DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Paek et al. (US 11,538,895), of record by Applicant as US 2021/0202669.
Regarding independent claim 1, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches in figures 2, 5A, and the corresponding text, a display device, comprising: a first substrate (110) including a display area (DA) and a non-display area (NDA) including a bending area (BA); a second substrate (500) disposed on the display area of the first substrate to face the first substrate with a certain gap (no number); a dummy substrate (120) disposed to face a lower portion of the first substrate with the bending area of the non-display area therebetween; an etching prevention member (200) provided on the first substrate and the dummy substrate to overlap the non-display area; and a link line unit (400) formed on the etching prevention member.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches a bending portion (part of BA) formed on rear surfaces of the first substrate and the dummy substrate under the etching prevention member.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches the bending portion includes a first etched surface (110b) provided on the rear surface of the first substrate and a second etched surface (120b) provided on the rear surface of the dummy substrate to overlap the bending area.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches the bending portion further includes a third etched surface (E3) and a fourth etched surface (E4) formed to have a continuous surface perpendicular to the second etched surface with the link line unit interposed between the third surface and the fourth etched surface on the rear surface of the dummy substrate.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches the etching prevention member is composed of one of metal and an organic material (see column 6, lines 34-36).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches the etching prevention member includes at least one of a silicone-based organic material, urethane, polyimide, and photo acrylic as the organic material (see claim 5 above), or includes at least one of chromium (Cr), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), and nickel (Ni) as the metal (see column 16, lines 40-47).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches a light source unit disposed under the first substrate (read pixel and diode).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches the light source unit is disposed between the first substrate and the dummy substrate or disposed to be in contact with a rear surface of the first substrate and a side surface of the dummy substrate.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches the light source is a diode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paek et al. (US 11,538,895), of record by Applicant as US 2021/0202669 in view of Zhang (US 2021/0202618).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the use of liquid crystal layer.
Further regarding claim 10, Zhang et al. (‘618) teaches throughout the text a display device that uses an organic diode and/or a liquid crystal layer for the purpose of proving a light source which uses less power.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic diode and/or a liquid crystal layer of Zhang in the display of Paek for the purpose of proving a light source which uses less power.
Regarding independent claim 14, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches in figures 2, 5A, and the corresponding text, a display device, comprising: a first glass substrate (110) including a display area (DA) and a non-display area (NDA) including a bending area (BA); a second glass substrate (500) disposed on the display area of the first glass substrate to face the first glass substrate with a certain gap; a light source (pixel and diode) unit disposed on a rear surface of the first glass substrate; a dummy glass substrate (120) disposed to face a lower portion of the first glass substrate with the bending area of the non-display area therebetween; an etching prevention member (200) provided on the first glass substrate and the dummy glass substrate to overlap the non-display area; a link line unit (410) formed on the etching prevention member; and a bending portion (part of BA) formed on rear surfaces of the first glass substrate and the dummy glass substrate under the etching prevention member.
Paek et al. (‘895) does not teach the use of liquid crystal layer.
Further regarding claim 14, Zhang et al. (‘618) teaches throughout the text a display device that uses an organic diode and/or a liquid crystal layer for the purpose of proving a light source which uses less power.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic diode and/or a liquid crystal layer of Zhang in the display of Paek for the purpose of proving a light source which uses less power.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Paek (‘895)the bending portion includes: a first etched surface (110b) provided on the rear surface of the first glass substrate and a second etched surface (120b) provided on the rear surface of the dummy glass substrate to overlap the bending area; and a third etched surface (E3) and a fourth etched surface (E4) formed to have a continuous surface perpendicular to the second etched surface with the link line unit interposed between the third etched surface and the fourth etched surface on the rear surface of the dummy glass substrate.
Regarding independent claim 17, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches in figures 2, 5A, and the corresponding text (similar to claim1 and 14 above), a display device, comprising: a first glass substrate including a display area and a non-display area including a bending area; a second glass substrate disposed on the display area of the first glass substrate to face the first glass substrate with a certain gap; a dummy glass substrate disposed at a lower side of the first glass substrate with the bending area of the non-display area therebetween; a light source unit disposed on a rear surface of the first glass substrate and a side surface of the dummy glass substrate; an etching prevention member provided on the first glass substrate and the dummy glass substrate to overlap the non-display area; a link line unit formed on the etching prevention member; and a bending portion formed on rear surfaces of the first glass substrate and the dummy glass substrate under the etching prevention member.
Paek et al. (‘895) does not teach the use of liquid crystal layer.
Further regarding claim 17, Zhang et al. (‘618) teaches throughout the text a display device that uses an organic diode and/or a liquid crystal layer for the purpose of proving a light source which uses less power.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic diode and/or a liquid crystal layer of Zhang in the display of Paek for the purpose of proving a light source which uses less power.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Paek (‘895)the bending portion includes: a first etched surface (110b) provided on the rear surface of the first glass substrate and a second etched surface (120b) provided on the rear surface of the dummy glass substrate to overlap the bending area; and a third etched surface (E3) and a fourth etched surface (E4) formed to have a continuous surface perpendicular to the second etched surface with the link line unit interposed between the third etched surface and the fourth etched surface on the rear surface of the dummy glass substrate.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Paek et al. (‘895) teaches the light source is a diode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875