DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 25th September, 2026. Claims 13-14 have been amended. Claims 1-15 remain rejected in the application. Applicant's amendments to the claims has/have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 26th June, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1, 12, and 15, filed on 25th September, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 regarding that the prior art does not teach "generating, in storage associated with the graphics processor, at least one intermediate data structure for accumulating partial results of the performance metric for each of the received plurality of draw calls", "generating per-tile partial results of the performance metric, wherein each of the per-tile partial results are associated with a respective tile of the plurality of tiles", and "accumulating the per-tile partial results in the at least one intermediate data structure on a per-draw call basis to generate an accumulated value for each of the one or more draw calls". The proposed amended claim limitations have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, applicant’s remark cannot be considered persuasive. Therefore, applicant’s remark cannot be considered persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Therefore, applicant’s remark cannot be considered persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art does not teach "generating, in storage associated with the graphics processor, at least one intermediate data structure for accumulating partial results of the performance metric for each of the received plurality of draw calls", "generating per-tile partial results of the performance metric, wherein each of the per-tile partial results are associated with a respective tile of the plurality of tiles", and "accumulating the per-tile partial results in the at least one intermediate data structure on a per-draw call basis to generate an accumulated value for each of the one or more draw calls" as recited in Claim 1, these limitations are taught by the combination of Foo and Heggelund. In particular, Heggelund teaches the following:
Paragraph [0189]: discloses graphics processing cores counting the number of fragments passing occlusion tests, which are interpreted to be a form of partial results, where respective local counters are accumulated in their respective local memories as shown in FIG. 3; and
FIG. 3: discloses a shared memory (i.e., storage) for accumulating occlusion tests in the form of occlusion counts, which is interpreted to be a form of intermediate data structure as it temporarily stores counter data; additionally, “accumulating partial results” is interpreted to be a form of counter that is stored in a computer program variable;
Additionally, Foo teaches the following:
Paragraph [0123]: discloses set flags being associated with a block of primitive data from tiles, where the set flags are interpreted to be a form per-tile partial results; although the applicant has stated that flags are not per-tile partial results, the current claim language does not explicitly define what per-tile partial results are; therefore, BRI is applied;
Paragraph [0127]: discloses the ISP 408 being associated with counter
118
3
(i.e., an accumulated value), which is configured to change in value (e.g., increment) in response to the occurrence of an event (i.e., a per-draw call basis) whilst the ISP performs a task, such as a draw call, forming part of the workload to render the object 602 (i.e., tasks associated with the flag (i.e., per-tile partial results of a performance metric)); and
Paragraph [0124]: discloses flags being stored (or accumulated) in the parameter buffer for each primitive.
Therefore, applicant’s remark cannot be considered persuasive.
Regarding arguments to Claims 2-11 and 13-14, they directly/indirectly depend on independent Claims 1, 12, and 15 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent Claims 1, 12, and 15. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, was previously established as explained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo (US 20180158168 A1, previously cited), in view of Heggelund et al. (US 20130076762 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Heggelund.
Regarding Claim 1, Foo discloses a method of operating a tile-based graphics processor for determining a performance metric of one or more draw calls (Foo, [0137]: teaches a method for profiling the performance of a graphics unit of rendering tasks; [0139]: teaches rendering tasks being draw calls; [0091]: teaches a graphics system <read on tile-based graphics processor> that comprises a plurality of counters, where "each counter may be associated with a different stage of the graphics pipeline," which enables performance metrics), the method comprising:
receiving, during a rendering process, a plurality of draw calls (Foo, [0063]: teaches a command engine 204 being configured to receive commands issued from driver 110 during a rendering task <read on rendering process>, where the issued commands can be draw commands (i.e., draw calls), which specifies that certain components of the scene are to be rendered),
each draw call of the plurality of draw calls comprising one or more primitives (Foo, [0139]: teaches a rendering task being a draw call command that draws a portion of the scene, such as one or more geometric objects that form part of said scene; [0069]: teaches geometric objects being formed from a plurality of primitives);
splitting the one or more primitives into data represented as a plurality of tiles (Foo, [0136]: teaches portions of a scene being split across multiple tiles, where the scene consists of one or more objects, which are formed from primitives), and
