DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moteki et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0036137 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Moteki et al. discloses
a first roller (33a) to convey a medium;
a solenoid or a motor (MS, [0046]), to move the first roller between a first position (i.e. solid line in Fig. 3A) in contact with the medium and a second position (i.e. dashed line in Fig. 3A) spaced apart from the medium;
a second roller (31/32) located on a downstream side of the first roller in a medium conveying direction (B, Fig. 2) to convey the medium;
a medium sensor (S1 or S2) located in a central portion (i.e. a region encompassing S1, S2 and the area between them in the widthwise direction, symmetric about the centerline of the sheet path, since a “portion” can be interpreted as any chosen section or region that satisfies the claim) in a direction intersecting with the medium conveying direction (Fig. 2);
a processor (300) to
determine whether a skew of the conveyed medium has occurred ([0049], S12, Fig. 5), and
control the solenoid or the motor to move the first roller to the second position (S13), and return the first roller to the first position (S16) when the medium sensor detects passage of a front end of the conveyed medium (i.e. the first roller moves to the second position when the sensor detects passage of a front end of the sheet per [0059] and subsequently the first roller is returned to the first position. It is noted that the claim does not associate the front end detection with the return to the first position only, rather it may be interpreted that the front end detection triggers the sequence of moving the first roller to the second position then to the first position) when it is determined that the skew of the conveyed medium has occurred ([0060]), and
execute a correction of the skew of the conveyed medium, using the second roller (S14).
Regarding Claim 3 and 11, Moteki et al. discloses
the second roller is a plurality of feed rollers (31, 32) located apart from each other in the direction intersecting with the medium conveying direction (Fig. 2) to feed the medium by rotating independently ([0045]), respectively, and wherein
the processor corrects the skew of the medium by making circumferential speeds of the feed rollers vary from each other ([0049]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Moteki et al. discloses
a third roller (44) located on a downstream side of the second roller in the medium conveying direction (Fig. 1), wherein
the medium sensor is located between the second roller and the third roller in the medium conveying direction (i.e. as in Fig. 2, S1 or S2 is located downstream of 31/32 and in 30, which is upstream of 44).
Regarding Claim 9, Moteki et al. discloses
conveying the medium, by a first roller (33a);
moving the first roller between a first position (i.e. solid line in Fig. 3A) in contact with the medium and a second position (i.e. dashed line in Fig. 3A) spaced apart from the medium, by a solenoid or a motor (MS, [0046]);
conveying the medium, by a second roller (31/32) located on a downstream side of the first roller in a medium conveying direction (B, Fig. 2);
detecting the skew of the conveyed medium ([0049], S12, Fig. 5);
controlling the solenoid or the motor to move the first roller to the second position (S13), and return the first roller to the first position (S16) when a medium sensor (S1 or S2) located in a central portion (i.e. a region encompassing S1, S2 and the area between them in the widthwise direction, symmetric about the centerline of the sheet path, since a “portion” can be interpreted as any chosen section or region that satisfies the claim) in a direction intersecting with the medium conveying direction detects passage of a front end of the conveyed medium (i.e. the first roller moves to the second position when the sensor detects passage of a front end of the sheet per [0059] and subsequently the first roller is returned to the first position. It is noted that the claim does not associate the front end detection with the return to the first position only, rather it may be interpreted that the front end detection triggers the sequence of moving the first roller to the second position then to the first position) when the skew of the conveyed medium is detected ([0060]); and
executing a correction of the skew of the conveyed medium, using the second roller (S14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moteki et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0036137 A1) in view of Marshall et al. (US Patent No. 6,089,561).
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Moteki et al. does not disclose a medium tray and pick roller.
Marshall et al. discloses a medium tray (18), wherein the first roller is a pick roller (32a) to convey the medium placed on the medium tray, for the purpose of deskewing and preventing double feed at a supply source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the invention of Moteki et al. to the device having a medium tray and pick roller, as disclosed by Marshall et al., for the purpose of deskewing and preventing double feed at a supply source. It is noted that Marshall et al. also discloses deskewing a medium by differential drive and a pivotable picker arm 42a.
