DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 5/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 14-15, and 19-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/25/2026. A 112(a) rejection is provided for ‘new matter’ in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, with respect to the cited prior art not teaching the amended subject matter in claims 1, 15, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Natarajan (US 20190275671 A1), Sato (IDS: US 20080312769 A1), and Doppler (US 20210024298 A1).
Claim Objections
Claims 11-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 11, to resolve what appears to be a typographical error, the examiner suggests the following amendment: “to align the structure comprising the first item with the opening associated with the first location
For claim 12, to resolve what appears to be a typographical error, the examiner suggests the following amendment: “to detect based at least on the force sensor information …”
For claim 13, to resolve what appears to be a typographical error, the examiner suggests the following amendment: “the destination location based at least
For claim 14, to resolve what appears to be a typographical error, the examiner suggests the following amendment: “detect based at least
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 15, and 20 recite “[determine, determining], based on new workspace context information, that one of the plurality of source receptacles has been replaced with another source receptacle.” This claim limitation is new matter because the original disclosure does not provide support for determining that a source receptacle has been replaced. For example, the specification does not suggest any recognition of a source receptable being removed or recognition that the source receptable has changed and therefore must have been replaced. The applicant points to paragraphs [0041-0042] of the specification as support for the amendment. However, the specification merely describes replacing source receptacles and determining new context for the source receptacles and does not indicate a step of determining, based on new workspace context information, that one of the plurality of source receptacles has been replaced with another source receptacle (“successive iterations of one or more of steps 302, 304, and/or 306 may be performed. For example, a first set of kits may be assembled to fulfill a first part of a high-level objective and/or plan. Subsequently, source receptacles emptied by the robotic kitting system to assemble a first set of kits may be removed from the workspace, e.g., by human and/or other robotic workers, and replaced by other source receptacles. A further iteration of 302 and/or a part thereof may be performed, e.g., to determine the new/current workspace context, and a further/next plan may be generated at 304 and implemented at 306 to assemble a next set of kits.” [0042]). Claims 2-14 and 16-19 are also rejected because they do not resolve the deficiencies of claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10, 12, 15-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan (US 20190275671 A1) in view of Sato (IDS: US 20080312769 A1) and Doppler (US 20210024298 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Natarajan teaches
A robotic system, comprising: a communication interface; and a processor coupled to the communication interface and configured to: (“FIG. 3 is a block diagram of the example robot 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2 constructed in accordance with teachings of this disclosure. … an example communication bus 354.” See at least [0042-0043]; “FIGS. 1-3 and 5-8 could be implemented by one or more analog or digital circuit(s), logic circuit(s), programmable processor(s), programmable controller(s), graphics processing unit(s) (GPU(s)), digital signal processor(s) (DSP(s)), application specific integrated circuit(s) (ASIC(s)), programmable logic device(s) (PLD(s)) and/or field programmable logic device(s) (FPLD(s)).” See at least [0097])
receive a manifest or other data indicating a high-level objective to move a plurality of items from a source location to a destination location; receive workspace context information indicating locations of (“The robot 102 of FIG. 1 is configured to obtain an image (e.g., image data) of an assembly of objects. … The robot 102 of FIG. 1 decomposes and/or deconstructs the obtained image into a plurality of constituent objects having object location goals (e.g., target object locations) and associated assembly goals (e.g., target object assembly parameters such as on a shelf, under a shelf, on another object, under another object, in front of another object, behind another object, etc.).” See at least [0038-0039]; “FIG. 12 illustrates an example representation 1200 of example objects 1202 included within an example target assembly 1204. In the illustrated example of FIG. 12, respective ones of the objects 1202 shown in the representation 1200 have an object location goal (e.g., an object location goal determined by the location goal determiner 334 of FIG. 3) and an associated assembly goal (e.g., an associated assembly goal determined by the assembly goal determiner 336 of FIG. 3). For example, in the representation 1200 of FIG. 12, an example first one 1206 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example first location 1208 on an example first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, an example second one 1212 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example second location 1214 below the first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, an example third one 1216 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example third location 1218 on an example second shelf 1220 of the target assembly 1204 positioned above and behind the first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, and an example fourth one 1222 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example fourth location 1224 on an example third shelf 1226 of the target assembly 1204 positioned above and behind the second shelf 1220 of the target assembly 1204.” See at least [0073], wherein the locations of the different shelves are indicated by the assembly goals.)
