DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 12/19/2024. Claims 1-18 are
pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
ZHAO et al. (US 2024/0147455 Al, hereinafter “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses:
A transmission method, comprising (method for communication based on a physical sidelink shared channel, Zhao: [0005]):
performing, by a terminal, a sidelink (SL) transmission in a mini-slot (the number of symbols configured to transmit the sidelink signal and the symbol length supported by the mini slot are considered. the terminal can perform sidelink signal transmission on an unlicensed frequency band based on more than one transmission start position of a type of PSSCH in a single transmission, Zhao: Fig. 5, [0057], [0095]); and
wherein a length of the mini-slot is less than a length of one slot, and one slot comprises one or more starting positions of the mini-slot (More than one mini slot are included in the PSSCH, i.e., one slot contains more than one mini slot. In one slot, the number of mini slots in the physical sidelink shared channel is equal to the number of transmission start positions for the sidelink signal. the sidelink signal is transmitted on the unlicensed frequency band based on the more than one transmission start position, Zhao: [0049]-[0050], [0052], [0080]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhao further discloses:
wherein the mini-slot meets one or more of the following (More than one mini slot are included in the PSSCH, i.e., one slot contains more than one mini slot, Zhao: [0049]):
one automatic gain control (AGC) symbol exists at a starting position of the mini-slot (a number of mini slots in the PSSCH is equal to a number of transmission start positions for the sidelink signal. A first symbol in each mini slot of the more than one mini slot is an AGC symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Zhao: [0049], [0085], [0104], [0111]);
one gap symbol exists at an end position of the mini-slot;
one AGC symbol exists at a starting position of the SL transmission of a first mini-slot in one slot;
one gap symbol exists at an end position of SL transmission of a last mini-slot in one slot;
M AGC symbols are configured in one slot, and the SL transmission of each mini-slot starts after each AGC symbol, wherein M is a number of the mini-slots in one slot; or
one first symbol is configured between two adjacent mini-slots in one slot, wherein the first symbol is the gap symbol or the AGC symbol.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhao further discloses:
wherein the starting position of the mini-slot meets one or more of the following (each mini slot has a transmission start position of PS SCH, that is, the position where the AGC symbol starts. In each mini slot, the first symbol is AGC, Zhao: [0078]):
the starting position of the mini-slot is located after X symbols from a previous physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission occasion, wherein X is time for demodulating a PSCCH (In each mini slot, the first symbol is AGC, from the second symbol to the lastsymbol are the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission symbols. the AGC symbol is monitored at a third symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Zhao: Fig. 2, [0042], [0050]); or
Y gap symbols exist before the starting position of the mini-slot, and the terminal performs deferred listen before talk (LBT) in the gap symbols.
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses:
A terminal, comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (FIG. 12 is a block diagram of an apparatus 300 for communication based on a PSSCH. the apparatus 300 may be a mobile phone, computer, digital broadcast terminal. The processing component 302 may include at least one processor 320 to execute instructions. The memory 304 is configured to store various types of data to support the operation of the apparatus 300, Zhao: Fig. 12, [0117], [0119]-[0120]):
performing a sidelink (SL) transmission in a mini-slot (the number of symbols configured to transmit the sidelink signal and the symbol length supported by the mini slot are considered. the terminal can perform sidelink signal transmission on an unlicensed frequency band based on more than one transmission start position of a type of PSSCH in a single transmission, Zhao: Fig. 5, [0057], [0095]), wherein
a length of the mini-slot is less than a length of one slot, and one slot comprises one or more starting positions of the mini-slot (More than one mini slot are included in the PSSCH, i.e., one slot contains more than one mini slot. In one slot, the number of mini slots in the physical sidelink shared channel is equal to the number of transmission start positions for the sidelink signal. the sidelink signal is transmitted on the unlicensed frequency band based on the more than one transmission start position, Zhao: [0049]-[0050], [0052], [0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Zhao further discloses:
wherein the mini-slot meets one or more of the following (More than one mini slot are included in the PSSCH, i.e., one slot contains more than one mini slot, Zhao: [0049]):
one automatic gain control (AGC) symbol exists at a starting position of the mini-slot (a number of mini slots in the PSSCH is equal to a number of transmission start positions for the sidelink signal. A first symbol in each mini slot of the more than one mini slot is an AGC symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Zhao: [0049], [0085], [0104], [0111]);
one gap symbol exists at an end position of the mini-slot;
one AGC symbol exists at a starting position of the SL transmission of a first mini-slot in one slot;
one gap symbol exists at an end position of SL transmission of a last mini-slot in one slot;
M AGC symbols are configured in one slot, and the SL transmission of each mini-slot starts after each AGC symbol, wherein M is a number of the mini-slots in one slot; or
one first symbol is configured between two adjacent mini-slots in one slot, wherein the first symbol is the gap symbol or the AGC symbol.
