DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The reply filed 06/03/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12, 21, and 23 have been amended. Claims 15-20 were previously canceled. Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment, filed 06/03/2026, to claim 12 has overcome the claim objection set forth the Non-Final Rejection 03/03/2026. Therefore, the claim objection to claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-14 and 21-26 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks that the claims do not recite a judicial exception on pgs. 3-4, the remarks have failed to provide any evidence as to how the recite steps/operations constitute a “technically grounded, definite claim” or how they are directed toward a “technical design.” A human mind or a human using a pen and paper can practically generate and identify a token payload, receive a cryptogram, retrieve a plurality of account identifiers based on the user profile, determine a risk assessment score, select an account identifier among the plurality of account identifiers, and determine whether to authorize the transaction using the selected account identifier. In other words, a human mind or a human using a pen and paper can practically identify information to retrieve a set of data, make an assessment, i.e. evaluation or judgement, decide on an account identifier amongst a group of account identifiers, and make a determination on whether to authorize the transaction using the information acquired thus far. Therefore, the limitations recite an evaluation and judgement process. Furthermore, the claimed invention also recites a commercial interaction. The recited steps/operations are analogous to transaction processing, which is considered a sales activity/behavior. Therefore, the claimed invention recites abstract ideas that fall under multiple groupings. Applicant’s remarks are generic and conclusory in nature, and do not provide any substantive evidence as to why the claimed invention does not recite the multiple abstract ideas. Restating the claim language without any evidence does not constitute sufficient evidence for overcoming the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks that the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application on pgs. 4-6, the claims do not recite a “technical solution” because the claimed limitations are not technical in nature, as noted above. At most, the claimed invention is improving user convenience when paying for a transaction. However, improving user convenience is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer, a technology, or a technical field. Deciding on which payment to use based on rules is not a technology or a technical field, it is a decision-making process rooted in user preferences or behavior. Furthermore, even if one were to agree that [0009] and [0011] discloses an improvement in the functioning of a computer, technology, or technical field, the claimed invention does not include “the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification” see MPEP 2106.04(d)(1). The improvements described in the specification include “user does not need to navigate on a user interface for switching to a different payment instrument,” “enable the user to use one payment instrument that is linked to multiple other payment instruments,” “user does not need to enter multiple payment instruments into their digital wallet application,” etc. One of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude that the claimed invention would provide any of the disclosed improvements because the claimed steps are not related to any user interfaces, smartwatches, payment instruments, and/or digital wallet applications, and therefore, cannot reasonably reflect the disclosed improvement(s).
In response to the Applicant’s remarks that the claims contain language that is not well-understood or routine for the relevant industry on pgs. 6-7, the listed claim limitations have been identified as part of either the abstract idea, a generic computing component, or generically linking to a technology/technical field (please see below). The analysis does not consider these elements to be “well-understood” or “routine” as suggested by the remarks. Therefore, the remarks cannot be persuasive. Please see below for an updated patent eligibility analysis in light of the amendments.
Applicant’s amendments, filed 06/03/2026, to claims 1, 8, and 21 have overcome the prior art rejection. Therefore, the prior rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kaja et al. U.S. 2020/0193410.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: “identifiers based least in part” in lines 9, 6, and 8, respectively, and “transaction based least in part” in lines 14, 12, and 12, respectively, should be “identifiers based at least in part” and “transaction based at least in part.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 9, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities: “rule applied the” should be “rule applied to the.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 fall into at least one of the four categories of statutory subject matter. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2A.1.
Step 2A.1:
The limitations of independent claim 1 have been denoted with letters by the Examiner for easy reference. Independent claims 8 and 21 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1, therefore the following eligibility analysis shall apply to all independent claims. The judicial exceptions recited in claim 1 are identified in bold below:
A system, comprising:
a computing device comprising a processor and a memory; and
machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least:
identify a token payload for authorization of a transaction, wherein the token payload comprises a token of a user profile and transaction data and is generated by a point-of-sale device based at least in part on receiving a cryptogram from a client device over a new field communication session;
retrieve a plurality of account identifiers based least in part on the user profile, the plurality of account identifiers having a rule applied to the transaction data;
determine a risk assessment score associated with the transaction;
select an account identifier among the plurality of account identifiers for the transaction based least in part on the risk assessment score and the rule applied to the transaction data; and
determine whether to authorize the transaction using the account identifier selected for the transaction.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, D-H recite limitations that are reasonably categorized under multiple abstract idea groupings, including mental processes – concepts performed by the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, and certified methods of organizing human activity. A human mind can practically perform all of the bolded limitations, i.e. generate and identify a token payload, receive a cryptogram, retrieve a plurality of account identifiers, determine a risk assessment score, select an account identifier, and determine whether to authorize the transaction. Furthermore, the bolded limitations are also analogous to a commercial interaction. Steps for processing a transaction are considered sales activities or behaviors. Therefore, the bolded limitations recite abstract ideas that fall into multiple groupings.
