DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because the claims comprise multiple sentences and periods. A claim must begin with a capital letter and end with a period, and periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations (see MPEP 608.01(m)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the phrase “A pilot valve seat” and “The abovementioned damping valve” renders it unclear whether the claim is only directed toward the pilot valve seat or rather the entire damping valve. It is further noted that the body of the claim recited elements beyond a “pilot valve seat,” further rendering it unclear whether the claim is only directed toward the pilot valve seat or a larger assembly.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a pilot seat” (see line 4) is indefinite because it is unclear whether this is the same element as the previously recited “pilot valve seat.”
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “the main valve chamber” and “the main valve” lack antecedent basis, thereby rendering it unclear which elements are being referenced.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase “the adjusting cylinder includes a first portion and a second portion, the first portion connects the lower chamber to the upper chamber” is indefinite because it is unclear how the adjusting cylinder connects the lower chamber to the upper chamber when the chambers are disclosed as being connected by a passage (1222).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “the axial mounting hole” lacks antecedent basis, thereby rendering it unclear which element is being referenced.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase “A damping valve” is indefinite because it is unclear whether this is the same element as the previously recited damping valve (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao (CN 115182951) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a pilot valve seat (124) that is applicable to a damping valve in a shock absorber (see e.g. machine translation, ¶ 0001). The abovementioned damping valve comprises a pilot valve assembly (121, 122, 123, 124, 131, 135), a valve sleeve (15) and a housing (14). The housing is connected to the valve sleeve (see FIG. 2) and the pilot valve assembly is disposed in the valve sleeve (see FIG. 2); the pilot valve assembly includes a pilot valve spool (122), a pilot seat (124) and a pilot spring (121); wherein, the pilot spring is installed between the pilot valve spool and the pilot valve seat (see FIG. 3); a pilot chamber formed by the pilot valve spool, the pilot valve seat, the damping valve housing and valve sleeve (see FIG. 3); wherein, an oil inlet chamber (125) is provided on the pilot valve seat (see FIG. 4), and the oil inlet chamber is connected to the pilot chamber (see FIGS. 3, 4); the oil inlet chamber comprises a radial oil inlet (124c) and an oil outlet (see FIG. 4, right side of (25)); the pilot valve spool is provided with an adjusting cylinder (135) matched with the oil inlet chamber (see FIG. 3; see also ¶ 0072), and the adjusting cylinder can move axially with the pilot valve spool to control the flow rate of the oil inlet chamber (see ¶¶ 0072, 0074, 0076).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 214578539) (machine translation attached) in view of Gao (CN 115182951) (machine translation attached).
Chen teaches a pilot valve seat (12) that is applicable to a damping valve in a shock absorber (see e.g. machine translation, Abstract). The abovementioned damping valve comprises a pilot valve assembly (12, 13, 14), a valve sleeve (2) and a housing (4). The housing is connected to the valve sleeve (see FIG. 1) and the pilot valve assembly is disposed in the valve sleeve (see FIG. 1); the pilot valve assembly includes a pilot valve spool (14), a pilot seat (12) and a pilot spring (13); wherein, the pilot spring is installed between the pilot valve spool and the pilot valve seat (see FIG. 4); a pilot chamber (6) formed by the pilot valve spool, the pilot valve seat, the damping valve housing and valve sleeve (see FIG. 2); wherein, an oil inlet chamber (see FIG. 4, chamber between (12) and (14)) is provided on the pilot valve seat (see FIG. 4), and the oil inlet chamber is connected to the pilot chamber (see FIGS. 2, 4); the oil inlet chamber comprises an oil inlet (22) and an oil outlet (23) (see FIG. 5); the pilot valve spool is provided with an adjusting cylinder (14) matched with the oil inlet chamber (see FIG. 4), and the adjusting cylinder can move axially with the pilot valve spool to control the flow rate of the oil inlet chamber (see machine translation, second-to-last page).
Chen does not disclose that the inlet hole is radial.