Regarding claim 10, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Zhao further discloses:
wherein the starting position of the mini-slot meets one or more of the following (each mini slot has a transmission start position of PS SCH, that is, the position where the AGC symbol starts. In each mini slot, the first symbol is AGC, Zhao: [0078]):
the starting position of the mini-slot is located after X symbols from a previous physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission occasion, wherein X is time for demodulating a PSCCH (In each mini slot, the first symbol is AGC, from the second symbol to the lastsymbol are the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission symbols. the AGC symbol is monitored at a third symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Zhao: Fig. 2, [0042], [0050]); or
Y gap symbols exist before the starting position of the mini-slot, and the terminal performs deferred listen before talk (LBT) in the gap symbols.
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (a nontransitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions, such as the memory 304 including instructions that are executable by the processor 320 in the apparatus 300, Zhao: Fig. 12, [0128]):
performing a sidelink (SL) transmission in a mini-slot (the number of symbols configured to transmit the sidelink signal and the symbol length supported by the mini slot are considered. the terminal can perform sidelink signal transmission on an unlicensed frequency band based on more than one transmission start position of a type of PSSCH in a single transmission, Zhao: Fig. 5, [0057], [0095]), wherein
a length of the mini-slot is less than a length of one slot, and one slot comprises one or more starting positions of the mini-slot (More than one mini slot are included in the PSSCH, i.e., one slot contains more than one mini slot. In one slot, the number of mini slots in the physical sidelink shared channel is equal to the number of transmission start positions for the sidelink signal. the sidelink signal is transmitted on the unlicensed frequency band based on the more than one transmission start position, Zhao: [0049]-[0050], [0052], [0080]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Zhao further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the mini-slot meets one or more of the following (a nontransitory computer-readable storage medium. More than one mini slot are included in the PSSCH, i.e., one slot contains more than one mini slot, Zhao: Fig. 12, [0049], [0128]):
one automatic gain control (AGC) symbol exists at a starting position of the mini-slot (a number of mini slots in the PSSCH is equal to a number of transmission start positions for the sidelink signal. A first symbol in each mini slot of the more than one mini slot is an AGC symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Zhao: [0049], [0085], [0104], [0111]);
one gap symbol exists at an end position of the mini-slot;
one AGC symbol exists at a starting position of the SL transmission of a first mini-slot in one slot;
one gap symbol exists at an end position of SL transmission of a last mini-slot in one slot;
M AGC symbols are configured in one slot, and the SL transmission of each mini-slot starts after each AGC symbol, wherein M is a number of the mini-slots in one slot; or
one first symbol is configured between two adjacent mini-slots in one slot, wherein the first symbol is the gap symbol or the AGC symbol.
