DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Cataract detection in ultra-wide field fundus images”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 54, “icg” should be “ICG” as it is a particular format for a particular product.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “data acquisition module configured to acquire”; “a cropping module coupled with the data acquisition module and configured to crop”; “a deep learning module coupled with the cropping module and configured to detect and determine”; “a feature extraction unit based on a pre-trained neural network and configured to extract”; “a result output unit configured to output”; “detected and classified through a shadow feature of the ultra-wide field fundus image by the deep learning module”; and “wherein the computer executable instruction is executed to perform” in claims 1, 3-5, and 7-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a mental process executed by generic computer technology. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited computer technology is recited at a generic and high level. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the recited modules include a “data acquisition module” that acquires data where data acquisition model is a generic placeholder for anything that can acquire data, a “cropping module” which is a generic placeholder for anything that can crop an image, and the “deep learning module” is a generic placeholder for anything that can perform deep learning or comparative tasks. These modules, as recited, are high level generic placeholders for more specific components.
In regards to claim 1, a medical image processing system, comprising: a data acquisition module configured to acquire an ultra-wide field fundus image (A person of ordinary skill in the art can receive an ultra-wide field fundus image, and this is further mere data-gathering); a cropping module coupled with the data acquisition module and configured to crop the ultra-wide field fundus image into a cropped image (A person of ordinary skill in the art can crop an image by simply taking off specific pieces of an image); and a deep learning module coupled with the cropping module and configured to detect and determine classification of a lens opacification type corresponding to the cropped image (A person of ordinary skill in the art can look at an image and determine if there is any lens opacification and determine how to classify said lens opacification).
In regards to claim 2, wherein: the lens opacification type corresponds to a type of cataract (A person of ordinary skill in the art can determine that such a type is a type of cataracts); and the cropped image comprises a region of interest of the ultra-wide field fundus image (A cropped image can contain a region of interest or multiple regions of interest, and a person of ordinary skill in the art can determine which regions are of interest).
In regards to claim 3, wherein the deep learning module comprises: a feature extraction unit based on a pre-trained neural network and configured to extract a feature of the cropped image (A person of ordinary skill in the art can extract a feature from a cropped image); and a result output unit configured to output the classification of the lens opacification type according to analysis result of the feature (A person of ordinary skill in the art can output a classification based on an analysis of the feature or features extracted).
In regards to claim 4, wherein: the classification of the lens opacification type is detected and classified through a shadow feature of the ultra-wide field fundus image by the deep learning module (A person of ordinary skill in the art can determine if the lens opacification type corresponds to a shadow or the features of a shadow); and the shadow feature is a projected feature of cataract on a retina (The observed shadow feature can be on the retina).
In regards to claims 5 and 9, they are similar to claim 1, and they are similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 6, it is similar to claim 2, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 7, it is similar to claim 3, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 8, it is similar to claim 4, and it is similarly rejected.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to signals per se and software per se. The claim language of claim 9 indicates that the “computer readable medium” would include transitory computer readable mediums such as signals. As such, the claims are signals per se. If this was changed to specifically be about “non-transitory computer readable mediums” that would overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson et al. (US 2020320693 A1), hereinafter referred to as Robertson, in view of Tran et al. (US 2022248955 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tran.
In regards to claim 1, Robertson discloses a medical image processing system, comprising: a data acquisition module configured to acquire an ultra-wide field fundus image (Paragraph 35 and paragraph 3, Discloses that the camera can be a fundus camera and specifically be in paragraph 35, an ultra-wide filed fundus image); a cropping module coupled with the data acquisition module and configured to crop the ultra-wide field fundus image into a cropped image (Paragraphs 88-89, Discloses that the segments can be further clipped or cropped into a specific pixel size).
Robertson does not explicitly disclose and a deep learning module coupled with the cropping module and configured to detect and determine classification of a lens opacification type corresponding to the cropped image.
However, Tran does disclose and a deep learning module coupled with the cropping module and configured to detect and determine classification of a lens opacification type corresponding to the cropped image (Paragraphs 5-7 and 12, Discloses that a neural network is used to analyze the eyes for eye damage which it further discloses that one of these forms of damage that can be found is cataracts).
It would be obvious to combine these teachings as it would lead to a predictable increase in accuracy for cataract detection. Robertson discloses limiting the are of the image in a wide-field image into a specific cropped section that contains a region of interest. This would allow for the process of Tran to be more accurate as it is given a smaller space which has already been determined to be of interest. This would allow for more accurate results within this area. As such, it would be obvious to combine these teachings.
In regards to claim 2, Robertson discloses and the cropped image comprises a region of interest of the ultra-wide field fundus image (Paragraphs 88-89, Discloses that the clipped section can be the region of interest).
Robertson does not explicitly disclose wherein: the lens opacification type corresponds to a type of cataract.
Tran does disclose wherein: the lens opacification type corresponds to a type of cataract (Paragraph 12, Discloses that it can detect cataracts).
In regards to claim 3, Tran discloses wherein the deep learning module comprises: a feature extraction unit based on a pre-trained neural network and configured to extract a feature of the cropped image (Paragraph 12, Discloses that the network can be trained beforehand which would constitute a pre-trained network, and this network identifies certain features such as cataracts); and a result output unit configured to output the classification of the lens opacification type according to analysis result of the feature (Paragraph 12, Discloses that it can detect cataracts which would be an analysis result of the feature).
In regards to claims 5 and 9, they are similar to claim 1, and they are similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 6, it is similar to claim 2, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 7, it is similar to claim 3, and it is similarly rejected.
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson et al. (US 2020320693 A1), hereinafter referred to as Robertson, in view of Tran et al. (US 2022248955 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tran, as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20240268663 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
In regards to claim 4, neither Robertson nor Tran explicitly disclose wherein: the classification of the lens opacification type is detected and classified through a shadow feature of the ultra-wide field fundus image by the deep learning module; and the shadow feature is a projected feature of cataract on a retina.
Chen does disclose wherein: the classification of the lens opacification type is detected and classified through a shadow feature of the ultra-wide field fundus image by the deep learning module (Paragraphs 80, 82, and 85, Discloses that shadows can be shown to indicate cataracts); and the shadow feature is a projected feature of cataract on a retina (Paragraphs 80, 82, and 85, Discloses that shadows can be shown to indicate cataracts with the cataracts causing this shadow effect).
It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Chen, Tran, and Robertson as it would lead to a predictable increase in accuracy. As Chen discloses that shadows in retina and fundus images pertains to cataracts, further focusing on the detection of shadows and shadow features to identify cataracts would allow for a predictable increase in accuracy. As such, it would be obvious to combine.
In regards to claim 8, it is similar to claim 4, and it is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/CONOR A O'MALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698