DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Preliminary Amendment, filed 12/30/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-20 have been canceled. Claims 21-40 have been added. Claims 21-40 are pending in the Application.
Claim Objections
Claims 36 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The typo “send the local interrupt signal to the local driver. local” should be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 12,174,765. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter in the instant application is at least fully disclosed in the reference patent.
Claim 21 of the instant application is anticipated by the patent’s claim 1 in that claim 1 of the patent contain all the limitation of claim 21 of the instant application. Please see table below for the detailed claim comparison.
Further, the limitation of the other claims 22-40 are found with minor variations in the teaching of the patent claims 1-37.
Instant Application (18/988,345)
Patent No. 12,174,765
Claim 21: A system comprising:
a local driver configured to access a local interrupt configuration; and
Claim 1: An apparatus comprising:
a system bus driver;
electronic circuitry coupled with the local driver and configured to:
electronic circuitry, wherein the electronic circuitry:
receive, from a remote destination, a first interrupt signal; and
receives a first interrupt signal from a remote destination over a network protocol;
generate a local interrupt signal based on the first interrupt signal and the local interrupt configuration provided by the local driver.
generates a second interrupt signal based at least in part on the first interrupt signal and a local interrupt configuration provided by the system bus driver, wherein the second interrupt signal comprises a local interrupt;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 26-27, 31-32, and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell et al US 20130322264.
Regarding claim 21, Campbell teaches a system (see figure 5) comprising:
a local driver configured to access a local interrupt configuration (local processor 502, see para 0056, The local processor 502 maps various message signaled interrupts (MSIs) from the dedicated processor 508 into the local address space. These MSIs include events generated by remote sources on DFP member switches) and
electronic circuitry coupled with the local driver (circuitry of system 500 including the local network switch 510 and the dedicated processor 508) configured to:
receive, from a remote destination, a first interrupt signal (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for receiving multicast or unicast EL2T protocol packets encapsulating details of external events (from DFP system members) e.g. the interrupt signal from the local network switch 510); and
generate a local interrupt signal based on the first interrupt signal and the local interrupt configuration provided by the local driver (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for decoding the multicast or unicast EL2T packets to determine details of the external events encapsulated in the multicast or unicast EL2T packets, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for sending an MSI-based message e.g. the local interrupt signal to the local processor 502 including details of the external events).
Regarding claim 22, Campbell further teaches the first interrupt signal is received from the remote destination in a tunneled communication (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for receiving multicast or unicast EL2T protocol packets encapsulating details of external events).
Regarding claim 26, Campbell further teaches the system further comprising the remote destination (see figure 4, remote destination such as member 406).
Regarding claim 27, Campbell further teaches the first interrupt signal is received as part of a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) transaction layer packet (TLP) (see para 0020, enhanced layer 2 transport (EL2T) protocol packets encapsulating the interrupt details, also see para 0067, the local network switch 510 may switch any communication protocol known in the art, including but not limited to Ethernet, PCIe, PCIe-over-Ethernet, Fiber Channel (FC), Fiber Channel-over-Ethernet (FCoE), etc).
Regarding claim 31, Campbell further teaches the first interrupt signal comprises a message signaled interrupt (MSI) message, an MSI-X message, or a PCI-compatible interrupt hardware support (INTx) emulation (see para 0092, details that may be stored to the packet include, but are not limited to, the switch ID of the DFP system member, the event source, the event type, the event priority, and/or the MSI payload).
Regarding claim 32, Campbell further teaches the local interrupt signal comprises a message signaled interrupt (MSI) message, an MSI-X message, or a PCI-compatible interrupt hardware support (INTx) emulation (see para 0061, Some of the local interrupt sources may provide events over PCIe bus via MSI).
Regarding claim 36, Campbell further teaches the electronic circuitry is configured to: send the local interrupt signal to the local driver (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for decoding the multicast or unicast EL2T packets to determine details of the external events encapsulated in the multicast or unicast EL2T packets, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for sending an MSI-based message to the local processor 502 including details of the external events).
Regarding claim 37, Campbell teaches a system (see figure 5), comprising:
a local driver configured to access a local interrupt configuration (local processor 502, see para 0056, The local processor 502 maps various message signaled interrupts (MSIs) from the dedicated processor 508 into the local address space. These MSIs include events generated by remote sources on DFP member switches); and
electronic circuitry coupled with the local driver (circuitry of system 500 including the local network switch 510 and the dedicated processor 508) and configured to:
receive a remotely-generated interrupt signal (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for receiving multicast or unicast EL2T protocol packets encapsulating details of external events (from DFP system members) from the local network switch 510);
generate a local interrupt based on the remotely-generated interrupt signal and the local interrupt configuration provided by the local driver; and send the local interrupt to the local driver (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for decoding the multicast or unicast EL2T packets to determine details of the external events encapsulated in the multicast or unicast EL2T packets, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for sending an MSI-based message to the local processor 502 including details of the external events).
Regarding claim 38, Campbell further teaches the remotely-generated interrupt signal is received in a tunneled communication (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for receiving multicast or unicast EL2T protocol packets encapsulating details of external events).
Regarding claim 39, Campbell teaches A system (see figure 5) comprising:
a local driver configured to access a local interrupt configuration; and (local processor 502, see para 0056, The local processor 502 maps various message signaled interrupts (MSIs) from the dedicated processor 508 into the local address space. These MSIs include events generated by remote sources on DFP member switches); and
electronic circuitry coupled with the local driver (circuitry of system 500 including the local network switch 510 and the dedicated processor 508) and configured to:
receive, from a remote destination, a tunneled communication comprising a first interrupt signal (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for receiving multicast or unicast EL2T protocol packets encapsulating details of external events (from DFP system members) from the local network switch 510); and
generate a local interrupt signal based on the first interrupt signal and the local interrupt configuration provided by the local driver (see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for decoding the multicast or unicast EL2T packets to determine details of the external events encapsulated in the multicast or unicast EL2T packets, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for sending an MSI-based message to the local processor 502 including details of the external events).
Regarding claim 40, Campbell further teaches the electronic circuitry is configured to send the local interrupt signal to the local driver over a system bus (bus of the system 500, see para 0076, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for decoding the multicast or unicast EL2T packets to determine details of the external events encapsulated in the multicast or unicast EL2T packets, the dedicated processor 508 may be adapted for sending an MSI-based message to the local processor 502 including details of the external events).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-25, 28-30, and 33-35 are regarded as comprising allowable subject matter and would be allowable if (1) rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and (2) upon filing and acceptance of the Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the set forth double patenting rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chung et al US 20110040913 discloses generating a local interrupt message based on an interrupt redirection table
/PHONG H DANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2184