DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0368205 A1 (“Chen”) in view of US 2019/0306494 A1 (“Chang”) (Note: it appears that support for the claims are not provided from 62/655773 nor KR 10-2018-0037749; therefore, the priority date given is 3/27/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus comprising: receiving information about an intra prediction type (e.g. see bitstream inputted to decoder in Fig. 2 is entropy decoded to obtain prediction related info, e.g. see at least intra sub-partition (ISP) coding mode and multiple reference line (MRL) in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0048], [0076]) of a current block (e.g. see current block, e.g. see at least Fig. 5) from a bitstream (e.g. see bitstream input to decoder in Fig. 2); deriving the intra prediction type of the current block based on the information about the intra prediction type (e.g. see deriving whether ISP coding mode or MRL for performing intra prediction is used based on the signaled ISP enabling/disabling flag and/or MRL index, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0048], [0076]); receiving information about an intra prediction mode of the current block from the bitstream (e.g. see most probable mode (MPM) and MPM flag, MPM index, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0077], [0097]); configuring a most probable mode (MPM) list comprising candidate intra prediction modes of the current block based on neighboring blocks of the current block (e.g. see MPM list, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0077], [0097]); deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the MPM list and the information about the intra prediction mode (e.g. see intra prediction 208 in Fig. 2 derives the intra prediction mode used based on the MPM list and MPM flag, MPM index derives the intra prediction mode, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0077], [0097]); generating a predicted block of the current block (e.g. see intra prediction 208 generating a prediction block which is added at the summer 214 in Fig. 2, e.g. see at least paragraph [0042]) based on the intra prediction type (e.g. see deriving whether ISP coding mode or MRL for performing intra prediction is used based on the signaled ISP enabling/disabling flag and/or MRL index, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0048], [0076]) and the intra prediction mode (e.g. see the intra mode based on the MPM list and MPM flag, MPM index, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0077], [0097]); receiving residual information from the bitstream (e.g. see an incoming video bitstream 201 is first decoded through an Entropy Decoding 202 circuitry to derive quantized coefficient levels and prediction-related information. The quantized coefficient levels are processed through an Inverse Quantization 204 circuitry and an Inverse Transform 206 circuitry to obtain a reconstructed prediction residual, e.g. see at least paragraph [0042]); generating a residual block based on the residual information (e.g. see an incoming video bitstream 201 is first decoded through an Entropy Decoding 202 circuitry to derive quantized coefficient levels and prediction-related information. The quantized coefficient levels are processed through an Inverse Quantization 204 circuitry and an Inverse Transform 206 circuitry to obtain a reconstructed prediction residual, e.g. see at least paragraph [0042]); and generating a reconstructed block based on the predicted block and the residual block (e.g. see a set of unfiltered reconstructed pixels are obtained by summing up the reconstructed prediction residual from the Inverse Transform 206 circuitry and a predictive output generated by the block predictor mechanism, using a Summer 214, e.g. see at least paragraph [0042]), wherein if the intra prediction type of the current block is a specific intra prediction type (e.g. see deriving whether ISP coding mode or MRL for performing intra prediction is used based on the signaled ISP enabling/disabling flag and/or MRL index, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0048], [0076]), the intra prediction mode of the current block is limited to one of the candidate intra prediction modes within the MPM list (e.g. see MPM list, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0077], [0097]).
Although Chen discloses wherein if the intra prediction type of the current block is a specific intra prediction type, the intra prediction mode of the current block is limited to one of the candidate intra prediction modes within the MPM list, it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose an MPM flag is not present in the bitstream and a value of the MPM flag is derived as 1. Chang however, teaches wherein if the intra prediction type of the current block is a specific intra prediction type (e.g. see multiple reference line in Fig. 4, e.g. see at least paragraph [0048]), an MPM flag is not present in the bitstream (e.g. see the intra prediction unit 22221 may directly determine that the intra prediction mode is included in the most probable modes without parsing the mpm flag, when the intra prediction unit 22221 determines that the reference line index is different from the first predefined value, e.g. see at least paragraph [0051]); and wherein if the intra prediction type of the current block is the specific intra prediction type (e.g. see multiple reference line in Fig. 4, e.g. see at least paragraph [0048]), a value of the MPM flag is derived as 1 (e.g. see the intra prediction unit 22221 may directly determine that the intra prediction mode is included in the most probable modes without parsing the mpm flag, when the intra prediction unit 22221 determines that the reference line index is different from the first predefined value, e.g. see at least paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Chen and Chang before him/her, to modify the video coding using intra sub-partition coding mode of Chen with Chang in order to efficiently determine whether the intra prediction mode is included in the most probable modes and to efficiently provide prediction.
