DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to Applicant’s Reply filed on 9/10/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. THIS ACTION HAS BEEN MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 9,204,723 to Floersch et al. (Floersch).
Regarding Claim 1: Floersch discloses an electronic display mounting system comprising: a support column (See Annotated Fig. A); an electronic display interface (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to support an electronic display; a mounting bracket (See Annotated Fig. A) connected to the electronic display interface and movably coupled to the support column to adjust a height of the electronic display interface with respect to the support column; and a device holding block (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to support one or more portable electronic devices at least partially thereon, the device holding block coupleable to the mounting bracket, the device holding block comprising: a first surface (See Annotated Fig. A) and a second surface (See Annotated Fig. A) opposite the first surface, the first surface and the second surface spaced apart to at least partially define a cavity (See Annotated Fig. A) therebetween; and a coupling assembly (See Annotated Fig. A) connected to the second surface, the coupling assembly configured to couple the device holding block to the mounting bracket.
Regarding Claim 2: Floersch discloses an electronic display mounting system of claim 1, wherein the coupling assembly (See Annotated Fig. A) comprises: an attachment bracket (See Annotated Fig. A) releasably coupleable to the mounting bracket (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 9: Floersch discloses an electronic display mounting system of claim 1, comprising a base (See base at bottom of support column in Figure 9) connected to the support column (See Annotated Fig. A), the base adapted to engage a horizontal support surface to support the electronic display mounting system.
Regarding Claim 10: Floersch discloses an electronic display mounting system of claim 1, comprising a wall mounting interface (See base at bottom of support column in Figure 9) connected to the support column, the wall mounting interface adapted to couple the electronic display mounting system to a vertical support surface. Note that the base/wall mounting interface at the bottom of the support column in Figure 9 includes fastener holes that enable the column to be attached to either a horizontal surface or a vertical surface.
Regarding Claim 17: Floersch discloses an electronic display mounting system comprising: a support column (See Annotated Fig. A); an electronic display interface (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to support an electronic display; a mounting bracket (See Annotated Fig. A) connected to the electronic display interface and movably coupled to the support column to adjust a height of the electronic display interface with respect to the support column; and a device holding block (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to support one or more portable electronic devices at least partially thereon, the device holding block coupleable to the electronic display interface, the device holding block comprising: a first surface (See Annotated Fig. A) and second surface (See Annotated Fig. A) opposite the first surface, the first surface and the second surface spaced apart to at least partially define a cavity (See Annotated Fig. A) therebetween; and a coupling assembly (See Annotated Fig. A) connected to the second surface, the coupling assembly configured to couple the device holding block to a side of the electronic display interface (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 19: Floersch discloses an electronic display mounting system of claim 17, wherein the cavity (See Annotated Fig. A) comprises a storage compartment (See Annotated Fig. A) between the first surface and the second surface.
Regarding Claim 20: Floersch discloses an electronic display mounting system of claim 19, wherein the storage compartment (See Annotated Fig. A) is adapted to receive a component coupleable to the one or more portable electronic devices. Note that no additional structure has been claimed here and that the current structure disclosed by Floersch is capable of performing the recited intended use.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 11-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
None of the cited prior art, considered alone or in combination, discloses or teaches:
a tilt bracket connected to the second surface and to the attachment bracket;
a shelf extending from the first surface and away from both the second surface and the coupling assembly; or
a bow assembly, a display attachment bracket as recited in Claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 10663108, 2010/0288895, 20150060615.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632