DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RICOH CO LTD (JP 2014182793, Ricoh, hereafter) in view of Dibble (US 9,032,199).
As to claims 1, 6 and 7, Ricoh discloses a communication terminal (Fig. 1, (Terminal (300)), comprising: a receiver configured to receive image information acquired by rendering a web page(Fig. 3, (engine web interface (102); a display configured to display an image generated based on the image information received via and from rendering the web page (303 and the projection engine (401)); a storage configured to store one or more images to be displayed (Fig.2, (600A, 600B) (Abstract, and Fig. 2 (description); and one or more processors that operate to store the generated image in the storage (Fig. 1, and 3 (100). However, Ricoh, further, does not specifically disclose to store a generated image in the storage before a display of the generated image is abnormally terminated; determine whether the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated; acquire the generated image from the storage and display the generated image after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated to restore the display of the generated image; receive a result of operation information of the web page and determine whether the result is a termination of the web page after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated; in a case where the web page is not terminated and after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated; acquire an image from the storage based on the received image information acquired from rendering the web, generate a screen including the acquired image, display the generated screen including the acquired image, and store the displayed image in the storage; and in a case where a normal startup occurs or where the display of the generated image is not abnormally terminated, display another image in normal startup.
Dibble discloses to store a generated image in the storage before a display of the generated image is abnormally terminated (col. 4, lines 40-55 and col. 5, line 62-col. 6, line 2); determine whether the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated (col. 4, lines 40-55 and col. 5, line 62-col. 6, line 2); acquire the generated image from the storage and display the generated image after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated to restore the display of the generated image(col. 7, lines 13-15, and col. 14, lines 40-55); receive a result of operation information of the web page and determine whether the result is a termination of the web page after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated (col. 7, lines 13-15, and col. 14, lines 40-55).; in a case where the web page is not terminated and after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated (Col. 1, lines 10-15, and col. 11, lines 48-53), acquire an image from the storage based on the received image information acquired from rendering the web page (col. 4, lines 40-55 and col. 5, line 62-col. 6, line 2), generate a screen including the acquired image, display the generated screen including the acquired image(col. 4, lines 40-55 and col. 5, line 62-col. 6, line 2), and store the displayed image in the storage; and in a case where a normal startup occurs or where the display of the generated image is not abnormally terminated(Col. 1, lines 10-15, col. 11, lines 48-53, col. 7, lines 13-15, and col. 14, lines 40-55), display another image in normal startup (Col. 1, lines 10-15, and col. 11, lines 48-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine if the image is abnormally terminated, as taught by Dibble, in the device of Ricoh, since it is well known in the field of error detection/correction as the simple mechanism of restoring an image from a local copy in the event of a crash, or abnormal termination, of the local computing device, even if the image is not stored in the storage unit.
As to claim 3, Ricoh, further, discloses the display displays the generated image acquired by adding, and displaying the generated image on or with, a predetermined user interface (UI) (Fig. 5, Graphical User Interface (311).
As to claim 4, further, Ricoh, further, discloses a transmitter configured to transmit the operation information of the webpage (Fig. 3, (engine web interface (102), wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 1, and 3 (100) further operate to determine, after transmission by the transmitter, whether the image based on the image information received by the receiver is stored in the storage (Fig.2, (600A, 600B) (Abstract, and Fig. 2 (description), and, in a case where the image stored in the storage (Fig. 2, (600A, 600B), acquire the image from the storage based on the received image information acquired from rendering the web page to generate the screen (“First, when the distribution source user performs distribution setting using the terminal 500, the web service 101 of the management server 100 accepts this setting. Then, the web service 101 accesses the system storage server 600A via the DB accessor 113, and uses the user ID of the distribution source user as a key, and a list of distribution destination users or devices 400 set as the distribution destination by the distribution source user. Is acquired from the system storage server 600A. When the distribution source user instructs to add a distribution destination using the terminal 500, the web service 101 of the management server 100 accepts this instruction. Then, the web service 101 accesses the system storage server 600A via the DB accessor 113, updates the distribution information by adding the instructed distribution destination”).
However, Ricoh, further, does not specifically disclose a confirmation request transmitter configured to, in a case where display of the image is abnormally terminated and the one or more processors determine that the image is not stored in the storage, transmit a confirmation information request.
Dibble discloses a confirmation information request transmission unit configured to, in a case where display of the image is abnormally terminated determining that the image is not stored in the storage unit, transmit a confirmation information request (col. 4, lines 40-55 and col. 5, line 62-col. 6, line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the request transmission unit, as taught by Dibble, in the device of Ricoh, since it is well known in the field of error detection/correction as the simple mechanism of restoring an image from a local copy in the event of a crash of the local computing device, even if the image is not stored in the storage unit.
