Detailed Action
This Office Action is made in reply to Application 18/988,227 filed 19 December 2024. As originally filed, Claims 1 – 20 are presented for examination.
Specification
The use of the term AIRPLAYTM, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 contains the trademark/trade name “airplay” in line 6. Claim 11 contains the trademark/trade name “airplay” in lines 4 - 5. Claim 12 contains the trademark/trade name “airplay” in lines 3 and 5. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a content casting protocol/application and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 17 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if all other rejections were overcome and the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray, US Pub. 2021/0409831 A1 (hereinafter Murray) in view of Yoden, US Pub. 2019/0320219 A1 (hereinafter Yoden).
In regards to Claim 1, Murray discloses display apparatus, comprising:
a communicating device, comprising a WiFi module and a Bluetooth module and configured to communicate with a casting data source device (Murray: [0056], network communication module for connecting remote control device to other devices, such as casting devices, and various networks, such as the Internet, WAN, LAN, etc.; [0039], where data communication may use a variety of protocols, e.g. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc.; [0042], where network devices communicate via communication networks, such as Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc.);
a display, configured to display an image from a broadcast system and/or a network, and/or a user interface (Murray: Fig. 1 and [0034], display device 106 which includes a TV display and STB; Fig. 4 and [0066], user interface module 420);
a memory, configured to store computer instructions and data associated with the display (Murray: [0009], where an Internet-connected display device includes memory storing programs to be executed and instructions for implementing operations associated with displaying content); and
a processor, communicating with the communicating device, the display, and the memory; wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform (Murray: [0009], where an electronic device includes processors that execute instructions for implementing operations):
in response to a channel-switching instruction, switching from a current channel to a casting channel (Murray: [0118]-[0119], where a second Internet content channel is identified via user buttons on a remote control. The remote control device provides information of the second Internet content channel directly to the casting device via a short-range communication link or a local area network; [0047], where the remote control enable switching channels including switching through a sequence of programs of a specific Internet content channel);
in response to a casting instruction sent from the casting data source device, checking a network status of the Wi-Fi module and a casting switch status (Murray: Fig. 1 and [0042], where a hub device is coupled to a network and the hub device is coupled to various network-connected devices including casting devices which communicate via communication networks, e.g. Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc. Devices coupled to the hub, such as casting devices, can be controlled and/or interacted with via an application running on a smart phone which application can view status of the network-connected devices);
controlling the Wi-Fi module to enable network connection (Murray: [0045], where the casting device is communicatively coupled to the display device; [0043], where [0042], where devices newly introduced to the home network can be configured to interoperate with the hub; Fig. 1 and [0039], where in regards to network devices including casting devices 108, data communications may be carried out using any of a variety of custom or standard or wireless protocols, e.g. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc.; [0043], where communication is facilitated with casting devices via short-range communication link or local area networks); and/or in response to the casting switch status indicating that a casting switch is off, controlling the casting switch to be turned on (Murray: [0007], where the remote control is disposed in proximity to a display device and casting device; [0086], where the remote control module determines the proximity of the client device based on proximity related information that is detected by the proximity detection unit; [0007], where the remote control includes a quick cast button); and
obtaining casting data sent from the casting data source device via the target network, and controlling the display to display the casting data on an interface for the casting channel (Murray: [0120], where the casting device receives tuning information for a second Internet content channel and executes a receiver application corresponding to the second Internet content channels for displaying the media content on the display device; Fig. 13 and [0138], where the cast device host sends a media play command to instruct the casting device to play the second media content item and the casting device executes a second receiver application to enable display of the second media content item on the display device; [0139], where the cast device host provides information of media items to the display device via the casting device and the casting device enables display of the information of the media items on the display device; [0076], where casting device settings stores information associated with user accounts of the casting device application; [0087], where casting device data stores data associated with control of media display on the display device). But Murray does not explicitly disclose in response to the network status indicating that the network is disconnected, controlling the Wi-Fi module to enable network connection and to connect to a target network.
Yoden from a similar endeavor teaches in response to the network status indicating that the network is disconnected, enable network connection and to connect to a target network (Yoden: [0227], where if a media playback device has been turned off or disconnected from LAN 2, It can be turned on again and/or connected to LAN 2 again).
