DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because step 702 in Fig. 7 is worded unclearly. It is presumed that step 702 is intended to recite “Measure the mass flow rate of oil based on levels of oil in an accumulator connected to a suction line.”
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes the implied phrase “are provided”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0029] of the specification recites “value” but should instead read “valve”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-9, and 12-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,173,941. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the issued claims anticipate the limitations of the claims in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, at line 3, recites “configured connect” but should instead read “configured to connect”.
Claim 1, at line 4, recites “vaper” but should instead read “vapor”.
Claim 1, at line 11, recites “configured open” but should instead read “configured to open”.
Claim 1, at line 13, recites “at upper” but should instead read “at an upper”.
Claim 1, at line 14, recites “into oil” but should instead read “into the oil”.
Claims 2-8 are objected to due to dependence from claim 1.
Claim 9, at line 2, recite “An accumulator” but should instead read “an accumulator”.
Claims 11-16 are objected to due to dependence from claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 6,314,750) in view of Toyoshima (US 5,887,444).
As to claims 1, 5, 9, and 13, Ishikawa teaches an accumulator in a vapor compression cycle system comprising:
a shell defining an internal cavity (Fig. 17);
an inlet line to the internal cavity, the inlet line configured to connect to a first suction line of the vapor compression system and eject vapor and oil into the internal cavity (Figs. 1 and 17);
an outlet line 25 having a vapor inlet 25a, an oil inlet 25b, and an outlet which extends out of the shell and is configured to connect to a second suction line (Figs. 1 and 17); and
a level sensor 39 disposed in the internal cavity comprising a high-level switch 39b and a low-level switch 39a (Fig. 17).
Ishikawa does not explicitly teach a valve and associated control as claimed. However, Ishikawa does teach controlling system operations to maintain the oil level between the switches 39a-b (col. 14, lines 16-54). Additionally, Toyoshima teaches using a valve 22 to manage oil return through holes in a return pipe of an accumulator (Figs. 1-2; col. 4, lines 45-55). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ishikawa to incorporate a valve and associated control as claimed and taught by Toyoshima in order to further enable the system to accurately maintain desired oil levels.
As to claims 2-3 and 10-11, Ishikawa teaches the vapor inlet 25a proximate to the top of the cavity, the oil inlet 25b proximate the bottom of the cavity, and the outlet extends through a top end of the shell (Fig. 17).
As to claims 4 and 12, Toyoshima teaches a filter 23 upstream of the vapor inlet (Fig. 2).
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa and Toyoshima as applied in the rejections above, and further in view of Gregory (US 4,942,743).
As to claims 6-7 and 14-15, Ishikawa does not explicitly teach plurality of perforations and a shroud as claimed. However, Gregory teaches using an accumulator with a shrouded inlet tube 60 having perforations 61 which facilitate vaporization of liquid refrigerant (Fig. 2; col. 5, lines 27-35). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ishikawa to incorporate a perforated shrouded inlet as claimed and taught by Gregory in order to further separate oil and refrigerant.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa and Toyoshima as applied in the rejections above, and further in view of Kozinksi (US 6,701,745).
As to claims 8 and 16, Ishikawa does not explicitly teach a baffle as claimed. However, Kozinski teaches that it is known to utilize a baffle to prevent too much liquid bleed from an accumulator (col. 2, lines 37-45). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the accumulator of Ishikawa to incorporate a baffle as claimed in order to further control the liquid flow from the accumulator.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763