The present application 18/988,087, filed on 12/19/2024 (or after March 16, 2013), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA (First Inventor to File).
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendment filed on 2/9/2026.
Drawings
The Drawings filed on 12/19/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for CHINA foreign priority under
35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA
application # 202311754487 filed on Dec. 19, 2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 with respect to claim 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, for examiner’s response, see discussion below:
a) At page 8-10, 12, claim 1, applicant argues:
Tunning does not disclose a technical solution for inputting data query statements in natural language. Thus, Tunning at least does not disclose or suggest the features "wherein the data query statement is based on a natural language, and an ambiguous query condition is checked for the data query statement" and "the query condition area is configured to display a query condition in the natural language corresponding to the data query statement, and the data visual display area is configured to display data corresponding to the query condition,"
Tunning does not teach form query statements or query conditions based on natural language (p-10)
b)At page 10-13, claim 1, applicant argues
Tunning uses standardized graphical input, so objectively, there should be no ambiguity. Thus, it is clear that Tunning does not disclose or suggest a technical solution for ambiguous query condition…………an ambiguous query condition is checked for the data query statement as recited in claim 1
Examiners response:
As to the above argument (a-b), as best understood by the examiner, the prior art of Tunning is directed to visual query, more specifically visual query defines and allows user to input query criteria and/or query statement via user interface and display relationship ie., query statements is generated and displayed as visual query (Tunning: Abstract, fig 1, fig 2, element 204);
it should be noted that prior art of Tunning displaying data query statement corresponds to Tunning’s fig 4, element 408, and data query page corresponds to Tunning’s fig 4, element 400 because data page element 400 including data control menu is identical to instant specification 0037,0041)
The prior art of Tunning teaches display query result of the combined query statements within visual query definition and the message card corresponds to Tunning query result (fig 7, element 716, fig 1, 0020, element 116) is identical to instant specification 0008,0012 and query results also corresponds to Tunning’s fig 1, element 116 reads on the limitation message card representing query result……query condition …..visual display area
It is however, noted that Tunning does not teach “data query statement is based on a natural language and an ambiguous query condition is checked for the data query statement”, although Tunning teaches not only visual database query statement, but also display query results via graphical user interface (Tunning: Abstract, fig 1-3). On the other hand, Nallapati disclosed “data query statement is based on a natural language and an ambiguous query condition is checked for the data query statement” (Nallapati: fig 1, fig 7-8, 0076-0080, 0082-0084 – Nallapati teaches interactive natural language query processing system particularly receiving natural language query, also the prior art of Nallapati teaches query input as query condition that is checked and/or detected ambiguity. The prior art of Nallapati specifically teaches ambiguity resolution performed during natural language query processing as detailed in 0084
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention interactively executing natural language queries and detect[ing] ambiguity of Nallapati et al., into visual query statements generated for each query criteria of Tunning because both Tunning, Nallapati supports executing query via user interface (Tunning: Abstract, fig 1; Nallapati: Abstract, fig 1) and they both are from the same field of endeavor. Because both Tunning, Nallapati teaches executing visual query statements via user interface, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute and/or modify one method for the other particularly natural language query processing system supporting detecting ambiguity query of Nallapati (Nallapati: fig 1, fig 7-8), thereby allowing users to respond to and/or modify natural language queries to improve performance of the overall natural language queries to quickly and accurately provide results (Nallapati: 0016-0017), thus improves overall quality and reliability of the system. The exemplary rationales that may support prima facie conclusion of obviousness includes (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention- -KSR, 550 US at 398
Examiner applies above arguments to claims 2-17 depend from claim 1
Examiner applies above arguments to Claims 18-20 depend from claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tunning, US Pub. No. 2005/0187911 published Aug, 2005 in view of Nallapati et al., (hereafter Nallapati), US Pub. No. 2023/0325384 filed on Mar 2023.