Regarding claim 3, Chen further discloses wherein the intra prediction mode of the current block being limited to one of the candidate intra prediction modes within the MPM list comprises: the information about the intra prediction mode of the current block comprises an MPM index; and determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the MPM list and the MPM index (e.g. see MPM list and MPM index, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0077], [0097]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen further discloses wherein: the specific intra prediction type comprises: a multi-reference line (MRL) intra prediction type (e.g. see multiple reference line (MRL) in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0051], [0076]), wherein the information about the intra prediction type comprises: intra_luma_ref_idx (e.g. see index of the selected reference row/column or MRL index, paragraphs [0051], [0076]), and wherein if a value of the intra_luma_ref_idx is larger than 0, the intra prediction type of the current block is derived as the MRL intra prediction type (e.g. see non-zero MRL index (i.e. referring to non-nearest neighboring samples), paragraphs [0051], [0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen further discloses wherein: if the intra prediction type of the current block is derived as the MRL intra prediction type, an intra prediction performed on the current block is based on neighboring reference samples of a neighboring reference sample line indicated by the intra_luma_ref_idx (e.g. see neighboring samples shown in Fig. 5, e.g. see Line 1, paragraphs [0051], [0076]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen further discloses wherein: if the intra prediction type of the current block is a normal intra prediction type (e.g. see regular intra mode, paragraph [0097]), the MPM flag is parsed from the bitstream (e.g. see signaling methods of the MPM flag and MPM index, paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 7, although Chen discloses the MPM flag and MPM index, it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose
wherein: if the value of the MPM flag is equal to 1, an MPM index is parsed from the bitstream. Chang however, teaches wherein: if the value of the MPM flag is equal to 1, an MPM index is parsed from the bitstream (e.g. see if mpm flag is equal to a second predefined value, e.g. one, intra prediction mode is selected based on mpm index, paragraphs [0051], [0056]-[0057]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Chang further teaches wherein: if the value of the MPM flag is equal to 0, a remaining intra mode information is parsed from the bitstream, and deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the remaining intra mode information (Chang: e.g. see mpm flag is not equal to the second predefined value, e.g. zero, select one of the remaining mode candidates as the intra prediction mode based on non-mpm index, paragraphs [0060]-[0061]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claims 9, 11-17 the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,706,405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application are broader than the Patent. For example:
U.S. Patent No. 11,706,405
Instant Application: 18/988333
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus comprising:
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus comprising:
receiving information about an intra prediction type of a current block through a bitstream;
receiving information about an intra prediction type of a current block from a bitstream;
deriving the intra prediction type of the current block as a specific intra prediction type based on the information about the intra prediction type;
deriving the intra prediction type of the current block based on the information about the intra prediction type;
acquiring information about an intra prediction mode of the current block from the bitstream;
receiving information about an intra prediction mode of the current block from the bitstream;
configuring a most probable mode (MPM) list comprising candidate intra prediction modes of the current block based on neighboring blocks of the current block;
configuring a most probable mode (MPM) list comprising candidate intra prediction modes of the current block based on neighboring blocks of the current block;
deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the MPM list and the information about the intra prediction mode;
deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the MPM list and the information about the intra prediction mode;
generating a predicted block of the current block by performing intra prediction based on the specific intra prediction type and the derived intra prediction mode; acquiring residual information from the bitstream; generating a residual block based on the residual information; and
generating a predicted block of the current block based on the intra prediction type and the intra prediction mode; receiving residual information from the bitstream; generating a residual block based on the residual information; and
generating a reconstructed block configuring a reconstructed picture based on the residual block and the predicted block derived based on the specific intra prediction type and the derived intra prediction mode,
generating a reconstructed block based on the predicted block and the residual block,
wherein for the specific intra prediction type, the intra prediction is performed based on neighboring reference samples in a specific sample line which is not adjacent to a top boundary and a left boundary of the current block,
wherein, based on the intra prediction type representing the specific intra prediction type, the information about the intra prediction mode comprises MPM index information,
wherein based on the intra prediction type representing the specific intra prediction type, the MPM index information is parsed without parsing an MPM flag information from the bitstream, and
wherein, for generating the predicted block based on the specific intra prediction type and the derived intra prediction mode, neighboring reference samples used based on a height of the current block being greater than a width of the current block are different from neighboring reference samples used based on the width of the current block being greater than the height of the current block.
7. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein based on the intra prediction type representing the specific intra prediction type, the intra prediction mode of the current block is limited to one of candidate intra prediction modes within the MPM list.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein based on the intra prediction type representing a normal intra prediction type rather than the specific intra prediction type, the information about the intra prediction mode comprises the MPM flag information and the MPM index information.
wherein if the intra prediction type of the current block is a specific intra prediction type, an MPM flag is not present in the bitstream, and the intra prediction mode of the current block is limited to one of the candidate intra prediction modes within the MPM list; and
wherein if the intra prediction type of the current block is the specific intra prediction type, a value of the MPM flag is derived as 1.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,130 in view of the prior art cited above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application and the patent are substantially similar and obvious variants of one another. For example:
U.S. Patent No. 12,219,130
Instant Application: 18/988333
Note: underlined fonts mean differences in instant application
1. A decoding apparatus for an image decoding, the decoding apparatus comprising: a memory; and at least one processor connected to the memory, the at least one processor configured to:
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus comprising:
acquire information about an intra prediction type of a current block from a bitstream;
receiving information about an intra prediction type of a current block from a bitstream;
derive an intra prediction type of the current block as a specific intra prediction type based on the information about the intra prediction type;
deriving the intra prediction type of the current block based on the information about the intra prediction type;
acquire information about an intra prediction mode of the current block from the bitstream;
receiving information about an intra prediction mode of the current block from the bitstream;
configure a most probable mode (MPM) list comprising candidate intra prediction modes for the current block based on neighboring blocks of the current block;
configuring a most probable mode (MPM) list comprising candidate intra prediction modes of the current block based on neighboring blocks of the current block;
derive an intra prediction mode of the current block based on the MPM list and the information about the intra prediction mode;
deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the MPM list and the information about the intra prediction mode;
generate a predicted block of the current block by performing intra prediction based on the specific intra prediction type and the derived intra prediction mode;
generating a predicted block of the current block based on the intra prediction type and the intra prediction mode; receiving residual information from the bitstream; generating a residual block based on the residual information; and
generate a reconstructed picture based on the predicted block derived based on the specific intra prediction type and the derived intra prediction mode; and
generating a reconstructed block based on the predicted block and the residual block,
generate a modified reconstructed picture by performing filtering on the reconstructed picture, wherein for the specific intra prediction type, the intra prediction is performed based on neighboring reference samples in a specific sample line which is not adjacent to a top boundary and a left boundary of the current block, wherein based on the intra prediction type representing the specific intra prediction type, the information about the intra prediction mode comprises: an MPM index information, wherein based on the intra prediction type representing the specific intra prediction type, the MPM index information is parsed without parsing an MPM flag information from the bitstream, and wherein for generating the predicted block based on the specific intra prediction type and the derived intra prediction mode, neighboring reference samples used for a case that a height of the current block is greater than a width of the current block and neighboring reference samples used for a case that the width of the current block is greater than the height of the current block are different.
wherein if the intra prediction type of the current block is a specific intra prediction type, an MPM flag is not present in the bitstream, and the intra prediction mode of the current block is limited to one of the candidate intra prediction modes within the MPM list; and
wherein if the intra prediction type of the current block is the specific intra prediction type, a value of the MPM flag is derived as 1.
Although the Patent claims “generate a predicted block of the current block by performing intra prediction based on the specific intra prediction type and the derived intra prediction mode; generate a reconstructed picture based on the predicted block derived based on the specific intra prediction type and the derived intra prediction mode”, it does not specifically claim “receiving residual information from the bitstream; generating a residual block based on the residual information; and generating a reconstructed block based on the residual block”. Chen however, teaches receiving residual information from the bitstream (e.g. see bitstream inputted to decoder in Fig. 2 is entropy decoded to obtain transform coefficients, motion vectors, and other coded information and see the transform coefficients are de-quantized (240) and inverse transformed (250) to decode the prediction residuals in Fig. 2, e.g. see at least paragraph [0040]); generating a residual block based on the residual information (e.g. see the transform coefficients are de-quantized (240) and inverse transformed (250) to decode the prediction residuals in Fig. 2, e.g. see at least paragraph [0040]); and generating a reconstructed block based the residual block (e.g. see a set of unfiltered reconstructed pixels are obtained by summing up the reconstructed prediction residual from the Inverse Transform 206 circuitry and a predictive output generated by the block predictor mechanism, using a Summer 214, e.g. see at least paragraph [0042]).
