Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2,3,6,7,10, 13, 14-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “may” in claims 2, 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “may” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “preferably” in claims 2, 3,13,18,19,20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “optionally” in claims 3,6,14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “optionally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “typically” in claims 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “typically” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Interpretation
“Means for sending” (claim 12) is interpreted under 112(f) and is supported in the specification in paragraph [0037, 0055].
“Means for monitoring/monitoring means” (claim 12, 19) is interpreted under 112(f) despite the presence of “optical detector“ because the mere mention of an optical detector does not describe sufficient structure to perform the entire claimed function of “detecting display of said visual verification information on said screen”. An optical detector has the basic function of detecting light, but does not inherently perform the entire function of detecting display of visual verification information. “Means for monitoring/monitoring means” is supported in the specification in paragraph [0040, 0048, 0051, 0057].
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 2 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 7 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0075370).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses A method of verifying display of primary visual information on a screen of an electronic visual display device, the method comprising: sending at least one input signal to said electronic visual display device, said at least one input signal comprising data for causing said electronic visual display device to display said primary visual information on said screen (fig. 9, [0102-0105]), said at least one input signal further including data for causing said electronic visual display device to display visual verification information on said screen (fig. 1(111) Visual verification data is displayed on the corner of the screen along with the primary visual information) simultaneously with said primary visual information (fig. 9(110)); and monitoring said screen using at least one optical detector to detect display of said visual verification information on said screen (fig. 10, [0110-0113] Optical detector is used to detect the visual verification data).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses displaying said visual verification information at least one verification location on a display area of said screen, and monitoring said at least one location using said at least one optical detector, and wherein said at least one verification location may be located at a peripheral part of said display area, preferably at a corner or side of said display area, and wherein said at least one verification location occupies a portion of said display area, preferably less than 5% of said display area ([0090], fig. 9,10).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein said at least one input signal comprises data representing said primary visual information, wherein said primary visual information may comprise any one or more of: text; one or more image; one or more animation; one or more video, and wherein said at least one input comprises data representing said visual verification information, said visual verification information comprising any visual information, preferably comprising a colour, pattern and/or a tone, or a sequence of colours, patterns and/or tones, that may be displayed on the screen and be detectable by said at least one optical detector, and wherein, optionally, said data representing said visual verification information is included in, added to, or associated with, data representing said primary visual information ([0066,00067]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses verifying display of said primary visual information by determining that said visual verification information is detected on said screen by said at least one optical detector ([0112]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein said monitoring includes processing an output signal of said at least one optical detector to determine if said output signal includes information representing said visual verification information ([0114-0116]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses extracting current visual information from said output signal and comparing in real time the extracted current visual information with the visual verification information intended for current display, and determining if the extracted current visual information matches the intended current visual verification information, and wherein said comparing optionally involves using one or more adjustable similarity threshold ([0069-0071]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein said visual verification information comprises a sequence of multiple parts, said method including sending one part at a time for display on said electronic visual display device, and wherein said comparing in real time the extracted current visual information with the visual verification information intended for current display, and determining if the extracted current visual information matches the intended current visual verification information is performed after one part is sent and before the next part is sent, and wherein each part typically comprises data representing a colour, a pattern or a tone ([0094, 0095, 0105]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses determining that the extracted current visual information matches the intended visual verification information if in at least one of said instances there is deemed to be a match, or if in at least a threshold number of said instances there is deemed to be a match, or if in at least a threshold percentage of said instances there is deemed to be a match ([0116-0119]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses performing multiple instances of said comparing in real time the extracted current visual information with the visual