User equipment can cast media content to a media playback device over a local area network (LAN) where a local media content item stored on the cast device can be cast or the device may cast an online media content item stored on a remote server to the media playback device, (Yoden: [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murray in view of Yoden such that if a media playback device has been turned off or disconnected from a LAN, it can be turned on again or connect to the LAN again, (Yoden: [0227]). This addresses improvement, enhancement, or argumentation of wireless communication services with greater flexibility and efficiency, (Yoden: [0004]).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden discloses display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
after checking the network status and the casting switch status and before controlling the casting switch to be turned on, in response to the casting switch status indicating that the casting switch is off, controlling the display to display a casting switch setting interface, wherein the casting switch setting interface comprises a casting switch control (Murray: [0007], where the remote control is disposed in proximity to a display device and casting device; [0086], where the remote control module determines the proximity of the client device based on proximity related information that is detected by the proximity detection unit; [0007], where the remote control includes a quick cast button);
obtaining a second input for turning on the casting switch on the casting switch control in the casting switch setting interface from a user (Murray: [0045], where media control operations are initiated on the remote control device but are partially implemented by the casting device that is coupled to the display device; Yoden: where casting of a linked media item may be initiated using the first and second icons on the GUI);
in response to the second input, controlling the casting switch to be turned on (Murray: [0045], where the remote control device receives a user actuation on the first user button and the casting device causes media content to be displayed on the display device; Yoden: Fig. 7A and [0140], where a cast request message invokes streaming of media content on an associated a media playback device).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden discloses display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
after checking the network status of the Wi-Fi module and the casting switch status and before obtaining the casting data sent from the casting data source device via the target network and controlling the display to display the casting data on the interface for the casting channel, checking a resource update status in response to the casting instruction (Murray: [0126], where an update command may request an update of the preferred channel list in the casting device);
in response to the resource update status indicating no resource update, downloading a casting resource of a target version (Murray: [0123], where a preferred channel list could be downloaded from the remote server every time the casting device is powered on); and
performing resource updating based on the casting resource of the target version (Murray: [0126], where a preferred channel could be updated to the casting device).
In regards to Claim 20, Murray discloses control method for a display apparatus, comprising:
in response to a channel-switching instruction, switching from a current channel to a casting channel (Murray: [0118]-[0119], where a second Internet content channel is identified via user buttons on a remote control. The remote control device provides information of the second Internet content channel directly to the casting device via a short-range communication link or a local area network; [0047], where the remote control enable switching channels including switching through a sequence of programs of a specific Internet content channel);
in response to a casting instruction sent from the casting data source device, checking a network status of the Wi-Fi module and a casting switch status (Murray: Fig. 1 and [0042], where a hub device is coupled to a network and the hub device is coupled to various network-connected devices including casting devices which communicate via communication networks, e.g. Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc. Devices coupled to the hub, such as casting devices, can be controlled and/or interacted with via an application running on a smart phone which application can view status of the network-connected devices);
controlling the Wi-Fi module to enable network connection (Murray: [0045], where the casting device is communicatively coupled to the display device; [0043], where [0042], where devices newly introduced to the home network can be configured to interoperate with the hub; Fig. 1 and [0039], where in regards to network devices including casting devices 108, data communications may be carried out using any of a variety of custom or standard or wireless protocols, e.g. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc.; [0043], where communication is facilitated with casting devices via short-range communication link or local area networks); and/or in response to the casting switch status indicating that a casting switch is off, controlling the casting switch to be turned on (Murray: [0007], where the remote control is disposed in proximity to a display device and casting device; [0086], where the remote control module determines the proximity of the client device based on proximity related information that is detected by the proximity detection unit; [0007], where the remote control includes a quick cast button); and
obtaining casting data sent from the casting data source device via the target network, and controlling the display to display the casting data on an interface for the casting channel (Murray: [0120], where the casting device receives tuning information for a second Internet content channel and executes a receiver application corresponding to the second Internet content channels for displaying the media content on the display device; Fig. 13 and [0138], where the cast device host sends a media play command to instruct the casting device to play the second media content item and the casting device executes a second receiver application to enable display of the second media content item on the display device; [0139], where the cast device host provides information of media items to the display device via the casting device and the casting device enables display of the information of the media items on the display device; [0076], where casting device settings stores information associated with user accounts of the casting device application; [0087], where casting device data stores data associated with control of media display on the display device). But Murray does not explicitly disclose in response to the network status indicating that the network is disconnected, controlling the Wi-Fi module to enable network connection and to connect to a target network.
Yoden from a similar endeavor in response to the network status indicating that the network is disconnected, controlling the Wi-Fi module to enable network connection and to connect to a target network (Yoden: [0227], where if a media playback device has been turned off or disconnected from LAN 2, It can be turned on again and/or connected to LAN 2 again).
