DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims such as claims 1-5, 9, 11-12, and 16 recite characteristics of the material being worked upon by the apparatus rather than actual structural details of the apparatus itself. Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. Such limitations include limitations regarding the resins, parts characteristics of the resins/parts, or the characteristics of the resins/parts being different from other resins/parts.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Each of claims 1-20 contain bullets in a list format. Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, see MPEP §608.01(m). Examiner suggests removing the bullets and using line indentations to indicate a plurality of claimed elements. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Siblani (US 2017/0100899) modified by Holt (US 2019/0366635.)
Regarding claim 1, El-Siblani meets the claimed, An additive manufacturing system (El-Siblani [0053] discloses a three-dimensional object making system) comprising: a projection system configured to project radiation; (El Siblani ]0053] describes pattern generator 22) a build window facing the projection system; and configured to pass radiation emitted by the projection system (El-Siblani Figure 7 shows a window in the base 62 over which the substrate 48 is stretched) a tray defining an aperture; and configured to locate over and engage the build window with the aperture arranged about the build window (El-Siblani [0080] describes an outer frame 59, see Figure 6 showing the outer frame 59 has an aperture in the center located over the window in the base 62) a first separation membrane: configured to: transiently install in the tray; (El-Siblani [0080] describes transparent solidification substrate 48 which is connected to the outer frame 59 via screws) be tensioned across the aperture of the tray;(El-Siblani Figures 6 and 7 show the substrate 48 is tensioned across the aperture of the outer frame 59) laminate across the build window, opposite the projection system, in a laminated position; (El-Siblani Figure 8 shows the substrate 48 laminated against the base 62) cooperate with the tray to contain a first volume of a first resin exhibiting a first resin characteristic; (El Siblani [0080] and Figure 1 shows the solidifiable material 31 is contained by the substrate 48 and the outer frame 59) and-pass radiation, emitted by the projection system and passed through the build window, to the first volume of the first resin; (El-Siblani [0081] describes the substrate 48 should be transparent to the energy from the pattern generator 22) and exhibiting a first set of membrane characteristics compatible with a first range of resin characteristics comprising the first resin characteristic; (El-Siblani [0081] discloses the substrate 48 should be transparent to the energy, this is a characteristic with the resin being curable by that energy) and a second separation membrane: configured to: transiently install in the tray in replacement of the first separation membrane; be tensioned across the aperture of the tray;-laminate across the build window in the laminated position; cooperate with the tray to contain a second volume of a second resin exhibiting a second resin characteristic; and pass radiation, emitted by the projection system and passed through the build window, to the second volume of the second resin; (El-Siblani [0082] describes a second transparent solidification substrate 50 which is in a similar configuration to the first substrate 48) and exhibiting a second set of membrane characteristics compatible with a second range of resin characteristics comprising the second resin characteristic and different from the first range of resin characteristics (El-Siblani [0085] describes the second substrate has a silicone coating on some parts of it, the silicone coating provides different characteristics, such as texture or non-stick, than the first substrate 48 which is made of glass.)
El-Siblani does not disclose that the substrates inflate and do not meet the claimed, delaminate from and inflate above the build window in an expanded position.
Analogous in the field of 3D printing with a liquid, Holt meets the claimed, delaminate from and inflate above the build window in an expanded position (Holt [0071]-[0072] describes a vat base 432 which is inflated and delaminated from the screen 452 below it.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the substrates of El-Siblani with the inflating bases of Holt in order to promote peeling of the printed object from the base, see Holt [0073]-[0074].
Regarding claim 2, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The additive manufacturing system of Claim 1: wherein the first separation membrane: exhibits the first set of membrane characteristics comprising a first thickness compatible with a first range of green strengths, the first resin exhibiting a first green strength in the first range of green strengths; (El-Siblani [0081]discloses a substrate 48 which inherently has a thickness, see Figure 1, the thickness is compatible with some range of some green strength of the resin since it successfully produces an object, see [0081]) and wherein the second separation membrane: exhibits the second set of membrane characteristics comprising a second thickness, greater than the first thickness, (El-Siblani [0085] describes the second substrate 50 also has a coating on it, making the thickness greater than the first substrate 48) compatible with a second range of green strengths, the second resin exhibiting a second green strength, greater than the first green strength, in the second range of green strengths (El-Siblani [0085] describes using the second membrane 50 to product solidified material therefore the thickness must be compatible with some range of green strengths of some resin. The types of resin and particulars of the green strengths are not structural elements of the claimed apparatus and are not patently distinct from the prior art.)
