DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN110259960 (“Han”).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a fire-resistant globe valve, comprising:
a valve body (1) defining an inlet (left port of body 1, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), an outlet (right port of body 1, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and a flow path extending between the inlet and the outlet;
a valve seat (surface against which plug, 6 & 15, abuts in closed configuration of figs. 1 and 2) located along the flow path between the inlet and the outlet;
a stem (4) comprising a first end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) and a second end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1);
a plug (6 and 15) coupled to the second end of the stem, wherein the plug comprises a plug body (6) and a seat disc (15), wherein the seat disc is coupled to the plug body, and wherein the seat disc is configured to sealingly engage the valve seat in a first closed position (see position of figs. 1 and 2) of the plug; and
one or more springs (pair of springs 52; see fig. 2) positioned between and engaging the second end of the stem and the plug body, wherein the one or more springs are configured to bias the plug body to sealingly engage the valve seat in a second closed position of the plug when the seat disc deforms from exposure to fire conditions (biasing force of springs 52 with sliding blocks 53 and linkages 54 apply force in sealing direction on plug body 6).
Regarding claim 11, Han discloses the plug body (6) includes an outer rim (bottom radially outer peripheral wall of plug body 6, relative to the orientation of fig. 2) that at least partially defines a groove (groove within which seat disc 15 is, at least partially, disposed) in which the seat disc (15) is received, and wherein a portion of the seat disc extends beyond a lower end of the outer rim (see fig. 2) when the seat disc is received by the groove.
Regarding claim 15, Han discloses an actuator (12) coupled to the first end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) of the stem (4) to actuate the plug (6 & 15) between the first closed position (position of fig. 1) and an open position (position where plug, 6 & 15, allows flow through valve), wherein the actuator is a wheel (“rotating handle”).
Regarding claim 16, Han discloses a fire-resistant globe valve, comprising:
a valve seat (surface against which plug, 6 & 15, abuts in closed configuration of figs. 1 and 2);
a stem (4);
a plug (6 & 15) coupled to the stem, wherein the plug comprises a plug body (6) and a seat disc (15), wherein the seat disc is coupled to the plug body, and wherein the seat disc is configured to sealingly engage the valve seat in a first closed position (closed position illustrated in figs. 1 and 2) of the plug; and
one or more springs (pair of springs 52; see fig. 2) positioned between and engaging the stem and the plug body, wherein the one or more springs are configured to bias the plug body to sealingly engage the valve seat in a second closed position of the plug when the seat disc deforms from exposure to fire conditions (biasing force of springs 52 with sliding blocks 53 and linkages 54 apply force in sealing direction on plug body 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of CA3209007 (“Giuliano”).
Regarding claim 2, Han discloses each of the one or more springs (pair of springs 52; see fig. 2) as claimed except for each of the one or more springs being a preloaded disc spring.
However, Giuliano teaches (see fig. 2) a biasing mechanism which is a stack of preloaded disc springs (36, 36’).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Han by replacing each coil spring with a stack of preloaded disc springs, as taught by Giuliano, to have a biasing mechanism with a compact with high load capacity.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Han and Giuliano discloses the one or more springs (Han, 52, as modified by Giuliano, 36 & 36’, above) includes a first spring (Giuliano, upwardly tapered spring discs of stack of spring discs, 36 & 36’; see fig. 2) and a second spring (Giuliano, downwardly tapered spring discs of stack of spring discs, 36 & 36’; see fig. 2), wherein the first spring engages the second spring and the second end (Han, bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) of the stem (Han, 4), and wherein the second spring engages the first spring and the plug body (Han, 6; via sliding blocks 53 and linkages 54).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Han and Giuliano discloses the first spring is in a mirrored orientation with respect to the second spring (Giuliano, stack of springs, 36 & 36’, comprises opposingly tapered disc springs; see fig. 2).
Claims 5, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of GB930908 (“Hardcastle”).
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 8, Han discloses the invention as claimed except for the plug body including an inner surface that defines a cavity, wherein the second end of the stem extends into the cavity, and wherein the one or more springs are located in and engages the cavity; and
wherein the stem includes a flange at the second end, wherein the plug body includes a lip at a cavity inlet of the cavity, and wherein the lip of the plug body is configured to overlap the flange of the stem to connect the plug to the second end of the stem.
Hardcastle teaches (see figs. 3 and 4) assembling a stem (10) with a plug body (mainly defined by 19 and 32), wherein the plug body includes an inner surface that defines a cavity (31), wherein a second end (end comprising flange 30) of the stem extends into the cavity (see figs. 3 and 4), and wherein the one or more springs (33) are located in and engage(s) the cavity (see figs. 3 and 4); and wherein the stem includes a flange (30) at the second end, wherein the plug body includes a lip (defined by nut 32) at a cavity inlet (channel through which stem 10 extends) of the cavity, and wherein the lip of the plug body is configured to overlap the flange of the stem to connect the plug body (mainly defined by 19 and 32) of a plug (mainly defined by 19, 22 and 32) to the second end of the stem.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Hardcastle by configuring the connection between the plug and the stem so that the plug body includes an inner surface that defines a cavity, wherein the second end of the stem extends into the cavity, and wherein the one or more springs are located in and engages the cavity; and wherein the stem includes a flange at the second end, wherein the plug body includes a lip at a cavity inlet of the cavity, and wherein the lip of the plug body is configured to overlap the flange of the stem to connect the plug to the second end of the stem, taught by Hardcastle, to more easily assemble and disassemble the plug body and the stem.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US11428329 (“Slattery”).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Han discloses a seal is formed when the seat disc (15) engages the valve seat (seat against which plug, 6 &15, abut; see figs. 1 and 2) in the first closed position (see figs. 1 and 2) of the plug (6 & 15), and a seal is formed when the plug body (6 & 15) engages the valve seat in the second closed position of the plug (via bias of springs 52, slide blocks 53 and linkages 54).