User equipment can cast media content to a media playback device over a local area network (LAN) where a local media content item stored on the cast device can be cast or the device may cast an online media content item stored on a remote server to the media playback device, (Yoden: [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murray in view of Yoden such that if a media playback device has been turned off or disconnected from a LAN, it can be turned on again or connect to the LAN again, (Yoden: [0227]). This addresses improvement, enhancement, or argumentation of wireless communication services with greater flexibility and efficiency, (Yoden: [0004]).
Claim(s) 2 – 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Yoden as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Baron et al., US Pub. 2018/0213478 A1 (hereinafter Baron).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden discloses display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
after controlling the WiFi module to enable the network connection and connecting to the target network, and before obtaining the casting data sent from the casting data source device via the target network and controlling the display to display the casting data on the interface for the casting channel, controlling the display to display a first prompt indicating that the network connection is being enabled and the network being connected (Yoden: [0141], where an acknowledgement message is issued indicating a positive reply for acceptance of streaming from the cast device; [0172], where notification messages can indicate the changing status of selected media playback devices from “available” to “occupied”);
determining, within a preset time, whether the network connection is successful (Yoden: [0221], where if the connection between the cast device and the display device is lost or accidentally stopped for some reason, the cast may be resumed upon discovering the playback device within a predetermined time period after the accidental termination);
in response to that the network connection fails, controlling the display to display a network setting interface (Yoden: [0222], where it is determined if the WLAN communication is kept established or is determined to be lost). But the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden fail to explicitly disclose wherein the network setting interface comprises a network switch control and identifiers of a plurality of available networks; receiving a selection input on a target network identifier from a user on the network setting interface; and in response to the selection input, attempting to connect to the target network indicated by the target network identifier.
Baron from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the network setting interface comprises a network switch control and identifiers of a plurality of available networks; receiving a selection input on a target network identifier from a user on the network setting interface (Baron: Fig. 2A and [0042], where before a device is successfully paired with a network receiver, an available networks pane 222 is populated listing nearby Wi-Fi networks, for example, Tom’s Home 208, BananStand 218 and Mike’s Home 220; Fig. 2A and [0045], where a user may select Tom” Home network 208 from the listed available networks); and
in response to the selection input, attempting to connect to the target network indicated by the target network identifier (Baron: Fig. 2A and [0045], where upon selecting Tom’s Home network 208, the device 202 may exchange data with the network receiver and the network receiver may initiate a Bluetooth pairing step; [0046], where data is exchanged to determine if the device and the network are compatible and if so, the network receiver may transmit a Bluetooth pairing request to the device; Fig. 2C, [0047], where once the device accepts the BT pairing request, then the device may pair with the network receiver according to the Bluetooth pairing protocol).
Because of its broad transmission range, faster connection, and larger bandwidth capabilities, Wi-Fi is optimal for operating full-scale networks that transfer and receive large amounts of data, (Baron: [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden in view of Baron such that when connecting devices for casting in a local network, the user is able to select from a list of available nearby networks, (Baron: [0042]). This automatically triggering of connections to the network receivers via WiFi signals helps to optimize the user experience by automating tedious and inconvenient processes, (Baron: [0032]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden discloses display apparatus according to claim 1. The combined teaching of Murray and Yoden fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform: after checking the network status of the Wi-Fi module and the casting switch status and before controlling the Wi-Fi module to enable the network connection and connecting to the target network, in response to the network status indicating that the network is disconnected, controlling the display to display a network setting interface, wherein the network setting interface comprises a network switch control and identifiers of a plurality of available networks.
Baron from a similar endeavor teach after checking the network status of the Wi-Fi module and the casting switch status and before controlling the Wi-Fi module to enable the network connection and connecting to the target network, in response to the network status indicating that the network is disconnected, controlling the display to display a network setting interface, wherein the network setting interface comprises a network switch control and identifiers of a plurality of available networks (Baron: Fig. 2A and [0042], where before a device is successfully paired with a network receiver, an available networks pane 222 is populated listing nearby Wi-Fi networks, for example, Tom’s Home 208, BananStand 218 and Mike’s Home 220; Fig. 2A and [0045], where a user may select Tom” Home network 208 from the listed available networks);
obtaining a first input for enabling the network connection on the network switch control in the network setting interface from a user (Baron: [0045], where a user may select Tom” Home network 208 from the listed available networks);
in response to the first input, controlling the WiFi module to enable the network connection and connecting to the target network (Baron: Fig. 2A and [0045], where upon selecting Tom’s Home network 208, the device 202 may exchange data with the network receiver and the network receiver may initiate a Bluetooth pairing step; [0046], where data is exchanged to determine if the device and the network are compatible and if so, the network receiver may transmit a Bluetooth pairing request to the device; Fig. 2C, [0047], where once the device accepts the BT pairing request, then the device may pair with the network receiver according to the Bluetooth pairing protocol).