Regarding claim 3, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The additive manufacturing system of Claim 1: . wherein the first separation membrane: exhibits the first set of membrane characteristics comprising a first membrane chemistry compatible with a first range of resin chemistries, the first resin exhibiting a first resin chemistry in the first range of resin chemistries; (El-Siblani [0082] describes the first substrate is made from glass or acrylic plastics which have a “chemistry”, since a solidified object is successfully produced, the “chemistry” of the substrate 48 is clearly compatible with the material chemistry) and wherein the second separation membrane: exhibits the second set of membrane characteristics comprising a second membrane chemistry, different from the first membrane chemistry, (El-Siblani [0085] discloses the second substrate 50 has a silicone coating, this is a different “chemistry” than the first substrate) compatible with a second range of resin chemistries, the second resin exhibiting a second resin chemistry, different from the first resin chemistry, in the second range of resin chemistries (Since a solidified object is successfully produced using the second membrane 50, the “chemistry” of the substrate 50 is clearly compatible with the material chemistry. The difference in chemistries of the resins is not a structural detail of the apparatus.)
Regarding claim 4, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The additive manufacturing system of Claim 1: wherein the first separation membrane: is configured to install into the tray during manufacture of a first part in the first resin; (El-Siblani Figures 1-2 show the substrate 48 assembled during printing) and exhibits the first set of membrane characteristics comprising a first elasticity compatible with a first range of part characteristics, the first part exhibiting part characteristics in the first range of part characteristics; (El-Siblani [0065] discloses the substrate 48 is semi-rigid which is an elasticity, since a part is made, the substrate 48 elasticity is clearly compatible with the claimed part characteristics) and wherein the second separation membrane: is configured to install into the tray during manufacture of a second part in the second resin; (El-Siblani Figures 3-4 show the second substrate 50 installed during printing of a part.)
El-Siblani [0085] discloses that the second substrate 50 has an additional silicone coating which makes it thicker and therefore decreases the elasticity of the second substrate compared to the first substrate 48. Although El-Siblani technically discloses that the first membrane is more elastic than the second membrane and not, and exhibits the second set of membrane characteristics comprising a second elasticity, greater than the first elasticity, compatible with a second range of part characteristics, different from the first range of part characteristics, the second part exhibiting part characteristics in the second range of part characteristics, the membranes are otherwise placed in identical configurations in the apparatus and it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the more elastic first substrate 48 could be substituted as the second membrane and the second substrate 50 could be substituted as the first membrane, i.e., swapping the nomenclature of “first” and “second”, to meet the claims for the same affect. The courts have held that substituting known components according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Regarding claim 5, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The additive manufacturing system of Claim 4: wherein the first separation membrane is configured to: install into the tray during manufacture of the first part exhibiting features of a first minimum feature size within the first range of part characteristics; (El -Siblani Figures 1-2 show the first substrate 48 installed while an object 28 is manufactured, the feature size of the object being made by the apparatus is not a structural limitation of the apparatus itself) and wherein the second separation membrane is configured to: install into the tray during manufacture of the second part exhibiting features of a second minimum feature size greater than the first minimum feature size and within the second range of part characteristics (El -Siblani Figures 3-4 show the second substrate 50 installed while an object 28 is manufactured, the feature size of the object being made by the apparatus is not a structural limitation of the apparatus itself and is not patently distinct from the prior art.)
