DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “at first electronic device” is grammatically awkward. It is recommended that the article “a” be added so that the phrase is amended to “at a first electronic device”. Claims 2-12 depend from claim 1 and share the objection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, it is not clear whether any or all of the method steps are to be performed at the first electronic device or elsewhere. Claim 6 depends from claim 5 and shares the rejection.
Regarding claim 7, it is not clear whether any or all of the method steps are to be performed at the first electronic device or elsewhere.
Regarding claim 8, it is not clear whether any or all of the method steps are to be performed at the first electronic device or elsewhere. Claims 9-10 depend from claim 8 and share the rejection.
Regarding claim 9, it is not clear whether any or all of the method steps are to be performed at the first electronic device or elsewhere.
Regarding claim 12, it is not clear whether any or all of the method steps are to be performed at the first electronic device or elsewhere.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note that citations to figures and elements should be understood to also implicitly refer to any pertinent explanatory text in the reference.
Claim 1-4, 8, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected, claims 1-2 and 13-14 in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0038679 A1 (Yun).
Regarding claim 1, Yun teaches a method comprising:
at first electronic device (Figs. 1, 3 at 100) in communication with a display generation component (Fig. 3 at 151), one or more input devices ([79], [86], Fig. 3 at 130), and a second electronic device (Fig. 3 at 200):
while in a remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, transmitting, to the second electronic device, data associated with displaying an image and respective data corresponding to the image, wherein the image is associated with operation of the first electronic device ([116]-[117]);
after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with an input associated with the image, wherein the input associated with the image is received via the second electronic device while the image is being displayed via the second electronic device ([117]-[119]); and
in response to receiving the data associated with the input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is first data, performing a first operation at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the first data ([117]-[119] OR Fig. 19 at S196 & S198); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is second data, performing a second operation, different from the first operation, at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the second data ([117]-[119] OR Fig. 21 at S216 & S218).
Regarding claim 2, Yun teaches wherein: in response to receiving the data associated with the input: in accordance with the determination that the respective data is the first data, the first data includes one or more first instructions that cause the first electronic device to perform the first operation corresponding to the image and the first data ([117]-[119] OR Fig. 19 at S196 & S198); and in accordance with the determination that the respective data is the second data, the second data includes one or more second instructions that cause the first electronic device to perform the second operation corresponding to the image and the second data ([117]-[119] OR Fig. 21 at S216 & S218).
Regarding claim 3, Yun teaches wherein the first electronic device includes a hardware input device ([79]; Fig. 3 at 130), and the data associated with displaying the image includes data associated with displaying a representation of the hardware input device with the image ([117]-[119]), the method further comprising:
while in the remote interaction mode and after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with a second input directed to the representation of the hardware input device, wherein the second input is received via the second electronic device while the representation of the hardware input device is being displayed via the second electronic device with the image ([117]-[119]); and
in response to receiving the data associated with the second input:
in accordance with a determination that the data associated with the second input indicates that the second input corresponds to a first interaction with the hardware input device, performing a third operation at the first electronic device corresponding to the first interaction with the hardware input device ([117]-[119]).
Regarding claim 4, Yun teaches in response to receiving the data associated with the second input: in accordance with a determination that the data associated with the second input corresponds to a second interaction with the hardware input device, performing a fourth operation, different from the third operation, at the first electronic device corresponding to the second interaction with the hardware input device ([117]-[119]).
Regarding claim 8, Yun teaches while in the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device and while the second electronic device is operating in a respective control mode, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with a second input corresponding to selection of a user interface element of the image using the respective control mode, wherein the second input is received via the second electronic device while the user interface element is being displayed via the second electronic device in the image; and in response to receiving the data associated with the second input: performing a third operation corresponding to the selection of the user interface element using the respective control mode ([117]-[122]).
Regarding claim 10, Yun teaches wherein: the second electronic device is in communication with a switch input device, the second input is associated with the switch input device, and performing the third operation corresponding to the selection of the user interface element using the respective control mode includes performing a selection of the user interface element ([117]-[119]).
