Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tate-Gans et al. (US 20190197785 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tate-Gans et al. discloses an extended reality system (figure 1), comprising
at least one processor (processor 170, paras. 0057, 0088 (plural)) configured for receiving a web page or web page panel containing three-dimensional virtual content from a web site (application content, paras. 0073, 0113; Internet browser displaying a web page, para. 0228),
generating (generating a prism, paras. 0060, 0062) and anchoring (step 750) a first bounded prism at a first location within a mixed reality landscape (figure 6, para. 0161), and
rendering the three-dimensional virtual content (para. 0077) of the web page or web page panel within the anchored first bounded prism (bounded volume/3D window/Prism 113, paras. 0058-0059) for display to a user (paras. 0071, 0168, 0242).
Regarding claim 2, Tate-Gans et al. discloses the extended reality system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured for selecting the first location (Universe provides the ability to attach applications to walls and surfaces, place Prisms at an arbitrary location in space, para. 0061) within the mixed reality landscape (launch an application and display virtual content from the application in the user's landscape, the application may provide the virtual content to the Universe via the centralized rendering service client from the application to the universe centralized rendering service on the Universe to be displayed in a Prism that may be anchored in the user's landscape, para. 0103), such that the three-dimensional virtual content of the web page or web page panel does not interpenetrate (universal features may include max/min size, no overlapping Prisms (excluding temporary overlap from collision behavior), para. 0089) the mixed reality landscape.
Regarding claim 3, Tate-Gans et al. discloses the extended reality system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured for translating, rotating, scaling, or transforming the first bounded prism (move, grow, shrink or rotate the new Prism, para. 0064) within the mixed reality landscape in response to input from the user.
Regarding claim 4, Tate-Gans et al. discloses the extending reality system of claim 3, wherein the first bounded prism comprises one or more handles (input device, para. 0064), and wherein the input from the user comprises interacting with the one or more handles (input device to move, grow, shrink or rotate the new Prism, para. 0064).
Regarding claim 8, Tate-Gans et al. discloses the extended reality system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor comprises a universe browser engine configured for generating and anchoring the first bounded prism at the first location within the mixed reality landscape (step 750, para. 0173), and an application configured for rendering the three-dimensional virtual content of the web page or web page panel within the anchored first bounded prism for display to the user (an application 140 may render content into the Prism
113 to be displayed in the user's landscape 110, para. 0075).
Regarding claim 9, Tate-Gans et al. discloses the extended reality system of claim 8, wherein the universe browser engine is configured generating and anchoring the first bounded prism at the first location within the mixed reality landscape in response to receiving a request from the application (an application 140 may render content into the Prism 113 to be
displayed in the user's landscape 110, para. 0075).
Regarding claim 13, Tate-Gans et al. discloses a computer implemented method, comprising:
receiving a web page or web page panel containing three-dimensional virtual content from a web site (application content, paras. 0073, 0113; Internet browser displaying a web page, para. 0228);
generating (creating a prism, paras. 0060, 0062) and anchoring (step 750) a first bounded prism at a first location within the mixed reality landscape (figure 6, para. 0161); and
rendering the three-dimensional virtual content (para. 0077) of the web page or web page panel within the anchored first bounded prism (bounded volume/3D window/Prism 113, paras. 0058-0059) for display to a user (paras. 0071, 0168, 0242).
Regarding claim 14, Tate-Gans et al. discloses the computer implemented method of claim 13, further comprising:
receiving a three-dimensional (3D) transform for the web page or web page panel (user may use an input device to move, grow, shrink or rotate the new Prism containing the shoe in the 3D space of the landscape, para. 0064);
determining 3D transform data for the web page or the web page panel therefor based at least in part upon the 3D transform (Applications may render 2D/3D content within a Prism 113 using relative placement algorithms and arbitrary transforms, para. 0059); and
determining a 3D boundary for the first bounded prism based at least in part upon the 3D transform data (managing the placement and display of the Prism 113 having the virtual content 115 displayed within the boundaries of the Prism by the application 140, para. 0077).
Regarding claim 15, Tate-Gans et al. discloses the computer implemented method of claim 14, further comprising:
determining a 3D position, rotation, or scale for the web page or web page panel based at least in part upon the 3D transform (move, grow, shrink or rotate the new Prism, para. 0064); and
rendering the three-dimensional virtual content of the web page or web page panel within the anchored first bounded prism with the 3D position, rotation, or scale for the web page or web page panel (para. 0077).
Regarding claim 17, Tate-Gans et al. discloses a computer program product embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium, the computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when executed by a processor causes the processor to execute a method comprising:
receiving a web page or web page panel containing three-dimensional virtual content from a web site (application content, paras. 0073, 0113; Internet browser displaying a web page, para. 0228);
generating (generating a prism, paras. 0060, 0062) and anchoring (step 750) a first bounded prism at a first location within the mixed reality landscape; and
rendering the three-dimensional virtual content (para. 0077) of the web page or web page panel within the anchored first bounded prism (bounded volume/3D window/Prism 113, paras. 0058-0059) for display to a user (paras. 0071, 0168, 0242).
Regarding claim 18, Tate-Gans et al. discloses the computer program product of claim 17, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving a three-dimensional (3D) transform for the web page or web page panel (user may use an input device to move, grow, shrink or rotate the new Prism containing the shoe in the 3D space of the landscape, para. 0064);
determining 3D transform data for the web page or the web page panel therefor based at least in part upon the 3D transform (Applications may render 2D/3D content within a Prism 113 using relative placement algorithms and arbitrary transforms, para. 0059); and
determining a 3D boundary for the first bounded prism based at least in part upon the 3D transform data (managing the placement and display of the Prism 113 having the virtual content 115 displayed within the boundaries of the Prism by the application 140, para. 0077).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10-12, 16, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J LETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611