utilize the manifest or other data to generate a plan identifying a sequence in which the plurality of items are to be retrieved and corresponding destination locations for the plurality of items; (“Based on the object location goals and the associated assembly goals, the robot 102 of FIG. 1 determines an object placement sequence to be implemented, invoked and/or executed by and/or at the robot 102 to sequentially place the constituent objects within a space.” See at least [0040]; “The robot 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2 constructs the complex assembly 200 of FIG. 2 by moving respective ones of physical objects (e.g., respective ones onto the milk jugs 202, the juice bottles 204, the soda bottles 206, and the water bottles 208) into and/or onto the shelving unit 124 and/or shelving 106 based on a object placement sequence and a plurality of action primitive sequences, as described above. In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the robot 102 is in the process of moving certain ones of the juice bottles 204 onto the second shelf 116 of the shelving unit 124 and/or the shelving 106 in accordance with the object placement sequence and one or more action primitive sequence(s) implemented, invoked and/or executed by the robot 102.” See at least [0041]; Also see at least figs. 13-14)
move, using a robotic arm having an end effector and according to the (“In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the robot 102 is in the process of moving certain ones of the juice bottles 204 onto the second shelf 116 of the shelving unit 124 and/or the shelving 106 in accordance with the object placement sequence and one or more action primitive sequence(s) implemented, invoked and/or executed by the robot 102.” See at least [0041] and fig. 2; “The example movement manager 312 of FIG. 3 manages and/or controls the motor(s) 302 and/or movement(s) of the robot 102. In some examples, the movement manager 312 commands the robot 102 to construct an assembly of objects based on the sequence(s) of RL action primitives determined by the construction manager 310 of FIG. 3.” See at least [0084])
Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Sato teaches
receive via the communication interface force sensor information generated by a force sensor; (“Once force detector 14 detects force F and moment M received by workpiece W2, controller 16 controls the operation of robot arm 12 and gripper 20 such that force F and moment M detected by force detector 14 approach target force Fd and target moment Md, respectively.” [0036])
use the force sensor information to align a structure comprising the first item with an opening associated with the first location; (“Next, X- and Y-axis forces F.sub.X, F.sub.Y and moments M.sub.X, M.sub.Y around X- and Y-axes detected by force detector 14 are compared with predetermined threshold values TF.sub.X, TF.sub.Y, TM.sub.X, TM.sub.Y, respectively, in every control cycle, and if any of the former values is larger than a predetermined corresponding threshold value, the process of step S104 is repeated in every control cycle and the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 is continued until all of F.sub.X, F.sub.Y, M.sub.X, M.sub.Y satisfy following Equation (6) (step S106). … On the other hand, if all of forces F.sub.X, F.sub.Y and moments M.sub.X, M.sub.Y detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TF.sub.X, TF.sub.Y, TM.sub.X, TM.sub.Y, respectively, and Equation (6) comes to be satisfied, it is judged that the error correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed (step S108). When the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed, axis 38 of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 is aligned with center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18.” [0043-0044])
and insert the first item into the opening associated with the first location. (“Therefore, by moving gripper 20 and workpiece W2 in the fitting direction while keeping this position and orientation, protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 can be smoothly inserted into fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18, as shown in FIG. 4D, thereby completing the fitting operation (step S110).” [0044])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Natarajan to further include the teachings of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate a “quick, stable fitting operation.” (See at least [0015])
Sato also does not explicitly teach, but Doppler teaches
receive workspace context information indicating locations of a plurality of source receptacles (“The capturing of the sequence of the source containers 5 is done by the control unit 31, wherein route tracking systems (tracking system) which are known in principle are deployed, which can determine the location of each source container 5 along the transport path, or by (a) suitable sensor device(s) along the transport path.” See at least [0217])
determine, based on new workspace context information, that one of the plurality of source receptacles has been replaced with another source receptacle; update the plan based on new workspace context information associated with the another source receptacle; move, using a robotic arm having an end effector and according to the updated plan, a first item of the plurality of items to a first location at the destination location as indicated by the manifest or other data; (“l) discharging the first source container from the first removal area after handling of the order line according to the first order and discharging the second source container from the second removal area after handling of the order line according to the second order, independent of each other, by the target container conveying means, … m) supplying a third source container to the first provisioning device having the first removal area for processing the next order line according to the first order and/or supplying a fourth source container to the second provisioning device having the second removal area for processing the next order line according to the second order using the source container conveying means operated in an automated manner, wherein the source containers stock different goods, … o) ascertaining a gripping surface pose of a gripping surface for at least one of the goods (H) in the third source container with the help of a sensor system after the third source container has been provisioned at the first removal area and computing a gripping pose for the gripping unit on the basis of the ascertained gripping surface pose by a robot control, p) removing said good(s) from the third source container and placing said good(s) into the first target container by the gripping unit of the robot according to the next order line of the first order,” See at least [0105-0111])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Natarajan and Sato to further include the teachings of Doppler with a reasonable expectation of success for “an improved picking station for picking goods from source containers into target containers and an improved method for fully automated picking of different goods from source containers into target containers” (See at least [0007]).
Regarding Claim 2,
Natarajan further teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to grasp the first item from the source location. (“The object pick-and-place action primitive 500 of FIG. 5 involves the robot 102 picking up an example object 502 from an example first location 504, and moving and/or placing the object 502 to and/or in an example second location 506.” See at least [0048]; See at least figs. 13 and 14 for the source location being the first location of the objects.)