As to claim 1,18,20, Tunning teaches a system which including “ A method for data query, comprising” (Tunning: Abstract – Tunning teaches visual query including displaying query statement)
“displaying a data query page, wherein the data query page comprises a data query control” (Tunning: fig 1, 0018-0019 – Tunning teaches visual query definition supporting semantic relationship of display position(s) displayed via user interface supporting visual query menu corresponds to data query control)
“obtaining a data query statement based on an interaction with the data query control, and displaying the data query statement on the data query page” (Tunning: fig 2, fig 4,0029 – Tunning teaches visual query application that including query statement generator (fig 1, element 212)and visual query displaying via user interface (element 216) for example fig 1, the prior art of Tunning teaches displaying data query statement corresponds to Tunning’s fig 4, element 408, and data query page corresponds to Tunning’s fig 4, element 400 because data page element 400 including data control menu is identical to instant specification 0037,0041) and
“displaying, on the data query page” (Tunning: fig 1 and fig 4) and based on the data query statement (Tunning: fig 4, element 408 – sql query statement), a message card representing a query result, wherein the message card comprises a query condition area and a visual display area (fig 7, element 716, fig 1, 0020, element 116 – Tunning teaches display query result of the combined query statements within visual query definition and the message card corresponds to Tunning query result is identical to instant specification 0008,0012 and query results also corresponds to Tunning’s fig 1, element 116), the query condition area is configured to display a query condition corresponding to the data query statement” (Tunning: fig 4, 408, 0006, and “the data visual display area is configured to display data corresponding to the query condition” (Tunning: fig 4).
It is however, noted that Tunning does not teach “data query statement is based on a natural language and an ambiguous query condition is checked for the data query statement”, although Tunning teaches not only visual database query statement, but also display query results via graphical user interface (Tunning: Abstract, fig 1-3). On the other hand, Nallapati disclosed “data query statement is based on a natural language and an ambiguous query condition is checked for the data query statement” (Nallapati: fig 1, fig 7-8, 0076-0080, 0082-0084 – Nallapati teaches interactive natural language query processing system particularly receiving natural language query, also the prior art of Nallapati teaches query input as query condition that is checked and/or detected ambiguity. The prior art of Nallapati specifically teaches ambiguity resolution performed during natural language query processing as detailed in 0084
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention interactively executing natural language queries and detect[ing] ambiguity of Nallapati et al., into visual query statements generated for each query criteria of Tunning because both Tunning, Nallapati supports executing query via user interface (Tunning: Abstract, fig 1; Nallapati: Abstract, fig 1) and they both are from the same field of endeavor. Because both Tunning, Nallapati teaches executing visual query statements via user interface, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute and/or modify one method for the other particularly natural language query processing system supporting detecting ambiguity query of Nallapati (Nallapati: fig 1, fig 7-8), thereby allowing users to respond to and/or modify natural language queries to improve performance of the overall natural language queries to quickly and accurately provide results (Nallapati: 0016-0017), thus improves overall quality and reliability of the system
As to claim 2,19, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati disclosed “wherein, in response to determining that the number of the query conditions are multiple, the query condition area (fig 4, 404 – Tunning teaches multiple query conditions appears in the visual query definition area corresponds to query condition area fig 4, 404, para 0029) is configured to display a query condition corresponding to the data query statement, comprising (fig 4, element 408):
“displaying, in the query condition area, query logic corresponding to a plurality of query conditions, (Tunning : fig 4, element 404) wherein the query logic is a text formed by arranging the plurality of query conditions, and the query condition comprises a condition name and a corresponding value range” (fig 4, 0029, - Tunning teaches criteria selection box allows to select query condition in a natural language abbreviated form for example languages, and countries, while query box clearly appears natural language query condition). On the other hand, Nallapati disclosed “query conditions in a natural language” (Nallapati: fig 7-8)
As to Claim 3. The combination of Tunning, Nallapati disclosed:
“displaying a query condition edit area in response to an interaction with the query condition edit control, wherein the query condition edit area is configured to display an editable control corresponding to the query condition” (Tunning: fig 4, element 402, fig 5, element 504 - visual query user interface supports various menu functions that including “Edit”.
