Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2022/0063040 A1 hereinafter “Tsuchiya”) in view of Miura (NPL Cutting Tool Edge and Textured Surface Measurements with a Point Autofocus Probe hereinafter “Miura NPL”).
Regarding claim 1 Tsuchiya discloses:
A method of adjusting a robot path, comprising: obtaining a … scanned contours of a tool held by a robot travelling along the robot path by scanning the tool using a laser sensor; (Tsuchiya [0037] [0033] wherein the system determines the robot tool path by determining deviations in the tool based measurements, including a laser measurements) determining, based on the … scanned contours, a plurality of positions in an actual trajectory of the tool; (Tsuchiya [0034-0038] wherein the system determines the position of the tool, the deviations in the tool, and the path to follow in order to achieve the actual trajectory desired) determining the actual trajectory based on the plurality of positions; (Tsuchiya [0034-0038] [0067] wherein the ideal and actual trajectory for the tool are compared) and adjusting the robot path based on a deviation of the actual trajectory from a theoretical trajectory of the tool. (Tsuchiya [0039] wherein the corrected machine path is followed after determining the correction amount from the tool).
Tsuchiya does not appear to explicitly disclose:
“obtaining a plurality of scanned contours of a tool” or “based on the plurality of scanned contours”
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls the Miura NPL discloses:
“obtaining a plurality of scanned contours of a tool” and “based on the plurality of scanned contours” (Miura NPL fig. 2 page 2 first paragraph, wherein the tool is scanned on a first face, rotated, scanned again, and further rotated, i.e. scanned at a plurality of positions to get the contour of the tool).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple scans of the Miura NPL with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly accurate profile of the cutting tool, leading to better understanding of the tool life, machining surface, and accuracy of the machined part (Miura NPL page 1 introduction, page 2 first-third paragraph).
Regarding claim 2 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Tsuchiya further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the … scanned contours comprises: obtaining a plurality of sets of contour points, each set of contour points corresponding to one of the … scanned contours (Tsuchiya [0054-0058] fig. 4 wherein the tool is scanned to determine a profile share, with a real contour with various radii) and being detected by the laser sensor at one of the plurality of positions in the actual trajectory. (Tsuchiya [0087] wherein the shape of the tool is based on a laser measuring instrument finding the contour).
Tsuchiya does not appear to explicitly disclose:
“obtaining the plurality of scanned contours” or “corresponding to one of the plurality of scanned contours”
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls the Miura NPL discloses:
“obtaining the plurality of scanned contours” and “corresponding to one of the plurality of scanned contours” (Miura NPL fig. 2 page 2 first paragraph, wherein the tool is scanned on a first face, rotated, scanned again, and further rotated, i.e. scanned at a plurality of positions to get the contour of the tool).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple scans of the Miura NPL with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly accurate profile of the cutting tool, leading to better understanding of the tool life, machining surface, and accuracy of the machined part (Miura NPL page 1 introduction, page 2 first-third paragraph).
Regarding claim 3 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 and Tsuchiya further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein determining the plurality of positions in the actual trajectory comprises: determining a plurality of estimated closed contours based on the … scanned contours by fitting a two-dimensional shape to each set of contour points; (Tsuchiya [0041-0043] wherein 2D contour lines, ideal contours, and both real and ideal radii of the tool are imaged and identified for the specific tool) determining a plurality of center positions of the plurality of estimated closed contours; (Tsuchiya [0044-0047] wherein the center position of the ideal radius and the real radius of the tool are determined based on the laser measuring instrument)
and determining the plurality of positions based on the plurality of center positions. (Tsuchiya [0044-0047] wherein different locations on the actual radius of the tool and the ideal radius of the tool are compared and a deviation amount is determined).
Tsuchiya does not appear to explicitly disclose:
“based on the plurality of scanned contours”
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls the Miura NPL discloses:
“based on the plurality of scanned contours” (Miura NPL fig. 2 page 2 first paragraph, wherein the tool is scanned on a first face, rotated, scanned again, and further rotated, i.e. scanned at a plurality of positions to get the contour of the tool).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple scans of the Miura NPL with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly accurate profile of the cutting tool, leading to better understanding of the tool life, machining surface, and accuracy of the machined part (Miura NPL page 1 introduction, page 2 first-third paragraph).
Regarding claim 4 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 3 and Tsuchiya further discloses:
The method of claim 3, wherein adjusting the robot path comprises: determining the theoretical trajectory by fitting the plurality of positions to a predetermined shape trajectory; (Tsuchiya [0067-0071] wherein the tool path is determined, and corrected based on the real contour line of the tool itself) determining at least one position deviation of at least one deviated position in the actual trajectory from at least one corresponding theoretical position in the theoretical trajectory; (Tsuchiya [0067-0071] wherein the tool path is determined, and corrected based on the real contour line of the tool itself) and adjusting at least one position in the robot path corresponding to the at least one deviated position based on the at least one position deviation. (Tsuchiya [0074] wherein the system corrects the machining path based on coordinate points along the desired path with the tool contour shape).