Regarding claim 6, El-Siblani does not disclose inflation or lamination of the substrate and does not meet the claim. Holt meets the claimed, The additive manufacturing system of Claim 1: wherein the first separation membrane is configured to: laminate across the build window responsive to evacuation of a fluid from an interstitial region between the first separation membrane and the build window during manufacture of a first part in the first resin; (Holt [0075] discloses deflating an inflatable chamber 470 to flatten the vat base 432 against the screen) and delaminate from the build window responsive to injection of the fluid into the interstitial region; (Holt [0072]-[0073] disclose inflating the chamber 470 to peel the vat base 432 from the screen) and wherein the second separation membrane is configured to: laminate across the build window responsive to evacuation of the fluid from the interstitial region during manufacture of a second part in the second resin; (Holt [0075] discloses deflating an inflatable chamber 470 to flatten the vat base 432 against the screen) and delaminate from the build window responsive to injection of the fluid into the interstitial region (Holt [0072]-[0073] disclose inflating the chamber 470 to peel the vat base 432 from the screen).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the two substrates of El-Siblani with the base that inflates and deflates as described in Holt in order to induce peeling and then recreate a flat surface to print the next layer, see Holt [0074]-[0075].
Regarding claim 9, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The additive manufacturing system of Claim 1: wherein the first separation membrane cooperates with the tray to define a first resin reservoir configured to contain the first volume of the first resin; wherein the second separation membrane cooperates with the tray to define a second resin reservoir configured to contain the second volume of the second resin; (El-Siblani Figure 1 shows the substrates 48 and 50 each containing solidifiable material in a container assembly 29/30) and wherein the projection system is configured to: project radiation toward the first volume of the first resin, contained in the first resin reservoir, to form a first layer of a first part over the first separation membrane during manufacture of the first part, the first part layer exhibiting part characteristics within a first range of part characteristics compatible with the first set of membrane characteristics; and project radiation toward the second volume of the second resin, contained in the second resin reservoir, to form a second layer of a second part over the second separation membrane during manufacture of the second part, the second part exhibiting part characteristics within a second range of part characteristics compatible with the second set of membrane characteristics (El-Siblani Figures 2 and 4 show the pattern generator 22 projecting energy into each container assembly to cure the material and form different parts of an object 28, the part characteristics are not structural details of the apparatus itself.)
Regarding claim 10, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The additive manufacturing system of Claim 1: wherein the first separation membrane: exhibits the first set of membrane characteristics comprising a first thickness; (El-Siblani Figure 1 shows the first substrate 48 has a thickness) and is characterized by a first inflation rate in the presence of a pressure differential across the first separation membrane; (El-Siblani as modified by Holt describes inflating the membrane, therefore the combination of El-Siblani and Holt disclose a substrate with a first inflation rate) and wherein the second separation membrane: exhibits the second set of membrane characteristics comprising a second thickness greater than the first thickness; (El-Siblani [0085] discloses the second substrate 50 also has a coating which would make it thicker than the first substrate 48) and is characterized by a second inflation rate, less than the first inflation rate, in the presence of the pressure differential across the second separation membrane (El-Siblani as modified by Holt describes inflating the membrane, therefore the combination of El-Siblani and Holt disclose the substrate 50 with a second inflation rate. Given that the second substrate 50 is slightly thicker than the first substrate 48 due to the silicone coating, the inflation rate would be slightly smaller.)
Regarding claim 11, El-Siblani meets the claimed, A system comprising: a first tray: configured to locate over and engage a build window of an additive manufacturing system; defining a first aperture; (El-Siblani [0080] describes an outer frame 59, see Figure 6 showing the outer frame 59 has an aperture in the center located over the window in the base 62) and comprising a first separation membrane: configured to: transiently install in the first tray; (El-Siblani [0080] describes transparent solidification substrate 48 which is connected to the outer frame 59 via screws) be tensioned across the first aperture of the first tray; (El-Siblani Figures 6 and 7 show the substrate 48 is tensioned across the aperture of the outer frame 59) laminate across the build window in a laminated position; (El-Siblani Figure 8 shows the substrate 48 laminated against the base 62) cooperate with the first tray to contain a first volume of a first resin exhibiting a first resin characteristic; (El Siblani [0080] and Figure 1 shows the solidifiable material 31 is contained by the substrate 48 and the outer frame 59) and pass radiation, emitted by a projection system of the additive manufacturing system and passed through the build window, to the first volume of the first resin; (El-Siblani [0081] describes the substrate 48 should be transparent to the energy from the pattern generator 22) and exhibiting a first set of membrane characteristics compatible with a first range of resin characteristics comprising the first resin characteristic; (El-Siblani [0081] discloses the substrate 48 should be transparent to the energy, this is a characteristic with the resin being curable by that energy) and a second tray: configured to locate over and engage the build window in replacement of the first tray; defining a second aperture; and comprising a second separation membrane: configured to: be tensioned across the second aperture of the second tray; laminate across the build window in the laminated position; cooperate with the second tray to contain a second volume of a second resin exhibiting a second resin characteristic; and pass radiation, emitted by the projection system and passed through the build window, to the second volume of the second resin; (El-Siblani [0082] describes a second transparent solidification substrate 50 which is in a similar configuration to the first substrate 48) and exhibiting a second set of membrane characteristics compatible with a second range of resin characteristics comprising the second resin characteristic and different from the first range of resin characteristics (El-Siblani [0085] describes the second substrate has a silicone coating on some parts of it, the silicone coating provides different characteristics, such as texture or non-stick, than the first substrate 48 which is made of glass.)
