DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“blank feeding assembly” in claims 1, 10, and 18;
“product conveyor assembly” in claims 1, 10, and 18; and
“blank engaging assembly” in claims 5, 13, and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolfram (US 4,411,350 A).
Regarding claim 10, Wolfram discloses a product packaging system, the system comprising: a blank feeding assembly 8 defining a first machine direction; a product conveyor assembly 20 configured to move at least one product in a second machine direction, the second machine direction offset from the first machine direction; and a blank turning assembly, the blank turning assembly comprising a plurality of turning rails 16 for supporting a blank and following a curved path between the blank feeding assembly and the product conveyor assembly for moving a blank from a path along the first machine direction to a path along the second machine direction. See, e.g., Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 11, Wolfram discloses the product packaging system of claim 10, wherein the second machine direction is perpendicularly or obliquely disposed relative to the first machine direction. See, e.g., Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 18, Wolfram discloses a blank turning assembly for a product packaging system, the blank turning assembly comprising: a plurality of turning rails 16 following at least one of a curved path and an angled path, the plurality of turning rails being for being positioned between a blank feeding assembly 8 defining a first machine direction and a product conveyor assembly 20 defining a second machine direction offset from the first machine direction such that the plurality of turning rails are for supporting and moving a blank from a path along the first machine direction to a path along the second machine direction. See, e.g., Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 19, Wolfram discloses the blank turning assembly of claim 18, wherein the second machine direction is perpendicularly or obliquely disposed relative to the first machine direction. See, e.g., Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfram.
Regarding claim 1, Wolfram discloses a method comprising: positioning a book on a feeding assembly 8, the feeding assembly defining a first machine direction (col. 2, lines 19-24); advancing the book from the feeding assembly toward a product conveyor assembly 20 configured to move at least one product in a second machine direction, the second machine direction offset from the first machine direction; and moving the book along a book turning assembly, the book turning assembly comprising a plurality of turning rails 16 following at least one of a curved path and an angled path between the blank feeding assembly and the product conveyor assembly (col. 2, lines 29-44). Wolfram lacks the disclosure of moving blanks; rather, the products conveyed in Wolfram are books. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to convey blanks instead of books in the device of Wolfram, in order to convey blanks through a conveyor while changing their orientation, direction, and spacing.
Regarding claim 2, the method of Wolfram as modified above comprises the method of claim 1, wherein moving the blank along the blank turning assembly comprises moving the blank from a path along the first machine direction to a path along the second machine direction for being in registration with at least one product of the plurality of products. Col. 2, lines 29-44.
Regarding claim 3, the method of Wolfram as modified above comprises the method of claim 2, wherein the second machine direction is perpendicularly or obliquely disposed relative to the first machine direction. See, e.g., Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4, the device of Wolfram comprises everything claimed, except Wolfram does not explicitly disclose that the second direction is at an angle of about 180 degrees relative to the first machine direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the second direction be at an angle of about 180 degrees relative to the first machine direction, in the device of Wolfram, in order to change the direction of the products 180 degrees to correspond with a desired product flow direction.
Regarding claim 12, the device of Wolfram comprises everything claimed, except Wolfram does not explicitly disclose that the second direction is at an angle of about 180 degrees relative to the first machine direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the second direction be at an angle of about 180 degrees relative to the first machine direction, in the device of Wolfram, in order to change the direction of the products 180 degrees to correspond with a desired product flow direction.
Regarding claim 20, the device of Wolfram comprises everything claimed, except Wolfram does not explicitly disclose that the second direction is at an angle of about 180 degrees relative to the first machine direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the second direction be at an angle of about 180 degrees relative to the first machine direction, in the device of Wolfram, in order to change the direction of the products 180 degrees to correspond with a desired product flow direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 13-17, and 21-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Wolfram does not disclose everything claimed, including “wherein the blank turning assembly comprises a turning plate and a blank engaging assembly movably supported along the turning plate”, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Henn (US 5,456,178 A) discloses a sheet feeding device with a guiding surface.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759