Regarding claim 16, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Zhao further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the starting position of the mini-slot meets one or more of the following (a nontransitory computer-readable storage medium. each mini slot has a transmission start position of PS SCH, that is, the position where the AGC symbol starts. In each mini slot, the first symbol is AGC, Zhao: Fig. 12, [0078], [0128]):
the starting position of the mini-slot is located after X symbols from a previous physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission occasion, wherein X is time for demodulating a PSCCH (In each mini slot, the first symbol is AGC, from the second symbol to the lastsymbol are the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission symbols. the AGC symbol is monitored at a third symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Zhao: Fig. 2, [0042], [0050]); or
Y gap symbols exist before the starting position of the mini-slot, and the terminal performs deferred listen before talk (LBT) in the gap symbols.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of SUN
et al. (US 2020/0220702 Al, hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising one or more of the following:
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol, transmitting, by the terminal, the AGC symbol after the DMRS symbol;
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, shifting, by the terminal, the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol; or
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, selecting, by the terminal, a DMRS pattern that does not conflict with the AGC symbol.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sun teaches:
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, shifting, by the terminal, the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol (two time-domain symbols are occupied by the downlink mini-slot, a part of resources of a first symbol (e.g., a low-frequency portion in the figure) are occupied by the control channel, the other resources are occupied by the service channel. a portion of the DMRS for the service channel corresponding to an antenna port 2 and overlapping the frequency- domain resource corresponding to the DMRS for the control channel may be offset backward by one symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Sun: [0057]); or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Sun in order to further modify shifting, by the terminal, the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol from the teachings of Sun.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because network device may multiplex a part of the DMRS ports for the PUSCH to the transmission resources for the PUCCH, and multiplex a part of the DMRS ports for the PDSCH to the transmission resources for the PDCCH, so as to improve the resource utilization, and rapidly demodulate the service channel (Sun: [0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Zhao further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform operations comprising one or more of the following (The processing component 302 may include at least one processor 320 to execute instructions. The memory 304 is configured to store various types of data to support the operation of the apparatus 300, Zhao: Fig. 12, [0119]-[0120]):
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol, transmitting the AGC symbol after the DMRS symbol;
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, shifting the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol; or
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, selecting a DMRS pattern that does not conflict with the AGC symbol.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sun teaches:
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, shifting the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol (two time-domain symbols are occupied by the downlink mini-slot, a part of resources of a first symbol (e.g., a low-frequency portion in the figure) are occupied by the control channel, the other resources are occupied by the service channel. a portion of the DMRS for the service channel corresponding to an antenna port 2 and overlapping the frequency- domain resource corresponding to the DMRS for the control channel may be offset backward by one symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Sun: [0057]); or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Sun in order to further modify shifting the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol from the teachings of Sun.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because network device may multiplex a part of the DMRS ports for the PUSCH to the transmission resources for the PUCCH, and multiplex a part of the DMRS ports for the PDSCH to the transmission resources for the PDCCH, so as to improve the resource utilization, and rapidly demodulate the service channel (Sun: [0046]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Zhao further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform operations comprising one or more of the following (a nontransitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions, such as the memory 304 including instructions that are executable by the processor 320 in the apparatus 300, Zhao: Fig. 12, [0128]):
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol, transmitting the AGC symbol after the DMRS symbol;
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, shifting the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol; or
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, selecting a DMRS pattern that does not conflict with the AGC symbol.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sun teaches:
when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol, shifting the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol (two time-domain symbols are occupied by the downlink mini-slot, a part of resources of a first symbol (e.g., a low-frequency portion in the figure) are occupied by the control channel, the other resources are occupied by the service channel. a portion of the DMRS for the service channel corresponding to an antenna port 2 and overlapping the frequency- domain resource corresponding to the DMRS for the control channel may be offset backward by one symbol. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Sun: [0057]); or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Sun in order to further modify shifting the DMRS symbol backward by one symbol when an AGC symbol of the mini-slot conflicts with a DMRS symbol from the teachings of Sun.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because network device may multiplex a part of the DMRS ports for the PUSCH to the transmission resources for the PUCCH, and multiplex a part of the DMRS ports for the PDSCH to the transmission resources for the PDCCH, so as to improve the resource utilization, and rapidly demodulate the service channel (Sun: [0046]).