As to claim 5, further, Ricoh discloses a UI operation storage configured to store an operation to be performed on the predetermined UI (Fig. 5, (311)(“the engine web interface 102 passes the engine server ID and the load state to the engine control unit 115, and loads the load information stored in the system storage server 600A”), determine whether the operation is performed on the predetermined UI (Fig. 5, (311)(“ the engine web interface 102 receives a request from the engine server 200 and instructs the browser execution environment information control unit 121 to acquire execution environment information. The browser execution environment information control unit 121 accesses the system storage server 600A via the DB accessor 122, and acquires execution environment information related to the engine server 200 used by the user last time from the system storage server 600A. The execution environment information acquired by the browser execution environment information control unit 121 is sent to the engine server 200 via the engine web interface 102”). However, Ricoh, further, does not specifically disclose in a case where display is performed after display of the image is abnormally terminated, execute the operation stored in the UI operation storage unit.
Dibble discloses, further, a UI operation execution unit configured to, in a case where display is performed after display of the image is abnormally terminated, execute the operation stored in the UI operation storage unit (col. 7, lines 13-15, and col. 14, lines 40-55). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the user interface, as taught by Dibble, in the device of Ricoh, since it is well known in the field of error detection/correction as the simple mechanism of restoring an image from a local copy in the event of a crash of the local computing device by executing the operation stored in a user interface storage unit.
As to claim 8, Ricoh, further, does not specifically disclose determine whether the normal startup occurs in a case where the display is not abnormally terminated.
Dibble discloses, further, determine whether the normal startup occurs in a case where the display is not abnormally terminated (Col. 1, lines 10-15, and col. 11, lines 48-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the normal startup determination, as in Dibble, in the device of Ricoh, so that optimized restarts are provided (Col. 1, lines 10-15).
As to claim 9, Ricoh, further, Ricoh discloses (“Similar to the management server 100, the system storage server 600A and the user storage server 600B can be realized as virtual machines deployed on a cloud service”). However, further, Ricoh does not specifically disclose in a case where the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated, transmit the operation information to a virtual machine, and receive the result of the operation information from the virtual machine.
Dibble discloses, further, in a case where the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated (col. 4, lines 40-55 and col. 5, line 62-col. 6, line 2), transmit the operation information to a virtual machine, and receive the result of the operation information from the virtual machine (col. 6, lines 47-59, and col. 10, lines 28-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to transmit and receive information to and from a virtual machine, since a virtual machine is well known in the art as one of many different resource that can be used to read and write information (col. 10, lines 28-30).
As to claim 10, further, Ricoh discloses the another image is a home screen image (“the cloud browser 204 identifies a changed part in the web content to be displayed, renders the part, updates the original browser output image with the partial image obtained thereby, and outputs the next browser output Generate an image”).
As to claim 11, Ricoh, further, does not specifically disclose (i) after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated, determine whether an operation information transmission flag is on;(ii) in a case where the operation information transmission flag is off, display the stored, generated image or display a stored screen including the generated image;(iii) in a case where the operation information transmission flag is on, transmit and/or receive a previous operation result confirmation information from a virtual machine to the one or more processors, and analyze a content of a previous operation result information; and(iv) acquire an image from the storage, and display the acquired image or a screen including the acquired image.
Dibble, further, discloses (i) after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated (col. 11, lines 47-53), determine whether an operation information transmission flag is on (col. 2, lines 49-61);(ii) in a case where the operation information transmission flag is off (co. 2, lines 49-61), display the stored, generated image or display a stored screen including the generated image (col. 2, lines 49-61) ;(iii) in a case where the operation information transmission flag is on, transmit and/or receive a previous operation result confirmation information from a virtual machine to the one or more processors, and analyze a content of a previous operation result information (col. 2, lines 49-61, and col. 11, lines 47-53); and(iv) acquire an image from the storage, and display the acquired image or a screen including the acquired image (col. 2, lines 49-61, and col. 11, lines 47-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to carry out the flag instructions, as taught by Dibble, in the device of Ricoh, since it is well known in the field of error detection/correction as the simple mechanism of restoring an image from a local copy in the event of a crash of the local computing device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 12 and 13 are allowable since certain key features of the claimed invention are not taught or fairly suggested by the prior art. In claim 12, “(i) after the stored, generated image or the stored screen including the generated image is displayed or after the image acquired image or the screen including the acquired image is displayed, set an abnormal termination flag to off;(ii) transmit the operation information to a virtual machine, turn on an operation information transmission flag, and receive the result of the operation information from the virtual machine; and (iii) in the case where the web page is not terminated, after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated, and after the storage of the displayed, acquired image, turn off the operation information transmission flag.”. In claim 13, “in a case where an operation is not performed on an apparatus specific screen, transmit the operation information to a virtual machine, receive the result of the operation information from the virtual machine, determine whether the result is the termination of the web page or not, and in the case where the web page is not terminated and after the display of the generated image is abnormally terminated, acquire the image from the storage, and in a case where an apparatus specific screen needs to be generated, generate the apparatus specific screen, display the generated apparatus specific screen including the acquired image, and store the displayed image in the storage”. The closest prior art of record, Dibble (US 9,032,199), discloses the control unit (Fig. 2, (201) configured to differentiate the image to be displayed between a case where the display unit displays the image after display of the image is abnormally terminated and a case where the display unit displays the image in normal startup (col. 4, lines 40-55). (see above rejection for more detailed information) However, singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render the above underlined limitations obvious, together with all the other limitations of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6 and 7, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO OSORIO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621