Regarding Claim 8,
Natarajan further teaches
wherein the destination location includes the opening associated with the first location and one or more other openings associated with one or more other items. (See at least [0041] and fig. 2 (provided below) for shelves to hold different items, wherein shelves are interpreted as openings.)
Regarding Claim 9,
Natarajan further teaches
wherein one or more of the other openings associated with one or more other items has a shape or dimension that differs from the opening associated with the first location. (“The example shelving 106 of FIG. 1 can be implemented by and/or as any number (1, 2, 4, 10, 20, etc.), type, size and/or shape of shelves arranged and/or configured in any manner within the environment 100.” See at least [0137]; Also see at least [0073] and fig. 12 (provided below) for different shaped shelves)
Regarding Claim 10,
Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Sato teaches
wherein the processor is configured to invoke a force control primitive to use the force sensor information to align the structure comprising the first item with the opening associated with the first location. (“Robot arm 12 further moves workpiece W2 in the fitting direction (i.e. Z-axis direction) parallel to center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 to contact it with workpiece W1 on table 18 (step S100). Please note that the operation commands include a velocity command .upsilon.(.upsilon..sub.x, .upsilon..sub.y, .upsilon..sub.z) for translating gripper 20 along the directions of the X-, Y- and Z-axes and an angular velocity command .omega.(.omega..sub.W, .omega..sub.P, .omega..sub.R) for rotating gripper 20 around the X-, Y- and Z-axes and that the components of velocity command .upsilon. and angular velocity command .omega. other than the fitting direction component of the velocity command become zero, i.e. .upsilon..sub.x=0, .upsilon..sub.y=0, .omega..sub.W=0, .omega..sub.P=0 and .omega..sub.R=0.” [0034]; “When workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 comes into contact with workpiece W1 fixed to table 18 in such a case, some force F and moment M exert on workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 (step S102). For example, in the case where, as shown in FIG. 4A, axis 38 of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 is inclined with respect to center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18, when two workpieces W1, W2 come into contact with each other, forces F.sub.X and F.sub.Y in the directions perpendicular to the fitting direction and moments M.sub.X, M.sub.Y around the axes perpendicular to the fitting direction exert on workpiece W2 held by gripper 20, as shown in FIG. 4B. Once force detector 14 detects force F and moment M received by workpiece W2, controller 16 controls the operation of robot arm 12 and gripper 20 such that force F and moment M detected by force detector 14 approach target force Fd and target moment Md, respectively.” [0036]; Also see fig. 3; Examiner Interpretation: An invoked force control primitive is S100 where velocity of the robot is controlled so as to contact a surface in the proximity of the slot to receive force sensor information useful for aligning the item with the slot.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Natarajan to further include the teachings of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate a “quick, stable fitting operation.” (See at least [0015])
Regarding Claim 12,
Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Sato teaches
wherein the processor is configured to detect based at least in item on the force sensor information that the opening associated with the first location is at a detected orientation that is different than an expected orientation. (“In the case where workpiece W1 and workpiece W2 are arranged such that center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18 is accurately aligned with the axis of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper, 20, protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 will be smoothly inserted into fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1. Specifically, the components of force F(F.sub.X, F.sub.Y, F.sub.Z) and moment M(M.sub.X, M.sub.Y, M.sub.Z) exerting on workpiece W2 during the fitting operation other than the fitting direction component become zero (i.e. F.sub.X=0, F.sub.Y=0, M.sub.X=0, M.sub.Y=0, M.sub.Z=0). … However, position and orientation errors occur when workpiece W1 is fixed to table 18 and workpiece W2 is held by gripper 20, and the fitting operation is often performed while center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18 is not accurately aligned with the axis of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20. When workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 comes into contact with workpiece W1 fixed to table 18 in such a case, some force F and moment M exert on workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 (step S102)” [0035-0036]; Examiner Interpretation: It’s interpreted that the existence of a position and orientation error of the hole (opening) can be determined based on the force and moment exerted on the workpiece held by the gripper. Position and orientation errors are differences from an expected position and orientation.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Natarajan to further include the teachings of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate a “quick, stable fitting operation.” (See at least [0015])
Regarding Claim 15,
Natarajan teaches
A method, comprising: (“This disclosure relates generally to autonomous robots and, more specifically, to methods and apparatus for complex assembly via autonomous robots using reinforcement learning action primitives.” See at least [0001])
receiving a manifest or other data indicating a high-level objective to move a plurality of items from a source location to a destination location; receiving workspace context information indicating locations of (“The robot 102 of FIG. 1 is configured to obtain an image (e.g., image data) of an assembly of objects. … The robot 102 of FIG. 1 decomposes and/or deconstructs the obtained image into a plurality of constituent objects having object location goals (e.g., target object locations) and associated assembly goals (e.g., target object assembly parameters such as on a shelf, under a shelf, on another object, under another object, in front of another object, behind another object, etc.).” See at least [0038-0039]; “FIG. 12 illustrates an example representation 1200 of example objects 1202 included within an example target assembly 1204. In the illustrated example of FIG. 12, respective ones of the objects 1202 shown in the representation 1200 have an object location goal (e.g., an object location goal determined by the location goal determiner 334 of FIG. 3) and an associated assembly goal (e.g., an associated assembly goal determined by the assembly goal determiner 336 of FIG. 3). For example, in the representation 1200 of FIG. 12, an example first one 1206 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example first location 1208 on an example first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, an example second one 1212 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example second location 1214 below the first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, an example third one 1216 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example third location 1218 on an example second shelf 1220 of the target assembly 1204 positioned above and behind the first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, and an example fourth one 1222 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example fourth location 1224 on an example third shelf 1226 of the target assembly 1204 positioned above and behind the second shelf 1220 of the target assembly 1204.” See at least [0073], wherein the locations of the different shelves are indicated by the assembly goals.)
