DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of continuation of International Application No.PCT/CN2023/101031, filed June 19, 2023, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 2022107072541, filed with the China National Intellectual Property Administration on June 21, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 and 03/04/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Determining unit is configured to determine in claim 8
Obtaining unit is configured to obtain in claim 8
Setting unit is configured to determine in claim 8
Determining unit - Figure 5 - item 501, paragraph 0108
Obtaining unit – Figure 5 - item 502, paragraph 0108
Setting unit - Figure 5 - item 503, paragraph 0108
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, the claim states "...the apparatus...", however the applicant disclosed in line 1 "An abnormal area marking apparatus...” The examiner interprets that the applicant is referring to the previously disclosed abnormal area marking apparatus. Appropriate correction is required (i.e., "the abnormal area marking apparatus ").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims’ subject matter eligibility will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50-57 (January 7, 2019) (“2019 PEG”).
With respect to claims 1 and 8.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claims 1 and 8 are directed to one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: the claim recites, inter alia:
“determining an area of a current position as an abnormal area": A person of ordinary skill in the art can mentally determine an abnormal area. Thus, this limitation is construed to be directed to the abstract idea of mental processes.
"determining an abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the sensing data set": A person of ordinary skill in the art can mentally determine an abnormal area based on provided information. Thus, this limitation is construed to be directed to the abstract idea of mental processes.
"determining a target position corresponding to the abnormal area on an operation map, and establishing an association relationship between the target position and the abnormality description information”: A person of ordinary skill in the art can mentally determine a position in response to an area based on provided information. Thus, this limitation is construed to be directed to the abstract idea of mental processes.
as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The only limitations not treated above, “obtaining a sensing data set within a specified time period during the operation process, wherein the sensing data set is a set of data acquired by a sensor, and the specified time period represents a safe traveling time period before the robotic lawn mower gets into the predicament”, involves the mere gathering of data, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(g). In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element of the “processors” are recited at a high level of generality, and comprises only a processor to simply perform the generic computer functions. Generic computers performing generic computer functions, alone, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The generic computer components in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-7, 8-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, 8, 10, and 17, Applicant recites the claim limitations of "the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression and a road surface bulge". Claims are rejected for being indefinite because the claim is unclear. Based on broadest reasonable interpretation, the surface area cannot be both a depression and a bulge. To further prosecution, Examiner interprets the limitation as the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression or a road surface bulge. Claims not specifically mentioned are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (USPGPub 2021/0034062). As per claim 1, Ahn discloses an abnormal area marking method, wherein the method is performed by a robotic lawn mower (see at least paragraph 0003; wherein a lawn mower robot) and comprises: determining an area of a current position as an abnormal area (see at least paragraph 0188; wherein when abnormal traveling occurs at a plurality of locations, the controller may set an abnormality area by connecting locations within a predetermined distance, and set the abnormality area to be re-cleaned), when a predicament is detected during an operation process (see at least paragraph 0182; wherein when traveling while deviating a predetermined distance from the set moving path, the controller 110 may determine that there is an abnormality in the traveling state); obtaining a sensing data set within a specified time period during the operation process, wherein the sensing data set is a set of data acquired by a sensor, and the specified time period represents a safe traveling time period before the robotic lawn mower gets into the predicament (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); determining an abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the sensing data set (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling); and determining a target position corresponding to the abnormal area on an operation map, and establishing an association relationship between the target position and the abnormality description information (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling). As per claim 2, Ahn discloses wherein the sensor comprises a structured light sensor, and the structured light sensor comprises a camera unit and a single-line laser signal transmission unit (see at least paragraph 0164; wherein the obstacle detector may include a sensor, such as ultrasonic sensor, a laser sensor, an infrared sensor, and a 3D sensor, to detect a location of an obstacle. In addition, the obstacle detector 100 may detect an obstacle based on an image of a direction of travel. The sensor unit and the image acquirer may be included in the obstacle detector); and the obtaining the sensing data set within the specified time period during the operation process comprises: obtaining a first sensing data of the robotic lawn mower at a first moment, wherein the first sensing data indicates a data stream captured by the structured light sensor during a traveling process of the robotic lawn mower, the data stream comprises scanning data of the robotic lawn mower in a current operation area, and the scanning data comprises image data