As to claim 13, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati disclosed “wherein the message card further comprises a function recommendation area, the function recommendation area is configured to display a data summary control, and the method further comprises” (fig 7, element 716, fig 1, 0020, element 116):
“generating and displaying a data summary text of the query result in response to an interaction with the data summary control” (Tunning: fig 3-4, 0028-0030)
As to claim 14, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati disclosed:
“displaying a display attribute detail page of the message card in response to an interaction with the configuration menu, wherein the display attribute detail page is configured to adjust display content of the message card” (Tunning: 0028-0031, fig 3-4)
As to claim 15, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati disclosed:
“receiving a current input content that is input in the data query control” (Tunning: fig 7, element 702 – display input query criteria);
“identifying whether there is an query condition in the current input content” (Tunning: 0040-0041)t; and
“in response to the existence of the query condition, displaying an edit control for the query condition on the data query page, to prompt to modify the query condition” (Tunning: 0032-0035). On the other hand, Nallapati disclosed “ambiguous query condition” (Nallapati: fig 8, 0076-0080, 0084)
As to claim 16, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati disclosed:
“displaying a disambiguation detail page in response to an interaction with the edit control, wherein the disambiguation detail page is configured to provide a plurality of related query conditions associated with the ambiguous query condition” (Tunning: 0040-0041, fig 2, fig 7);
“determining a currently selected related query condition” (Tunning: 0026-0027); and
“replacing the query condition with the currently selected related query condition, to update the current input content and obtain the data query statement” (Tunning 0041-0042). On the other hand, Nallapati disclosed “ambiguous query condition” (fig 8, 0084)
As to claim 17, he combination of Tunning, Nallapati disclosed:
“displaying a disambiguation card, wherein the disambiguation card comprises a plurality of condition selection controls, different condition selection controls correspond to different related query conditions” (Tunning: 0022-0024); and
“updating the data query statement based on the currently selected related query condition in response to the currently selected related query condition” (Tunning: 0041-0043).
Claims 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tunning, US Pub. No. 2005/0187911 published Aug, 2005, Nallapati et al., (hereafter Nallapati), US Pub. No. 2023/0325384 filed on Mar 2023 in view of Payton et al., (hereafter Payton), US Pub. No. 2005/0015368 Jan 2005
As to claim 4, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati disclosed visual query menu that including query condition dialog box and “edit” as detailed in fig 4-5.
It is however, noted that Tunning, Nallapati do not disclose “the query condition edit area, a mandatory query condition is marked with a first identifier, and an optional query condition is marked with a second identifier, and the method further comprises:
identifying an editable control to be selected in the query condition edit area;
in response to determining that the query condition corresponding to the editable control to be selected is an optional query condition, displaying a deletion control on a specified area of the editable control to be selected;
deleting the editable control to be selected in response to an interaction with the deletion control;
in response to determining that the query condition corresponding to the editable control to be selected is a mandatory query condition, not displaying the deletion control; and
updating the query condition edit area based on a currently retained editable control”.
