)(item# 1477)[¶0189-¶0190]].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for one of ordinary skill to have modified Gaddam to provide a payment card selection feature as enunciated in Scott. The motivation would be to provide the user of Gaddam’s invention added convenience and the ability to choose within the wallet application a preferred payment instrument/method for a particular transaction and/or spending category.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Gaddam discloses wherein the optical code is at least one of a 1-D barcode and a 2-D barcode. [¶0002],[¶0018],[¶0020]
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Gaddam discloses wherein displaying, by the executing wallet application at the user device, the optical code on the display comprises simultaneously displaying, by the executing wallet application at the user device, a 1-D barcode and a 2-D barcode on the display. (see Figs. 6A and 6B [¶0062])
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Gaddam discloses wherein the 2-D barcode is an EMV Quick Response Code. (item# 308- scannable image)[¶0061-¶0062]
Regarding claims 6 and 16, wherein generating, by the executing wallet application, the optical code comprising the transaction amount and the time stamp comprises: generating, by the executing wallet application and using the time stamp, a cryptogram and Europay, Mastercard, and Visa (EMV) data; and generating, by the wallet application, a 1-D barcode using the cryptogram and the transaction amount and a 2-D barcode using the cryptogram, the EMV data, and the transaction amount.[¶0024]
Regarding claims 7 and 17, wherein displaying, by the executing wallet application at the user device, the optical code on the display comprises simultaneously displaying, by the executing wallet application at the user device, the 1-D barcode and the 2-D barcode on the display.
Regarding claims 8 and 18. The method of claim 1, wherein the protected operating environment is at least one of a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM), Universal Integrated Circuit Card (UICC), a Secure Element, or a Trusted Execution Environment.[¶0042]
Regarding claim 10, Gaddam discloses authenticating the user of the user device comprises authenticating the user of the user device using a method selected from a group comprising: a personal identification number (PIN), a password, and a biometric authentication mechanism.[¶0057-biometric sample such as a voice sample, iris sample or fingerprint can be used to provide authentication.]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miryala et al (US 2019/0066089) discloses secure transactions using digital barcodes.
DANIEL S. FELTEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3692
/DANIEL S FELTEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692