DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification filed on 12/19/2024, page 1, para [0001], there is missing a new U.S. Patent No. 12,211,367.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Keullor et al [US 5,917,433]
Claim 1. A system for locating a stolen or missing item (the asset monitoring system 10 for monitoring of lost, stolen or misplaced object or containers 16, see Fig. 1, abstract, col. 2, lines 42-58, col. 4, lines 43-49), comprising:
a monitoring device (the asset monitors 14, see Fig. 2, col. 5, lines 22-26);
a GPS locator communicatively coupled to the monitoring device (the communication means 30 including a GPS receiver connected to the asset monitors 14, see Figs. 2, 4, col. 8, lines 5-18, col. 13, lines 50-54);
a wireless transceiver communicatively coupled to the monitoring device (the communication means 30 connected to the asset monitors 14, see Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 54-58);
a power source connected to the monitoring device for providing power to one or more of the monitoring device and the GPS locator (the external power source 15 and energy storage reservoir 18, see Fig. 2, col. 6, lines 25-45]);
wherein the monitoring device the GPS locator to generate a location signal when there is an interruption in power from the power source to the monitoring device or the
GPS locator (the asset monitoring system 10 and associated method which includes an asset monitor 14 for providing a remotely located central station with information relating to a container 16, such as a trailer 16a, both during tethered periods in which the asset monitor 14 is electrically connected to an external power source 15, such as the electrical system of a tractor or truck, and during untethered periods in which the asset monitor 14 is electrically untethered, disconnected or interrupted from the external power source 15 (see abstract, Figs. 3, 4, col. 3, lines 2-13, col. 4, lines 43-57); and
wherein the monitoring device is further configured to cause the wireless transceiver to
transmit the location signal to a remote server when there is the interruption in
power from the power source to the monitoring device or the GPS locator (the asset monitors 14 causes the communication means 30 to wirelessly transmit a notification information including time, date and asset location of the container 16 to the remote central station 12 when electric power is untethered, disconnected or interrupted from the external power source 15, see Figs. 2-4, col. 3, lines 45-54, col. 4, lines 33-37, col. 12, lines 17-36).
Claim 2. The system of claim 1, wherein, when there is the interruption in power from the power source to the monitoring device, the monitoring device causes (i) the GPS locator to generate the location signal and (ii) the wireless transceiver to transmit the location signal to the remote server (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including the server, see col. 15, lines 19-28).
Claim 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is disposed within the GPS locator (the communication means 30 including GPS receiver and wireless transceiver, see Figs. 2, 4).
Claim 4. The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is disposed within the monitoring device (the communication means 30, see Fig. 2).
Claim 6. The system of claim 1, wherein the monitoring device is communicatively coupled to a siren, and wherein the monitoring device causes the siren to activate an alarm when there is the interruption in power from the power source to the monitoring device (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, wherein the siren read upon the alerting and warning to the operator interface 50 and to the remote central station 12, see Fig. 2, col. 3, lines 64-67, col. 4, lines 1-22).
Claim 7. The system of claim 1, wherein the GPS locator is configured to receive an electrical current from the power source (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Fig. 2).
Claim 8. The system of claim 1, wherein the monitoring device comprises a battery (the battery energy storage reservoir 18, see Figs. 1, 2, col. 6, lines 25-26).
Claim 9. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is integrated into a motor vehicle, wherein the power source comprises a battery of the motor vehicle, and wherein the monitoring device is configured to monitor a status of a catalytic converter of the motor vehicle (as cited in respect to claims 1 and including the tractor’s battery power, see Fig. 2, col. 6, lines 1-5, 25-41).
Claim 10. The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver comprises a cellular modem, a WIFI modem, or a Bluetooth transceiver (the cellular or packet radio communication, see col. 9, lines 15-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keillor et al [US 5,917,433] in view of De Kock et al [US 2014/0104048]
Claim 5. Keillor et al fails to disclose the monitoring device is further communicatively coupled to a sensor disposed on or adjacent to a catalytic converter, and wherein the sensor is configured to generate a signal when the sensor detects tampering with the catalytic converter, and wherein the monitoring device causes (i) the GPS locator to generate the location signal and (ii) the wireless transceiver to transmit the location signal to the remote server when the signal is received from the sensor. However,
Keillor et al teaches that the asset monitors 14 include GPS and a sensor interface 20 with several sensors 22 for detecting and monitoring the containers 16, trailer 16a or tractor 16b. However, the containers can include other types of containers, such as rail cars, shipping containers, towed barges, offshore oil or gas rigs or mobile office or home trailers without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention, see Figs. 1, 2, col. 4, lines 33-49, col. 5, lines 22-33, col. 6, lines 62-64, col. 11, lines 12-25).
De Kock et al suggests that the anti-theft system for protecting a vehicle exhaust component (4) is a catalytic converter. The system includes a sensor 1 configured to monitor vibrations associated with a vehicle exhaust system 5 and a controller 2 arranged to monitor a signal from the sensor 1. The controller 2 is configured to generate an alarm event if the signal from the sensor includes characteristics indicative of vibrations associated with an attempted theft of the vehicle exhaust component 4 by cutting implement acting against the exhaust pipe, for example a hacksaw, electric saw, grinder or pipe cutter (see Fig. 1, abstract, para [0009]). The reliable detector of attempted theft of a catalytic converter, diesel particulate filter or other exhaust component. Its physical housing and cables are robust, practical and easy to install. The invention may be used independently or may be used as part of existing vehicle protection systems in order to provide enhanced protection whilst preventing false alarms. Embodiments of the invention can be adapted to suit specific frequency bands, specific amplitudes of interest and specific durations of vibrations. Thus, the invention may be readily adapted for use in various protection systems such as fuel tank protection (fuel theft), vehicle load protection (detecting attempted forced entry through the vehicle's doors), see abstract, Figs. 1-3, para [0052, 0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implementing substitute the asset monitors with sensors to monitor of lost, stolen or misplaced object, containers, tractor and/or trailer of Keillor et al to the anti-theft system with sensor to protect a vehicle catalytic converter of De Kock et al for extending applications and uses of the asset monitoring system and various protecting of vehicle’s components, containers, fuel tank, load, etc., without changing the purposes and results of detecting and monitoring items and components of the vehicle, trailer and truck.