and single-line laser signal transmission data (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); obtaining a second sensing data of the robotic lawn mower at a second moment, wherein the first moment and the second moment are separated by preset duration (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); and constructing the sensing data set based on the first sensing data and the second sensing data (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling). As per claim 15, Ahn discloses robotic lawn mower (see at least paragraph 0003; wherein a lawn mower robot), comprising: a body (see at least Figure 1); a walking assembly (see at least Figure 5), the walking assembly is configured to drive the robotic lawn mower (see at least paragraph 0003; wherein a lawn mower robot) to move; a cutting assembly, the cutting assembly is configured to cut the grass (see at least paragraph 0003; wherein a lawn mower robot); one or more processors; and one or more memories configured to store a program, wherein the one or more memories and the program are configured to cause the one or more processors to control the device to perform an abnormal area marking method (see at least Figure 4); wherein the abnormal area marking method comprises: determining an area of a current position as an abnormal area (see at least paragraph 0188; wherein when abnormal traveling occurs at a plurality of locations, the controller may set an abnormality area by connecting locations within a predetermined distance, and set the abnormality area to be re-cleaned), when a predicament is detected during an operation process (see at least paragraph 0182; wherein when traveling while deviating a predetermined distance from the set moving path, the controller 110 may determine that there is an abnormality in the traveling state); obtaining a sensing data set within a specified time period during the operation process, wherein the sensing data set is a set of data acquired by a sensor, and the specified time period represents a safe traveling time period before the robotic lawn mower gets into the predicament (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); determining an abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the sensing data set (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling); and determining a target position corresponding to the abnormal area on an operation map, and establishing an association relationship between the target position and the abnormality description information (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling). As per claim 16, Ahn discloses wherein the sensor comprises a structured light sensor, and the structured light sensor comprises a camera unit and a single-line laser signal transmission unit (see at least paragraph 0164; wherein the obstacle detector may include a sensor, such as ultrasonic sensor, a laser sensor, an infrared sensor, and a 3D sensor, to detect a location of an obstacle. In addition, the obstacle detector 100 may detect an obstacle based on an image of a direction of travel. The sensor unit and the image acquirer may be included in the obstacle detector); and the obtaining the sensing data set within the specified time period during the operation process comprises: obtaining a first sensing data of the robotic lawn mower at a first moment, wherein the first sensing data indicates a data stream captured by the structured light sensor during a traveling process of the robotic lawn mower, the data stream comprises scanning data of the robotic lawn mower in a current operation area, and the scanning data comprises image data and single-line laser signal transmission data (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); obtaining a second sensing data of the robotic lawn mower at a second moment, wherein the first moment and the second moment are separated by preset duration (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); and constructing the sensing data set based on the first sensing data and the second sensing data (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (USPGPub 2021/0034062) in view of Weyant et al. (USPGPub 2022/0061621). As per claim 3, Ahn does not explicitly mention wherein the scanning data comprises the image data and the single-line laser signal transmission data; and the determining abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the sensing data set comprises: determining an area size of the abnormal area in the operation area based on the image data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data; determining a height difference h between the abnormal area and a normal operation area based on the single-line laser signal transmission data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data, wherein the height difference h represents a vertical distance that the abnormal area bulges upwards or sinks downwards; determining a type of the abnormal area based on the height difference h, wherein the type of the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression and a road surface bulge; when a height of the abnormal area is greater than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface depression; or when a height of the abnormal area is less than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface bulge; and determining the abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the area size of the abnormal area and the type of the abnormal area. However Weyant does disclose: wherein the scanning data comprises the image data and the single-line laser signal transmission data; and the determining abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the sensing data set comprises: determining an area size of the abnormal area in the operation area based on the image data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data; determining a height difference h between the abnormal area and a normal operation area based on the single-line laser signal transmission data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data, wherein the height difference h represents a vertical distance that the abnormal area bulges upwards or sinks downwards; determining a type of the abnormal area based on the height difference h, wherein the type of the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression and a road surface bulge; when a height of the abnormal area is greater than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface depression; or when a height of the abnormal area is less than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface bulge; and determining the abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the area size of the abnormal area and the type of the abnormal area (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Weyant with the teachings as in Ahn. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve cleaning efficiency and efficacy, and enhance a user's experience with personalized cleaning, see Weyant paragraph 0005. As per claim 4, Ahn discloses wherein after the determining abnormality description information of the abnormal area, the method further comprises: configuring an avoidance plan for the abnormal area based on the type of the abnormal area, and controlling the robotic lawn mower to operate according to the avoidance plan (see at least paragraph 0221; wherein the travel controller 113 performs a control to travel an area based on a map and to change a direction of travel or a traveling path based on detected obstacle information to pass through or avoid an obstacle). As per claim 5, Weyant discloses wherein the type of the abnormal area is the road surface bulge; and the configuring an avoidance plan for the abnormal area based on the type of the abnormal area comprises: determining whether the height difference h exceeds a first preset height, wherein the first preset height is a safe height that does not cause the robotic lawn mower to be overturned; and when it is determined that the height difference h does not exceed the first preset height, controlling the robotic lawn mower to operate consistently in the abnormal area; or when it is determined that the height difference h exceeds the first preset height (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)), controlling the robotic lawn mower to bypass the abnormal area and then operate (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein the controller 212 may operate the drive system 110 to redirect the mobile cleaning robot 100 to avoid obstacles encountered while treating a floor surface). As per claim 6, Weyant discloses wherein the type of the abnormal area is the road surface depression; and the configuring an avoidance plan for the abnormal area based on the type of the abnormal area comprises: determining whether the height difference h exceeds a second preset height, wherein the second preset height is a safe height that does not cause the robotic lawn mower to be stranded; when it is determined that the height difference h does not exceed the second preset height, controlling the robotic lawn mower to operate consistently in the abnormal area; or when it is determined that the height difference h exceeds the second preset height (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)), controlling the robotic lawn mower to bypass the abnormal area and then operate (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein the controller 212 may operate the drive system 110 to redirect the mobile cleaning robot 100 to avoid obstacles encountered while treating a floor surface). As per claim 7, Ahn discloses wherein after the configuring an avoidance plan for the abnormal area based on the type of the abnormal area, the method further comprises: adding the avoidance plan for the abnormal area to related information of the corresponding abnormal area; and planning an operation route for the robotic lawn mower based on the related information of the abnormal area (see at least paragraph 0221; wherein the travel controller 113 performs a control to travel an area based on a map and to change a direction of travel or a traveling path based on detected obstacle information to pass through or avoid an obstacle). As per claim 8, Ahn discloses an abnormal area marking apparatus, wherein the apparatus is used in a robotic lawn mower (see at least paragraph 0003; wherein a lawn mower robot) and comprises: a determining unit, an obtaining unit, and a setting unit, wherein the determining unit is configured to: determine an area of a current position as an abnormal area (see at least paragraph 0188; wherein when abnormal traveling occurs at a plurality of locations, the controller may set an abnormality area by connecting locations within a predetermined distance, and set the abnormality area to be re-cleaned), when a predicament is detected during an operation process (see at least paragraph 0182; wherein when traveling while deviating a predetermined distance from the set moving path, the controller 110 may determine that there is an abnormality in the traveling state); the obtaining unit is configured to obtain a sensing data set within a specified time period during the operation process, wherein the sensing data set is a set of data acquired by a sensor, and the specified time period represents a safe traveling time period before the robotic lawn mower gets into the predicament (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); the determining unit is further configured to determine an abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the sensing data set (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling); and the setting unit is configured to determine a target position corresponding to the abnormal area on an operation map, and establish an association relationship between the target position and the abnormality description information (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling). Ahn does not explicitly mention wherein the abnormality description information represents a type of a current abnormal area, and the type of the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression and a road surface bulge. However Weyant does disclose: wherein the abnormality description information represents a type of a current abnormal area, and the type of the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression and a road surface bulge (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Weyant with the teachings as in Ahn. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve cleaning efficiency and efficacy, and enhance a user's experience with personalized cleaning, see Weyant paragraph 0005. As per claim 9, Ahn discloses wherein the sensor comprises a structured light sensor, and the structured light sensor comprises a camera unit and a single-line laser signal transmission unit (see at least paragraph 0164; wherein the obstacle detector may include a sensor, such as ultrasonic sensor, a laser sensor, an infrared sensor, and a 3D sensor, to detect a location of an obstacle. In addition, the obstacle detector 100 may detect an obstacle based on an image of a direction of travel. The sensor unit and the image acquirer may be included in the obstacle detector); and the obtaining unit is further configured to: obtain a first sensing data of the robotic lawn mower at a first moment, wherein the first sensing data indicates a data stream captured by the structured light sensor during a traveling process of the robotic lawn mower, the data stream comprises scanning data of the robotic lawn mower in a current operation area, and the scanning data comprises image data and single-line laser signal transmission data (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); obtain a second sensing data of the robotic lawn mower at a second moment, wherein the first moment and the second moment are separated by preset duration (see at least paragraph 0253; wherein based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set and store the corresponding location as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set an area within a predetermined distance from the corresponding location as a location where an abnormality occurs. Based on a point in time when the abnormal traveling is determined, the controller 110 may set a predetermined area based on a traveling path for a predetermined period of time before the point in time as a location where the abnormal traveling occurs); and construct the sensing data set based on the first sensing data and the second sensing data (see at least paragraph 0254; wherein the controller 110 transmits data on the location where the abnormal driving occurs to the terminal so that the location is displayed on a map. When abnormal traveling occurs, the controller 110 determines whether it is possible to travel, and then returns to an existing moving path to continue traveling). As per claim 10, Weyant discloses wherein the scanning data comprises the image data and the single-line laser signal transmission data; and the determining unit is further configured to: determine an area size of the abnormal area in the operation area based on the image data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data; determine a height difference h between the abnormal area and a normal operation area based on the single-line laser signal transmission data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data, wherein the height difference h represents a vertical distance that the abnormal area bulges upwards or sinks downwards; determine a type of the abnormal area based on the height difference h, wherein the type of the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression and a road surface bulge; when a height of the abnormal area is greater than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface depression; or when a height of the abnormal area is less than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface bulge; and determine the abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the area size of the abnormal area and the type of the abnormal area (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)). As per claim 11, Ahn discloses wherein after the determining abnormality description information of the abnormal area, the setting unit is further configured to: configure an avoidance plan for the abnormal area based on the type of the abnormal area, and control the robotic lawn mower to operate according to the avoidance plan (see at least paragraph 0221; wherein the travel controller 113 performs a control to travel an area based on a map and to change a direction of travel or a traveling path based on detected obstacle information to pass through or avoid an obstacle). As per claim 12, Weyant discloses wherein the type of the abnormal area is the road surface bulge; and the setting unit is further configured to: determine whether the height difference h exceeds a first preset height, wherein the first preset height is a safe height that does not cause the robotic lawn mower to be overturned; and when it is determined that the height difference h does not exceed the first preset height, control the robotic lawn mower to operate consistently in the abnormal area; or when it is determined that the height difference h exceeds the first preset height (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)), control the robotic lawn mower to bypass the abnormal area and then operate (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein the controller 212 may operate the drive system 110 to redirect the mobile cleaning robot 100 to avoid obstacles encountered while treating a floor surface). As per claim 13, Weyant discloses wherein the type of the abnormal area is the road surface depression; the setting unit is further configured to: determine whether the height difference h exceeds a second preset height, wherein the second preset height is a safe height that does not cause the robotic lawn mower to be stranded; when it is determined that the height difference h does not exceed the second preset height, control the robotic lawn mower to operate consistently in the abnormal area; or when it is determined that the height difference h exceeds the second preset height (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)), control the robotic lawn mower to bypass the abnormal area and then operate (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein the controller 212 may operate the drive system 110 to redirect the mobile cleaning robot 100 to avoid obstacles encountered while treating a floor surface). As per claim 14, Ahn discloses wherein the setting unit is further configured to: add the avoidance plan for the abnormal area to related information of the corresponding abnormal area; and plan an operation route for the robotic lawn mower based on the related information of the abnormal area (see at least paragraph 0221; wherein the travel controller 113 performs a control to travel an area based on a map and to change a direction of travel or a traveling path based on detected obstacle information to pass through or avoid an obstacle). As per claim 17, Ahn does not explicitly mention disclose wherein the scanning data comprises the image data and the single-line laser signal transmission data; and the determining abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the sensing data set comprises: determining an area size of the abnormal area in the operation area based on the image data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data; determining