DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the preliminary amendment filed on 2/21/2025, claim 1 has been canceled, and newly added claims 2-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Newly added claims 5 and 15 recite “the first stiffness is grater than the second stiffness” and newly added claim 6 recites “the outer fixation element has a higher spring constant than the inner fixation element.” However, the original disclosure does not provide support for these limitations. The original specification has only disclosed the first stiffness as being less than the second stiffness (see published application paragraphs [0062], [0063], [0129], [0150]) and the outer fixation element has a lower spring constant than the inner fixation element (see published application paragraphs [0009], [0060], [0130], [0151]). There, the original disclosure appears to only support the opposite of what is presently recited in claims 5, 6 and 15 and therefore the limitations of these claims are considered new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4, 7 -10, 13, 14, 16-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haasl et al US 2015/0025612).
Haasl et al discloses the following limitations:
Claim 2. A biostimulator (Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a housing (110, 210) having a longitudinal axis (along the longitudinal shape; [0030]) and an electronics compartment (inside of housing) containing pacing circuitry ([0023], [0024]); and
a header assembly mounted on the housing, wherein the header assembly includes
an outer fixation element (130, 230) having an outer helix extending about the longitudinal axis in a helical direction and having a first stiffness in a longitudinal direction, and
an inner fixation element (120, 220) having an inner helix radially inward of the outer helix and extending about the longitudinal axis in the helical direction and having a second stiffness in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the first stiffness is different than the second stiffness ([0026], [0037], [0038]).
Claim 3. The biostimulator of claim 2, wherein the first stiffness is less than the second stiffness ([0026], [0037]).
Claim 4. The biostimulator of claim 3, wherein the outer fixation element has a lower spring constant than the inner fixation element ([0026], [0037]; the Examiner considers that since the spring constant is a measure of the stiffness of the spring (i.e. the stiffer the spring, the larker the spring constant), the less stiff outer coil 240 will have a lower spring constant).
Claim 7. The biostimulator of claim 2, wherein the outer fixation element and the inner fixation element are formed from materials having different elastic moduli ([0037]).
Claim 8. The biostimulator of claim 2, wherein the outer fixation element has a different helical pitch than the inner fixation element (Fig. 2).
Claim 9. The biostimulator of claim 2, wherein the outer fixation element has a different wire cross-sectional area than the inner fixation element (Fig. 2; [0038]).
Claim 10. The biostimulator of claim 2, wherein the outer fixation element extends to a first distal tip (232), wherein the inner fixation element extends to a second distal tip (222), and wherein the first distal tip is proximal to the second distal tip (Fig. 2B).
Claim 13. A biostimulator system, comprising:
a transport system including a catheter having a distal end ([0022]); and
a biostimulator (Figs. 1, 2) coupled to the distal end and including
a housing (110, 210) having a longitudinal axis (along the longitudinal shape; [0030]) and an electronics compartment (inside of housing) containing pacing circuitry ([0023], [0024]), and
a header assembly mounted on the housing, wherein the header assembly includes
an outer fixation element (130, 230) having an outer helix extending about the longitudinal axis in a helical direction and having a first stiffness in a longitudinal direction, and
an inner fixation element (120, 220) having an inner helix radially inward of the outer helix and extending about the longitudinal axis in the helical direction and having a second stiffness in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the first stiffness is different than the second stiffness ([0026], [0037], [0038]).
Claim 14. The biostimulator system of claim 13, wherein the first stiffness is less than the second stiffness ([0026], [0037]).
Claim 16. The biostimulator system of claim 13, wherein the outer fixation element and the inner fixation element are formed from materials having different elastic moduli ([0037]).
Claim 17. The biostimulator system of claim 13, wherein the outer fixation element has a different helical pitch than the inner fixation element (Fig. 2).
Claim 18. The biostimulator system of claim 13, wherein the outer fixation element has a different wire cross-sectional area than the inner fixation element (Fig. 2; [0038]).
Claim 19. The biostimulator system of claim 13, wherein the outer fixation element extends to a first distal tip (232), wherein the inner fixation element extends to a second distal tip (222), and wherein the first distal tip is proximal to the second distal tip (Fig. 2B).
Claim 21. A method, comprising:
advancing a biostimulator system to a target tissue, wherein the biostimulator system includes a transport system including a catheter having a distal end ([0022]), and a biostimulator (Figs. 1, 2) coupled to the distal end and including a housing (1 210) having a longitudinal axis (along the longitudinal shape; [0030]) and an electronics compartment (inside of housing) containing pacing circuitry ([0023], [0024]), and a header assembly mounted on the housing, wherein the header assembly includes an outer fixation (130, 230) element having an outer helix extending about the longitudinal axis in a helical direction and having a first stiffness in a longitudinal direction, and an inner fixation element (120, 220) having an inner helix radially inward of the outer helix and extending about the longitudinal axis in the helical direction and having a second stiffness in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the first stiffness is different than the second stiffness ([0026], [0037], [0038]);
contacting the inner fixation element and the outer fixation element against the target tissue ([0061]); and
rotating the biostimulator to screw the inner fixation element and the outer fixation element into the target tissue ([0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haasl et al in view of Clark et al (US 2012/0185023).
Claims 11, 12 and 20. Haasl et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed above, but fails to disclose one or more of the outer fixation element or the inner fixation element are formed from a biodegradable material (as per claims 11 and 20) and wherein the biodegradable material includes a biodegradable metal (as per claim 12).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Clark et al teaches a biostimulator (14) having a tissue piercing fixation element (24) (akin to the inner fixation element 220 of Haasel et al having a tissue penetrating end as discussed in [0031]) made of a biodegradable metal (29) ([0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distal tissue penetration end of the inner fixation element of Haasl et al to be formed of a biodegradable material based upon the teachings of Clark et al to allow the tissue penetration end of the fixation elements to biodegrade over time, leaving behind a more blunt end portion to minimize trauma to the tissue ([0052]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11541243 in view of Haasl et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are broader in some respects and merely add an obvious feature absent from the patent claim in other respects.
Claims 1, 13 and 21 recite the additional feature of the outer fixation element having a first stiffness in the longitudinal direction, and the inner fixation element having a second stiffness in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the first stiffness is different (less) than the second stiffness. However, in the same field of endeavor, Haasl et al teaches a biostimulator having an outer fixation element (230) having a first stiffness, and inner fixation element (220) having a second stiffness, wherein the first stiffness is less than the second stiffness ([0026], [0037], [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the patent claims to include this feature to allow the outer fixation element to more easily collapse and provide compression against tissue to improve anti-unscrewing capability when the inner fixation element is fixed to target tissue ([0037]).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE M SHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771