DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 18 August 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 9, 16, and 19-20 have been amended. Claims 4 and 12 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 9, and 20 being independent. All of the 112 rejections set forth in the previous final office action mailed 28 May 2026 are overcome by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation recites: “...the attachment portion comprises a magnet, and adhesive or a hook and loop fastener...,” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, no embodiment has been described in which both a magnet, and adhesive or a hook and loop fastener are utilized as the attachment portion. Paragraph [0048] of the instant disclosure also merely recites these features as alternatives and not explicitly as being used together. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, each of the limitations recite: “...wherein the reflective layer is a silver layer or a multilayer film structure...” which renders the claim indefinite. Independent claims 1 and 9 each have been amended to recite “...wherein the reflective layer and the transmissive layer are flexible and together define a sheet...wherein the sheet has a two-layer structure consisting of the reflective layer and the transmissive layer, wherein the transmissive layer directly contacts the first face of the reflective layer...” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to whether the reflective layer is able to comprise additional layers since the film is to consist of a two layer structure formed by the reflective layer and the transmissive layer. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: --...wherein the reflective layer is a silver layer
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claims 2 and 10, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al. (US 2021/0102685 A1, herein referred to as: Allen), in view of Cheng (US 2018/0266660 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Allen teaches or suggests a lamp component (Figs. 1-8), comprising: a reflective layer (20), having a first face (a first face upon which light reflects) and a second face (a second face carrying adhesive for attachment to a desired surface) which is opposite the first face (as shown in Figs. 1-8) and can be releasably attached to a predetermined position (by pulling the device off a surface and/or reapplication of adhesive on said second face if needed); fluorescent powder particles (paragraphs [0024]-[0026]); wherein the lamp component further comprises an attachment portion (adhesive, paragraph [0023] and claim 3) provided on the second face of the reflective layer and configured to attach the lamp component to the predetermined position (as shown in Figs. 1-8), and wherein when first light emitted from an external directional light source (e.g. 10) is incident on the lamp component from the transmissive layer, a part of the first light interacts with the fluorescent powder particles in the transmissive layer to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce second light of a desired color (e.g., paragraph [0024]).
Allen does not explicitly teach a transmissive layer, provided on the first face of the reflective layer, and the transmissive layer being doped with fluorescent powder particles, wherein the reflective layer and the transmissive layer are flexible and together define a sheet configured to be a multilayer film structure, wherein the sheet has a two-layer structure consisting of the reflective layer and the transmissive layer, wherein the transmissive layer directly contacts the first face of the reflective layer.
Cheng teaches or suggests (Figs. 2-3 and 7) a transmissive layer (12, 120), provided on the first face of the reflective layer (11), and the transmissive layer being doped with fluorescent powder particles (e.g. paragraphs [0019]-[0032]), wherein the reflective layer and the transmissive layer are flexible (as shown in Fig. 7) and together define a sheet configured to be a multilayer film structure (as shown in Figs. 2-3), wherein the sheet has a two-layer structure consisting of the reflective layer and the transmissive layer (as shown in Figs. 2-3), wherein the transmissive layer directly contacts the first face of the reflective layer (as shown in Figs. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of a transmissive layer, provided on the first face of the reflective layer, and the transmissive layer being doped with fluorescent powder particles, wherein the reflective layer and the transmissive layer are flexible and together define a sheet configured to be a multilayer film structure, wherein the sheet has a two-layer structure consisting of the reflective layer and the transmissive layer, wherein the transmissive layer directly contacts the first face of the reflective layer, such as taught or suggested by Cheng, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the appearance or noticeability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity or cost of manufacturing the product (e.g., by forming the device consisting of two layers).
Regarding claim 9, Allen teaches or suggests a lamp device (Figs. 1-8), comprising: a lamp component (20), the lamp component comprising: a reflective layer (20) having a first face (a first face reflecting light) and a second face which is opposite the first face and can be releasably attached to a predetermined position (a second face to which an adhesive backing is applied and can be releasably attached to a predetermined position, as shown in Figs. 1-8); fluorescent particles (paragraphs [0024]-[0026]); and wherein the lamp component further comprises an attachment portion (an adhesive backing, paragraph [0023]) provided on the second face of the reflective layer for attaching the lamp component to the predetermined position (as shown in Figs. 1-8); and a directional light source (10), configured to be able to emit first light to the reflective layer of the lamp component at a predetermined angle (as shown in Figs. 1-8); and wherein when the first light emitted from the directional light source is incident on the reflective layer (as shown in Figs. 1-8), a part of the first light interacts with the fluorescent powder particles in the reflective layer to excite the fluorescent powder particles (as shown in Figs. 1-8), to produce second light of a desired color (as described in paragraphs [0024]-[0026]).