Claim(s) 15, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moteki et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0036137 A1) in view of Hasegawa (US Pub No. 2018/0273319 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Moteki et al. discloses
a medium conveying apparatus including a first roller (33a) to convey a medium, a solenoid or a motor (MS, [0046]) to move the first roller between a first position (i.e. solid line in Fig. 3A) in contact with the medium and a second position (i.e. dashed line in Fig. 3A) spaced apart from the medium, a second roller (31/32) located on a downstream side of the first roller in a medium conveying direction (B, Fig. 2) to convey the medium, and a medium sensor (S1 or S2) located in a central portion (i.e. a region encompassing S1, S2 and the area between them in the widthwise direction, symmetric about the centerline of the sheet path, since a “portion” can be interpreted as any chosen section or region that satisfies the claim) in a direction intersecting with the medium conveying direction (Fig. 2), to execute a process, the process comprising:
detecting the skew of the conveyed medium ([0049], S12, Fig. 5);
controlling the solenoid or the motor to move the first roller to the second position (S13), and return the first roller to the first position (S16) when the medium sensor detects passage of a front end of the conveyed medium (i.e. the first roller moves to the second position when the sensor detects passage of a front end of the sheet per [0059] and subsequently the first roller is returned to the first position. It is noted that the claim does not associate the front end detection with the return to the first position only, rather it may be interpreted that the front end detection triggers the sequence of moving the first roller to the second position then to the first position) when the skew of the conveyed medium is detected ([0060]); and
executing a correction of the skew of the conveyed medium, using the second roller (S14).
Moteki et al. does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory medium.
Hasegawa discloses a computer-readable, non-transitory medium (151) storing a computer program ([0061]), for the purpose of executing a control process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Moteki et al. by including a non-transitory medium as disclosed by Hasegawa, for the purpose of executing a control process.
Regarding Claim 17, Moteki et al. discloses
the second roller is a plurality of feed rollers (31, 32) located apart from each other in the direction intersecting with the medium conveying direction (Fig. 2) to feed the medium by rotating independently ([0045]), respectively, and wherein
the processor corrects the skew of the medium by making circumferential speeds of the feed rollers vary from each other ([0049]).
Regarding Claims 19, Moteki et al. discloses
a third roller (44) located on a downstream side of the second roller in the medium conveying direction (Fig. 1), wherein
the medium sensor is located between the second roller and the third roller in the medium conveying direction (i.e. as in Fig. 2, S1 or S2 is located downstream of 31/32 and in 30, which is upstream of 44).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moteki et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0036137 A1) in view of Hasegawa (US Pub No. 2018/0273319 A1) in view of Marshall et al. (US Patent No. 6,089,561).
Regarding Claim 16, Moteki et al. does not disclose a medium tray and pick roller.
Marshall et al. discloses a medium tray (18), wherein the first roller is a pick roller (32a) to convey the medium placed on the medium tray, for the purpose of deskewing and preventing double feed at a supply source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the invention of Moteki et al. and Hasegawa to the device having a medium tray and pick roller, as disclosed by Marshall et al., for the purpose of deskewing and preventing double feed at a supply source. It is noted that Marshall et al. also discloses deskewing a medium by differential drive and a pivotable picker arm 42a.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-8, 12, 14, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows a plurality of second medium sensors as claimed (Claims 4, 6, 7, 12 and 18) or moving the first roller to the second position based on the third medium sensor as claimed (Claims 8, 14 and 20), in combination with the remaining elements.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that “In Moteki, when the sheet trailing edge detection sensor 34 detects a trailing edge of the skew-corrected sheet, the driven roller 33a and the drive roller 33b contact with each other by driving the motor MS. In Moteki, it is not described that when the sheet trailing edge detection sensor 34 detects a front end of the skew-corrected sheet, the driven roller 33a and the drive roller 33b contact with each other by driving the motor MS.“, it is noted that in the present rejection, sensor S1 or S2 is construed as the medium sensor, wherein upon its detection of the front end of the medium, a sequence of processes is carried out including moving the first roller to the second position and returning it to the first position. Also see the Claims 1, 9 and 15 rejections above.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 March 24, 2026