Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 17/977,142. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because using either an Ethernet communication protocol or a Wi-Fi communication protocol are obvious
Application No. 18/988,789
Application No. 17/977,142
A data transmission method, performed by a data transmission apparatus, wherein the method comprises:
A data transmission method, performed by a data transmission apparatus, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus, a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) request from an electronic apparatus;
receiving, by a first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus, a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) request from an electronic apparatus;
sending the DHCP request to an interactive white board;
sending the DHCP request to an interactive white board;
receiving, from the interactive white board, an Internet Protocol (IP) address assigned to the electronic apparatus by the interactive white board;
receiving, from the interactive white board, an Internet Protocol (IP) address assigned to the electronic apparatus by the interactive white board;
sending the IP address to the electronic apparatus;
sending the IP address to the electronic apparatus;
acquiring media data from the electronic apparatus to the first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using a Universal Serial Bus (USB) protocol;
acquiring media data from the electronic apparatus to the first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using a Universal Serial Bus (USB) protocol;
establishing a communication connection relationship of Network Address Translation (NAT) between a first network port of the first communication unit and a second network port of a second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus;
establishing a communication connection relationship of Network Address Translation (NAT) between a first network port of the first communication unit and a second network port of a second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus;
sending the media data from the first communication unit to the second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using an Ethernet communication protocol; and
sending the media data from the first communication unit to the second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using an Ethernet communication protocol; and
sending the media data from the second communication unit to the interactive white board using the Ethernet communication protocol or a Wi-Fi communication protocol.
sending the media data from the second communication unit to the interactive white board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20160112371 A1) in view of Venkataraman (US 20170031947 A1) and Fan et al. (US 20130058319 A1).
Claim 1 Zhou teaches a data transmission method, performed by a data transmission apparatus, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus, a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) request from an electronic apparatus; (¶0051, receiving, by a forwarder or the data transmission apparatus, DHCP request for a user equipment)
sending the DHCP request to an electronic device; (¶0056, sending by the forwarder the DHCP request to a DHCP service network element)
receiving an Internet Protocol (IP) address assigned to the electronic apparatus; (¶0056, and receiving a DHCP request response that includes an IP address allocated to the UE)
sending the IP address to the electronic apparatus; (FIG. 3, ¶0060, sending an new IP address to the user equipment)
However, Zhou does not explicitly teach an interactive white board;
acquiring media data from the electronic apparatus to the first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using a Universal Serial Bus (USB) protocol;
establishing a communication connection relationship of Network Address Translation (NAT) between a first network port of the first communication unit and a second network port of a second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus;
sending the media data from the first communication unit to the second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using an Ethernet communication protocol; and
sending the media data from the second communication unit to the interactive white board using the Ethernet communication protocol or a Wi-Fi communication protocol.
From a related technology, Venkataraman teaches acquiring media data from an electronic apparatus to a first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using Universal Serial Bus (USB) protocol; (FIG. 4, step 405, ¶0039, receiving media data by a first network communication device from a first remote computing device using a USB connection; FIG. 1B, multi-network communication box 162 being a first communication unit and remote computing device 164 being an electronic apparatus) and
sending the media data from a first communication to an interactive white board (FIG. 4, step 415, ¶0045, sending the media data from the multi-network communication box 162 to an interactive white board 166, FIG. 1B) using the Ethernet communication protocol or (FIG. 6, ¶0058, connecting the multi-network communication box 608 to network 610, and therein Interactive Display 605, using Ethernet protocol) a Wi-Fi communication protocol.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to at the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Venkataraman in order to more effectively incorporate Zhou’s teachings into well known embodiments such as interactive network elements, such as an interactive white board.
However, Venkataraman does not explicitly teach establishing a communication connection relationship of Network Address Translation (NAT) between a first network port of the first communication unit and a second network port of the second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus;
sending the media data from the first communication unit to a second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using the Ethernet communication protocol.