Claims 5, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0067706 Al, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhao further discloses:
wherein when a transmission resource of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) overlaps with a transmission resource of the mini-slot, the method further comprises one or more of the following (there may also be physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resources in the resources allocated for sidelink signal transmission. when determining the number of mini slots included in the PSSCH, PSFCH resources also need to be considered, Zhao: Fig. 6, [0054]):
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, by the terminal, the PSFCH;
ending, by the terminal, the SL transmission in the mini-slot in advance, or
postponing, by the terminal, the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot; or
transmitting, by the terminal, the PSFCH in a part of symbols m the mini-slot, and
transmitting data in another part of symbols in the mini-slot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches:
transmitting, by the terminal, the PSFCH in a part of symbols m the mini-slot (the sidelink UE transmitter that intends to transmit PSFCH mini-slot after mini-slot 610-a may send a power reservation signal. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Liu: [0121]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Liu in order to further modify transmitting, by the terminal, the PSFCH in a part of symbols m the mini-slot from the teachings of Liu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it will be improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sidelink feedback techniques in sidelink wireless connnunications (Liu: [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Zhao further discloses:
wherein when a transmission resource of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) overlaps with a transmission resource of the mini-slot, the instructions (there may also be physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resources in the resources allocated for sidelink signal transmission. when determining the number of mini slots included in the PSSCH, PSFCH resources also need to be considered, Zhao: Fig. 6, [0054]),
when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform operations comprising one or more of the following (The processing component 302 may include at least one processor 320 to execute instructions, Zhao: [0119]):
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting the PSFCH;
ending the SL transmission in the mini-slot in advance, or
postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot; or
transmitting the PSFCH in a part of symbols in the mini-slot, and
transmitting data in another part of symbols in the mini-slot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches:
transmitting the PSFCH in a part of symbols in the mini-slot (the sidelink UE transmitter that intends to transmit PSFCH mini-slot after mini-slot 610-a may send a power reservation signal. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Liu: [0121]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Liu in order to further modify transmitting the PSFCH in a part of symbols m the mini-slot from the teachings of Liu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it will be improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sidelink feedback techniques in sidelink wireless connnunications (Liu: [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Zhao further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein when a transmission resource of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) overlaps with a transmission resource of the mini-slot, the instructions (a nontransitory computer-readable storage medium. there may also be physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resources in the resources allocated for sidelink signal transmission. when determining the number of mini slots included in the PSSCH, PSFCH resources also need to be considered, Zhao: Fig. 6, [0054], [0128]),
when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform operations comprising one or more of the following (The processing component 302 may include at least one processor 320 to execute instructions, Zhao: [0119]):
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting the PSFCH;
ending the SL transmission in the mini-slot in advance, or
postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot; or
transmitting the PSFCH in a part of symbols in the mini-slot, and
transmitting data in another part of symbols in the mini-slot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches:
transmitting the PSFCH in a part of symbols in the mini-slot (the sidelink UE transmitter that intends to transmit PSFCH mini-slot after mini-slot 610-a may send a power reservation signal. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more” in the limitation, Liu: [0121]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Liu in order to further modify transmitting the PSFCH in a part of symbols m the mini-slot from the teachings of Liu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it will be improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sidelink feedback techniques in sidelink wireless connnunications (Liu: [0004]).
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Liu and in further view of RYU et al. (US 2023/0262618 Al, hereinafter “Ryu”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao in view of Liu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Zhao further discloses:
wherein the ending, by the terminal, the SL transmission in the mini-slot in advance comprises (configure a GP symbol in the fourth symbol from the end. Therefore, when determining the number of mini slots included in the PSSCH, PSFCH resources also need to be considered, Zhao: Fig. 6, [0054]):
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
determining, by the terminal, a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot, and
the postponing, by the terminal, the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot comprises:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches:
determining, by the terminal, a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot (the sidelink data receiving UE may transmit a reservation signal at the first symbol of a mini-slot when the sidelink data receiving UE determines it will transmit mini-slot PSFCH in the slot. Liu: [0088]), and
the postponing, by the terminal, the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot comprises (a resource of mini-slot or mini-slot may be based on a feedback delay value (e.g., K1) and a PSFCH resource index. sidelink UE transmitter may signal a feedback delay value (e.g., K1) in terms of mini-slots and mini-slot PSFCH resource indices (e.g., mini-slot M and PSFCH resource index L) in the sidelink control information for a corresponding sidelink UE receiver to enable the sidelink UE receiver to determine where and what to transmit in the indicated PSFCH mini-slot, Liu: [0102], [0105], [0117]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Liu in order to further modify determining, by the terminal, a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot, and the postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot from the teachings of Liu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it will be improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sidelink feedback techniques in sidelink wireless connnunications (Liu: [0004]).