a height difference h between the abnormal area and a normal operation area based on the single-line laser signal transmission data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data, wherein the height difference h represents a vertical distance that the abnormal area bulges upwards or sinks downwards; determining a type of the abnormal area based on the height difference h, wherein the type of the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression and a road surface bulge; when a height of the abnormal area is greater than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface depression; or when a height of the abnormal area is less than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface bulge; and determining the abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the area size of the abnormal area and the type of the abnormal area. However Weyant does disclose: wherein the scanning data comprises the image data and the single-line laser signal transmission data; and the determining abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the sensing data set comprises: determining an area size of the abnormal area in the operation area based on the image data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data; determining a height difference h between the abnormal area and a normal operation area based on the single-line laser signal transmission data in the first sensing data and the second sensing data, wherein the height difference h represents a vertical distance that the abnormal area bulges upwards or sinks downwards; determining a type of the abnormal area based on the height difference h, wherein the type of the abnormal area comprises a road surface depression and a road surface bulge; when a height of the abnormal area is greater than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface depression; or when a height of the abnormal area is less than a height of the normal operation area, it indicates that the type of the abnormal area is the road surface bulge; and determining the abnormality description information of the abnormal area based on the area size of the abnormal area and the type of the abnormal area (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Weyant with the teachings as in Ahn. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve cleaning efficiency and efficacy, and enhance a user's experience with personalized cleaning, see Weyant paragraph 0005. As per claim 18, Ahn discloses wherein after the determining abnormality description information of the abnormal area, the method further comprises: configuring an avoidance plan for the abnormal area based on the type of the abnormal area, and controlling the robotic lawn mower to operate according to the avoidance plan (see at least paragraph 0221; wherein the travel controller 113 performs a control to travel an area based on a map and to change a direction of travel or a traveling path based on detected obstacle information to pass through or avoid an obstacle). As per claim 19, Weyant discloses wherein the type of the abnormal area is the road surface bulge; and the configuring an avoidance plan for the abnormal area based on the type of the abnormal area comprises: determining whether the height difference h exceeds a first preset height, wherein the first preset height is a safe height that does not cause the robotic lawn mower to be overturned; and when it is determined that the height difference h does not exceed the first preset height, controlling the robotic lawn mower to operate consistently in the abnormal area; or when it is determined that the height difference h exceeds the first preset height (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)), controlling the robotic lawn mower to bypass the abnormal area and then operate (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein the controller 212 may operate the drive system 110 to redirect the mobile cleaning robot 100 to avoid obstacles encountered while treating a floor surface). As per claim 20, Weyant discloses wherein the type of the abnormal area is the road surface depression; and the configuring an avoidance plan for the abnormal area based on the type of the abnormal area comprises: determining whether the height difference h exceeds a second preset height, wherein the second preset height is a safe height that does not cause the robotic lawn mower to be stranded; when it is determined that the height difference h does not exceed the second preset height, controlling the robotic lawn mower to operate consistently in the abnormal area; or when it is determined that the height difference h exceeds the second preset height (see at least paragraph 0086; wherein the sensor system 320 may include an inertial measurement unit (MU) 164 that is, in part, responsive to changes in position of the mobile cleaning robot 100 with respect to a vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the floor and senses when the mobile cleaning robot 100 is pitched at a floor type interface having a difference in height, Within the context of the present disclosure the terms “flooring discontinuity” and “threshold” refer to any irregularity in the floor surface (e.g., a change in flooring type or change in elevation at a flooring interface) that is traversable by the mobile cleaning robot 100, but that causes a discrete vertical movement event (e.g., an upward or downward “bump”)), controlling the robotic lawn mower to bypass the abnormal area and then operate (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein the controller 212 may operate the drive system 110 to redirect the mobile cleaning robot 100 to avoid obstacles encountered while treating a floor surface).
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2024/0081168 – Provide a working machine, such as an agricultural machine or a construction machine, including a vehicle body to which a working device can be coupled, and relates to a working machine. USPGPub 2019/0120633 – Provide a process that includes: obtaining a first version of a map of a workspace; selecting a first undiscovered area of the workspace; in response to selecting the first undiscovered area, causing the robot to move to a position and orientation to sense data in at least part of the first undiscovered area; and obtaining an updated version of the map mapping a larger area of the workspace than the first version.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662