Further, although the Patent claims “wherein based on the intra prediction type representing the specific intra prediction type, the information about the intra prediction mode comprises: an MPM index information, wherein based on the intra prediction type representing the specific intra prediction type, the MPM index information is parsed without parsing an MPM flag information from the bitstream”, it does not specifically claim “the intra prediction mode of the current block is limited to one of the candidate intra prediction modes within the MPM list and a value of the MPM flag is derived as 1”. Chen however, teaches the intra prediction mode of the current block is limited to one of the candidate intra prediction modes within the MPM list (e.g. see MPM list, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0077], [0097]), and further, Chang teaches a value of the MPM flag is derived as 1 (e.g. see the intra prediction unit 22221 may directly determine that the intra prediction mode is included in the most probable modes without parsing the mpm flag, when the intra prediction unit 22221 determines that the reference line index is different from the first predefined value, e.g. see at least paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of the Patent with Chen and Chang in order to improve coding efficiency and visual quality, as well as, improve existing ISP design and in order to efficiently determine whether the intra prediction mode is included in the most probable modes and to efficiently provide prediction.
For similar reasons as above, claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/988233 in view of the prior art cited above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application and the patent are substantially similar and obvious variants of one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
For similar reasons as above, claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/413388 in view of the prior art cited above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application and the patent are substantially similar and obvious variants of one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
For similar reasons as above, at least claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/413361 in view of the prior art cited above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application and the patent are substantially similar and obvious variants of one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
For similar reasons as above, claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,317,086 in view of the prior art cited above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application and the patent are substantially similar and obvious variants of one another.
For similar reasons as above, claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,632,544 in view of the prior art cited above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application and the patent are substantially similar and obvious variants of one another.
For similar reasons as above, claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,318 in view of the prior art cited above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application and the patent are substantially similar and obvious variants of one another.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on pages 8-13 of the Remarks that Chen does not qualify as prior art because U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/655773, filed April 10, 2018, provides support and Chen has an effective date of February 5, 2019.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
First of all, the examiner expresses his appreciation for the well-presented and detailed explanation including the table provided in the Remarks.
However, the arguments are not persuasive because the claims recite “intra prediction type” and “specific intra prediction type” but the provisional merely discloses “linear interpolation intra prediction” or LIP as shown in Fig. 9 of the provisional. The terms “intra prediction type” and “specific intra prediction type” are NOT disclosed nor defined in the provisional. The priority date, March 27, 2019, given to the instant application is based on the PCT/KR2019/003534 date because PCT/KR2019/003534 discloses and defines “intra prediction type” and “specific intra prediction type”, as well as, gives examples of intra prediction type, namely multi-reference line MRL (and intra sub-partitions ISP), which is claimed in claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramasubramonian et al., US 2020/0252608 A1, Sub-partition intra prediction
Rath et al., US 2020/0169752 A1, discloses a method and apparatus for most probable mode (MPM) reordering for intra prediction
Racape et al., US 2020/0120336 A1, discloses a method and apparatus for most probable mode (MPM) sorting and signaling in video encoding and decoding
Lee et al., US 2019/0222837 A1, Image encoding/decoding method and device, and recording medium in which bitstream is stored
Chang et al., US 2019/0208195 A1, discloses a device and method for coding video data based on mode list including different mode groups
Liu et al., US 2018/0332284 A1, Intra-prediction with multiple reference lines
Heo et al., US 2018/0234679 A1, discloses an intra prediction mode-based image processing method and apparatus therefor
Jeon et al., US 2013/0272405 A1, Intra prediction method and apparatus using the method
Ikai et al., US 2019/0327466 A1, Intra prediction image generation apparatus, image decoding apparatus, and image coding apparatus
Racape et al., US 2022/0021871 A1, Intra prediction mode extension
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619