Regarding claim 11, Yun teaches wherein the second electronic device is in communication with a hardware input device, and the input associated with the image is detected via the hardware input device ([118]).
Regarding claim 13, Yun teaches a first electronic device (Figs. 1, 3 at 100), comprising:
one or more processors ([95], [104], [105]);
memory ([95], [104], [105]); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions ([95], [104], [105]) for:
while in a remote interaction mode with a second electronic device (Fig. 3 at 200), transmitting, to the second electronic device, data associated with displaying an image and respective data corresponding to the image, wherein the image is associated with operation of the first electronic device ([116]-[117]);
after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with an input associated with the image, wherein the input associated with the image is received via the second electronic device while the image is being displayed via the second electronic device ([117]-[119]); and
in response to receiving the data associated with the input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is first data, performing a first operation at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the first data ([117]-[119]); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is second data, performing a second operation, different from the first operation, at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the second data ([117]-[119]).
Regarding claim 14, Yun teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs ([95], [104], [105]), the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a first electronic device ([95], [104], [105]), cause the first electronic device (Figs. 1, 3 at 100) to:
while in a remote interaction mode with a second electronic device (Fig. 3 at 200), transmitting, to the second electronic device, data associated with displaying an image and respective data corresponding to the image, wherein the image is associated with operation of the first electronic device ([116]-[117]);
after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with an input associated with the image, wherein the input associated with the image is received via the second electronic device while the image is being displayed via the second electronic device ([117]-[119]); and
in response to receiving the data associated with the input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is first data, performing a first operation at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the first data ([117]-[119]); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is second data, performing a second operation, different from the first operation, at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the second data ([117]-[119]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Note that citations to figures and elements should be understood to also implicitly refer to any pertinent explanatory text in the reference.
Claims 1-2 and 13-14 are rejected in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0084136 A1 (Zhao) in view of US 2012/0038679 A1 (Yun).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a method comprising:
at first electronic device (element 120) in communication with a display generation component ([91]), and a second electronic device (element 110):
while in a remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, transmitting, to the second electronic device, data associated with displaying an image and respective data corresponding to the image, wherein the image is associated with operation of the first electronic device ([55]-[56]; Fig. 5 at Display Data);
after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with an input associated with the image, wherein the input associated with the image is received via the second electronic device while the image is being displayed via the second electronic device ([60]-[69], [91]; Fig. 5 at conversion information and control instruction); and
in response to receiving the data associated with the input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is first data, performing a first operation at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the first data ([61]-[69]); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is second data, performing a second operation, different from the first operation, at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the second data ([61]-[69]).
Zhao does not expressly teach that the first electronic device is in communication with one or more input devices. Yun teaches that a first electronic device is in communication with one or more input devices ([79]; Fig. 3 at 130). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Zhao by the teaching of Yun is present as both teach a handheld electronic device in communication with an external electronic device. The motivation is to provide a user means to input the device. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Zhao and Yun teach a handheld electronic device. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Zhao and Yun would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the first electronic device is in communication with one or more input devices.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao further teaches wherein:
in response to receiving the data associated with the input:
in accordance with the determination that the respective data is the first data, the first data includes one or more first instructions that cause the first electronic device to perform the first operation corresponding to the image and the first data ([61]-[69]); and
in accordance with the determination that the respective data is the second data, the second data includes one or more second instructions that cause the first electronic device to perform the second operation corresponding to the image and the second data ([61]-[69]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao teaches a first electronic device (element 120), performing steps comprising:
while in a remote interaction mode with a second electronic device, transmitting, to the second electronic device, data associated with displaying an image and respective data corresponding to the image, wherein the image is associated with operation of the first electronic device ([55]-[56]; Fig. 5 at Display Data);
after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with an input associated with the image, wherein the input associated with the image is received via the second electronic device while the image is being displayed via the second electronic device ([60]-[69], [91]; Fig. 5 at conversion information and control instruction); and
in response to receiving the data associated with the input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is first data, performing a first operation at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the first data ([61]-[69]); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is second data, performing a second operation, different from the first operation, at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the second data ([61]-[69]).