utilizing the manifest or other data to generate a plan identifying a sequence in which the plurality of items are to be retrieved and corresponding destination locations for the plurality of items; (“Based on the object location goals and the associated assembly goals, the robot 102 of FIG. 1 determines an object placement sequence to be implemented, invoked and/or executed by and/or at the robot 102 to sequentially place the constituent objects within a space.” See at least [0040]; “The robot 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2 constructs the complex assembly 200 of FIG. 2 by moving respective ones of physical objects (e.g., respective ones onto the milk jugs 202, the juice bottles 204, the soda bottles 206, and the water bottles 208) into and/or onto the shelving unit 124 and/or shelving 106 based on a object placement sequence and a plurality of action primitive sequences, as described above. In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the robot 102 is in the process of moving certain ones of the juice bottles 204 onto the second shelf 116 of the shelving unit 124 and/or the shelving 106 in accordance with the object placement sequence and one or more action primitive sequence(s) implemented, invoked and/or executed by the robot 102.” See at least [0041]; Also see at least figs. 13-14)
moving, using a robotic arm having an end effector and according to the (“In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the robot 102 is in the process of moving certain ones of the juice bottles 204 onto the second shelf 116 of the shelving unit 124 and/or the shelving 106 in accordance with the object placement sequence and one or more action primitive sequence(s) implemented, invoked and/or executed by the robot 102.” See at least [0041] and fig. 2; “The example movement manager 312 of FIG. 3 manages and/or controls the motor(s) 302 and/or movement(s) of the robot 102. In some examples, the movement manager 312 commands the robot 102 to construct an assembly of objects based on the sequence(s) of RL action primitives determined by the construction manager 310 of FIG. 3.” See at least [0084])
Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Sato teaches
receiving force sensor information generated by a force sensor; (“Once force detector 14 detects force F and moment M received by workpiece W2, controller 16 controls the operation of robot arm 12 and gripper 20 such that force F and moment M detected by force detector 14 approach target force Fd and target moment Md, respectively.” [0036])
using the force sensor information to align a structure comprising the first item with an opening associated with the first location; (“Next, X- and Y-axis forces F.sub.X, F.sub.Y and moments M.sub.X, M.sub.Y around X- and Y-axes detected by force detector 14 are compared with predetermined threshold values TF.sub.X, TF.sub.Y, TM.sub.X, TM.sub.Y, respectively, in every control cycle, and if any of the former values is larger than a predetermined corresponding threshold value, the process of step S104 is repeated in every control cycle and the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 is continued until all of F.sub.X, F.sub.Y, M.sub.X, M.sub.Y satisfy following Equation (6) (step S106). … On the other hand, if all of forces F.sub.X, F.sub.Y and moments M.sub.X, M.sub.Y detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TF.sub.X, TF.sub.Y, TM.sub.X, TM.sub.Y, respectively, and Equation (6) comes to be satisfied, it is judged that the error correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed (step S108). When the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed, axis 38 of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 is aligned with center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18.” [0043-0044])
and inserting the first item into the opening associated with the first location. (“Therefore, by moving gripper 20 and workpiece W2 in the fitting direction while keeping this position and orientation, protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 can be smoothly inserted into fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18, as shown in FIG. 4D, thereby completing the fitting operation (step S110).” [0044])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Natarajan to further include the teachings of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate a “quick, stable fitting operation.” (See at least [0015])
Sato also does not explicitly teach, but Doppler teaches
receiving workspace context information indicating locations of a plurality of source receptacles (“The capturing of the sequence of the source containers 5 is done by the control unit 31, wherein route tracking systems (tracking system) which are known in principle are deployed, which can determine the location of each source container 5 along the transport path, or by (a) suitable sensor device(s) along the transport path.” See at least [0217])
determining, based on new workspace context information, that one of the plurality of source receptacles has been replaced with another source receptacle; updating the plan based on new workspace context information associated with the another source receptacle; moving, using a robotic arm having an end effector and according to the updated plan, a first item of the plurality of items to a first location at the destination location as indicated by the manifest or other data; (“l) discharging the first source container from the first removal area after handling of the order line according to the first order and discharging the second source container from the second removal area after handling of the order line according to the second order, independent of each other, by the target container conveying means, … m) supplying a third source container to the first provisioning device having the first removal area for processing the next order line according to the first order and/or supplying a fourth source container to the second provisioning device having the second removal area for processing the next order line according to the second order using the source container conveying means operated in an automated manner, wherein the source containers stock different goods, … o) ascertaining a gripping surface pose of a gripping surface for at least one of the goods (H) in the third source container with the help of a sensor system after the third source container has been provisioned at the first removal area and computing a gripping pose for the gripping unit on the basis of the ascertained gripping surface pose by a robot control, p) removing said good(s) from the third source container and placing said good(s) into the first target container by the gripping unit of the robot according to the next order line of the first order,” See at least [0105-0111])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Natarajan and Sato to further include the teachings of Doppler with a reasonable expectation of success for “an improved picking station for picking goods from source containers into target containers and an improved method for fully automated picking of different goods from source containers into target containers” (See at least [0007]).