Allen does not explicitly teach a transmissive layer, provided on the first face of the reflective layer, and the transmissive layer being doped with fluorescent powder particles; wherein the reflective layer and the transmissive layer are flexible and together define a sheet configured to be placed in a bent and folded manner during transportation, wherein the sheet has a two-layer structure consisting of the reflective layer and the transmissive layer, wherein the transmissive layer directly contacts the first face of the reflective layer.
Cheng teaches or suggests (Figs. 2-3 and 7) a transmissive layer (12, 120), provided on the first face of the reflective layer (11), and the transmissive layer being doped with fluorescent powder particles (e.g. paragraphs [0019]-[0032]), wherein the reflective layer and the transmissive layer are flexible (as shown in Fig. 7) and together define a sheet to be placed in a bent and folded manner during transportation (as shown in Fig. 7), wherein the sheet has a two-layer structure consisting of the reflective layer and the transmissive layer (as shown in Figs. 2-3), wherein the transmissive layer directly contacts the first face of the reflective layer (as shown in Figs. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of a transmissive layer, provided on the first face of the reflective layer, and the transmissive layer being doped with fluorescent powder particles; wherein the reflective layer and the transmissive layer are flexible and together define a sheet configured to be placed in a bent and folded manner during transportation, wherein the sheet has a two-layer structure consisting of the reflective layer and the transmissive layer, wherein the transmissive layer directly contacts the first face of the reflective layer, such as taught or suggested by Cheng, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the appearance or noticeability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity or cost of manufacturing the product (e.g., by forming the device consisting of two layers).
The combined teachings of Allen and Cheng teach or suggest (as modified above) the reflective layer and the transmissive layer configured to be cut by a user into patterns of different shapes (i.e., this limitation does not impart anything structurally to the reflective layer or the transmissive layer. Specifically, both layered structures cited in Allen or Cheng are flexible and can be cut by a user utilizing some form of cutting device as desired to suit the needs of the specific user without any such modification to said existing structures).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the reflective layer and the transmissive layer configured to be cut by a user into patterns of different shapes (e.g., by simply noting that a user can cut either layered structure of Allen and/or Cheng as desired, to their liking or style), since the courts have stated that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). In the instant case, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably motivated to increase the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing a configuration in which the device can shaped by the user to suit the desired application or event in which the device is being used).
Regarding claim 20, Allen teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-8) a lamp device (20), comprising: a flexible reflective light-emitting portion (20, paragraphs [0024]-[0026]) and a light source (10) portion away from the flexible reflective light-emitting portion (as shown in Figs. 1-8), fluorescent excitation substances (paragraphs [0024]-[0026]); and when first light emitted from the light source portion (10) is incident on the flexible reflective light-emitting portion (20), the fluorescent excitation substances are excited by the first light to produce second light (as described in paragraphs [0024]-[0026]), and the first light and the second light are mixed to emit light of a predetermined color outward (not all first light is absorbed, and some portion thereof is mixed with the second light to emit light of a predetermined color outward), wherein the flexible reflective light-emitting portion comprises an attachment portion (adhesive) provided on a face of the reflective layer opposite (to attach 20 to a surface, as shown in Figs. 1-8), wherein the light source portion (10) is separately mountable relative to the flexible reflective light-emitting portion (20) and is not mechanically connected to the flexible reflective light-emitting portion (as shown in Figs. 1-8).
Allen does not explicitly teach that the flexible reflective light-emitting portion has a reflective layer and a transmissive layer, and fluorescent excitation substances are provided in the transmissive layer.