Zhao does not expressly teach that the first electronic device comprises one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for performing the steps. Yun teaches that an electronic device may comprise one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for performing steps ([95], [104], [105]). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Zhao by the teaching of Yun is present as both teach mobile terminals. The motivation is to implement the mobile terminal. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Zhao and Yun teach a handheld electronic device. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Zhao and Yun would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the first electronic device comprises one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for performing the steps.
Regarding claim 14, Zhao teaches a first electronic device (element 120) performing steps comprising:
while in a remote interaction mode with a second electronic device, transmitting, to the second electronic device, data associated with displaying an image and respective data corresponding to the image, wherein the image is associated with operation of the first electronic device ([55]-[56]; Fig. 5 at Display Data);
after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with an input associated with the image, wherein the input associated with the image is received via the second electronic device while the image is being displayed via the second electronic device ([60]-[69], [91]; Fig. 5 at conversion information and control instruction); and
in response to receiving the data associated with the input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is first data, performing a first operation at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the first data ([61]-[69]); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective data is second data, performing a second operation, different from the first operation, at the first electronic device corresponding to the image in accordance with the second data ([61]-[69]).
Zhao does not expressly teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of the first electronic device, cause the first electronic device to perform the steps. Yun teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of the first electronic device, cause the first electronic device to perform steps. ([95], [104], [105]). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Zhao by the teaching of Yun is present as both teach mobile terminals. The motivation is to implement the mobile terminal. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Zhao and Yun teach a handheld electronic device. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Zhao and Yun would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of the first electronic device, cause the first electronic device to perform the steps.
Claims 5, 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0084136 A1 (Zhao) in view of US 2012/0038679 A1 (Yun) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2014/0019513 A1 (Han).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao and Yun both teach displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface object corresponding to establishment of a connection (Zhao Fig. 5 at 121, Fig. 8; Yun Fig. 3). Zhao and Yun do not expressly teach while not operating in the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, receiving, from the second electronic device, an indication of a request to initialize the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device; and in response to receiving the indication: initializing the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, including displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface object corresponding to the indication. Zhao does teach that the second electronic device establishes a peer to peer (P2P) connection with the first electronic device ([47]). Han teaches that a device may establish a P2P connection with another device via a request (Abstract). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Zhao by the teaching of Han is present as Zhao teaches establishing a P2P connection while Han teaches that establishing a P2P connection includes a request. The motivation is to implement the P2P connection. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because Zhao teaches establishing a P2P connection while Han teaches that establishing a P2P connection includes a request. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Zhao, Yun, and Han would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, while not operating in the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, receiving, from the second electronic device, an indication of a request to initialize the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device; and in response to receiving the indication: initializing the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, including displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface object corresponding to the indication.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao further teaches wherein: while the first electronic device operates in the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, the first electronic device displays a second visual indication indicating that the first electronic device is in the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device ([67]-[69]; Fig. 5 at 122).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao teaches initiating the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device ([47]). Zhao and Yun do not expressly teach while not operating in the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, receiving, from the second electronic device, an indication of a request to initiate the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device; and in response to receiving the indication: initiating the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device. Zhao does teach that the second electronic device establishes a peer to peer (P2P) connection with the first electronic device ([47]). Han teaches that a device may establish a P2P connection with another device via a request (Abstract). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Zhao by the teaching of Han is present as Zhao teaches establishing a P2P connection while Han teaches that establishing a P2P connection includes a request. The motivation is to implement the P2P connection. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because Zhao teaches establishing a P2P connection while Han teaches that establishing a P2P connection includes a request. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Zhao, Yun, and Han would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, while not operating in the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device, receiving, from the second electronic device, an indication of a request to initiate the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device; and in response to receiving the indication: initiating the remote interaction mode with the second electronic device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0038679 A1 (Yun) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0126174 A1 (Gray).