On the other hand, Payton disclosed: “the query condition edit area, a mandatory query condition is marked with a first identifier, and an optional query condition is marked with a second identifier, and the method further comprises (Payton: fig 3A – Payton teaches graphical user interface that including query condition edit area element 38, allows user to built required search condition(s) including optional query condition element 41 as detailed in fig 3A)
“identifying an editable control to be selected in the query condition edit area” (Payton: fig 3A, element 38, 0058 – Payton teaches editing window element 38 allows users to edit and/or modify query statement and/or condition)
“in response to determining that the query condition corresponding to the editable control to be selected is an optional query condition, displaying a deletion control on a specified area of the editable control to be selected” (Payton: fig 3A-3B, 0035 -0040 – Payton teaches user interface allows users to build query condition(s) that including “optional query condition such as detailed in para 0038-0040)
“deleting the editable control to be selected in response to an interaction with the deletion control” (Payton: fig 3A-3B, element 43, 0051 – Payton teaches editable control for the query condition particularly remove and/or modify allows interaction via graphical user interface)
“in response to determining that the query condition corresponding to the editable control to be selected is a mandatory query condition, not displaying the deletion control” (Payton: fig 2 – Payton teaches query model user specifying select predicate in search condition area where optional search condition is NOT appeared in the editable control area in the fig 3A-3B, element 38 considered as mandatory query condition, while “optional query condition do not appeared such as “ORDER BY”, “GROUP BY”);
“updating the query condition edit area based on a currently retained editable control” (Payton: fig 3B, 0049 – Payton teaches after selecting required predicate options, by selecting button element 39, the query model (fig 2, element 26), update the search condition display area element 36 and the editing window element 38)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention query modelling tool, dynamically allows edit visual query statements of Payton et al., into visual query statements generated for each query criteria of Tunning, interactively executing natural language queries and detect[ing] ambiguity of Nallapati et al., because all the prior art Tunning, Nallapati and Payton support user interface visual query statements and edit options to the user (Tunning: Abstract, fig 3-4; Nallapati: fig 1-2, and Payton: Abstract, fig 3A-3B) and they all are from the same field of endeavor. Because prior art of Tunning, Nallapati and Payton teaches query statements displayed via user interface, supporting manipulating and/or updating visual query, it would have been obvious to one skill ed in the art to substitute and/or modify one method for the other particularly displaying query edit area of Payton fig 3A-3B, while allows to select user required options in generating query conditions (both optional, mandatory), thereby modeling schema of Payton provides high granularity, supports solving complex query statements, further allows flexibility of dynamically reconstruction of query statement including edit and/or modify as required (Payton: 0008), thus improves overall quality and reliability of the query system.
As to claim 5, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati, and Payton disclosed:
“displaying a condition menu in response to an interaction with the add control, wherein the condition menu is configured to provide a plurality of candidate query conditions (Tunning: fig 3 – Tunning teaches graphical user interface allows menu options such as “file, edit, actions” and like) and a condition detail page corresponding to the candidate query condition (Tunning: fig 3-4, candidate query condition area corresponds to element 408), and “the condition detail page is configured to determine a condition name of the candidate query condition and/or a value range corresponding to the condition name” (Tunning: fig 4-5).
As to claim 6, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati, and Payton disclosed:
“determining an added query condition, wherein the added query condition is a candidate query condition that is selected to be added” (Tunning” fig 7, element 706 and 720 – Tunning teaches display query criteria on the user interface i.e., visual query, also teaches add additional query criteria in generating required visual query criteria); and
“adding an editable control corresponding to the added query condition to the query condition edit area, to update the query logic” (Payton: fig 3A-3B – Payton teaches editable controls for example in building query conditions including details element 32).
As to claim 7, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati, and Payton disclosed:
“determining, in response to an interaction with the area controlling control, a current query condition corresponding to a current editable control in the query condition edit area, and hiding the query condition edit area” (Payton: fig 3A-3B – Payton teaches graphical user interface allows various options in the query edit area); and
“updating the query logic based on the current query condition, and displaying the updated query logic in the query condition area” (Payton: fig 3A-3B, 0058).
Claims 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tunning, US Pub. No. 2005/0187911 published Aug, 2005, Nallapati et al., (hereafter Nallapati), US Pub. No. 2023/0325384 filed on Mar 2023 in view of Nishino et al., (hereafter Nishino), US Pub. No. 2019/0303409 Oct 2019
As to claim 8, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati “visual display area comprises a data visualization area, and the data visual display area is configured to display data corresponding to the query condition, comprising: (Tunning: fig 3-4 – Tunning teaches visual query user interface particularly visual display area including menu options such as “file, edit, Actions and like)
“selected from a plurality of candidate icon types, selected from a plurality of candidate icon types (Tunning: fig 3-4 visual query user interface ribbon);
“configured to represent the data corresponding to the query condition” (Tunning: fig 3-4, element 408 representing query condition)
“displaying in the data visualization area” (Tunning: fig 3-4).