Regarding Claim 16,
Natarajan further teaches
further comprising grasping the first item from the source location. (“The object pick-and-place action primitive 500 of FIG. 5 involves the robot 102 picking up an example object 502 from an example first location 504, and moving and/or placing the object 502 to and/or in an example second location 506.” See at least [0048]; See at least figs. 13 and 14 for the source location being the first location of the objects.)
Regarding Claim 18,
Natarajan further teaches
wherein the destination location includes the opening associated with the first location and one or more other openings associated with one or more other items. (See at least [0041] and fig. 2 for shelves to hold different items, wherein shelves are interpreted as openings.)
Regarding Claim 19,
Natarajan further teaches
wherein one or more of the other openings associated with one or more other items has a shape or dimension that differs from the opening associated with the first location. (“The example shelving 106 of FIG. 1 can be implemented by and/or as any number (1, 2, 4, 10, 20, etc.), type, size and/or shape of shelves arranged and/or configured in any manner within the environment 100.” See at least [0137]; Also see at least [0073] and fig. 12 (provided below) for different shaped shelves)
Regarding Claim 20,
Natarajan teaches
A computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising computer instructions for: (“a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions is disclosed. In some disclosed examples, the instructions, when executed, cause one or more processors of a robot to determine sequences of reinforcement learning (RL) action primitives based on object location goals and associated assembly goals determined for respective ones of objects depicted in an imaged assembly of objects. In some disclosed examples, the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to command the robot to construct a physical assembly of objects based on the sequences of RL action primitives.” See at least [00151])
receiving a manifest or other data indicating a high-level objective to move a plurality of items from a source location to a destination location; receiving workspace context information indicating locations of (“The robot 102 of FIG. 1 is configured to obtain an image (e.g., image data) of an assembly of objects. … The robot 102 of FIG. 1 decomposes and/or deconstructs the obtained image into a plurality of constituent objects having object location goals (e.g., target object locations) and associated assembly goals (e.g., target object assembly parameters such as on a shelf, under a shelf, on another object, under another object, in front of another object, behind another object, etc.).” See at least [0038-0039]; “FIG. 12 illustrates an example representation 1200 of example objects 1202 included within an example target assembly 1204. In the illustrated example of FIG. 12, respective ones of the objects 1202 shown in the representation 1200 have an object location goal (e.g., an object location goal determined by the location goal determiner 334 of FIG. 3) and an associated assembly goal (e.g., an associated assembly goal determined by the assembly goal determiner 336 of FIG. 3). For example, in the representation 1200 of FIG. 12, an example first one 1206 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example first location 1208 on an example first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, an example second one 1212 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example second location 1214 below the first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, an example third one 1216 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example third location 1218 on an example second shelf 1220 of the target assembly 1204 positioned above and behind the first shelf 1210 of the target assembly 1204, and an example fourth one 1222 of the objects 1202 is shown as being located at an example fourth location 1224 on an example third shelf 1226 of the target assembly 1204 positioned above and behind the second shelf 1220 of the target assembly 1204.” See at least [0073], wherein the locations of the different shelves are indicated by the assembly goals.)