performing, by the tile-based graphics processor on the data represented as a plurality of tiles, asynchronous fragment processing to generate a render output (Foo, [0065]: teaches rendering circuitry units 202 performing tasks, such as fragment processing tasks <read on asynchronous fragment processing>, to process fragment data, which is used to render a scene <read on render output>; [0107]: teaches performing fragment processing tasks "for the visible fragments for the tile to the scheduler 406"; it should be noted that asynchronous fragment processing is being interpreted as fragment processing being performed in series and not in parallel);
[[generating, in storage associated with the graphics processor, at least one intermediate data structure for accumulating partial results of the performance metric for each of the received plurality of draw calls;]]
generating per-tile partial results of the performance metric (Foo, [0123]: teaches set flags <read on per-tile partial results> being associated with a block of primitive data from tiles; it should be noted that the terminology of "per-tile partial results" is not explicitly defined in the claim language; therefore, BRI is applied), wherein
each of the per-tile partial results are associated with a respective tile of the plurality of tiles (Foo, [0123]: teaches set flags <read on per-tile partial results> being "associated with a block of primitive data," where the primitive block is from associated tiles <read on respective tile> of primitive data);
accumulating the per-tile partial results [[in the at least one intermediate data structure]] on a per-draw call basis to generate an accumulated value for each of the one or more draw calls (Foo, [0127]: teaches the ISP 408 being associated with counter 118_3 <read on accumulated value>, which is configured to change in value (e.g., increment) in response to the occurrence of an event <read on per-draw call basis> whilst the ISP performs a task <read on draw call> forming part of the workload to render the object 602 (i.e., tasks associated with the flag <read on per-tile partial results of performance metric>); [0124]: teaches flags being stored <read on accumulating> in the parameter buffer for each primitive); and
determining, based on the accumulated values for the one or more draw calls, the performance metric (Foo, [0094]: teaches "the values of each of the counters <read on accumulated values> could be collated into a single result and output," such as summing up the counter values to produce a single result <read on performance metric>), wherein
the one or more draw calls correspond to at least a subset of the received plurality of draw calls (Foo, [0055]: teaches the rendering task being a task to render a portion of a scene, where portions of the scene are tagged with flags that correspond to one or more draw calls).
However, Foo does not expressly disclose
generating, in storage associated with the graphics processor, at least one intermediate data structure for accumulating partial results of the performance metric for each of the received plurality of draw calls; and
accumulating the per-tile partial results in the at least one intermediate data structure on a per-draw call basis to generate an accumulated value for each of the one or more draw calls.
Heggelund discloses
generating, in storage associated with the graphics processor, at least one intermediate data structure for accumulating partial results of the performance metric for each of the received plurality of draw calls (Heggelund, [0189]: teaches graphics processing cores counting the number of fragments passing occlusion tests <read on partial results>, where respective local counters are accumulated in their respective local memories as shown in FIG. 3; FIG. 3 teaches a shared memory <read on storage> for accumulating occlusion tests in the form of occlusion counts <read on intermediate data structure>; it should be noted that the process of monitoring the number of passed occlusion tests is interpreted to be itself a form of performance metric as it is an inherent part of the process); and
accumulating the per-tile partial results in the at least one intermediate data structure on a per-draw call basis to generate an accumulated value for each of the one or more draw calls (Heggelund, [0189]: teaches graphics processing cores counting the number of fragments passing occlusion tests <read on partial results>, where respective local counters are accumulated in their respective local memories as shown in FIG. 3; FIG. 3 teaches accumulating occlusion tests in the form of occlusion counts <read on intermediate data structure>).
Heggelund is analogous art with respect to Foo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tracking performance of a tile-based rendering system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a query cache to track the number of occurrences of certain rendering tasks being performed as taught by Heggelund into the teaching of Foo. The suggestion for doing so would allow the monitoring system to determine where in the rendering pipeline a bottleneck can occur, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Heggelund with Foo.
Regarding Claim 12, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a graphics processor. As shown in the rejection, Foo and Heggelund discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Foo discloses a graphics processor comprising at least one execution unit with an associated storage element (Foo, [0066]: teaches hardware units 202 <read on execution unit> being a multi-threaded processor <read on graphics processor> to handle graphics and tasks, such as draw commands; [0063]: teaches commands, such as draw commands, being issued from driver 110, which is a part of the system that includes memory <read on storage element>),
the at least one execution unit is operable to perform a method (Foo, [0137]: teaches a method for profiling the performance of a graphics unit of rendering tasks) comprising:…
Thus, Claim 12 is met by Foo according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the method corresponds to a graphics processor.
