DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keullor et al [US 5,917,433] in view of Bekanich [US 11,999,504]
Claim 1. A system for locating a stolen or missing item (the asset monitoring system 10
for monitoring of lost, stolen or misplaced object or containers 16, see Fig. 1, abstract,
col. 2, lines 42-58, col. 4, lines 43-49), comprising:
a monitoring device (the asset monitors 14, see Fig. 2, col. 5, lines 22-26);
a GPS locator communicatively coupled to the monitoring device (the communication
means 30 including a GPS receiver connected to the asset monitors 14, see Figs. 2, 4,
col. 8, lines 5-18, col. 13, lines 50-54);
a wireless transceiver communicatively coupled to the monitoring device (the
communication means 30 connected to the asset monitors 14, see Fig. 2, col. 4, lines
54-58);
a power source connected to the monitoring device for providing power to one or more
of the monitoring device and the GPS locator (the external power source 15 and energy
storage reservoir 18, see Fig. 2, col. 6, lines 25-45]);
wherein the monitoring device is further configured to cause the wireless transceiver to
transmit the location signal to a remote server when there is the interruption in
power from the power source to the monitoring device or the GPS locator (the asset
monitors 14 causes the communication means 30 to wirelessly transmit a notification
information including time, date and asset location of the container 16 or trailer to the remote central station 12 when electric power is untethered, disconnected or interrupted from the external power source 15, see Figs. 2-4, col. 3, lines 45-54, col. 4, lines 33-37, col. 12, lines 17-36). But
Keullor et al fails to disclose wherein the monitoring device is configured to cause the GPS locator to generate a location signal when there is an interruption in power from the power source to the monitoring device or the GPS locator. However,
Keullor et al teaches that the asset monitors 14 causes the communication means 30 to wirelessly transmit a notification information including time, date and asset location of the container 16 or trailer to the remote central station 12 when electric power is untethered, disconnected or interrupted from the external power source 15, see Figs. 2-4, col. 3, lines 45-54, col. 4, lines 33-37, col. 12, lines 17-36).
Bekanich suggests that the power management module to communicate with an activation module that activates an aircraft emergency location transmitter and initiates two-way communication with a satellite upon detection of an anomaly in the aircraft operating parameters, the aircraft emergency location transmitter transmitting aircraft location coordinates and an emergency signal (see Fig. 8, abstract).
The disclosed methods may be applied to particular markets or to a particular technical limitation which may work independently or as a complete solution. The aforementioned methodologies are not limited to routine or emergency aircraft use, and maybe modified to work with any vehicle type, building or location, which is not limited to automobiles, boats, buses, trains, trucks, subways; mass transit vehicles, maritime vessel, private aircraft, commercial aircraft, air traffic control towers, airports, nuclear facilities, refineries, drilling platforms, waterways, airspace, structure, or location without deviating from the scope or spirit of this invention (see col. 5, lines 35-47).
An aircraft emergency communication network as in claim 4, wherein said at least one of said aircraft emergency location transmitter and said satellite tracking system is activated upon detection of at least one of a power interruption such as a power anomaly or an out of specification during flight, by the smart ADS-B system 300 and avionics monitoring software 132 (see claim 9, Figs. 27, 29, col. 14, lines 46-67, col. 15, lines 1-5, 53-67, col. 16, lines 1-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement the automatically activated the GPS to locate an airplane or a vehicle when it power is interrupted of Benakich to the asset monitor and the wireless communication means including GPS to wirelessly transmit a notification information including time, date and asset location of the container or trailer to the remote central station when electric power is untethered, disconnected or interrupted from the external power source of Keullor et al for immediately and quickly to provide accurate location an airplane, vehicle or trailer lost electric power during flying or driving so that the rescuing and saving life is greater effective by the GPS locator, which is very well known in the traffic systems including aviation traffic, vehicle traffics and/or marine traffics.
Claim 2. The system of claim 1, wherein, when there is the interruption in power from
the power source to the monitoring device, the monitoring device causes (i) the GPS
locator to generate the location signal and (ii) the wireless transceiver to transmit the
location signal to the remote server (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including
the server, see col. 15, lines 19-28).
Claim 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is disposed within the
GPS locator (the communication means 30 including GPS receiver and wireless
transceiver, see Figs. 2, 4).
Claim 4. The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is disposed within the
monitoring device (the communication means 30, see Fig. 2).
Claim 6. The system of claim 1, wherein the monitoring device is communicatively
coupled to a siren, and wherein the monitoring device causes the siren to activate an
alarm when there is the interruption in power from the power source to the monitoring
device (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, wherein the siren read upon the alerting
and warning to the operator interface 50 and to the remote central station 12, see Fig. 2,
col. 3, lines 64-67, col. 4, lines 1-22).