Regarding claim 5 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 and Tsuchiya further discloses:
The method of claim 4, further comprising: in response to determining that a further robot path to be travelled by the robot causes the tool pass through the at least one deviated position, adjusting the further robot path based on the at least one position deviation. (Tsuchiya [0074] wherein the system corrects the machining path based on coordinate points along the desired path with the tool contour shape, see also Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 but Tsuchiya does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… wherein obtaining the plurality of scanned contours comprises: causing the robot to stop the tool at a position of the plurality of positions; and obtaining a scanned contour of the plurality of scanned contours by scanning the tool at the position using the laser sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls the Miura NPL discloses:
“wherein obtaining the plurality of scanned contours comprises: causing the robot to stop the tool at a position of the plurality of positions; (Miura NPL page 2 first paragraph, Fig. 2 wherein the tool is scanned on a first face, rotated, scanned again, and further rotated i.e. scanned at various positions the tool is stopped) and obtaining a scanned contour of the plurality of scanned contours by scanning the tool at the position using the laser sensor.” (Miura NPL page 2 first paragraph, Fig. 2 wherein the tool is scanned on a first face, rotated, scanned again, and further rotated i.e. scanned at various positions the tool is stopped).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple scans of the tool at different positions of Miura NPL with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly accurate profile of the cutting tool, leading to better understanding of the tool life, machining surface, and accuracy of the machined part (Miura NPL page 1 introduction, page 2 first-third paragraph).
Regarding claim 11 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Tsuchiya further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the … scanned contours comprises: causing the robot to move the tool to travel along the actual trajectory continuously; (Tsuchiya [0067] wherein the path is based on the tool moving along the actual desired path) and obtaining the … scanned contours by scanning the tool using the laser sensor at corresponding time points. (Tsuchiya [0046-0048] wherein the contour of the tool is measured).
Tsuchiya does not appear to explicitly disclose:
“obtaining the plurality of scanned contours”
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls the Miura NPL discloses:
“obtaining the plurality of scanned contours” (Miura NPL fig. 2 page 2 first paragraph, wherein the tool is scanned on a first face, rotated, scanned again, and further rotated, i.e. scanned at a plurality of positions to get the contour of the tool).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple scans of the Miura NPL with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly accurate profile of the cutting tool, leading to better understanding of the tool life, machining surface, and accuracy of the machined part (Miura NPL page 1 introduction, page 2 first-third paragraph).
Regarding claim 12 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Tsuchiya further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that the deviation of the actual trajectory from the theoretical trajectory is greater than a predefined threshold, (Tsuchiya [0038] wherein the system determines a deviation that needs corrected to properly machine the workpiece i.e. above a threshold) obtaining … scanned contours of the tool held by the robot travelling along the adjusted robot path by scanning the tool using the laser sensor; (Tsuchiya [0037] [0033] wherein the tool is scanned by a laser to determine the contour) determining, … scanned contours, a further plurality of positions in an adjusted actual trajectory of the tool; (Tsuchiya [0038-0039] wherein positional deviations are determined for the machine path) determining the adjusted actual trajectory based on the further plurality of positions; (Tsuchiya [0034-0038] [0067] wherein the ideal and actual trajectory for the tool are compared) and further adjusting the adjusted robot path based on a deviation of the adjusted actual trajectory from the theoretical trajectory of the tool. (Tsuchiya [0039] wherein the corrected machine path is followed after determining the correction amount from the tool).
Tsuchiya does not appear to explicitly disclose:
“a further plurality of scanned contours” or “based on the further plurality of scanned contours”
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls the Miura NPL discloses:
“a further plurality of scanned contours” and “based on the further plurality of scanned contours” (Miura NPL fig. 2 page 2 first paragraph, wherein the tool is scanned on a first face, rotated, scanned again, and further rotated, i.e. scanned at a plurality of positions to get the contour of the tool).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple scans of the Miura NPL with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly accurate profile of the cutting tool, leading to better understanding of the tool life, machining surface, and accuracy of the machined part (Miura NPL page 1 introduction, page 2 first-third paragraph).