Claims 1, 8, and 21 recite at least one abstract idea. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2A.2.
Step 2A.2:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional element(s) not in bold above.
Claim 21 also recites “a non-transitory, computer-readable medium” as an additional element. The additional elements have all been recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than generic computing components. Therefore, when the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, the claims amount to no more than mere software instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Furthermore, the limitation “over a new field communication session” has been generically recited such that it is generically linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use MPEP 2106.05(h). Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, when the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claims 1, 8, and 21 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Step 2B:
The additional elements, both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the outcome of the considerations at Step 2B will be the same when considerations from Step 2A.2 are re-evaluated. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claims 1, 8, and 21 are not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 22, and 26 recite “a machine learning model” as an additional element. However, the additional element is no more than generically linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use MPEP 2106.05(h). Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 3-5, 10-12, and 23-25 elaborate at least on one of the abstract ideas identified above without reciting any new additional elements. Therefore, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In summary, the dependent claims considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea(s) into a patent eligible application such that the abstract idea amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 13-14, 21-22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stafford U.S. 2022/0114589 in view of Kaja et al. U.S. 2020/0193410 (herein as “Kaja”), and further in view of Osburn U.S. 2024/0232897.
Re Claim 1, Stafford discloses a system, comprising:
a computing device comprising a processor and a memory [0014]; and
machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor [0080], cause the computing device to at least:
identify a token payload for authorization of a transaction, wherein the token payload comprises a token of a user profile and transaction data (Fig. 2A, 203, [0039] – “receive a transaction authorization request (token payload)…The request can include a transaction amount (i.e. transaction data), an aggregated transaction account identifier 139 (a user profile)”) and […];
retrieve a plurality of account identifiers based least in part on the user profile, the plurality of account identifiers having a rule applied to the transaction data ([0041] – “identify one or more relevant transaction authorization rules 133,” [0042] – “one or more linked transaction accounts 136 specified in the transaction authorization rule(s) 133 identified at block 209,” thereby suggesting that identifying the transaction authorization rules includes identifying, or retrieving, the one or more linked transaction accounts, Abstract – “Multiple linked transaction accounts associated with an aggregated transaction account identified by the aggregated transaction account identifier are then identified”);
[…]
select an account identifier among the plurality of account identifiers for the transaction based least in part on […] the rule applied to the transaction data [0042] – “authorize a transaction with one or more linked transaction accounts 136 specified in the transaction authorization rule(s) 133 identified at block 209”; and
determine whether to authorize the transaction using the account identifier
selected for the transaction ([0043] – “the transaction authorization service 116 can determine whether each transaction initiated with a linked transaction account 136 was authorized. If any of the transactions initiated with the linked transaction account 136 fail to be authorized, the process can end…If authorization is successful, the process proceeds to block 219,” [0046] – “Finally, at block 223, the transaction authorization service 116 can authorize the transaction with the merchant,” see also Fig. 2A, therefore, determining whether each transaction associated with a linked transaction account was authorized determines if further authorization, i.e. with the merchant, proceeds forward).
However, Stafford does not expressly disclose
the token payload is generated by a point-of-sale device based at least in part on receiving a cryptogram from a client device over a new field communication session.
Examiner notes that the token payload being generated by a point-of-sale device is outside the scope of the claim. The claim is directed to the operations of the computing device, not the point-of-sale device or the client device. Therefore, the limitation “(the token payload) and is generated by a point-of-sale device based at least in part on receiving a cryptogram from a client device over a new field communication session” cannot be given patentable weight. This interpretation applies to claims 1 and 21. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided below.
Kaja discloses a system and method for conducting a transaction with a mobile device. Specifically, Kaja discloses
the token payload is generated by a point-of-sale device based at least in part on receiving a cryptogram from a client device over a new field communication session ([0077] – “in response to receiving the cryptogram from the mobile device 112…The merchant system 106 may communicate the cryptogram in an authorization request message,” i.e. the token payload, thereby suggesting the merchant system generates the token payload, [0062] – “A “point-of-sale (POS) system”…may refer to one or more computers and/or peripheral devices used by a merchant to engage in payment transactions with customers, including one or more card readers, near-field communication (NFC) receivers”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stafford’s system and method for using aggregated transaction accounts with the teachings of a token payload being generated by a point-of-sale device based at least in part on receiving a cryptogram from a client device over a near field communication session in Kaja. One would be motivated to make this combination to mitigate security concerns when conducting transactions over a network Kaja, [0003-5].