Because of its broad transmission range, faster connection, and larger bandwidth capabilities, Wi-Fi is optimal for operating full-scale networks that transfer and receive large amounts of data, (Baron: [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden in view of Baron such that when connecting devices for casting in a local network, the user is able to select from a list of available nearby networks, (Baron: [0042]). This automatically triggering of connections to the network receivers via WiFi signals helps to optimize the user experience by automating tedious and inconvenient processes, (Baron: [0032]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden discloses display apparatus according to claim 5. But the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the casting resource comprises a casting key, and the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform: while obtaining the casting data sent from the casting data source device via the target network and controlling the display to display the casting data on the interface for the casting channel, decrypting the casting data sent from the casting data source device using an updated casting key, and controlling the display to display decrypted casting data.
Baron from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the casting resource comprises a casting key (Baron: Fig. 1B and [0037], where the information exchanged between devices before pairing could include a link key), and the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
while obtaining the casting data sent from the casting data source device via the target network and controlling the display to display the casting data on the interface for the casting channel, decrypting the casting data sent from the casting data source device using an updated casting key, and controlling the display to display decrypted casting data (Baron: [0037], where data exchanged while pairing two devices could include a shared secret known as a link key defined as a cryptographically unique identifier that is shared only between the two devices).
Because of its broad transmission range, faster connection, and larger bandwidth capabilities, Wi-Fi is optimal for operating full-scale networks that transfer and receive large amounts of data, (Baron: [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden in view of Baron such that when connecting devices for casting in a local network, the user is able to select from a list of available nearby networks, (Baron: [0042]). This automatically triggering of connections to the network receivers via WiFi signals helps to optimize the user experience by automating tedious and inconvenient processes, (Baron: [0032]).
Claim(s) 7 – 8 and 13 - 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Yoden as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hierro et al., US Pub. 2013/0283393 A1 (hereinafter Hierro).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching of Murray and Yoden discloses display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
receiving a return instruction generated by the user operating a return button on a control device (Murray: Fig. 3 and [0051], where actuating a home button 304 on the remote control controls the display device to display a home screen); and
based on determining that the display is showing the casting information page, controlling the display to switch to a specified page (Murray: [0051], where the home button functions as a quick cast button to enable immediate play of media content provided by a specific Internet content channel). But the combination of Murray and Yoden fails to explicitly disclose in response to the return instruction, determining whether the display is showing a casting information page which meets a requirement of an airplay protocol.
Hierro from a similar endeavor in combination with Murray and Yoden teaches in response to the return instruction, determining whether the display is showing a casting information page which meets a requirement of an airplay protocol (Hierro: [0204], where many mobile phones stream content wirelessly, for instance, to an AirPlay enable receiver, as the Apple AirPlay protocol allows streaming; Murray: [0034], where the display device includes a regular TV display that is coupled to a TV box, e.g. Google TV or Apple TV products).