Fan teaches establishing a communication connection relationship of Network Address Translation (NAT) between a first network port of the first communication unit and a second network port of the second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus; (FIG. 6-7, establishing a communication relationship of NAT 114 between a communication unit USB host 110 and a second communication unit Ethernet 106; wherein the NAT relationship between them incorporates their respective network ports from data paths P5 and P6) and
sending the media data from the first communication unit to a second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using the Ethernet communication protocol. (FIG. 7, Data Path 6, ¶0024, transmitting data from the USB host 110 to Ethernet 106)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to at the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou in view of Venkataraman to incorporate the teachings of Fan wherein different communication units utilized well-known communications protocols and further establish connection between port of communication units using differing protocols in order to handle more and more networking applications that reduce power consumption and reserve computing power. (Fan, ¶0002-¶0003)
Claim 2 Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan teach Claim 1, and further teach wherein the sending the media data from the second communication unit to the interactive white board using the Ethernet communication protocol is via an Ethernet router of the data transmission apparatus. (Fan, FIG. 7, Data Path 6, ¶0024, transmitting data from the USB host 110 to Ethernet 106, i.e. using Ethernet protocol and router apparatus)
Claim 3 Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan teach Claim 1, and further teach wherein the first communication unit comprises a USB network card, the USB network card being connected to the electronic apparatus via a USB connection line. (Venkataraman, ¶0035, the multi-network communication box 300 comprising a USB port, FIG. 1A, ¶0022, the USB port being connected to wired home network 118)
Claim 4 Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan teach Claim 3, and further teach wherein acquiring the media data from the electronic apparatus to the first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus comprises:
receiving the media data sent by the electronic apparatus to the USB network card via the USB connection line. (Venkataraman, ¶0039, ¶0022, receiving the data via USB)
Claims 7-9 are taught by Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan as described for Claims 1-3.
Claim 11 Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan teach Claim 9, and further teach wherein before controlling the first communication unit to send the media data to the second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using the Ethernet communication protocol, the method further comprises:
sending the media data from the electronic apparatus to the first communication unit via
the USB connection line. (Venkataraman, ¶0039, ¶0022, receiving the data via USB)
Claim 12 Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan teach Claim 7, and further teach further comprising:
controlling the first communication unit to transmit data to the second communication unit of the data transmission apparatus using the Ethernet communication protocol by using the IP address. (Venkataraman, FIG. 7, Data Path 6, ¶0024, transmitting data from the USB host 110 to Ethernet 106 using the IP address)
Claims 15-18 are taught by Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan as described for Claims 1-4.
Claims 5-6, 13-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20160112371 A1) in view of Venkataraman (US 20170031947 A1) and Fan et al. (US 20130058319 A1) and in further view of Grosskopf et al. (US 20150312275 A1).
Claim 5 Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan teach Claim 1, and but does not explicitly teach wherein the second communication unit comprises a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) communication unit.
From a related technology, Grosskopf teaches a communication unit comprises a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) communication unit. (¶0023, wherein the device is includes wi-fi)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan to incorporate well-known networking techniques as described in Grosskopf in order to more efficiently utilize network resources.
Claim 6 Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan teach Claim 1, and but does not explicitly teach wherein sending the DHCP request to the interactive white board comprises:
sending the DHCP request to the interactive white board through a bridged Wi-Fi communication module.
From a related technology, Grosskopf teaches sending request through a bridged Wi-Fi communication module.(¶0023, wherein the connection is via wi-fi; ¶0027 and ¶0055, using a DHCP to boot the interactive white board on connection)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan to incorporate well-known networking techniques as described in Grosskopf in order to more efficiently utilize network resources.
Claims 13-14 are taught by Zhou in view of Venkataraman, Fan, and Grosskopf as described for Claims 5-6 respectively.
Claims 19-20 are taught by Zhou in view of Venkataraman, Fan, and Grosskopf as described for Claims 5-6 respectively.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20160112371 A1) in view of Venkataraman (US 20170031947 A1) and Fan et al. (US 20130058319 A1) and in further view of Yu (US 20150339250 A1).
Claim 10 Zhou in view of Venkataraman and Fan teach Claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein determining that the electronic apparatus is connected to the first communication unit of the data transmission apparatus comprises:
detecting, through USB enumeration, that the electronic apparatus is connected to the
USB network card of the data transmission apparatus via the USB connection line.
From a related technology, Yu teaches detecting, through USB enumeration, that the electronic apparatus is connected to the USB network card of the data transmission apparatus via the USB connection line. (Yu, FIG. 2, ¶0041, detection circuit 270 determining the electronic apparatus being connected to the first communication unit, USB port 260)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate connection detection technology utilized by Yu in order to more efficiently utilize network resources.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P CADORNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444