utilizing the manifest or other data to generate a plan identifying a sequence in which the plurality of items are to be retrieved and corresponding destination locations for the plurality of items; (“Based on the object location goals and the associated assembly goals, the robot 102 of FIG. 1 determines an object placement sequence to be implemented, invoked and/or executed by and/or at the robot 102 to sequentially place the constituent objects within a space.” See at least [0040]; “The robot 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2 constructs the complex assembly 200 of FIG. 2 by moving respective ones of physical objects (e.g., respective ones onto the milk jugs 202, the juice bottles 204, the soda bottles 206, and the water bottles 208) into and/or onto the shelving unit 124 and/or shelving 106 based on a object placement sequence and a plurality of action primitive sequences, as described above. In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the robot 102 is in the process of moving certain ones of the juice bottles 204 onto the second shelf 116 of the shelving unit 124 and/or the shelving 106 in accordance with the object placement sequence and one or more action primitive sequence(s) implemented, invoked and/or executed by the robot 102.” See at least [0041]; Also see at least figs. 13-14)
moving, using a robotic arm having an end effector and according to the (“In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the robot 102 is in the process of moving certain ones of the juice bottles 204 onto the second shelf 116 of the shelving unit 124 and/or the shelving 106 in accordance with the object placement sequence and one or more action primitive sequence(s) implemented, invoked and/or executed by the robot 102.” See at least [0041] and fig. 2; “The example movement manager 312 of FIG. 3 manages and/or controls the motor(s) 302 and/or movement(s) of the robot 102. In some examples, the movement manager 312 commands the robot 102 to construct an assembly of objects based on the sequence(s) of RL action primitives determined by the construction manager 310 of FIG. 3.” See at least [0084])
Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Sato teaches
receiving force sensor information generated by a force sensor; (“Once force detector 14 detects force F and moment M received by workpiece W2, controller 16 controls the operation of robot arm 12 and gripper 20 such that force F and moment M detected by force detector 14 approach target force Fd and target moment Md, respectively.” [0036])
using the force sensor information to align a structure comprising the first item with an opening associated with the first location; (“Next, X- and Y-axis forces F.sub.X, F.sub.Y and moments M.sub.X, M.sub.Y around X- and Y-axes detected by force detector 14 are compared with predetermined threshold values TF.sub.X, TF.sub.Y, TM.sub.X, TM.sub.Y, respectively, in every control cycle, and if any of the former values is larger than a predetermined corresponding threshold value, the process of step S104 is repeated in every control cycle and the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 is continued until all of F.sub.X, F.sub.Y, M.sub.X, M.sub.Y satisfy following Equation (6) (step S106). … On the other hand, if all of forces F.sub.X, F.sub.Y and moments M.sub.X, M.sub.Y detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TF.sub.X, TF.sub.Y, TM.sub.X, TM.sub.Y, respectively, and Equation (6) comes to be satisfied, it is judged that the error correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed (step S108). When the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed, axis 38 of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 is aligned with center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18.” [0043-0044])
and inserting the first item into the opening associated with the first location. (“Therefore, by moving gripper 20 and workpiece W2 in the fitting direction while keeping this position and orientation, protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 can be smoothly inserted into fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18, as shown in FIG. 4D, thereby completing the fitting operation (step S110).” [0044])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Natarajan to further include the teachings of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate a “quick, stable fitting operation.” (See at least [0015])
Sato also does not explicitly teach, but Doppler teaches
receiving workspace context information indicating locations of a plurality of source receptacles (“The capturing of the sequence of the source containers 5 is done by the control unit 31, wherein route tracking systems (tracking system) which are known in principle are deployed, which can determine the location of each source container 5 along the transport path, or by (a) suitable sensor device(s) along the transport path.” See at least [0217])
determining, based on new workspace context information, that one of the plurality of source receptacles has been replaced with another source receptacle; updating the plan based on new workspace context information associated with the another source receptacle; moving, using a robotic arm having an end effector and according to the updated plan, a first item of the plurality of items to a first location at the destination location as indicated by the manifest or other data; (“l) discharging the first source container from the first removal area after handling of the order line according to the first order and discharging the second source container from the second removal area after handling of the order line according to the second order, independent of each other, by the target container conveying means, … m) supplying a third source container to the first provisioning device having the first removal area for processing the next order line according to the first order and/or supplying a fourth source container to the second provisioning device having the second removal area for processing the next order line according to the second order using the source container conveying means operated in an automated manner, wherein the source containers stock different goods, … o) ascertaining a gripping surface pose of a gripping surface for at least one of the goods (H) in the third source container with the help of a sensor system after the third source container has been provisioned at the first removal area and computing a gripping pose for the gripping unit on the basis of the ascertained gripping surface pose by a robot control, p) removing said good(s) from the third source container and placing said good(s) into the first target container by the gripping unit of the robot according to the next order line of the first order,” See at least [0105-0111])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Natarajan and Sato to further include the teachings of Doppler with a reasonable expectation of success for “an improved picking station for picking goods from source containers into target containers and an improved method for fully automated picking of different goods from source containers into target containers” (See at least [0007]).