Cheng teaches or suggests (Figs. 2-3 and 7) the flexible reflective light-emitting portion has a reflective layer (11) and a transmissive layer (12, 120), and fluorescent excitation substances (paragraphs [0019]-[0032]) are provided in the transmissive layer (as shown in Figs. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the flexible reflective light-emitting portion has a reflective layer and a transmissive layer, and fluorescent excitation substances are provided in the transmissive layer, such as taught or suggested by Cheng, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the appearance or noticeability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity or cost of manufacturing the product (e.g., by forming the device consisting of two layers).
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen, in view of Cheng, and in further view of Goldmann et al. (US 2021/0302003 A1, herein referred to as: Goldmann).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, as are best understood, neither Allen nor Cheng explicitly teach that the reflective layer is a silver layer or a multilayer film structure, and the reflectivity of the reflective layer is greater than 80%.
Goldmann teaches or suggests (paragraphs [0035]-[0039]) the reflective layer (134, 138) is a silver layer or a multilayer film structure (paragraphs [0035]-[0039]), and the reflectivity of the reflective layer (134, 138) is greater than 80% (as described in paragraphs [0035]-[0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the reflective layer is a silver layer or a multilayer film structure, and the reflectivity of the reflective layer is greater than 80%, such as taught or suggested by Goldmann, in order to improve the efficiency and/or performance of the device (e.g., by providing a highly reflective structure to increase the efficiency of light utilization of the device).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, neither Allen nor Cheng explicitly teach that the fluorescent powder particles comprise at least one of cerium doped yttrium aluminum garnet Ce:YAG, red phosphor of Mn4+ doped potassium fluorosilicate PFS, or YAlO3.
Goldmann teaches or suggests (paragraph [0039]) the fluorescent powder particles (within 132) comprise at least one of cerium doped yttrium aluminum garnet Ce:YAG (paragraph [0039]), red phosphor of Mn4+ doped potassium fluorosilicate PFS, or YAlO3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the fluorescent powder particles comprise at least one of cerium doped yttrium aluminum garnet Ce:YAG, red phosphor of Mn4+ doped potassium fluorosilicate PFS, or YAlO3, such as taught or suggested by Goldmann, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). In the instant case, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of producing the desired color or color temperature of light output from the device as suited for the intended application or environment.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen, in view of Cheng, and in further view of Sato et al. (US 2021/0131638 A1, herein referred to as: Sato).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, neither Allen nor Cheng explicitly teach that the external directional light source is a light source capable of emitting blue light, and the first light is blue light (as recited in claim 5); wherein a part of the first light interacting with the fluorescent powder particles in the transmissive layer to excite the fluorescent powder particles to produce second light of a desired color comprises at least one of the following: a first part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer directly interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color; and a second part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer transmits through the transmissive layer, is incident on the reflective layer, is reflected by the reflective layer and then interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color (as recited in claim 6).
Sato teaches the external directional light source is a light source capable of emitting blue light, and the first light is blue light (paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0089]); and wherein a part of the first light (portion Lb) interacting with the fluorescent powder particles in the transmissive layer to excite the fluorescent powder particles to produce second light of a desired color (L90), comprises at least one of the following: a first part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer directly interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color (at least some light rays Lb incident on the transmissive layer will directly interact with the fluorescent powder particles to produce the second light of a desired color); and a second part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer transmits through the transmissive layer, is incident on the reflective layer, is reflected by the reflective layer and then interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color (at least some light rays Lb incident on the transmissive layer will pass therethrough, be reflected by reflective layer 822, and then interact with the fluorescent powder particles to produce the second light of a desired color).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the external directional light source is a light source capable of emitting blue light, and the first light is blue light (as recited in claim 5); wherein a part of the first light interacting with the fluorescent powder particles in the transmissive layer to excite the fluorescent powder particles to produce second light of a desired color comprises at least one of the following: a first part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer directly interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color; and a second part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer transmits through the transmissive layer, is incident on the reflective layer, is reflected by the reflective layer and then interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color (as recited in claim 6), such as taught or suggested by Sato, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of producing the light output desired for the suited application, and/or improve or increase the marketability or safety of the device (e.g., by utilizing a blue light excitation source as opposed to a narrower band and UV light source).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen, in view of Cheng, and in further view of Hussell et al. (US 2010/0124243 A1, herein referred to as: Hussell).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Allen teaches or suggests the second light is yellow light, green light, red light or white light (paragraph [0024]).