verification information intended for current display, and said determining if the extracted current visual information matches the intended current visual verification information in succession, and determining from said multiple instances if the extracted current visual information matches the intended visual verification information, and wherein a number of said multiple instances is adjustable ([0191]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses adjusting the position and/or size of said at least one verification location on said display area of said screen to match the location of said at least one optical detector ([0106,0190]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses wherein said at least one input signal includes data for causing said visual verification information to be displayed on said screen as foreground visual information, optionally overlying a portion of said primary visual information, and/or wherein said at least one input signal includes data for causing said visual verification information to be displayed on said screen separately from said primary visual information ([0068, 0144, 0175]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses A system for verifying display of primary visual information on a screen of an electronic visual display device, the system comprising: means for sending ([0066-0068]) at least one input signal to said electronic visual display device(fig. 9, [0102-0105]), said at least one input signal comprising data for causing said electronic visual display device to display said primary visual information on said screen(fig. 9(110)), said at least one input signal further including data for causing said electronic visual display device to display visual verification information(fig. 9(111)) on said screen simultaneously with said primary visual information; and means for monitoring said screen to detect display of said visual verification information on said screen, said monitoring means comprising at least one optical detector(fig. 10, [0110-0113]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses wherein said at least one optical detector comprises one or more photodetector or other optoelectronic device, and wherein, preferably, said at least one optical detector is a colour sensor, a greyscale sensor, or a binary (e.g. black and white) sensor, or wherein said at least one optical detector comprises an image sensor or a digital camera ([0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2019/0075370) in view of Fukuda (US 2017/0168304).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses wherein said monitoring means comprises an optical detection assembly for mounting on said screen, the optical detection assembly comprising a first portion on which said at least one optical detector is provided (fig. 9, [0108-0112]).
Kim does not specifically disclose a second portion on which other electrical and/or electronic circuitry is provided, the first and second portions being mechanically and electrically connected by a flexible intermediate portion, said intermediate portion preferably being non-resiliently flexible, and wherein said other circuitry optionally comprises any one or more of: wired or wireless communication circuitry, signal processing circuitry and/or optical detection circuitry.
However, Fukuda discloses a second portion on which other electrical and/or electronic circuitry is provided, the first and second portions being mechanically and electrically connected by a flexible intermediate portion, said intermediate portion preferably being non-resiliently flexible (fig. 10(8)), and wherein said other circuitry optionally comprises any one or more of: wired or wireless communication circuitry, signal processing circuitry and/or optical detection circuitry (fig. 1, 10, [0048, 0065]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the flexible detector of Fukuda into the system of Kim in order to provide the viewer with flexibility in how they want to place the detector.
Regarding claim 15, Fukuda discloses wherein said intermediate portion comprises a flexible circuit ([0048]).
Regarding claim 16, Fukuda discloses wherein said first portion, said second portion and said intermediate portion are provided integrally by a flexible circuit ([0048] of Fukuda).
Regarding claim 17, Fukuda discloses wherein said optical detection assembly comprises a flexible electronic assembly ([0048, 0065]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses wherein said at least one optical detector is adhered to said screen, preferably to a display area of said screen, by at least one adhesive fixing ([0109, 0110]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses wherein said monitoring means comprises an optical detection assembly for mounting on said screen, the optical detection assembly comprising a first portion on which said at least one optical detector is provided, and wherein said first portion of the optical detection assembly is adhered to said screen, preferably to a display area of said screen, by at least one adhesive fixing (fig. 9, 10, [0109, 0110]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses An optical detection assembly for mounting on a screen, the optical detection assembly comprising a first portion on which at least one optical detector is provided (fig. 9, 10, [0106-0110]).
Kim does not specifically disclose a second portion on which other electrical and/or electronic circuitry is provided, the first and second portions being mechanically and electrically connected by a flexible intermediate portion, said intermediate portion preferably being non-resiliently flexible.
However, Fukuda discloses a second portion on which other electrical and/or electronic circuitry is provided, the first (fig. 1(6)) and second portions (fig. 1(4)) being mechanically and electrically connected by a flexible intermediate portion (fig. 1(8)), said intermediate portion preferably being non-resiliently flexible(fig. 1, 10, [0048, 0065]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the flexible detector of Fukuda into the system of Kim in order to provide the viewer with flexibility in how they want to place the detector.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426