Regarding Claim 15, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. As shown in the rejection, Foo and Heggelund discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Foo discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing software code which, when executing on a processor, performs a method of operating a graphics processor comprising at least one execution unit with an associated storage element (Foo, [0043]: teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores executable computer readable instructions <read on software code> which can be read and executed by a computer system <read on processor>; [0066]: teaches hardware units 202 <read on execution unit> being a multi-threaded processor <read on graphics processor> to handle graphics and tasks, such as draw commands; [0063]: teaches commands, such as draw commands, being issued from driver 110, which is a part of the system that includes memory <read on storage element>; [0137]: teaches a method for profiling the performance of a graphics unit of rendering tasks),
the at least one execution unit is operable to perform a method (Foo, [0137]: teaches a method for profiling the performance of a graphics unit of rendering tasks) comprising:…
Thus, Claim 15 is met by Foo according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the method corresponds to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 1. Additionally, Foo further discloses wherein
the plurality of tiles correspond to portions of the render output (Foo, [0119]: teaches the TA unit performing a tiling stage, where "the transformed image of the scene <read on portions of render output> in screen space is subdivided into a plurality of tiles").
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 1. Additionally, Foo further discloses wherein the method further comprises
[[receiving, during the rendering process, one or more queries, wherein]]
[[each query relates to a given performance metric of a respective subset of the received plurality of draw calls, wherein]]
the method comprises, for each query, generating per-tile partial results for the given performance metric (Foo, [0123]: teaches set flags <read on per-tile partial results> being "associated with a block of primitive data," where the primitive block is from associated tiles of primitive data),
accumulating the per-tile partial results (Foo, [0123]: teaches set flags <read on per-tile partial results> being "associated with a block of primitive data," which is associated with the tiles of primitive data; [0124]: teaches flags being stored <read on accumulating> in the parameter buffer for each primitive), and
determining, based on the accumulated values, the performance metric for the respective subset of draw calls (Foo, [0094]: teaches "the values of each of the counters <read on accumulated values> could be collated into a single result and output," such as summing up the counter values to produce a single result <read on performance metric>).
However, Foo does not expressly disclose
receiving, during the rendering process, one or more queries, wherein
each query relates to a given performance metric of a respective subset of the received plurality of draw calls.
Heggelund discloses
receiving, during the rendering process, one or more queries (Heggelund, [0117]: teaches using occlusion queries to modify the rendering process; [0062]: teaches using an occlusion query cache for new occlusion counters of an occlusion query), wherein
each query relates to a given performance metric of a respective subset of the received plurality of draw calls (Heggelund, [0060]: teaches an occlusion query including an occlusion counter <read on given performance metric> that spans multiple draw calls <read on respective subset of draw calls>).
Heggelund is analogous art with respect to Foo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tracking performance of a tile-based rendering system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a query cache to track the number of occurrences of certain rendering tasks being performed as taught by Heggelund into the teaching of Foo. The suggestion for doing so would allow the monitoring system to determine where in the rendering pipeline a bottleneck can occur, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Heggelund with Foo.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 3. Foo does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 4; however, Heggelund discloses wherein each query comprises
a begin command and an end command (Heggelund, [0011]: teaches "commands to the graphics processor will indicate when an occlusion query is to be started <read on begin command>, a set of draw calls that are included in the query, and when the query is to stop <read on end command>").
Heggelund is analogous art with respect to Foo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tracking performance of a tile-based rendering system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement commands that tell when a query is to start and stop as taught by Heggelund into the teaching of Foo. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to understand when to execute queried commands, which can then be used as counters to monitor performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Heggelund with Foo.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 4. Foo does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 5; however, Heggelund discloses wherein
each begin command and each end command executes at a draw call boundary (Heggelund, [0093]: teaches an example situation of an integer occlusion query <read on begin and end commands>, where the query is met if the occlusion query count or threshold <read on draw call boundary> is reached or exceeded, which is then treated as a Boolean occlusion query thereafter; it should be noted that it is being interpreted that once the counts are met or exceeded, the integer occlusion query counter resets).
Heggelund is analogous art with respect to Foo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tracking performance of a tile-based rendering system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement commands that tell when a query is to start and stop as taught by Heggelund into the teaching of Foo. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to understand when to execute queried commands, which can then be used as counters to monitor performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Heggelund with Foo.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 3. Foo does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 6; however, Heggelund discloses wherein at least one query of the one or more queries is
an occlusion query, a primitives generated query, a pipeline statistics query or performance statistics query (Heggelund, [0061]: teaches a given occlusion query extending over several tiles, where "an occlusion counter value for one tile may be written to main memory once that tile has finished").