Regarding claim 7, Yun teaches wherein the image includes a user interface region (Fig. 3 at 400, 430, 500), the method further comprising: while in the remote interaction mode and after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with a second input corresponding to a request to input into the user interface region ([117]-[119]), wherein the second input is received via the second electronic device while the user interface region is being displayed via the second electronic device in the image; in response to receiving the data associated with the second input: displaying, via the display generation component, a keyboard for inputting into the user interface region; while displaying the keyboard, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with selection of one or more keys of the keyboard ([117]-[119]); and in response to receiving the data associated with the selection of the one or more keys: displaying, via the display generation component, one or more outputs corresponding to the one or more keys in the user interface region ([117]-[119]). Yun does not expressly teach wherein the image includes a user interface region, the method further comprising: while in the remote interaction mode and after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with a second input corresponding to a request to input text into the user interface region, wherein the second input is received via the second electronic device while the user interface region is being displayed via the second electronic device in the image; in response to receiving the data associated with the second input: displaying, via the display generation component, a keyboard for inputting text into the user interface region; while displaying the keyboard, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with selection of one or more keys of the keyboard; and in response to receiving the data associated with the selection of the one or more keys: displaying, via the display generation component, one or more characters corresponding to the one or more keys in the user interface region.
Gray teaches that the keyboard may comprise hardware keys for inputting text characters to be displayed via a display generation component (Fig. 1a at 10). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Yun by the teaching of Gray is present as both teach mobile devices with a display and hardware keys. The motivation is to provide options for user input. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Yun and Gray teach mobile devices with a display and hardware keys. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Yun and Gray would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, wherein the image includes a user interface region, the method further comprising: while in the remote interaction mode and after transmitting, to the second electronic device, the data associated with displaying the image and the respective data corresponding to the image, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with a second input corresponding to a request to input text into the user interface region, wherein the second input is received via the second electronic device while the user interface region is being displayed via the second electronic device in the image; in response to receiving the data associated with the second input: displaying, via the display generation component, a keyboard for inputting text into the user interface region; while displaying the keyboard, receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with selection of one or more keys of the keyboard; and in response to receiving the data associated with the selection of the one or more keys: displaying, via the display generation component, one or more characters corresponding to the one or more keys in the user interface region.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0038679 A1 (Yun) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 2014/0189510 A1 (Ozcan).
Regarding claim 9, Yun does not expressly teach wherein: the respective control mode corresponds to an audio output mode, the second input corresponds to a secondary selection of the user interface element using the respective control mode, performing the third operation includes presenting an audio output corresponding to the user interface element without performing a fourth operation corresponding to selection of the user interface element, and the method further comprises: receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with a third input corresponding to primary selection of the user interface element, wherein the third input is received via the second electronic device while the user interface element is being displayed via the second electronic device in the image; and in response to receiving the data associated with the third input, performing the fourth operation. Ozcan teaches wherein: the respective control mode corresponds to an audio output mode ([44]), the second input corresponds to a secondary selection of the user interface element using the respective control mode, performing the third operation includes presenting an audio output corresponding to the user interface element without performing a fourth operation corresponding to selection of the user interface element ([44]), and data associated with a third input corresponding to primary selection of the user interface element, wherein the third input is received via the second electronic device while the user interface element is being displayed via the second electronic device in the image; and in response to receiving the data associated with the third input, performing the fourth operation ([44]). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Yun by the teaching of Ozcan is present as both teach computing devices with user input (Yun Fig. 3; Ozcan [2], [44]). The motivation is to provide greater functionality to a user. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Yun and Ozcan teach computing devices with user input. Note that Yun provides the teachings related to the two device interconnection, Ozcan provides additional teaching related to audio output and dual operation from interacting with the user interface element. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Yun and Ozcan would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, wherein: the respective control mode corresponds to an audio output mode, the second input corresponds to a secondary selection of the user interface element using the respective control mode, performing the third operation includes presenting an audio output corresponding to the user interface element without performing a fourth operation corresponding to selection of the user interface element, and the method further comprises: receiving, from the second electronic device, data associated with a third input corresponding to primary selection of the user interface element, wherein the third input is received via the second electronic device while the user interface element is being displayed via the second electronic device in the image; and in response to receiving the data associated with the third input, performing the fourth operation.
Conclusion
/Gene W Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621