Gao teaches a pilot valve seat (124) that is applicable to a damping valve in a shock absorber (see e.g. machine translation, ¶ 0001). The abovementioned damping valve comprises a pilot valve assembly (121, 122, 123, 124, 131, 135), a valve sleeve (15) and a housing (14). The housing is connected to the valve sleeve (see FIG. 2) and the pilot valve assembly is disposed in the valve sleeve (see FIG. 2); the pilot valve assembly includes a pilot valve spool (122), a pilot seat (124) and a pilot spring (121); wherein, the pilot spring is installed between the pilot valve spool and the pilot valve seat (see FIG. 3); a pilot chamber formed by the pilot valve spool, the pilot valve seat, the damping valve housing and valve sleeve (see FIG. 3); wherein, an oil inlet chamber (125) is provided on the pilot valve seat (see FIG. 4), and the oil inlet chamber is connected to the pilot chamber (see FIGS. 3, 4); the oil inlet chamber comprises a radial oil inlet (124c) and an oil outlet (see FIG. 4, right side of (25)); the pilot valve spool is provided with an adjusting cylinder (135) matched with the oil inlet chamber (see FIG. 3; see also ¶ 0072), and the adjusting cylinder can move axially with the pilot valve spool to control the flow rate of the oil inlet chamber (see ¶¶ 0072, 0074, 0076).
It would have been obvious to configure the inlet hole of Chen to be a radially oriented inlet to prevent high velocity oil form directly acting on the pilot valve, reducing the impact of the jet on the pilot valve, and making the damping control solenoid valve work more stably (see Gao, ¶ 0063).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses that the oil inlet chamber of the pilot valve seat is provided with a mating hole that mates with the adjusting cylinder (see FIG. 4), and the adjusting cylinder enters the oil inlet chamber through the mating hole to adjust the flow rate of the oil inlet chamber (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses that the oil inlet chamber includes an upper chamber (see FIG. 5, chamber extends rightward from base of seat, thereby forming a chamber and wall with holes (23)) the upper chamber is partially into the pilot chamber (see FIG. 2) and the radial oil outlet hole (23) is provided on the upper chamber (see FIG. 2). Gao teaches a lower chamber (see FIG. 4, chamber extending leftward from base (124a), thereby forming a lower chamber with a wall having holes (124c)); the lower chamber is partially into the main valve chamber of the main valve (see FIG. 4) and the radial oil inlet hole is provided on the lower chamber (see FIG. 4). The combination of the teachings of Gao with the Chen would result in the lower chamber and the upper chamber connecting with each other so that the inlet and outlet holes would communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses that the adjusting cylinder includes a first portion and a second portion (see FIGS. 2, 4; adjusting cylinder (14) comprises multiple portions of different diameter), the first portion connects the lower chamber to the upper chamber (see FIGS. 2, 4). Gao teaches that the lower chamber includes an axial connecting port (125) for connecting to the upper chamber (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses that the adjusting cylinder includes the second portion matching with the axial mounting hole (see FIG. 4); the outer diameter of the second portion is larger than the diameter of the axial connecting port (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses that the inner diameter of the upper chamber of the pilot valve seat is larger than the outer diameter of the second portion (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses that the axial length of the adjusting cylinder is smaller than the axial length of the oil inlet chamber (see FIG. 4); the axial length of the second portion is less than the axial length of the upper chamber (see FIG. 4). Furthermore, the combination of Gao with Chen with further lengthen the length of the oil inlet chamber.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses that the pilot valve spool includes a support seat (see FIG. 4), and the adjusting cylinder is connected at the lower end of the support seat (see FIG. 4); one end of the support seat close to the adjusting cylinder is provided with a limiting protrusion (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses a damping valve applicable to a vehicle damping device (see Abstract), comprises the pilot valve seat according to claim 1 (see claim 1, above); the damping valve comprises a main spool (8), a main valve seat (10) and a motor assembly (3). The main spool and the main valve seat are arranged in the valve sleeve (see FIG. 1), and the main valve seat is arranged at the bottom of the main spool (see FIG. 1); the pilot chamber for installing a pilot valve is arranged in the valve sleeve (see FIG. 1); a fixed channel (32) and an adjustable channel (37, 39) for discharging oil in the pilot chamber are formed between the pilot chamber, the valve sleeve and the housing (see FIG. 1); the motor assembly can drive the pilot valve spool to move axially relative to the pilot valve seat to change the open area of the adjustable channel (see FIG. 1; machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses that the pilot valve spool is provided with an oil outlet hole (26, 27), and the oil in the pilot chamber can flow into the adjustable channel through the oil outlet hole (26, 27) (see FIGS. 1, 7).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
September 30, 2026