Yet, Zhao in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose:
determining, by the terminal, an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ryu teaches:
determining, by the terminal, an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot (FIG. 5C illustrates an example sidelink slot having a start symbol index of 0 and a symbol length of 10, as well as a two-symbol PSFCH. In sidelink slots containing PSFCH, the first symbol of PSFCH may also be an AGC symbol. Sidelink slots (e.g., slots 500, 520, 540) may also include mini-slots such as those applied in access network communication (e.g., over a Uu interface), Ryu: Fig. 5C, [0074]-[0075], ):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao and Liu in view of Ryu in order to further modify determining, by the terminal, an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot from the teachings of Ryu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because depending on the decoding result, the Rx UE may provide hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback to the Tx UE in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (Ryu: [0072]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao in view of Liu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
determining a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot, and
the postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot comprises:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches:
determining a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot (the sidelink data receiving UE may transmit a reservation signal at the first symbol of a mini-slot when the sidelink data receiving UE determines it will transmit mini-slot PSFCH in the slot. Liu: [0088]), and
the postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot comprises (a resource of mini-slot or mini-slot may be based on a feedback delay value (e.g., K1) and a PSFCH resource index. sidelink UE transmitter may signal a feedback delay value (e.g., K1) in terms of mini-slots and mini-slot PSFCH resource indices (e.g., mini-slot M and PSFCH resource index L) in the sidelink control information for a corresponding sidelink UE receiver to enable the sidelink UE receiver to determine where and what to transmit in the indicated PSFCH mini-slot, Liu: [0102], [0105], [0117]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Liu in order to further modify determining a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot, and the postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot from the teachings of Liu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it will be improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sidelink feedback techniques in sidelink wireless connnunications (Liu: [0004]).
Yet, Zhao in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose:
determining an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ryu teaches:
determining an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot (FIG. 5C illustrates an example sidelink slot having a start symbol index of 0 and a symbol length of 10, as well as a two-symbol PSFCH. In sidelink slots containing PSFCH, the first symbol of PSFCH may also be an AGC symbol. Sidelink slots (e.g., slots 500, 520, 540) may also include mini-slots such as those applied in access network communication (e.g., over a Uu interface), Ryu: Fig. 5C, [0074]-[0075], ):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao and Liu in view of Ryu in order to further modify determining an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot from the teachings of Ryu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because depending on the decoding result, the Rx UE may provide hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback to the Tx UE in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (Ryu: [0072]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao in view of Liu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Zhao further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 17 (a nontransitory computer-readable storage medium, Zhao: Fig. 12, [0128]),
wherein the ending the SL transmission in the mini-slot in advance comprises (configure a GP symbol in the fourth symbol from the end. Therefore, when determining the number of mini slots included in the PSSCH, PSFCH resources also need to be considered, Zhao: Fig. 6, [0054]):
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
determining a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot, and
the postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot comprises:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches:
determining a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot (the sidelink data receiving UE may transmit a reservation signal at the first symbol of a mini-slot when the sidelink data receiving UE determines it will transmit mini-slot PSFCH in the slot. Liu: [0088]), and
the postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot comprises (a resource of mini-slot or mini-slot may be based on a feedback delay value (e.g., K1) and a PSFCH resource index. sidelink UE transmitter may signal a feedback delay value (e.g., K1) in terms of mini-slots and mini-slot PSFCH resource indices (e.g., mini-slot M and PSFCH resource index L) in the sidelink control information for a corresponding sidelink UE receiver to enable the sidelink UE receiver to determine where and what to transmit in the indicated PSFCH mini-slot, Liu: [0102], [0105], [0117]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Liu in order to further modify determining a starting position of the PSFCH as an end position of the mini-slot, and the postponing the start of the SL transmission in the mini-slot from the teachings of Liu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it will be improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sidelink feedback techniques in sidelink wireless connnunications (Liu: [0004]).
Yet, Zhao in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose:
determining an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ryu teaches:
determining an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot (FIG. 5C illustrates an example sidelink slot having a start symbol index of 0 and a symbol length of 10, as well as a two-symbol PSFCH. In sidelink slots containing PSFCH, the first symbol of PSFCH may also be an AGC symbol. Sidelink slots (e.g., slots 500, 520, 540) may also include mini-slots such as those applied in access network communication (e.g., over a Uu interface), Ryu: Fig. 5C, [0074]-[0075], ):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao and Liu in view of Ryu in order to further modify determining an end position of the PSFCH as the starting position of the mini-slot from the teachings of Ryu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because depending on the decoding result, the Rx UE may provide hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback to the Tx UE in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (Ryu: [0072]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
ZHANG et al. (US 2021/0314933 Al); See Fig. 3~4, [0081]-[0087].
Ganesan et al. (US 2024/0129936 Al); See Fig. 5, [0051]-[0056], [0081]-[0083].
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467