El-Siblani does not disclose that the substrates inflate and do not meet the claimed, delaminate from and inflate above the build window in an expanded position.
Analogous in the field of 3D printing with a liquid, Holt meets the claimed, delaminate from and inflate above the build window in an expanded position (Holt [0071]-[0072] describes a vat base 432 which is inflated and delaminated from the screen 452 below it.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the substrates of El-Siblani with the inflating bases of Holt in order to promote peeling of the printed object from the base, see Holt [0073]-[0074].
Regarding claim 12, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The system of Claim 11: wherein the first separation membrane: exhibits the first set of membrane characteristics comprising a first elasticity compatible with a first range of green strengths, the first resin exhibiting a first green strength in the first range of green strengths; (El-Siblani [0065] discloses the substrate 48 is semi-rigid which is an elasticity, since a part is made, the substrate 48 elasticity is clearly compatible with the claimed green strength of the resin since it successfully produces an object, see [0081]) and wherein the second separation membrane: exhibits the second set of membrane characteristics comprising a second elasticity, different from the first elasticity, compatible with a second range of green strengths, the second resin exhibiting a second green strength, different from the first green strength, in the second range of green strengths (El-Siblani [0085] discloses that the second substrate 50 has an additional silicone coating which makes it thicker and therefore decreases the elasticity of the second substrate compared to the first substrate 48.)
Regarding claim 13, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The system of Claim 11: . wherein the first separation membrane: is configured to install into the first tray during manufacture of a first part in the first resin; and exhibits the first set of membrane characteristics comprising a first thickness compatible with a first range of part feature sizes, the first part exhibiting part feature sizes in the first range of part feature sizes; ; (El-Siblani [0081]discloses a substrate 48 which inherently has a thickness, see Figure 1, the thickness is compatible with some range of part sizes since an object having a part size is successfully produced) and wherein the second separation membrane: is configured to install into the second tray during manufacture of a second part in the second resin; and exhibits the second set of membrane characteristics comprising a second thickness, different from the first thickness, compatible with a second range of part feature sizes, different from the first range of part feature sizes, the second part exhibiting part feature sizes in the second range of part feature sizes (El-Siblani [0085] describes using the second membrane 50 to product solidified material therefore the thickness must be compatible with some range of part sizes. The types of objects particulars of the part sizes are not structural elements of the claimed apparatus and are not patently distinct from the prior art.)