Claim 7. The system of claim 1, wherein the GPS locator is configured to receive an
electrical current from the power source (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Fig.
2).
Claim 8. The system of claim 1, wherein the monitoring device comprises a battery (the
battery energy storage reservoir 18, see Figs. 1, 2, col. 6, lines 25-26).
Claim 9. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is integrated into a motor vehicle,
wherein the power source comprises a battery of the motor vehicle, and wherein the
monitoring device is configured to monitor a status of a catalytic converter of the motor
vehicle (as cited in respect to claims 1 and including the tractor's battery power, see Fig.
2, col. 6, lines 1-5, 25-41).
Claim 10. The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver comprises a cellular
modem, a WIFI modem, or a Bluetooth transceiver (the cellular or packet radio
communication, see col. 9, lines 15-18).
Claims 5, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Keillor et al [US 5,917,433] and Bekanich [US 11,999,504] and further in view of De Kock et al [US 2014/0104048]
Claim 5. Keillor et al fails to disclose the monitoring device is further communicatively
coupled to a sensor disposed on or adjacent to a catalytic converter, and wherein the
sensor is configured to generate a signal when the sensor detects tampering with the
catalytic converter, and wherein the monitoring device causes (i) the GPS locator to
generate the location signal and (ii) the wireless transceiver to transmit the location
signal to the remote server when the signal is received from the sensor. However,
Keillor et al teaches that the asset monitors 14 include GPS and a sensor interface 20
with several sensors 22 for detecting and monitoring the containers 16, trailer 16a or
tractor 16b. However, the containers can include other types of containers, such as rail
cars, shipping containers, towed barges, offshore oil or gas rigs or mobile office or
home trailers without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention, see
Figs. 1, 2, col. 4, lines 33-49, col. 5, lines 22-33, col. 6, lines 62-64, col. 11, lines 12-25).
De Kock et al suggests that the anti-theft system for protecting a vehicle exhaust
component (4) is a catalytic converter. The system includes a sensor 1 configured to
monitor vibrations associated with a vehicle exhaust system 5 and a controller 2
arranged to monitor a signal from the sensor 1. The controller 2 is configured to
generate an alarm event if the signal from the sensor includes characteristics indicative
of vibrations associated with an attempted theft of the vehicle exhaust component 4 by
cutting implement acting against the exhaust pipe, for example a hacksaw, electric saw,
grinder or pipe cutter (see Fig. 1, abstract, para [0009]). The reliable detector of
attempted theft of a catalytic converter, diesel particulate filter or other exhaust
component. Its physical housing and cables are robust, practical and easy to install. The
invention may be used independently or may be used as part of existing vehicle
protection systems in order to provide enhanced protection whilst preventing false
alarms. Embodiments of the invention can be adapted to suit specific frequency bands,
specific amplitudes of interest and specific durations of vibrations. Thus, the invention
may be readily adapted for use in various protection systems such as fuel tank
protection (fuel theft), vehicle load protection (detecting attempted forced entry through
the vehicle's doors), see abstract, Figs. 1-3, para [0052, 0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to implementing substitute the asset monitors with sensors to
monitor of lost, stolen or misplaced object, containers, tractor and/or trailer of Keillor et
al to the anti-theft system with sensor to protect a vehicle catalytic converter of De Kock
et al and Bekanich for extending applications and uses of the asset monitoring system and various protecting of vehicle's components, containers, fuel tank, load, etc., without changing the purposes and results of detecting and monitoring items and components of the vehicle, trailer and truck.
Claim 11. A system for monitoring for tampering or theft of a vehicle component,
comprising: a monitoring device communicatively coupled with a GPS receiver, wherein
the monitoring device is configured to connect to, and be powered by, a battery of a
vehicle, and wherein, upon an interruption in power to the monitoring device, the
monitoring device is configured to cause the GPS locator to generate a location signal.
