DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,258,225 B2 Marx et al., hereinafter Marx ‘255 in view of US 20200122317 A1 (Zaffaroni).
Regarding claim 1 and 5, claim 15 of Marx ‘225 teaches all the claimed limitations except for wherein the component mounting tool is supported on a multi-axis manipulator having a manipulator base; and wherein moving the component on the component mounting tool to the second, work position comprises moving the manipulator base from a first pose at the first position to a second pose having a different orientation at the second position.
Zaffaroni teaches the component mounting tool (elements, N1-N4 in fig. 1) is supported on a multi-axis manipulator (15 in fig, 1) having a manipulator base (T3 in fig. 2); and wherein moving the component on the component mounting tool to the second (Fig. 5A-6B), work position comprises moving the manipulator base (T3) from a first pose at the first position (Fig. 1-2, ¶0066, lines 43-44) to a second pose (Fig. 5A-6B, ¶0066 line 44-46) having a different orientation at the second position (it can be seen in Fig. 5A-6B that orientation is different than fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Marx ‘225 by incorporating the component mounting tool is supported on a multi-axis manipulator having a manipulator base; and wherein moving the component on the component mounting tool to the second, work position comprises moving the manipulator base from a first pose at the first position to a second pose having a different orientation at the second position in view of Zaffaroni in order to achieve articulation arm to move component mounting tool in horizontal or vertical attitude (¶0052, ¶0066 and Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 5A-6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20200122317 A1 (Zaffaroni).
Regarding claim 1, Zaffaroni teaches a method of handling components (element P in fig. 9A-9C) to be assembled to a product on an assembly line, the method comprising:
receiving the component (element P in Fig. 9A-9C) on a component mounting tool (elements N1-N4 in fig. 1) at a first (it can be seen in Fig. 1 and 2, ¶0066, lines 43-44), retracted position spaced from the assembly line, wherein the component mounting tool is in a first pose adapted to facilitate receiving or processing the component (see ¶0072 and ¶0074, picked up the piece P in the horizontal attitude. Horizontal attitude is interpreted as a retracted position in first pose); and
moving the component on the component mounting tool (elements N1-N4 in fig. 1) in a direction toward the assembly line to a second (Fig. 5A-6B, ¶0066 line 44-46), work position where the component mounting tool (N1-N4) is in second pose (Fig. 5A-6B, ¶0066 line 44-46) adapted to facilitate joining the component to the product (It can be seen in FIg.9A-9C and see ¶0074. ¶0066, vertical attitude is interpreted as a second pose);
wherein the component mounting tool (N1-N4) is supported on a multi-axis manipulator (15 in fig. 2) having a manipulator base (T3 in fig.2); and
wherein moving the component on the component mounting tool to the second (Fig. 5A-6B), work position comprises moving the manipulator base (T3) from a first pose at the first position (Fig. 1-2) to a second pose (Fig. 5A-6B) having a different orientation at the second position (it can be seen in Fig. 5A-6B that orientation is different than Fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200122317 A1 (Zaffaroni) in view of US 20210122062 A1 (Kllibarda et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Zaffaroni teaches the component mounting tool (N1-N4) comprises at least one air handler (Suction cups 1-4 in Fig. 1) configured to sealingly engage the component using vacuum pressure (¶0074, lines 23-25).
Zaffaroni does not explicitly teach the method further comprises selectively providing vacuum pressure to the at least one air handler.
Kllibarda et al. teaches the method further comprises selectively providing vacuum pressure to the at least one air handler (¶0079, control system 350 will send a signal to the holding element actuator 270 to selectively provide the air vacuum force 282 to only the first blocks 230A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Zaffaroni by incorporating the method further comprises selectively providing vacuum pressure to the at least one air handler in view of Kllibarda in order to achieve independent control of suction pressure of air handlers.
Regarding claim 3, Zaffaroni teaches wherein: the at least one air handler comprises a plurality of air handlers (Suction cups 1-4). Zaffaroni does not explicitly teach a plurality of air handlers configured to sealingly engage components having different geometries; and the method further comprises selectively indexing at least one of the plurality of air handlers to a position and orientation for sealingly engaging the component.
Kllibarda et al. teaches a plurality of air handlers (23, 230A, 230B in fig. 5) configured to sealingly engage components having different geometries (¶0076, Referring to FIGS. 2C and 6, examples of end effector 200 configured to selectively engage and disengage panels, for example glass panels 132 of different geometric dimension and/or contours) and the method further comprises selectively indexing at least one of the plurality of air handlers to a position and orientation for sealingly engaging the component (It can be seen in Fig.2B, 5A-5B, 6D-6E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Zaffaroni by incorporating a plurality of air handlers configured to sealingly engage components having different geometries; and the method further comprises selectively indexing at least one of the plurality of air handlers to a position and orientation for sealingly engaging the component in view of Kllibarda et al. in order to firmly hold irregular shape or geometry of component during assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Zaffaroni does not explicitly teach selectively providing vacuum pressure to the at least one air handler in cooperation with the indexing.
Kllibarda et al. teaches selectively providing vacuum pressure to the at least one air handler in cooperation with the indexing (¶0076, Referring to FIGS. 2C and 6, examples of end effector 200 configured to selectively engage and disengage panels, for example glass panels 132 of different geometric dimension and/or contours and indexing can be seen in fig. 2B, 5A-5B, 6D-6E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Zaffaroni by incorporating selectively providing vacuum pressure to the at least one air handler in cooperation with the indexing in view of Kllibarda in order to achieve independent control of suction pressure of air handlers while holding irregular shape or geometry of component during assembly.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200122317 A1 (Zaffaroni) in view of YouTube Video: BMW car Factory Robots (https://youtu.be/P7fi4hP_y80?si=w9jELHag_UbiuNQl : hereinafter BMW).
Regarding claim 5, Zaffaroni does not explicitly teach at least one of: adding sub-components to the component while the component is supported on the component mounting tool at the first position; or performing a manufacturing process on the component while the component is supported on the component mounting tool at the first position.
BMW teaches at least one of: adding sub-components to the component while the component is supported on the component mounting tool at the first position (see video from 2:55 to 3:08, it can be seen sub component is being installed on the component which is mounted on tool in first pose); or performing a manufacturing process on the component while the component is supported on the component mounting tool at the first position (see video from 2:32 to 2:54, it can be seen that manufacturing process is being done while component is mounted on tool in first pose).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Zaffaroni by incorporating at least one of: adding sub-components to the component while the component is supported on the component mounting tool at the first position; or performing a manufacturing process on the component while the component is supported on the component mounting tool at the first position in view of BMW in order to improve the efficiency of assembly line.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited prior art also shows method of handling components. Specially, US 20090206216 A1 (Katsutani) teaches claimed subject mater of claim 3 as it can be seen in Fig. 1 and 2. US 5927021 A (Kowalski et al.) teaches claimed subject matter of claim 5: adding sub-component while component mounting tool is in first position (it can be seen in Fig. 12 column 6, lines 23-29).
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652