Regarding claim 15, El-Siblani does not describe the pressure system or the inflation of the substrate and does not meet the claim. Holt meets the claimed, The system of Claim 11: further comprising a pressure regulation system configured to: evacuate a fluid from an interstitial region between the first separation membrane and the build window at a first evacuation rate via a fluid distribution port, (Holt [0071] describes an inflation pump which is connected to the inflatable chamber 470 between the vat base 432 and the screen 452 via conduits 476) the first evacuation rate compatible with the first set of membrane characteristics; (Holt [0075] describes deflating the chamber to support the vat base 432 on the screen, therefore the deflation rate is compatible with the membrane) and pump the fluid into the interstitial region at a first injection rate via the fluid distribution port, the first injection rate compatible with the first set of membrane characteristics; (Holt [0073] describes inflating the chamber 470 and pushing the vat base 432 away from the screen) and wherein the first separation membrane is configured to: laminate across the build window responsive to evacuation of the fluid from the interstitial region; and delaminate from and inflate above the build window responsive to injection of the fluid into the interstitial region (Holt [0073]-[0075] describe the inflation and evacuation.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the apparatus of El-Siblani with the pressure regulation system and inflation and deflation of the membrane as described in Holt in order to induce peeling and then recreate a flat surface to print the next layer, see Holt [0074]-[0075].
Regarding claim 16, El-Siblani meets the claimed, A system comprising: a first separation membrane: configured to: transiently install into a tray of an additive manufacturing system; (El-Siblani [0080] describes transparent solidification substrate 48 which is connected to the outer frame 59 via screws) be tensioned across the tray; (El-Siblani Figures 6 and 7 show the substrate 48 is tensioned across the aperture of the outer frame 59) locate over a build window of the additive manufacturing system; (El-Siblani [0080] describes an outer frame 59, see Figure 6 showing the outer frame 59 has an aperture in the center located over the window in the base 62) laminate across the build window in a laminated position; (El-Siblani Figure 8 shows the substrate 48 laminated against the base 62) cooperate with the tray to contain a first volume of a first resin exhibiting a first resin characteristic; (El Siblani [0080] and Figure 1 shows the solidifiable material 31 is contained by the substrate 48 and the outer frame 59) and pass radiation, emitted by a projection system of the additive manufacturing system and passed through the build window, to the first volume of the first resin; (El-Siblani [0081] describes the substrate 48 should be transparent to the energy from the pattern generator 22) and exhibiting a first set of membrane characteristics compatible with a first range of resin characteristics comprising the first resin characteristic; (El-Siblani [0081] discloses the substrate 48 should be transparent to the energy, this is a characteristic with the resin being curable by that energy) and a second separation membrane: configured to: transiently install in the tray in replacement of the first separation membrane; be tensioned across the tray; laminate across the build window in the laminated position; delaminate from and inflate above the build window in the expanded position; cooperate with the tray to contain a second volume of a second resin exhibiting a second resin characteristic; and pass radiation, emitted by the projection system and passed through the build window, to the second volume of the second resin; (El-Siblani [0082] describes a second transparent solidification substrate 50 which is in a similar configuration to the first substrate 48) and exhibiting a second set of membrane characteristics compatible with a second range of resin characteristics comprising the second resin characteristic and different from the first range of resin characteristics (El-Siblani [0085] describes the second substrate has a silicone coating on some parts of it, the silicone coating provides different characteristics, such as texture or non-stick, than the first substrate 48 which is made of glass.)
El-Siblani does not disclose that the substrates inflate and do not meet the claimed, delaminate from and inflate above the build window in an expanded position.
Analogous in the field of 3D printing with a liquid, Holt meets the claimed, delaminate from and inflate above the build window in an expanded position. (Holt [0071]-[0072] describes a vat base 432 which is inflated and delaminated from the screen 452 below it.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the substrates of El-Siblani with the inflating bases of Holt in order to promote peeling of the printed object from the base, see Holt [0073]-[0074].
Regarding claim 17, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The system of Claim 16: wherein the first separation membrane exhibits the first set of membrane characteristics comprising: a first thickness; a first elasticity; and a first material; (El-Siblani [0065] discloses the substrate 48 is semi-rigid which is an elasticity, and necessarily has a thickness) and wherein the second separation membrane exhibits the second set of membrane characteristics comprising: a second thickness greater than the first thickness; a second elasticity less than the first elasticity; and a second material different from the first material (El-Siblani [0085] disclose the second substrate 50 has an additional silicone coating which makes it thicker and thereby less elastic than the first membrane 48.)
