DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB-2221265 (GB’265).
Re: claims 1, 3, 4, and 12. GB’265 shows in figure 1 a protective device for a disc brake rotor, comprising: a cover 12 having an end wall, as labeled, and a side wall, as labeled, extending from the end wall, wherein the end wall comprises a first surface shown at the end of the lead arrow of the labeled end wall and a second surface opposite the first surface, and wherein the end wall includes an opening through the first surface and the second surface; a rod 14 comprising a first or left end and a second or right end; a first cap 13 comprising a first handle portion shown at the end of the lead line of 13 and a first fastening portion, as labeled, wherein the first fastening portion is
[AltContent: textbox (Second cap)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (End wall)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (First fastening portion)][AltContent: textbox (Side wall)]
sized and dimensioned to be positioned at least partially through the opening of the cover as shown, and wherein the fastening portion is configured to couple to the first end of the rod as shown; a second cap, as labeled, comprising a second handle portion or outer periphery and a second fastening portion or inner threaded portion, wherein the second fastening portion is configured to couple to the second end of the rod as shown. With regard to claim 12, see hub 11.
Re: claim 13. GB’265 shows in figure 1 wherein the rod 14 comprises a compressible material since any material is compressible under sufficient force, as broadly recited since no guidance is provided in the instant specification, and is configured to be affixed via the unlabeled bearings to the opening or recess of the hub 11.
Re: claim 14. GB’265 shows in figure 1 wherein an end portion of the rod 14 comprises a first threaded portion shown at the right end of element 14 corresponding to a second threaded portion on the inner region of the labeled second cap within the first opening or recess of the hub 11.
Re: claims 15 and 16. GB’265 shows in figure 1 wherein the rod 14 comprises a first fastener component or threaded portion shown at the right end corresponding to a second fastener component or internal corresponding threaded portion of at least one of the hub and a second cap, as labeled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB’265 in view of US Patent 4207971 to Ishikawa et al.
GB’265 is silent with regard to a set of ribs being positioned on the first surface of the end wall of the cover.
Ishikawa et al. teach in figure 3 the use of cover 16 having a first surface of an end wall of the cover including ribs 20.
[AltContent: textbox (Central ring-shaped piece )][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first surface of the end wall of the cover of GB’265 to have included ribs, in view of the teachings of Ishikawa et al., in order to provide a means of increasing the rigidity of the cover.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB’265 in view of US Patent Application 2004/0074716 to Brumfield et al.
Re: claim 8. GB’265 is silent with regard to the material of the cover.
Brumfield et al. teach in paragraph [0014] the use of a brake cover being made of metal, plastic, or composite which may include metal and plastic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the material of the cover of GB’265 to have been made of metal and plastic, in view of the teachings of Brumfield et al., in order to provide a cover material combination that balances excellent structural integrity and lightweight characteristics.
Re: claim 9. GB’265 is silent with regard to the end wall and the side wall being made of different materials.
Brumfield et al. teach in paragraph [0014] the use of a brake cover that can be made of composite material which is a combination of materials.
Also it would have been obvious to try having either the end wall and the side wall be made of 1.) the same material or 2.) of different material. In other words there is a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See MPEP 2143.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the end wall and side wall of the cover of GB’265 to have been made of different material, in view of the teachings of Brumfield et al. and KSR, in order to provide a means of using materials with different properties in different areas depending on the particular application.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB’265 in view of US Patent 9915306 to Koshiyama et al.
GB’265 shows in figure 1 wherein the handle portion shown in the area at the end of the lead line of 13 of the first cap 13 is positioned adjacent the first or right surface of the cover 12, and the second cap, as labeled, is positioned on an opposite side of the cover as shown such that the cover is positioned between the handle portion of the first cap 13 and the second cap as labeled, but is silent with regard to the protective assembly being assembled with respect to a bicycle, the rod extends through a hub of a wheel of the bicycle.
Koshiyama et al. teach in figure 2 the use of a protective assembly including a cover 12 being assembled with respect to a bicycle with a rod 4a extending through a hub 3 of a wheel of a bicycle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the cover of GB’265 to have been a part of a protective assembly for a bicycle, in view of the teachings of Koshiyama et al., in order to provide protection of a bicycle disc brake rotor to help extend the overall life of the bicycle brake system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB’265.
GB’265 shows in figure 1 wherein the first fastening portion, as labeled, comprises a first opening or recessed portion sized and dimensioned to receive the first end of the rod 14, and wherein the second fastening portion or the inner periphery of the labeled second cap comprises a second opening or recessed portion sized and dimensioned to receive the second end of the rod 14, and wherein the second opening or recessed portion and the second end of the rod comprise complementary threads to couple with the shown threads at the end of rod 14, but is silent with regard to the first opening or recessed portion and the first end of the rod comprising complementary threads.
GB’265 teaches the complementary threaded portion with the right end of the rod 14 and the inner portion of the labeled second cap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the left side of the rod 14 of GB’265 to have included complementary threads with the first fastening portion of the first cap, in view of the teachings of GB’265, in order to provide a way to more effectively or securely couple the first cap to the rod to improve overall durability of the assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent and Patent Applications US 2019/0106096, US 2020/0232530, and US 6796406 as well as foreign patent DE-10348001 teach the use of similar brake covers.
mmb
September 30, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616