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan (US 20190275671 A1) in view of Sato (IDS: US 20080312769 A1), Doppler (US 20210024298 A1), and Jeon (IDS: US 5457773 A).
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Jeon teaches
wherein the processor is configured to move the first item to the first location using position control. (“Hereinafter, the robot actuator position control method will be described in reference to FIG. 5.” Col. 3, lines 36-37; Fig. 5 (shown below) shows position control with S3 and the following determination of whether to reposition.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Natarajan to further include the teachings of Jeon to resolve positioning errors that occur due to robot defects. (See at least Col. 1, lines 35-50)
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Jeon teaches
wherein the first item is moved to the first location using position control. (“Hereinafter, the robot actuator position control method will be described in reference to FIG. 5.” Col. 3, lines 36-37; Fig. 5 shows position control with S3 and the following determination of whether to reposition.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Natarajan to further include the teachings of Jeon to resolve positioning errors that occur due to robot defects. (See at least Col. 1, lines 35-50)
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan (US 20190275671 A1) in view of Sato (IDS: US 20080312769 A1), Doppler (US 20210024298 A1), and Ikeda (US 20200189097 A1).
Regarding Claim 4,
Natarajan further teaches
wherein the (“The example camera 304 of FIG. 3 is mounted to the robot 102 of FIGS. 1-3. The camera 304 is configured and/or positioned to capture images of objects located within a field of view of the camera 304.” See at least [0045])
Modified Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Ikeda teaches
wherein the end effector includes a camera. (“a hand camera 141 provided at a tip of the robot arm 130.” See at least [0030] and fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Natarajan to further include the teachings of Ikeda with a reasonable expectation of success “to appropriately recognize a grasping position of a target object to be grasped and then increase a success rate of grasping, and reduce a time required for the grasping.” (See at least [0013])
Regarding Claim 5,
Natarajan further teaches
wherein data obtained from the camera is utilized to determine one or more attributes associated with the first item. (“the robot 102 of FIG. 1 includes a camera configured to capture images. In some examples, the camera may capture an image of an assembly of objects located within the field of view of the camera. … The robot 102 of FIG. 1 decomposes and/or deconstructs the obtained image into a plurality of constituent objects having object location goals (e.g., target object locations) and associated assembly goals (e.g., target object assembly parameters such as on a shelf, under a shelf, on another object, under another object, in front of another object, behind another object, etc.). For example, the robot 102 of FIG. 1 may decompose and/or deconstruct (e.g., using one or more decomposition algorithm(s)) the assembly picture 126 of FIG. 1 into a plurality of milk jugs, juice bottles, soda bottles and water bottles, with each jug and/or bottle having an object location goal and an associated assembly goal.” See at least [0038-0039])
Regarding Claim 6,
Natarajan further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to receive data associated with the camera (In some examples, the camera may capture an image of an assembly of objects located within the field of view of the camera. … The robot 102 of FIG. 1 decomposes and/or deconstructs the obtained image into a plurality of constituent objects having object location goals (e.g., target object locations) and associated assembly goals.” See at least [0038-0039])
Modified Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Ikeda teaches
receive data associated with the camera and data associated with one or more other cameras. (“The image-pickup acquisition unit 250 includes, for example, an environmental camera 121 provided at a position where an environmental space including moving ranges of the robot arm 130 and the robot hand 140 in the main-body part 120 can be observed, and a hand camera 141 provided at a tip of the robot arm 130. The environmental camera 121 and the hand camera 141 include an image pickup device which is, for example, a CMOS image sensor and an image data generating unit. The environmental camera 121 outputs image data generated by shooting an environmental space in front of it. The hand camera 141 outputs image data generated by shooting a space in front of the robot hand 140.” See at least [0030] and fig. 1; “The environmental camera 121 passes the generated image data to the control unit 200. As described above, the hand camera 141 is used for observing a space in front of the robot hand 140, and performs shooting in accordance with a shooting instruction from the control unit 200. The hand camera 141 passes the generated image data to the control unit 200.” See at least [0034])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Natarajan to further include the teachings of Ikeda with a reasonable expectation of success “to appropriately recognize a grasping position of a target object to be grasped and then increase a success rate of grasping, and reduce a time required for the grasping.” (See at least [0013])
Regarding Claim 7,
Modified Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Ikeda teaches
wherein the processor is configured to generate a three dimensional view of a work area associated with the robotic system based on one or more of the data associated with the camera and the data associated with the one or more other cameras. (“the information may be image data on a three-dimensional (3D) image created by compositing a plurality of image-pickup images of the target object to be grasped acquired by the image-pickup acquisition unit.” See at least [0012]; “The image-pickup acquisition unit 250 includes, for example, an environmental camera 121 provided at a position where an environmental space including moving ranges of the robot arm 130 and the robot hand 140 in the main-body part 120 can be observed, and a hand camera 141 provided at a tip of the robot arm 130.” See at least [0030])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Natarajan to further include the teachings of Ikeda with a reasonable expectation of success “to appropriately recognize a grasping position of a target object to be grasped and then increase a success rate of grasping, and reduce a time required for the grasping.” (See at least [0013])
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan (US 20190275671 A1) in view of Sato (IDS: US 20080312769 A1), Doppler (US 20210024298 A1), and Kobayashi (IDS: US 20170151666 A1).