Neither Allen nor Cheng explicitly teach that the luminous flux emitted from the lamp component is greater than 100 lumens.
Hussell teaches or suggests (paragraph [0037]) the luminous flux emitted from the lamp component is greater than 100 lumens (paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the luminous flux emitted from the lamp component is greater than 100 lumens, such as taught or suggested by Hussell, in order to produce the desired luminous output for the suited application.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen, in view of Cheng, and in further view of Elbanhawi (US 2024/0015871 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Allen teaches or suggests the attachment portion comprises an adhesive or a hook and loop fastener positioned on the second face of the reflective layer such that the lamp component is removable from and reattachable to the predetermined position (Allen teaches an adhesive backing to couple the reflective layer to a desired surface).
Neither Allen nor Cheng explicitly teach a magnet and an adhesive or a hook and loop fastener.
Elbanhawi teaches or suggests a magnet, and an adhesive or a hook and loop fastener positioned on the second face of the reflective layer such that the lamp component is removable from and reattachable to the predetermined position (paragraph [0027], as noted by combinations thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of a magnet and an adhesive or a hook and loop fastener, such as taught or suggested by Elbanhawi, in order to improve, or otherwise increase, the marketability, utility, and customizability of the device (e.g., by providing multiple attachment features to couple the device to a various surfaces or mounting positions).
Regarding claim 16, neither Allen nor Cheng explicitly teach that the attachment portion comprises a magnet or a hook and loop fastener positioned on the second face of the reflective layer such that the lamp component is attachable to the predetermined position.
Elbanhawi teaches or suggests the attachment portion comprises a magnet or a hook and loop fastener positioned on the second face of the reflective layer such that the lamp component is attachable to the predetermined position (paragraph [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the attachment portion comprises a magnet or a hook and loop fastener positioned on the second face of the reflective layer such that the lamp component is attachable to the predetermined position, such as taught or suggested by Elbanhawi, in order to improve, or otherwise increase, the marketability, utility, and customizability of the device (e.g., by providing attachment features to more easily remove and couple the device to a various surfaces or mounting positions).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen, in view of Cheng, and in further view of Sato et al. (US 2021/0131638 A1, herein referred to as: Sato).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, neither Allen nor Cheng explicitly teach that the directional light source is a light source capable of emitting blue light, and the first light is blue light (as recited in claim 13); wherein a part of the first light interacting with the fluorescent powder particles in the transmissive layer to excite the fluorescent powder particles to produce second light of a desired color comprises at least one of the following: a first part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer directly interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color; and a second part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer transmits through the transmissive layer, is incident on the reflective layer, is reflected by the reflective layer and then interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color (as recited in claim 14).
Sato teaches the directional light source is a light source capable of emitting blue light, and the first light is blue light (paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0089]); and wherein a part of the first light (portion Lb) interacting with the fluorescent powder particles in the transmissive layer to excite the fluorescent powder particles to produce second light of a desired color (L90), comprises at least one of the following: a first part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer directly interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color (at least some light rays Lb incident on the transmissive layer will directly interact with the fluorescent powder particles to produce the second light of a desired color); and a second part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer transmits through the transmissive layer, is incident on the reflective layer, is reflected by the reflective layer and then interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color (at least some light rays Lb incident on the transmissive layer will pass therethrough, be reflected by reflective layer 822, and then interact with the fluorescent powder particles to produce the second light of a desired color).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the external light source is a light source capable of emitting blue light, and the first light is blue light (as recited in claim 13); wherein a part of the first light interacting with the fluorescent powder particles in the transmissive layer to excite the fluorescent powder particles to produce second light of a desired color comprises at least one of the following: a first part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer directly interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color; and a second part light of the first light incident on the transmissive layer transmits through the transmissive layer, is incident on the reflective layer, is reflected by the reflective layer and then interacts with the fluorescent powder particles to excite the fluorescent powder particles, to produce the second light of a desired color (as recited in claim 14), such as taught or suggested by Sato, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of producing the light output desired for the suited application, and/or improve or increase the marketability or safety of the device (e.g., by utilizing a blue light excitation source as opposed to a narrower band and UV light source).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen, in view of Cheng and Elbanhawi, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Medendorp (US 2008/0198572 A1).
