DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto (6,893,080).
Hashimoto discloses a cargo extending system for a vehicle comprising a cabin area (2) having a floor (7), a cargo area (3) having a cargo bed surface (4), a seat (6) disposed in the cabin area (2), and a gate (11) disposed between the cabin area (2) and the cargo area (3), as shown in Figure 1. The seat (6) is configured to pivot in a forward direction of the vehicle to expose the floor (7), as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed on lines 57-67 of column 2. The gate (11) has a first surface and a second surface, as shown in Figure 1. The gate (11) moves between a closed configuration, as shown in Figure 1, in which the first surface faces in a direction of the cabin area and an open configuration, as shown in Figure 1, in which the second surface is generally planar with the cargo bed surface, as shown in Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (6,893,080) in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2018/0244179).
Hashimoto discloses the seat (6) is supported by the floor (7) of the cabin area, as shown in Figure 1.
However, Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose two hinges.
Sasaki et al. teaches pivotally coupling a seat (40) to a vehicle floor by two hinges (20), as shown in Figures 1-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two hinges to the pivotal seat of Hashimoto, as taught by Sasaki et al., with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious expedient to provide the disclosed pivoting in a manner that supports the seat.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (6,893,080) in view of Fisher et al. (6,416,104).
Hashimoto does not disclose the ribs.
Fisher et al. teaches providing ribs on the floor (18) of a cabin area, as shown in Figure 6.
In reference to claim 17, a storage area is disposed between the ribs on the floor of the cabin area, as shown in Figure 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ribs in the floor of Hashimoto resulting in a storage area disposed between the ribs, as taught by Fisher et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to improve rigidity of the floor.
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (6,893,080) in view of Kammerer (US 2004/0256900).
Hashimoto does not disclose the seat brackets.
Kammerer teaches providing seat brackets (203) to a vehicle floor to support a rear portion of a seat in a seating position, as shown in Figure 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide seat brackets to support the seat of Hashimoto in the seating portion, as taught by Kammerer, with a reasonable expectation for success resulting in the gate being configured to overlie the seat brackets when in the open position to safely maintain the seat in the seating position when supporting a passenger while allowing the seat to be disconnected to move to a displaced position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Claims 12-14, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 1 and 12 is the gate pivots to a position contacting the floor of the cabin area, which is not found in the prior art of record. The closest prior art Buccinna et al. discloses a gate that pivots towards the floor, but stops at a position parallel to the floor to provide a level platform.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 19 is the gate is supported by a first cross member in the open configuration and the second cross member supports the seat brackets, which is not found in the prior art of records.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 July 24, 2026