Claim 11. A system for monitoring for tampering or theft of a vehicle component, comprising: a monitoring device communicatively coupled with a GPS receiver, wherein the monitoring device is configured to connect to, and be powered by, a battery of a
vehicle, and wherein, upon an interruption in power to the monitoring device, the monitoring device is configured to cause the GPS locator to generate a location signal.
(as cited in respect to claim 1 above). But
Keillor et al fails to disclose a harness configured to connect the monitoring device to (i) an exhaust pipe of the vehicle and (ii) a sensor configured to generate a signal if removed from its location; wherein the monitoring device, battery, and GPS receiver form a circuit, with the exhaust pipe and sensor acting as a ground connection to create a return path for current in the circuit (as the combination of the vehicle exhaust system including exhaust pipe and catalytic converter between Keillor et al and De Kock et al in respect to claim 5 above, and further De Kock et al teaches that the sensor unit 1 comprises a sensor chip 7, accelerometer 15, various control circuits mounted inside the housing 6, see Fig. 1, para [0078]). The bracket 8 for mounting the sensor unit 1 to an exhaust pipe 5 of the vehicle. The bracket 8 includes upper and lower plates 9, 10. The lower plate 10 has a central portion 11 and peripheral flanges 12. The peripheral flanges 12 abut the exhaust pipe 5 whilst the central portion 11 is spaced-apart from the exhaust pipe 5. This arrangement serves to minimize the surface area of the bracket 8 that is in direct contact with the exhaust pipe 5 (see Fig. 2, para [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of use or implement the bracket for mounting the sensor unit to an exhaust pipe of the vehicle of De Kock et al to the assent monitors of Keillor et al for protecting and securing the sensor and monitoring unit to the vehicle exhaust system from any environmental conditions including heat, dirt, dust, snow and water, while effectively monitoring the tampering or stealing of the vehicle’s exhaust system.
Claim 12. The system of claim 11, wherein upon the interruption in power to the monitoring device, the monitoring device is configured to cause a wireless transceiver to transmit the location signal to a remote server (as cited in respect to claims 1 and 2 above).
Claim 13. The system of claim 12, wherein the wireless transceiver is disposed within the monitoring device or the GPS locator (as cited in respect to claim 3 above).
Claim 14. The system of claim 11, wherein the interruption in power to the monitoring device results from a break in the circuit (De Kock et al teaches of cutting wire between the sensor and the controller and/or the vehicle battery supply has been cut, see para [0014, 0082, 0109]). Keillor et al teaches that the asset monitor is electrically disconnect or untethered, see abstract, Fig. 3, col. 10, lines 35-46).
Claim 15. The system of claim 14, wherein the break in the circuit occurs when the exhaust pipe is severed ((De Kock et al teaches of cutting the exhaust pipe 28a, see Figs. 6, 10, 11, 16, 17, para [0061, 0066, 0067, 0099, 0104]).
Claim 16. The system of claim 11, wherein the monitoring device or the GPS locator comprises a second battery (the battery energy storage reservoir 18, see Figs. 2, 3).
Claim 17. The system of claim 11, wherein the monitoring device is further communicatively coupled to a siren, and wherein the monitoring device is configured to cause the siren to activate an alarm when there is the interruption in power to the monitoring device (as cited in respect to claim 6 above).
Claim 18. The system of claim 11, wherein the sensor is configured to monitor for tampering or theft of a catalytic converter (as the combination of the anti-theft vehicle catalytic converter between Keillor et al and De Kock et al in respect to claim 5 and 11 above).
Claim 19. The system of claim 18, wherein the monitoring device is communicatively coupled to the sensor, and wherein the monitoring device causes (i) the GPS locator to generate the location signal when the signal is received from the sensor (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 2-4 of Keillor et al). And see abstract and Fig. 1 of De Kock et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mahmoud discloses the apparatus for tracking an item transported with the apparatus, the apparatus comprising: a global positioning system (GPS) module configured to determine a location of the item based on GPS signals received from one or more GPS satellites; a power timer controller; and a mobile communications controller having processing circuitry configured to generate a message including the determined location of the item, wherein the mobile communications controller transmits the generated message to at least one mobile device based on timing information programmed into the mobile communications controller, and generate and send, in response to successful transmission of the generated message, an acknowledgement packet to the power timer controller, wherein the power timer controller, in response to receiving the acknowledgement packet, disconnects power from the GPS module and the mobile communications controller. [US 8,902,059]
Oh et al discloses the maintenance of the separate thermal control zones requires careful selection of construction materials for the various components of selective sensor. For example, thermal conduction of threaded metal housing should be minimized, however this element must provide adequate mechanical strength to protect the internal components of selective gas sensor and provide a mounting support for attachment of the gas sensor to a metal wall, such as an automobile exhaust pipe. Preferably, threaded metal housing is constructed from high strength steel.
[US 5,689,059]
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
04/16/2026