DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10 When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "central plate”, see lines 10-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 17-19 are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202011101708 (“Fischer”).
Regarding Claim 1, Fischer discloses a cabinet (1) for an information handling system, comprising:
a housing (1);
a vertical adjustable mounting rail (11);
a horizontal information handling system support rail (12); and
an offset mounting bracket (13) connecting the horizontal information handling system support rail (12) to the vertical adjustable mounting rail (11), wherein the offset mounting bracket (13) provides an offset length to move the horizontal information handling system support rail (12) a distance away from the vertical adjustable mounting rail (11) equal to the offset length;
Regarding Claims 11-15, Fischer discloses CLAIM 11- a cabinet (1) for an information handling system, comprising:
a housing (1);
a vertical adjustable mounting rail (11);
a horizontal information handling system support rail (12); and
an offset mounting bracket (13) connecting the horizontal information handling system support rail (12) to the vertical adjustable mounting rail (11), wherein the offset mounting bracket (13) comprises: a central plate (20); a first mounting tab (19), wherein the first mounting tab (19) extends from the central plate (20) in a first direction; and a second mounting tab (17), wherein the second mounting tab (17) extends from the central plate (20) in a second direction; CLAIM 12-wherein the offset mounting bracket (13) provides an offset length to move the horizontal information handling system support rail (12) a distance away from the vertical adjustable mounting rail (11) equal to the offset length; CLAIM 13- wherein the first mounting tab (19) includes an indexing post (22) extending therefrom and at least one bore extending therethrough; CLAIM 14- the second mounting tab (17) includes at least one bore extending therethrough and the central plate (20) includes a bore extending therethrough; CLAIM 15, wherein the offset mounting bracket (13) is a one-piece, monolithic component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub No.: 20030071002 A1 (“Hung”).
Regarding Claim 1 , Hung discloses a cabinet for an information handling system, comprising: a housing; a vertical adjustable mounting rail (20); a horizontal information handling system support rail (30); and an offset mounting bracket (10) connecting the horizontal information handling system support rail (30) to the vertical adjustable mounting rail (20), wherein the offset mounting bracket (10) provides an offset length to move the horizontal information handling system support rail (30) a distance away from the vertical adjustable mounting rail (20) equal to the offset length;
Hung does not express disclose a housing.
Fischer demonstrates it is well known in the art to install an electronic rack within a cabinet housing (1) cable of supporting an information handling system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the computer rack assembly within a computer housing as demonstrated by Fischer, in order to secure a large number of server computers, IHS units or other plug-in components in a common rack housing.
Regarding CLAIMS 2-6 ,the combination discloses (Hung) CLAIM 2- wherein the offset mounting bracket (10) moves the horizontal information handling system support rail (30) rearward relative to the vertical adjustable mounting rail (20); CLAIM 3-wherein the offset mounting bracket (10) comprises: a central portion (between 11 and 12); a first mounting tab (12) extending from the central portion (between 11 and 12) in a first direction; and a second mounting tab (11) extending from the central portion in a second direction; CLAIM 4-wherein the first mounting tab (12) includes an indexing post (screw) extending therefrom and at least one bore (13) extending therethrough, the second mounting tab (11) includes at least one bore (13) extending therethrough, and the central portion includes a bore (round or slotted bores) extending therethrough; CLAIM 5-wherein the offset mounting bracket (10) is a one-piece, monolithic component; CLAIM 6-wherein the central portion is a central plate and the first mounting tab (12) and the second mounting tab (11) extend from the central plate.
Claims 7-10 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung and Fischer as applied to claim 4 above, in view of US 20100127141 (Chan et al.)
Regarding Claim 7-8 , the combination does not disclose the mounting bracket formed from two adjustable components.
Regarding Claim 7-8, Chan et al. discloses a mounting bracket for the vertical rails of rack ([0013]-[0015]) Claim 7-a two piece adjustable mounting bracket (2, 24; best seen in Fig. 3a -4) is a two-piece adjustable component; Claim 8-wherein the central portion of the offset mounting bracket includes a first central plate (4) and a second central plate (26) slidably engaged therewith.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the mounting brackets a two piece adjustable bracket in a manner similar to the two piece adjustable bracket taught by Chan et al. so the offset length between the horizontal rail and the vertical rail can be easily adjusted to different lengths.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination discloses (Chan et al.) wherein the first mounting tab (12) extends from the first central plate (middle portion )and the second mounting tab (11) extends from the second central plate (20);
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, the combination discloses (Chan et al.) wherein the first central plate (4) includes a bore (6) and the second central plate (26) includes a slot (32-34) aligned with the bore.
Claim 16-19-rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202011101708 (“Fischer”) in view of US 20030161134 (“Besserer et al.”).
Regarding Claim 16 Fischer discloses a cabinet for an information handling system, comprising: a housing (1); a vertical adjustable mounting rail (11); a horizontal information handling system support rail (12); and an offset mounting bracket (13) connecting the horizontal information handling system support rail (12) to the vertical adjustable mounting rail (11), wherein the offset mounting bracket (13) comprises: central plate (2); a first mounting tab (19), wherein the first mounting tab (19) extends from the central plate (20) in a first direction; and a second mounting tab (17), wherein the second mounting tab (17) extends from the central plate (20) in a second direction.
Fischer does not disclose offset mounting bracket comprising a first central plate ; a second central plate slidable relative to the first central plate.
Besserer et al. disclose a similar invention with an offset mounting bracket (40) comprising a first central plate (41); a second central plate (41) slidable relative to the first central plate (41, [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the mounting brackets a two piece adjustable bracket in a manner similar to the two piece adjustable bracket taught by Besserer et al. so the offset length between the horizontal rail and the vertical rail can be easily adjusted to different lengths.
Regarding Claim 17-18 the combination discloses (Fischer) CLAIM 17-wherein the offset mounting bracket (13) provides an adjustable offset length to move the horizontal information handling system support rail (12) one or more distances away from the vertical adjustable mounting rail (11) equal to the adjustable offset length; CLAIM 18-wherein the first mounting tab (19) includes an indexing post (22) extending therefrom and at least one bore extending therethrough;
Regarding Claim 19 the combination discloses (Fisher) the second mounting tab (17) includes at least one bore extending therethrough , (as modifed by Besserer et al. ) the adjustable second central plate (41) includes a bore (slotted bore ) extending therethrough.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637