However, Stafford in view of Kaja do not explicitly teach
determine a risk assessment score associated with the transaction;
selecting an account identifier for the transaction based least in part on the risk assessment score.
Osburn discloses dynamically mapping tokens according to predicted characteristics of the transaction. Specifically, Osburn discloses
determine a risk assessment score associated with the transaction ([0056] – “determines whether the predicted transaction characteristics meet a particular threshold or risk level…has a risk level below a certain value,” therefore, the risk level associated with the transaction must be determined in order for it to be compared to a certain value);
selecting an account identifier for the transaction based least in part on the risk assessment score [0056] – “selects a sub-account from a plurality of sub-accounts connected to the payment account according to one or more rules based on one or more thresholds and/or comparisons”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stafford in view of Kaja’s system and method for using aggregated transaction accounts with the teachings of determining a risk assessment score associated with the transaction and selecting an account identifier for the transaction based least in part on the risk assessment score in Osburn. One would be motivated to make this combination to provide a flexible and efficient processing of transactions Osburn, [0003].
Re Claim 2, Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn teach the system of claim 1, and Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn further teach wherein the selection of the account identifier is based at least in part on a machine learning model, the machine learning model having been trained on the rule applied the transaction data and historical transaction data (Osburn, [0053] – “the dynamic token mapping system 102 utilizes one or more recurrent neural networks to predict characteristics of a next subsequent transaction based on parameters learned from historical transaction data of previous transactions associated with a payment account,” [0056] – “the dynamic token mapping system 102 performs an act 418 of selecting a sub-account of a payment account”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stafford in view of Kaja’s system and method for using aggregated transaction accounts with the teachings of using a machine learning model in Osburn. One would be motivated to make this combination to improve the accuracy and flexibility of computing systems involved in processing transactions Osburn, [0021].
Re Claim 6, Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn teach the system of claim 1, and Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn further teach wherein the rule comprises identifying a merchant type or an item type for the transaction from the transaction data (Stafford, [0021] – “Another transaction authorization rule 133 could specify that transactions with a specific merchant using the aggregated transaction account 129 should be applied to a specified linked transaction account 136”), and the selection of the account identifier is further based at least in part on a machine learning model being provided an input of the merchant type for the transaction (Osburn, [0047] – “The payment account information can also include…merchant/recipient information (e.g., identifiers, locations),” [0069] – “The dynamic token mapping system 102 provides the payment account information 600 to a machine-learning model”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stafford in view of Kaja’s system and method for using aggregated transaction accounts with the teachings of training a machine learning model with merchant type in Osburn. One would be motivated to make this combination to improve the accuracy and flexibility of computing systems involved in processing transactions Osburn, [0021].
Re Claim 7, Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn teach the system of claim 1, and Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn further teach wherein the rule comprises identifying a transaction history for the user profile (Osburn, [0047] – “determines payment amounts and/or other details associated with the previous payment transactions”), and the selection of the account identifier is further based at least in part on a machine learning model being provided an input of the transaction history for the user profile (Osburn, [0047] – “The payment account information can also include historical pricing information involving the payment account, a credit history/score, merchant/recipient information,” [0069] – “The dynamic token mapping system 102 provides the payment account information 600 to a machine-learning model”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stafford in view of Kaja’s system and method for using aggregated transaction accounts with the teachings of training a machine learning model with transaction history for the user profile in Osburn. One would be motivated to make this combination to improve the accuracy and flexibility of computing systems involved in processing transactions Osburn, [0021].
Re Claims 8-9 and 13-14, they are the method claims of system claims 1-2 and 6-7, respectively. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 1-2 and 6-7. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons above.
Re Claims 21-22 and 26, they are the computer-readable medium claims of system claims 1-2 and 6, respectively. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 1-2 and 6. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 3, 5, 10, 12, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stafford U.S. 2022/0114589 in view of Kaja et al. U.S. 2020/0193410 (herein as “Kaja”), and in view of Osburn U.S. 2024/0232897 as applied to claims 1, 8, and 21 above, and further in view of White U.S. 2013/0138516.