If a specific player request by a DRM scheme when streaming multimedia content is not the native player of the user device, the performance of the digital content reproduction may be reduced, (Hierro: [0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murray and Yoden in view of Hierro such that media can be streamed on a user device via Apple AirPlay protocol, (Hierro: [0204]). By using the native player of the operating system, the performance of rendering a movie may be improved, (Hierro: [0019]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro discloses display apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
while controlling the display to switch to the specified page, determining a data source object that is active before the display apparatus displaying the casting information page (Murray: [0116], where a first Internet content channel is currently being displayed on the display device via a casting device and information of the first Internet content channel is obtained from the casting device coupled to the display device); and
controlling the display to switch to a specified page corresponding to the data source object (Murray:[0119], where a channel change request for a second Internet content channel is sent to the casting device which executes a media receiver application corresponding to the second Internet content channel and receives the media content for display on the display device);
wherein different data source objects correspond to different specified pages (Murray: [0120], where the casting device receives Internet tuning information for the second Internet content channel for displaying the media content provided by the second Internet content channel. The casting device executes a distinct receiver application to enable display of each Internet content channel of the sequence of Internet content channels).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro discloses display apparatus according to claim 7, wherein
the memory is further configured to write a service credential to a preset storage location of the display apparatus (Murray: [0113], where User credentials are verified by the server and confirms approved devices; Hierro: [0201], where credentials are generated and are passed from the DRM Fusion Agent when launching the native media player);
the communicating device is further configured to send a credential acquisition request carrying a first device signature to a server, wherein the credential acquisition request is used for requesting the server to return a service credential corresponding to the display apparatus to the display apparatus based on the server determining that the display apparatus has passed authentication according to the first device signature, and receive the service credential sent from the server (Murray: [0113], where user credentials are verified by the server and server confirms approved devices; Hierro: [0201], where credentials are generated and are passed from the DRM Fusion Agent when launching the native media player; Hierro: [0196], where model key is used to create a device unique key the first time the application is initialized. The device key or the certificate is used for authenticating to PlayReady servers during license acquisition);
the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
generating the first device signature based on a first encryption key written to the display apparatus (Murray: Fig. 6B and [0110], where the device register store a device identification ID for each user device associated with the user account; Hierro: [0049], where DRM server generates the key for the encryption process within the client site and for the decryption process within the user device).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro discloses display apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
encrypting a first file with the first encryption key to obtain a first encrypted file (Hierro: [0089], where content that is being segmented live can be encrypted user encryption keys from the key file; [0092], where a file is encrypted and stored in output directory if not already there);
obtaining abstract information of the first file based on a preset algorithm (Murray: Fig. 6B and [0110], where a device identification, a device type, a device manufacturer ID and an IP address for each user device associated with the user account is stored);
generating the first device signature based on the first encrypted file and the abstract information (Hierro: [0191], database encrypts all keys stored in the HDS using keys derived from the unique device private key. The unique device private key and certificate is created at the run time).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro discloses display apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the communicating device is further configured to send an authentication request carrying a second device signature and receive a authentication response from the server; wherein the authentication request is used for requesting the server to authenticate the display apparatus based on the second device signature (Hierro: [0196], where the model key is used to create a device unique key the first time the application is initialized. The device key or the certificate is used for authenticating during license acquisition);
the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
after writing the first encryption key to the display apparatus, generating the second device signature based on the first encryption key (Hierro: [0191], where secret keys and licenses are stored. The database encrypts all keys using keys derived from the unique device private key, which unique device private key and certificate is created at the run time);
based on the authentication response indicating that the display apparatus has passed the authentication, determining that the first encryption key is valid; based on the authentication response indicating that the display apparatus has failed the authentication, determining that the first encryption key is invalid (Hierro: [0217], where if the license is valid, the packet is decrypted by the DRM proxy using the key contained in the license; [0196], where the device key or the certificate is used for authenticating).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro discloses display apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the communicating device is further configured to:
receive a second encrypted file sent from the server, wherein the second encrypted file is obtained by encrypting the service credential with a second encryption key (Hierro: [0054], where further encryption keys may be received, to encrypt further segment or streams of data);
obtain a second decryption key written to the display apparatus, wherein the decryption key corresponds to the second encryption key (Hierro: [0049], where server generates the key for the encryption process and a key for the decryption process; [0050], where decrypting digital content using a key identification by the DRM server to derive the key or keys for decryption);
decrypt the second encrypted file with the second decryption key to obtain the service credential (Hierro: [0050], where for decrypting the digital content, keys from the DRM server are requested including key identification used by the DRM server to derive the key or keys for decryption; [0201], where credentials are generated in association with DRM).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Yoden and Hierro as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Gao, US Pub. 2023/0367441 A1 (hereinafter Gao).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro discloses display apparatus according to claim 8. wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
based on that the data source object that is active before the display apparatus displaying the casting information page is a signal source supported by the display apparatus, controlling the display to switch to a desktop of an operating system of the display apparatus (Murray: [0055], where an operating system includes procedures for handling various basic system services; [0051], where a home button controls the display device to display a home screen). The combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro fails to explicitly teach, based on that the data source object that is active before the display apparatus displaying the casting information page is an application installed in an application layer of the operating system of the display apparatus, controlling the display to switch to a homepage of the application.