(as the combination between Keillor et al and Bekanich in respect to claim 1 above). But
Keillor et al fails to disclose a harness configured to connect the monitoring device to
(i) an exhaust pipe of the vehicle and (ii) a sensor configured to generate a signal if
removed from its location; wherein the monitoring device, battery, and GPS receiver
form a circuit, with the exhaust pipe and sensor acting as a ground connection to create
a return path for current in the circuit. However, as the combination of the vehicle exhaust system including exhaust pipe and catalytic converter between Keillor et al and Bekanich and De Kock et al in respect to claim 5 above, and furthermore,
De Kock et al teaches that the sensor unit 1 comprises a sensor chip 7, accelerometer 15, various control circuits mounted inside the housing 6, see Fig. 1, para [0078]). The bracket 8 for mounting the sensor unit 1 to an exhaust pipe 5 of the vehicle. The bracket 8 includes upper and lower plates 9, 10. The lower plate 10 has a central portion 11 and peripheral flanges 12. The peripheral flanges 12 abut the exhaust pipe 5 whilst the central portion 11 is spaced-apart from the exhaust pipe 5. This arrangement serves to minimize the surface area of the bracket 8 that is in direct contact with the exhaust pipe 5 (see Fig. 2, para [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of use or implement the bracket for mounting the sensor unit to an exhaust pipe of
the vehicle of De Kock et al to the assent monitors of Keillor et al and Bekanich for protecting and securing the sensor and monitoring unit to the vehicle exhaust system from any environmental conditions including heat, dirt, dust, snow and water, while effectively monitoring the tampering or stealing of the vehicle's exhaust system.
Claim 12. The system of claim 11, wherein upon the interruption in power to the
monitoring device, the monitoring device is configured to cause a wireless transceiver to
transmit the location signal to a remote server (as cited in respect to claims 1 and 2
above).
Claim 13. The system of claim 12, wherein the wireless transceiver is disposed within
the monitoring device or the GPS locator (as cited in respect to claim 3 above).
Claim 14. The system of claim 11, wherein the interruption in power to the monitoring
device results from a break in the circuit (De Kock et al teaches of cutting wire between
the sensor and the controller and/or the vehicle battery supply has been cut, see para
[0014, 0082, 0109]). Keillor et al teaches that the asset monitor is electrically
disconnect power, see abstract, Fig. 3, col. 10, lines 35-46), and Bekanich teaches of the power interrupted or anormal of, see claim 9, col. 14, lines 65-68, col. 16, lines 2-4).
Claim 15. The system of claim 14, wherein the break in the circuit occurs when the
exhaust pipe is severed (De Kock et al teaches of cutting the exhaust pipe 28a, see
Figs. 6, 10, 11, 16, 17, para [0061, 0066, 0067, 0099, 0104]).
Claim 16. The system of claim 11, wherein the monitoring device or the GPS locator
comprises a second battery (the battery energy storage reservoir 18, see Figs. 2, 3).
Claim 17. The system of claim 11, wherein the monitoring device is further
communicatively coupled to a siren, and wherein the monitoring device is configured to
cause the siren to activate an alarm when there is the interruption in power to the
monitoring device (as cited in respect to claim 6 above).
Claim 18. The system of claim 11, wherein the sensor is configured to monitor for
tampering or theft of a catalytic converter (as the combination of the anti-theft vehicle
catalytic converter between Keillor et al and Bekanich and De Kock et al in respect to claim 5 and 11 above).
Claim 19. The system of claim 18, wherein the monitoring device is communicatively
coupled to the sensor, and wherein the monitoring device causes (i) the GPS locator to
generate the location signal when the signal is received from the sensor (as the combination of the GPS locator between Keillor et al and Bekanich in respect to claim 1 above, see Keillor et al, Figs. 2-4, Bekanich, abstract and claim 9, and De Kock et al, abstract and Fig. 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-19 under Keullor have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bekanich to make the rejection smoother.
Applicant’s arguments:
(A) Keullor does not teaching or suggestion of generating and transmitting a location signal to a remote server when there is an interruption in power from the power source to the monitoring device or the GPS locator. Put another way, Keullor does not disclose interruption of power acting as a trigger for a location signal to be transmitted.
(B) As discussed above, Keullor fails to teach or suggest the limitation "wherein, upon an interruption in power to the monitoring device, the monitoring device is configured to cause the GPS locator to generate a location signal", which is required by claim 11. The addition of De Kock fails to remedy this deficiency.
Response to the arguments:
(A) It is obvious to combine of the activating or triggering the GPS to locate an airplane, vehicle and/or marine boat when its power is interrupted, failure or anormal between Keullor and Bekanich for immediately and quicky to provide accurate location of an airplane, vehicle or trailer lost electric power during flying or driving so that the rescuing and saving life is greater effective by the GPS locator, which is very well known in the traffic systems including aviation traffic, vehicle traffics and/or marine traffics.
(B) It is obvious to combine De Kock with the combination between Keullor and Bekanick in respect to claim 1 above and in the response (A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshimura discloses a current position of a vehicle is acquired using a GPS or the like when the power source is started, and the current position of the vehicle is acquired when the power source is stopped. The password is not requested when the current position of the vehicle which is acquired when the power source is started coincides with that acquired when the power source is stopped at the previous time.
[JP 2007-200174A]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
08/18/2026