Re Claim 3, Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn the system of claim 1, and Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn further teach wherein the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to at least:
transmit an authorization notification to the client device associated with the device identifier, the authorization notification indicating the account identifier selected for the transaction (Stafford, [0060] – “the transaction authorization service 116 could send a message to the payment application 163 that the transaction using the aggregated transaction account 129…had been authorized,” Fig. 1 - client device 106 includes payment application 163, Examiner notes that the authorization notification indicating the account identifier selected is nonfunctional descriptive material. The content of the authorization notification does not meaningfully limit how the authorization notification is transmitted. Furthermore, the content of the authorization notification does not perform any function with respect to the authorization notification. Therefore, the content of the authorization notification cannot be given patentable weight).
However, Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn do not explicitly teach
identify a device identifier associated with the token.
White discloses a mobile device authorization system for using multiple forms of tender. Specifically, White discloses
identify a device identifier associated with the token [0045] – “The payment authority system 105 may receive the user’s mobile communication device identifier,” [0088] – “create a transaction authorization request and mobile device identifier.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stafford in view of Kaja and Osburn’s system and method for using aggregated transaction accounts with the teachings of identifying a device identifier associated with the token in White. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. Therefore, the combination of prior art elements according to known methods would yield predictable results and renders the claim obvious.
Re Claim 5, Stafford in view of Kaja, Osburn, and White teach the system of claim 3, and Stafford in view of Kaja, Osburn, and White further teach wherein the determination of the risk assessment score associated with the transaction is further based at least in part on at least one of historical merchant data associated with a merchant identifier for the transaction or historical transaction data associated with a user profile for the token (Osburn, [0073] – “training the machine-learning model 604 based on an account history and/or other details associated with a payment account”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stafford in view of Kaja’s system and method for using aggregated transaction accounts with the teachings of determination of the risk assessment score associated with the transaction is further based at least in part on historical transaction data associated with a user profile for the token in Osburn. One would be motivated to make this combination to improve learning new trends for the payment account Osburn, [0073].
Re Claims 10 and 12, they are the method claims of system claims 3 and 5, respectively. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 3 and 5. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons above.
Re Claims 23 and 25, they are the computer-readable medium claims of system claims 3 and 5, respectively. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 3 and 5. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 4, 11, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stafford U.S. 2022/0114589 in view of Kaja et al. U.S. 2020/0193410 (herein as “Kaja”), in view of Osburn U.S. 2024/0232897, and in view of White U.S. 2013/0138516 as applied to claims 3, 10, and 23 above, and further in view of Jain et al. WO 2020/152709 (herein as “Jain”).
Re Claim 4, Stafford in view of Kaja, Osburn, and White teach the system of claim 3, and Stafford in view of Kaja, Osburn, and White further teach wherein the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to at least:
determine whether to authorize the transaction using the updated account identifier (Stafford, [0043] – “the transaction authorization service 116 can determine whether each transaction initiated with a linked transaction account 136 was authorized. If any of the transactions initiated with the linked transaction account 136 fail to be authorized, the process can end…If authorization is successful, the process proceeds to block 219,” [0046] – “Finally, at block 223, the transaction authorization service 116 can authorize the transaction with the merchant,” see also Fig. 2A, therefore, determining whether each transaction associated with a linked transaction account was authorized determines if further authorization, i.e. with the merchant, proceeds forward).
However, Stafford in view of Kaja, Osburn, and White do not explicitly teach
receive from the client device an indication of a change request for the account identifier selected for the transaction;
identify an updated account identifier from the client device.
Jain discloses a system and method for switching between payment modes and managing user transactions. Specifically, Jain discloses
receive from the client device an indication of a change request for the account identifier selected for the transaction pg. 13, 1st paragraph – “When the user wishes to go back in time for reversing/switching from the first payment mode to the second payment mode, the user using the user device [110] transmits the user request to the transceiver unit [102] of the system…On receiving said user request…”;
identify an updated account identifier from the client device pg. 13, 2nd paragraph – “The processing unit [104] is configured to process said user request to identify the second payment mode.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stafford in view of Kaja, Osburn, and White’s system and method for using aggregated transaction accounts with the teachings of receiving a change request and identifying an updated account identifier from the client device in Jain. One would be motivated to make this combination to provide efficient services and payment modes to users, thereby improving user experience and transaction processing efficiency Jain, pg. 2, 2nd and 3rd paragraphs.
Re Claim 11, it is the method claim of system claim 4. It recites similar distinguishing features as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons above.
Re Claim 24, it is the computer-readable medium claim of system claim 4. It recites similar distinguishing features as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3698