Regarding claims 17-18, neither Allen, Cheng, nor Elbanhawi explicitly teach that the lamp device further comprises: an L-shaped support frame, having a first support rod and a second support rod that is perpendicularly arranged in an L-shape with the first support rod; and a support plate, which is arranged at one end of the first support rod opposite the second support rod and is perpendicular to the first support rod, wherein the lamp component is attached to a face of the support plate facing the second support rod by the attachment portion, and the directional light source is provided at one end of the second support rod opposite the first support rod and can emit the first light to the transmissive layer of the lamp component at the predetermined angle (as recited in claim 17); wherein the directional light source is offset from the lamp component by a predetermined distance in a horizontal direction, or directly below the lamp component (as recited in claim 18).
Medendorp teaches or suggests (Fig. 1) the lamp device further comprises: an L-shaped support frame (111), having a first support rod (the vertical portion of 111 between the two horizontal portions) and a second support rod (the lower horizontal portion connected to 103) that is perpendicularly arranged in an L-shape with the first support rod (as shown in Fig. 1); and a support plate (the upper horizontal portion), which is arranged at one end of the first support rod opposite the second support rod (as shown in Fig. 1) and is perpendicular to the first support rod (as shown in Fig. 1), wherein the lamp component (107, 109) is attached to a face of the support plate facing the second support rod by the attachment portion (as shown in Fig. 1), and the directional light source (101a-101c, 103, and 105) is provided at one end of the second support rod opposite the first support rod (as shown in Fig. 1) and can emit the first light to the transmissive layer of the lamp component at the predetermined angle (as shown in Fig. 1), wherein the directional light source is offset from the lamp component by a predetermined distance in a horizontal direction, or directly below the lamp component (as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of the lamp device further comprises: an L-shaped support frame, having a first support rod and a second support rod that is perpendicularly arranged in an L-shape with the first support rod; and a support plate, which is arranged at one end of the first support rod opposite the second support rod and is perpendicular to the first support rod, wherein the lamp component is attached to a face of the support plate facing the second support rod by the attachment portion, and the directional light source is provided at one end of the second support rod opposite the first support rod and can emit the first light to the transmissive layer of the lamp component at the predetermined angle (as recited in claim 17), wherein the directional light source is offset from the lamp component by a predetermined distance in a horizontal direction, or directly below the lamp component (as recited in claim 18), such as taught or suggested by Medendorp, in order to improve the performance of the device (e.g., by providing a connection feature to prevent movement between the light source and the reflective light-emitting portion), and/or reduce the complexity of assembling the device (e.g., by providing a connection feature to maintain pre-alignment or relative positioning of the light source and the reflective light-emitting portion).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen, in view of Cheng and Elbanhawi, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Di Trapani et al. (US 2018/0066826 A1, herein referred to as: Di Trapani).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings of Allen, Cheng, and Elbanhawi teach or suggest, as modified in claim 16 above, wherein the lamp component is removable from a mounting surface and replaceable with another lamp component without removing the directional light source from the floor or the side wall (all of the devices listed above are coupled to mounting surfaces with removable fasteners, being adhesive, hook and loop [Velcro], or magnets, and thus, all are removable from any surface to which they are attached without the need for removing the directional light source from its corresponding mounting position).
Neither Allen, Cheng, nor Elbanhawi explicitly teach that when installed, the lamp component is attached to a ceiling of a room via the attachment portion, and the directional light source is located on a floor of the room directly below the lamp component or on a side wall of the room.
Di Trapani teaches or suggests (Fig. 11B) when installed, the lamp component (706) is attached to a ceiling of a room via an attachment portion (as shown in Fig. 11B), and the directional light source (702) is located on a floor of the room directly below the lamp component or on a side wall of the room (as shown in Fig. 11B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Allen and incorporated the teachings of when installed, the lamp component is attached to a ceiling of a room via the attachment portion, and the directional light source is located on a floor of the room directly below the lamp component or on a side wall of the room, such as taught or suggested by Di Trapani, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In the instant case, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to improve, or otherwise increase, the utility, marketability, and/or customizability of the device (e.g., by providing an embodiment in which the device can be utilized to illuminate reflective features on a ceiling of a room as desired for the suited application).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875