Regarding claim 14 Tsuchiya discloses:
A method of adjusting a robot path, comprising: obtaining a … scanned contours of a fixed object by scanning the fixed object using a laser sensor held by a robot travelling along the robot path; (Tsuchiya [0037] [0033] wherein the system determines the robot tool path by determining deviations in the tool based measurements, including a laser measurements) determining, based on the … scanned contours, a plurality of positions in a relative trajectory of the fixed object with regard to the laser sensor; (Tsuchiya [0031] wherein the tool is moved along a set workpiece at a plurality of points during machining in a fixed chuck in a tool holding unit of the robot) determining the relative trajectory based on the plurality of positions; (Tsuchiya [0034-0038] wherein the system determines the position of the tool, the deviations in the tool, and the path to follow in order to achieve the actual trajectory desired) and adjusting the robot path based on a deviation of the relative trajectory from a theoretical trajectory of the fixed object with regard to the laser sensor. (Tsuchiya [0039] wherein the corrected machine path is followed after determining the correction amount from the tool).
Tsuchiya does not appear to explicitly disclose:
“obtaining a plurality of scanned contours of a tool” or “based on the plurality of scanned contours”
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls the Miura NPL discloses:
“obtaining a plurality of scanned contours of a tool” and “based on the plurality of scanned contours” (Miura NPL fig. 2 page 2 first paragraph, wherein the tool is scanned on a first face, rotated, scanned again, and further rotated, i.e. scanned at a plurality of positions to get the contour of the tool).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple scans of the Miura NPL with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly accurate profile of the cutting tool, leading to better understanding of the tool life, machining surface, and accuracy of the machined part (Miura NPL page 1 introduction, page 2 first-third paragraph).
Regarding claim 15 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Tsuchiya further discloses:
A computing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform the method of claim 1. (Tsuchiya [0035] wherein the system includes a computer for a central processing unit and storage to execute the operation).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the Zhong translation (Translation of Foreign Patent No. CN 112959323 A hereinafter the “Zhong translation”).
Regarding claim 13 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 but Tsuchiya does not appear to further disclose:
… in response to determining that the deviation of the actual trajectory from the theoretical trajectory is less than a predefined threshold, ceasing further adjusting the adjusted robot path.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls the Zhong translation discloses:
“in response to determining that the deviation of the actual trajectory from the theoretical trajectory is less than a predefined threshold, ceasing further adjusting the adjusted robot path.” (Zhong translation page 7 1st-3rd paragraph, claim 8 wherein the tool determines when the error threshold is below a threshold value to ensure correct and acceptable values are provided only).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the deviation acceptance threshold of Zhong with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the movement of the robot to continue when the error rate is within an acceptable limit, after correcting the identified error (Zhong translation page 7 1st-3rd paragraph).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Negishi (US 2017/0136623 A1 hereinafter “Negishi”).
Regarding claim 16 Tsuchiya in view of the Miura NPL discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 but Tsuchiya does not appear to explicitly disclose:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method of claim 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Negishi discloses:
“A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform” (Negishi [0127] wherein the robot is run using a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory storage of Negishi with the system of Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known variation of a storage medium to be used to control a robot system, executing computer codes (Negishi [0172]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art fails to disclose or render obvious claim 6-9 disclosing a system for controlling the robot tool and measuring contours based on an inclination angle and symmetries.
Regarding claims 6-9 the relevant art Tsuchiya, the Miura NPL, and the Zhong translation discloses a means for adjusting a robot tool based on deviations in position or in the tool surface (Tsuchiya [0034-0039]) but fails to disclose determining an incline angle of the tool, symmetries of the tool, and the inclination towards the laser scanner of the measurement tool. Specifically, the relevant art fails to disclose “wherein adjusting at least one position in the robot path comprises: determining an inclined angle of the plurality of estimated closed contours relative to the tool;
determining at least one path deviation of at least one deviated position in the robot path corresponding to the at least one position deviation based on the inclined angle; and adjusting at least one position in the robot path corresponding to the at least one deviated position based on the at least one path deviation” or “wherein determining the inclined angle comprises: in response to determining that a shape of the estimated closed contour has rotational symmetry, determining that the inclined angle is substantially 90 degrees” or “wherein determining the inclined angle comprises: in response to determining that a shape of the estimated closed contour has reflective symmetry but not rotational symmetry, determining a first geometry size of the estimated closed contour; and determining the inclined angle based on the first geometry size” or “wherein determining the inclined angle further comprises: causing the robot to incline the tool towards the laser sensor; obtaining a scanned contour of the inclined tool by scanning the inclined tool using the laser sensor; determining a second geometry size of an estimated closed contour corresponding to the scanned contour of the inclined tool; and determining an orientation of the plurality of estimated closed contours relative to the tool based on the second geometry size and the first geometry size”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0262065 A1 discloses a robot tool tip correction path based on dual camera vision of the tool and workpiece
US 2019/0270141 A1 discloses a manufacturing system for an inclined workpiece through rotating or pivoting a work tool during operation
CN 104588838 B discloses a welding gun tracking the contour of the weld, workpiece, and seam
CN 118936362 A discloses a rotary cutter with symmetrical measurements of the cutter to determine the profile of the cutter grooves
/KYLE T JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3656