Regarding claim 18, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The system of Claim 16: further comprising the tray: defining an aperture; (El-Siblani [0080] describes an outer frame 59, see Figure 6 showing the outer frame 59 has an aperture in the center located over the window in the base 62) cooperating with the first separation membrane to define a first resin reservoir configured to store the first volume of the first resin over the first separation membrane; and cooperating with the second separation membrane to define a second resin reservoir configured to store the second volume of the second resin over the second separation membrane; (El Siblani [0080] and Figure 1 shows the solidifiable material 31 is contained by the substrate 48 and the outer frame 59, the same happens with second substrate 50) wherein the first separation membrane is configured to install into the tray, (El-Siblani [0080] describes transparent solidification substrate 48 which is connected to the outer frame 59 via screws) tensioned over the aperture, during manufacture of a first part in the first resin; (El-Siblani Figures 6 and 7 show the substrate 48 is tensioned across the aperture of the outer frame 59) and wherein the second separation membrane is configured to install into the tray, tensioned over the aperture, during manufacture of a second part in the second resin (El-Siblani [0082] describes a second transparent solidification substrate 50 which is in a similar configuration to the first substrate 48.)
Regarding claim 19, El-Siblani meets the claimed, The system of Claim 18, further comprising: a build platform facing the build window opposite the projection system and operable over a range of positions above the build window; (El-Siblani [0062] describes a build platform 24 which moves during the exposure) and the projection system configured to: project radiation toward the first volume of the first resin, stored in the first resin reservoir, (El Siblani [0053] describes pattern generator 22) to form a first layer of the first part over the first separation membrane during manufacture of the first part, the first part exhibiting part characteristics within a first range of part characteristics compatible with the first set of membrane characteristics; and project radiation toward the second volume of the second resin, stored in the second resin reservoir, to form a second layer of the second part over the second separation membrane during manufacture of the second part, the second part exhibiting part characteristics within a second range of part characteristics compatible with the second set of membrane characteristics (El-Siblani Figures 2 and 3 show the pattern generator 22 forming an object 28 with both the first substrate 48 and second substrate 50 in two different volumes of resin.)
Regarding claim 20, El-Siblani does not describe the inflation or deflation and also does not describe a fluid distribution port or pressure regulation system and does not meet the claim. Holt meets the claimed, The system of Claim 18: wherein the tray defines a fluid distribution port fluidly coupled to an interstitial region between the first separation membrane and the build window; (Holt [0071] describes an inflation pump which is connected to the inflatable chamber 470 between the vat base 432 and the screen 452 via conduits 476) and further comprising a pressure regulation system configured to: evacuate a fluid from the interstitial region via the fluid distribution port; and pump the fluid into the interstitial region via the fluid distribution port (Holt [0073]-[0075] describe the inflation and pumping in and evacuation and removal.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the apparatus of El-Siblani with the pressure regulation system and inflation and deflation of the membrane as described in Holt in order to induce peeling and then recreate a flat surface to print the next layer, see Holt [0074]-[0075].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 7 and 14 each require a fluid distribution channel circumscribing the build window and intersecting the fluid distribution port. This is not taught by any of the cited references.
El-Siblani discloses substrates 48 and 50 but does not disclose any type of inflation or deflation process. As such, El-Siblani also does not disclose any fluid distribution channel or fluid distribution port of any kind.
Hold describes a similar apparatus to El-Siblani with a vat base 432 which is laminated against the screen 452 upon evacuation of the inflatable chamber 470 via conduits 476 and is inflated away from the screen 452 upon pressurization of the inflatable chamber 470 via the conduits 476. Holt makes no disclosure of the conduits or any other type of port circumscribing the build window. Therefore, a fluid distribution channel circumscribing the build window and intersecting the fluid distribution port as claimed in claim 7 and claim 14 is not taught by El-Siblani or Holt.
Other similar 3D printing apparatuses with flexible or inflatable membranes exist in the art. For example, Foley (US 2016/0288427) describes a printer with a planar member 112 which is inflated to remove the printed part 116. Foley also makes no disclosure about any type of pressurization equipment such as piping, conduits, or channels circumscribing the build area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2016/0288427: see Figure 5 and the description beginning at [0021] describing a printer with an air pump to inflate a planar member.
US 2002/0153640: see [0030]-[0039] describing a film for use in a basin for 3D printing
/V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744