Heggelund is analogous art with respect to Foo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tracking performance of a tile-based rendering system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a query cache to track the number of occurrences of certain rendering tasks being performed as taught by Heggelund into the teaching of Foo. The suggestion for doing so would allow the monitoring system to determine where in the rendering pipeline a bottleneck can occur, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Heggelund with Foo.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 3. Foo does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 7; however, Heggelund discloses wherein
each query is indicative of one or more performance metrics sampled by that query (Heggelund, [0165]: teaches a local occlusion counter 21 <read on performance metrics> being allocated to an occlusion query for testing <read on sampling>), wherein
the method comprises generating, in the storage associated with the graphics processor, an intermediate data structure for each performance metric sampled by the one or more queries (Heggelund, [0154]: teaches using an occlusion query cache 19 <read on intermediate data structure> to maintain a set of local occlusion counter 21 <read on sampled performance metrics> as shown in FIG. 2).
Heggelund is analogous art with respect to Foo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tracking performance of a tile-based rendering system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a query cache to track the number of occurrences of certain rendering tasks being performed as taught by Heggelund into the teaching of Foo. The suggestion for doing so would allow the monitoring system to determine where in the rendering pipeline a bottleneck can occur, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Heggelund with Foo.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 1. Foo does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 8; however, Heggelund discloses wherein accumulating the per-tile partial results in the at least one intermediate data structure comprises,
for each per-tile partial result, adding the per-tile partial result to the accumulated value in the intermediate data structure according to the draw call to which that per-tile partial result corresponds (Heggelund, [0165]: teaches a local occlusion counter 21 being allocated to an occlusion query for testing for a given tile, where "the occlusion counter 21 in the occlusion query cache 19 <read on intermediate data structure> is incremented <read on adding per-tile partial result to accumulated value> appropriately 17, 18," which are used "to count the results <read on per-tile partial result> of the query").
Heggelund is analogous art with respect to Foo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tracking performance of a tile-based rendering system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a query cache to track the number of occurrences of certain rendering tasks being performed as taught by Heggelund into the teaching of Foo. The suggestion for doing so would allow the monitoring system to determine where in the rendering pipeline a bottleneck can occur, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Heggelund with Foo.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 1. Additionally, Foo further discloses wherein determining the performance metric comprises
performing a prefix sum for each draw call of the one or more draw calls (Foo, [0094]: teaches the counter values of the associated rendering tasks <read on draw call> being summed together <read on prefix sum> to produce a single result).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 1. Additionally, Foo further discloses wherein
each accumulated value corresponds to one draw call of the received plurality of draw calls (Foo, [0085]: teaches counters <read on accumulated value> that are configured to count events that occur whilst the rendering units perform tasks associated with the flag, which are further associated with a draw call).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the graphics processor of Claim 12. Foo does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 13; however, Heggelund discloses wherein the graphics processor is to
execute a post-fix shader (Heggelund, [0206]: teaches checking a shader state <read on executing post-fix shader> for a primitive for side effects).
Heggelund is analogous art with respect to Foo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tracking performance of a tile-based rendering system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the system check a shader state for visual side effects, such as visual artifacts as taught by Heggelund into the teaching of Foo. The suggestion for doing so would allow the render output to be fixed to a desired quality, thereby yielding improved results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Heggelund with Foo.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the graphics processor of Claim 13. Additionally, Foo further disclose wherein the post-fix shader is configured to
determine, based on the accumulated values, the performance metric (Foo, [0091]: teaches the graphics system comprising a plurality of counters <read on accumulated values> for different stages of the graphics pipeline, which enables performance metrics of the associated parts of said graphics pipeline).
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo (US 20180158168 A1, previously cited), in view of Heggelund et al. (US 20130076762 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Heggelund as applied to Claim 1 above respectively, and further in view of Boles et al. (US 20260004380 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Boles.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Foo and Heggelund discloses the method of Claim 1. The combination of Foo and Heggelund does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 9; however, Boles discloses wherein accumulating the per-tile partial results in the at least one intermediate data structure comprises,
for each draw call of the plurality of draw calls, using an atomic add function (Boles, [0244]: teaches a plurality of draw calls using atomic functions <read on atomic add function> to prevent memory conflicts).
Boles is analogous art with respect to Foo, in view of Heggelund because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely tile-based rendering systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement atomic functions when executing draw call functions as taught by Boles into the teaching of Foo, in view of Heggelund. The suggestion for doing so would not only prevent memory conflicts, but also ensure that counters associated with said draw calls would be accumulated without any errors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Boles with Foo, in view of Heggelund.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cerny et al. (US 20140362102 A1) discloses a GPU that is configured to read and process graphics data via ring buffers; and
Uhrenholt (US 20200151926 A1) discloses generating a set of tile-lists for use in a tile-based graphics processing system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614