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Kobayashi teaches
wherein the processor is configured to use the force sensor information to align the structure comprising the first item with the opening associated with the first location in item by repositioning the first item to a location determined by a search algorithm and applying a downward vertical force. (“When performing the contact of the first object to a position different from the insertion portion of the second object and the separation of the first object and the second object at twice or more, the robot 20 helically moves at least one of the first object and the second object as seen in a direction in which the first object and the second object are closer to each other. Thereby, the robot 20 may seek a position in which the first object can be inserted into the insertion portion of the second object while helically changing the relative position between the first object and the insertion portion of the second object to start moving the object in the direction in which the first object and the second object are closer to each other.” [0205]; Also see at least [0130-0131]; See fig. 3 for the helical search trajectory and fig. 9 for downward vertical force (both provided below); Examiner Interpretation: The helical trajectory is the search algorithm and at each point until the hole is found, the pin is moved downward with a force to determine if the pin enters the hole. A measured force is used to determine whether the hole was found ([0123]))
;
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Natarajan to further include the teachings of Kobayashi with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate finding the opening as to prevent continuous insertion failures that could damage the component. (See at least [0194-0195])
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan (US 20190275671 A1) in view of Sato (IDS: US 20080312769 A1), Doppler (US 20210024298 A1), and Luce (IDS: US 20100204824 A1).
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Natarajan does not explicitly teach, but Luce teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to remap position information for the opening associated with the first location and one or more other openings associated with the destination location based at least in item on detecting that the destination receptacle is at the detected orientation that is different than an expected orientation. (“With continued reference to FIG. 10B, in act 423, the control system 250 may generate one or more text files that include one or more computer programs for causing the one or more sensors 240 to inspect a bit body 102 carried by the positioner 212 to identify differences between the intended locations and orientations of the cutting element pockets 112.” [0082]; “In act 424, the control system 250 may use these generated text files to cause the one or more sensors 240 (e.g., a vision system) to inspect a bit body 102 carried by the positioner 212 to identify differences between the intended locations and orientations of the cutting element pockets 112, as set forth in the design of the bit body 102, and the actual locations and orientations of the cutting element pockets 112 in the as-manufactured bit body 102. In act 425, the data or information acquired by the sensors 240 relating to the actual positions and orientations of the cutting element pockets 112 may be used to modify the motion programs that determine the paths to be followed by the positioner 212, the robot 222, and the robot 232 for a particular drill bit 100 or other tool to be processed using the cutting element attachment system 200.” [0084]; Examiner Interpretation: The cutting element’s pockets are interpreted as the openings. The sensor data of the actual position and orientation of the pockets is the remapped position information.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Natarajan to further include the teachings of Luce with a reasonable expectation of success to improve adaptability of the system such that the motion of the robot can be adjusted to account for the unexpected differences in slot orientation. (See at least [0084])
Allowable Subject Matter
Assuming the claim objection is corrected, Claim 14 is allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The relevant prior art evaluated separately and in combination, do not disclose the entirety of the limitations of the independent claim 14 since detecting an orientation approximately 180 degrees different than the expected orientation, withdrawing the item, rotating 180 degrees, and moving it to a remapped location as disclosed by the applicant is not taught. The closest prior art found is Natarajan (US 20190275671 A1) and Sato (IDS: US 20080312769 A1) as they respectively disclose planning object placements in destination receptacles and determining, based on the force and moment exerted on the workpiece held by the gripper, the existence of a position and orientation error of a hole (opening) of the receptacle. Though, the prior art does not teach the technique of withdrawing, rotating the item 180 degrees, and moving it to a remapped location and does not disclose all of the claim limitations of any of the claims on its own or in combination with other relevant art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Diankov (US 20200361091 A1) is pertinent because it discusses replacing an initial source container with a new source container comprising multiple objects and processing new image data to derive a new motion plan for a picking robot.
Eto (US 20210060769 A1) is pertinent because it discusses a robot that moves objects from an extraction source container to a transport destination container and a detector/camera that extracts information on the extraction source container and an object positioned inside.
The above mentioned art, evaluated separately and in combination, does not disclose the entirety of limitations of the independent claim 14 since they do not describe detecting an orientation approximately 180 degrees different than the expected orientation, withdrawing the item, rotating 180 degrees, and moving it to a remapped location as disclosed by the applicant. No prior art has been found at the time of writing this office action to reject the pending claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARSTON G. EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3657