Han is silent to the valve seat being composed of metallic material and the seat disc being composed of thermoplastic material such that a thermoplastic-to-metal seal is formed when the seat disc engages the valve seat in the first closed position of the plug, and wherein the plug body is composed of metallic material such that a metal-to-metal seal is formed when the plug body engages the valve seat in the second closed position of the plug.
However, Slattery teaches a valve body (102) defining a valve seat (120) composed of metallic material (see specification col. 5, lines 8-19) and a seat disc (118) is composed of thermoplastic material (see specification col. 3, line 61, through col. 4, line 4) such that a thermoplastic-to-metal seal is formed when the seat disc engages the valve seat, and wherein a plug body (108) is composed of metallic material (see specification col. 5, lines 8-19) such that a metal-to-metal seal is formed when the plug body engages the valve seat.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Han by forming the valve body and valve seat from metallic material, the seat disc from thermoplastic material and the plug body from metallic material, as taught by Slattery, to be resistant to higher pressures and temperatures.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of KR20180044509 (“Song”).
Regarding claim 12, Han discloses the valve seat including an upper surface (planar surface against which plug, 6 & 15, abut; see figs. 1 and 2) and angled surface (cylindrical surface extending downward, relative to the orientation of fig. 2, from plug, 6 & 15) that extends downwardly (downwardly, relative to the orientation of fig. 2) from the upper surface.
Han does not disclose the angled surface extending inwardly and downwardly from the upper surface.
Song teaches (see fig. 2) a valve seat including an upper surface (surface abutting seat disc 13) and an angled surface (beveled surface disposed between planar upper surface and cylindrical surface of channel 11a), the angled surface extending inwardly (radially inwardly) and downwardly from the upper surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Song by configuring the angled surface of the valve seat to extend radially inwardly and downwardly from the upper surface, as taught by Song, to allow for smoother transition of fluid across the valve seat.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Slattery.
Regarding claim 17, Han discloses a seal is formed when the seat disc (15) engages the valve seat (seat against which plug, 6 &15, abut; see figs. 1 and 2) in the first closed position (see figs. 1 and 2) of the plug (6 & 15), and a seal is formed when the plug body (6 & 15) engages the valve seat in the second closed position of the plug (via bias of springs 52, slide blocks 53 and linkages 54).
Han is silent to the valve seat being composed of metallic material and the seat disc being composed of thermoplastic material such that a thermoplastic-to-metal seal is formed when the seat disc engages the valve seat in the first closed position of the plug, and wherein the plug body is composed of metallic material such that a metal-to-metal seal is formed when the plug body engages the valve seat in the second closed position of the plug.
However, Slattery teaches a valve body (102) defining a valve seat (120) composed of metallic material (see specification col. 5, lines 8-19) and a seat disc (118) is composed of thermoplastic material (see specification col. 3, line 61, through col. 4, line 4) such that a thermoplastic-to-metal seal is formed when the seat disc engages the valve seat, and wherein a plug body (108) is composed of metallic material (see specification col. 5, lines 8-19) such that a metal-to-metal seal is formed when the plug body engages the valve seat.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Han by forming the valve body and valve seat from metallic material, the seat disc from thermoplastic material and the plug body from metallic material, as taught by Slattery, to be resistant to higher pressures and temperatures.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Song.
Regarding claim 18, Han discloses the plug body includes an outer rim (radially outer rim of a bottom surface of plug body, relative to the orientation of fig. 2) that at least partially defines a groove in which the seat disc (15) is received, wherein a portion of the seat disc extends beyond a lower end of the outer rim (see figs. 1 and 2) when the seat disc is received by the groove (see figs. 1 and 2), and wherein the valve seat includes an upper surface (planar surface against which plug, 6 & 15, abut; see figs. 1 and 2) and angled surface (cylindrical surface extending downward, relative to the orientation of fig. 2, from plug, 6 & 15) that extends downwardly (downwardly, relative to the orientation of fig. 2) from the upper surface.
Han does not disclose the angled surface extending inwardly and downwardly from the upper surface.
Song teaches (see fig. 2) a valve seat including an upper surface (surface abutting seat disc 13) and an angled surface (beveled surface disposed between planar upper surface and cylindrical surface of channel 11a), the angled surface extending inwardly (radially inwardly) and downwardly from the upper surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Song by configuring the angled surface of the valve seat to extend radially inwardly and downwardly from the upper surface, as taught by Song, to allow for smoother transition of fluid across the valve seat.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the fire-resistant globe valve, further comprising an insert that is coupled to the second end of the stem, wherein the inner surface of the plug body further defines a recess that at least partially receives the insert, and wherein the insert extends through the one or more springs to retain the one or more springs in place between the second end of the stem and the inner surface of the plug body, in further combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the fire-resistant globe valve, wherein the seat disc is configured to engage the angled surface of the valve seat in the first closed position of the plug, and wherein a gap is formed between the lower end of the outer rim of the plug body and the upper surface of the valve seat when the seat disc engages the angled surface in the first closed position of the plug, in further combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 is allowable because it depends on allowable claim 13.
Regarding claim 19, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the fire-resistant globe valve, wherein the seat disc is configured to engage the angled surface of the valve seat in the first closed position of the plug, and wherein a gap is formed between the lower end of the outer rim of the plug body and the upper surface of the valve seat when the seat disc engages the angled surface in the first closed position of the plug, in further combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowable because it depends on allowable claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. GB731636 and US8186377 disclose a valve device having a high pressure seal and a low pressure seal. US5878993 discloses a globe valve seal having a sleeve shield. CA3209007 discloses a fire resistant pressure reducing valve.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753