Gao from a similar endeavor teaches based on that the data source object that is active before the display apparatus displaying the casting information page is an application installed in an application layer of the operating system of the display apparatus, controlling the display to switch to a homepage of the application (Gao: [0239], where a first application interface is a native application interface and a request may induce switching of the application interface. A pop-up application interface may be an application interface at a lower layer of the current application interface, where, for example, the current application interface is a video application home page).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro in view of Gao such that the casting function disclosed by Murray, Yoden and Hierro could occur as a multi-window projection scenario in the layered architecture disclosed by Gao, (Gao: [0118]). Goa discloses an Android system with layered architecture including an application layer, an application framework layer, a system library, an Android runtime, and a kernel layer for the multi-window projection scenario, (Gao: Fig. 4 and [0119]). This allows for when performing a multi-window projection scenario, a projection interface can be projected in an adapted state and an adapted size, thereby improving user experience of projection, (Gao: [0006]).
Claim(s) 11 - 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Yoden and Hierro as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Perold et al., US Pub. 2015/0334562 A1 (hereinafter Perold).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro discloses display apparatus according to claim 7. But the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden and Hierro fail to explicitly disclose, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform: based on determining that the display is showing the casting information page, invoking an airplay Software Development Kit (SDK) in the display apparatus to broadcast the return instruction to an airplay application, to allow the airplay application to control the display to switch to the specified page in response to the return instruction.
Perold from a similar endeavor in combination with Murray, Yoden and Hierro teaches based on determining that the display is showing the casting information page, invoking an airplay Software Development Kit (SDK) in the display apparatus to broadcast the return instruction to an airplay application, to allow the airplay application to control the display to switch to the specified page in response to the return instruction (Perold: [0073], where suitable mobile application development environments are available from several sources including Airplay SDK; Hierro: [0204], where many mobile phones stream content wirelessly, for instance, to an AirPlay enable receiver, as the Apple AirPlay protocol allows streaming; Murray: [0034], where the display device includes a regular TV display that is coupled to a TV box, e.g. Google TV or Apple TV products; Murray: [0051], where the home button functions as a quick cast button to enable immediate play of media content provided by a specific Internet content channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murray, Yoden, and Hierro in view of Perold such that an Airplay SDK can be used, (Perold: [0073]). This invention allows resource access to be programmatically provisioned in a way that was either not possible or practical in the prior art, enabling the asset or resource to be provisioned to one or multi-users, (Perold: [0042]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teaching of Murray, Yoden, Hierro and Perold discloses display apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to perform:
forwarding the return instruction to a startup service by invoking the airplay SDK; and
broadcasting the return instruction by invoking the startup service, to send the return instruction to the airplay application (Perold: [0073], where suitable mobile application development environments are available from several sources including Airplay SDK; Hierro: [0204], where many mobile phones stream content wirelessly, for instance, to an AirPlay enable receiver, as the Apple AirPlay protocol allows streaming).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kiley et al., US Pub. 2019/0069015 A1 teach determining if the user access gateway integration is available and if so a “cast” button on the device is pressed and the user is prompted to connect to vCast, which connects the device to the controller over the network. If hotel does not have user access gateway integration, a pairing code is displayed on the Chromecast device and the guest can enter the pairing code and a connection is created, (Fig. 3 and [0018]-[0019]).
Rombakh et al., US Pub. 2018/0241609 A1 teach that virtual cast devices can represent cast devices. For example, using Chromecast or Apple TV, a virtual cast device can appear as if it were a Chromecast or Apple TV, ([0028]). Media Status messages can be sent to cast sender in response to a request, ([0034]).
Hwang et al., US Pub. 2021/0303253 A1 teach using a screen sharing service, e.g. Miracast, screen mirroring, airplay, wireless display, etc., to control an electronic device by a user input back channel, ([0003], [0007] and [0034]). A communicator can be controlled to transmit UI data to an external device through a screen sharing channel, ([0042]). During a screen sharing session, the electronic device may change a channel being broadcast by user dragging the screen of the external device to the left or to the right, ([0110]).
Nakagawa, US Pub. 2018/0268869 A1 teach establishing a Wi-Fi Display connection and then the source and sink devices can share parameter information needed to establish a network connection therebetween, ([0042] – [0044]).
Yanazume et al., US Pub. 2017/0110083 A1 teach part-selecting via images in a case where the display device is a multi-function model. For example, a display part 1330-6 for providing an instruction to execute a function of switching input channels to a SCREEN MIRRORING, (Fig. 12 and [0124]-[0125]).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/CYNTHIA M FOGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421