It is however, noted that Tunning, Nallapati do not disclose “visual display area comprises a chart function operation area and a data visualization area, the chart function operation area comprises a chart type menu
determining a target chart type in response to an interaction with the chart type menu, wherein the target chart type is a candidate chart type that is selected from a plurality of candidate icon types;
generating a target chart based on the target chart type, wherein the target chart is configured to represent the data corresponding to the query condition; and
displaying the target chart in the data visualization area”. On the other hand, Nishino disclosed “visual display area comprises a chart function operation area and a data visualization area, the chart function operation area comprises a chart type menu” (Nishino: 0069 – Nishino teaches visualization processing unit supports visualizing content including graphical elements for example graphs, maps and like particularly bar graph or bar chart, a bubble chart, a radar chart and like as detailed in 0069)
determining a target chart type in response to an interaction with the chart type menu, wherein the target chart type is a candidate chart type that is selected from a plurality of candidate icon types” (Nishino: fig 1, 0036),
“generating a target chart based on the target chart type, wherein the target chart is configured to represent the data corresponding to the query condition” (Nishino: fig 1, 0040 – Nishino teaches query template particularly query condition, query results and respective chart displayed on the display device as shown in fig 1);
“displaying the target chart in the data visualization area” (Nishino: fig 1)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention query template generating query and respective visualization of charts on the display of Nishino et al., into visual query statements generated for each query criteria of Tunning, interactively executing natural language queries and detect[ing] ambiguity of Nallapati et al., because all the prior art Tunning, Nallapati
because both Tunning, Nallapati and Nishino support user interface displaying query (Tunning: Abstract, fig 3-4; Nallapati: Abstract, fig 1-2, and Nishino: Abstract, fig 1), while Nishino also teaches query template (Nishino: fig 1), and they all are from the same field of endeavor. Because all the prior arts of Tunning, Nallapati, and Nishino teaches visual displaying query, it would have been obvious to one skill ed in the art to substitute and/or modify one method for the other particularly query condition(s) indicate data corresponding to the data items and respective search results generating visualized content including line chart, bar chart, bubble chart and like with the help of visualization processing unit (Nishino: fig 1, 0069), thereby dynamically display query result data items as visually information such as visual graph as shown in fig 1, thus improves overall quality and reliability of the search query result in graphical form.
As to claim 9, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati, and Nishino disclosed:
“performing, in response to an interaction with a target function operation control, an operation function corresponding to the target function operation control; and
wherein the target function operation control is a selected function operation control” (Tunning: 0026-0027, fig 2-3)
As to claim 10, the combination of Tunning,Nallapati and Nishino disclosed:” in response to determining that the target function operation control is a code query control, the operation function corresponding to the target function operation control comprises: (Tunning: 0026-0027, fig 2-3). On the other hand, Nishino disclosed “calling and displaying execution code for generating the target chart” (Nishino: fig 1, 0039-0040)
As to claim 11, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati and Nishino disclosed
“a function menu” (Tunning: fig 1, 3-4-visual query interface ribbon,0018)
the plurality of function operation controls comprises a first function operation control and a second function operation control, wherein the first function operation control , and the second function operation control is hidden in the function menu” (Tunning: 0026-0027, fig 2-3, 0028)
“the method further comprises:
displaying the second function operation control in response to an interaction with the function menu” (Tunning: fig 1, 3-4, 0018,0028)
On the other hand, Nishino disclosed “directly displayed in the chart function operation area” (Nishino : fig 1, 0039-0040)
As to claim 12, the combination of Tunning, Nallapati and Nishino disclosed “wherein the data visualization area further comprises a data anomaly control, the data anomaly control is configured to display an anomaly detection result in the query result, and the method further comprises” (Tunning: 0029-0031):
“displaying an anomaly detail page of the anomaly detection result in response to an interaction with the data anomaly control” (Tunning: 0031-0033).
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record
a. US Pub. No. 2005/0187911
b. US Pub. No. 2023/0325384
c. US Pub. No. 2005/0015368
c. US Pub. No. 2019/0303409
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-5] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984) In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201,73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). >See also MPEP §2123.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
The prior art made of record, listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Authorization for Internet Communications
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner's Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gorney, Boris, can be reached on (571) 270- 5626. The fax phone numbers for the organization where the application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300 Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)
/Srirama Channavajjala/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154