Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17, 21-24 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 25-26, 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 2008/0204437) in view of Rami (US 2020/0028994).
Regarding claim 20, Jensen discloses An optical detection assembly for mounting on a screen (fig. 2), the optical detection assembly comprising a first portion (fig. 2(22)) on which at least one optical detector is provided ([0038]); and a second portion (fig. 2(24), [0040]) on which other electrical and/or electronic circuitry is provided the second portions being mechanically and electrically connected by a flexible intermediate portion mechanically connecting said first and second portions ([0048, 0065]), said flexible intermediate portion comprising electrical connection means electrically connecting said at least one optical detector to said other electrical and/or electronic circuitry ([0064-0066]); fixing said first portion to a display area of said screen ([0018]).
However, Jensen does not specifically disclose an adhesive patch.
Rami discloses an adhesive patch ([0032] 3m tape). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the adhesive patch of Rami into the system of Jensen in order to easily mount the sensor to the screen in a way that can easily be removed/moved in the future.
Regarding claim 25, Jensen in view of Rami discloses wherein said patch is configured to cover said first portion when fixed to said display area of said screen ([0032] of Rami, fig. 8(128) of Jensen).
Regarding claim 26, Jensen in view of Rami discloses wherein said optical detection assembly is configured such that said second portion and at least part of said flexible intermediate portion are not covered by said adhesive patch (fig. 4 of Jensen).
Regarding claim 28, Jensen discloses wherein said other circuitry comprises any one or more of: wired or wireless communication circuitry, signal processing circuitry and/or optical detection circuitry ([0038]).
Regarding claim 29, Jensen discloses wherein said intermediate portion comprises a flexible circuit ([0065]).
Regarding claim 30, Jensen discloses wherein said first portion, said second portion and said intermediate portion are provided integrally by a flexible circuit ([0048, 0065]).
Regarding claim 31, Jensen discloses wherein said optical detection assembly comprises a flexible electronic assembly ([0048, 0065]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 2008/0204437) in view of Rami (US 2020/0028994) in view of Olsen (US 2016/0324488).
Regarding claim 27, Jensen in view of Rami does not specifically disclose wherein said at least one optical detector is incorporated into said adhesive patch mor located under said patch when fixed to the display area of said screen.
Olsen discloses wherein said at least one optical detector is incorporated into said adhesive patch or located under said patch when fixed to the display area of said screen ([0046, 0048]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the adhesive sensor of Olsen into the system of Jensen in view of Rami in order the streamline the optical assembly device.
Response to Arguments
Arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. Claim 20 was newly amended (claim 20 on the set of claims submitted on 5/28/26 Is missing the underline showing the amended limitations).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL H HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426